Waterloo Region Generations
A record of the people of Waterloo Region, Ontario.
Search

 Notes


HomeHome    SearchSearch    PrintPrint    Add BookmarkAdd Bookmark

Tree:  

Matches 9001 to 12000 of 33845

      «Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 12» Next»

   Notes   Linked to 
9001 Lived with Enoch Ziegler Aaron Eby
 
9002 Abraham Eby, "second child of Samuel Eby, was born February 6th, 1812, and died with the measels, January 31st, 1831."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Abraham Eby
 
9003 Abraham Eby, "the sixth son of Bishop Benjamin Eby, was born on the old homestead, November 21st, 1823. On April 30th, 1843, he was married to Lucy Hembling who was born August 9th, 1822. Soon after their marriage they moved on a farm two and one-half miles east of Berlin. This farm is now owned by Henry Cressman. Here they resided for nearly five years, when they moved on another farm two and one-half miles north of the town of Waterloo where they lived for about five years, then they sold out and moved to the village of Bridgeport, where they resided until his death which took place August 21st, 1885. His widow still owns and occupies the old homestead. They had a family of eleven children" 1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Abraham Eby
 
9004 Absalom Eby, "was born December 4th, 1854. He is the proprietor of the new saw mills in Floradale, Ontario, where he is doing an extensive business in all kinds of lumber which he ships to different parts of the country. He is unmarried and resides with his parents."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby

______________________________

Eby. -Absalom Eby was born Dec. 4, 1854; died Nov. 17, 1937; aged 82 y. 11 m. 13 d. He was married Nov. 17, 1907, to Martha Reist. Surviving him are his wife, 2 daughters (Emma and Ruth), 3 sisters (Mrs. Enoch Burckhart, Mrs. Noah Good, and Mrs. Emerson Morrison), and 4 brothers (Jesse, Noah, Jacob and Elias). He was a member of the Mennonite Church. Funeral services were held late residence in Elmira, Ont., to the Mennonite Church, conducted by Bros. Jesse Bowman and Urias Martin. Burial in the adjoining cemetery.2a

2aGospel Herald - Vol. XXX, No. 41 - January 6, 1938  
Absalom Eby
 
9005 Shantz.-Ada (Eby) Shantz was born near Waterloo, Ont., Aug. 17, 1893; died Sept. 24, 1918; aged 25 y. 1 m. 7 d. In early life she gave her heart to the Lord, joined the Mennonite Church and has been a faithful member till death. On March 20, 1917, she was united in marriage to Abram Shantz, which union was blessed with one daughter which was taken and is cared for by its aunt, Mrs. Josiah Bearinger. She leaves to mourn her early departure, her husband, father, mother, grandfather, grandmother, 3 brothers, 5 sisters, and a host of relatives and friends. Funeral services were conducted Sept. 27, at the Waterloo Mennonite Church by the brethren, Urias Weber (from Prov. 23:23), and Jonas Snider (from Isa. 35:10). Buried in the First Mennonite Cemetery, Kitchener, Ont.1a

1a\bGospel Herald - Volume XI, Number 30 - October 24, 1918 - pages 558 and 559 
Ada B. Eby
 
9006 Adelaide Eby, "was born September 9th, 1848, and died May 1st, 1877. She was married to Daniel E. Bowman. No issue."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Adelaide Matilda Eby
 
9007 Miss Adelaide Eby

A life-long resident of Kitchener. Miss Adelaide M. Eby, 82, of 118 College St., died today at K-W Hospital after a brief illness. Born in 1877, she was a daughter of the late Mr. and Mrs. Herman Eby. Before her retirement she was employed by John Forsyth Ltd. She was a member of Trinity United Church. Survivors include two nephews and two nieces in California. The body is at the Keffer Funeral Home, until Saturday noon, when removal will be made to Trinity United Memorial Chapel, where friends may pay their respects until service at 1:45 p.m. Rev. 0. P. Hossie will officiate. Burial will be in East End Mennonite Cemetery.

Kitchener-Waterloo Record 24 Mar 1960 pg 5 
Adelaide Matilda Eby
 
9008 Albert E. Eby, "was born June 11th, 1867. He is unmarried and is a button turner by trade. At present he is engaged in Newark, New Jersey."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Albert E. Eby
 
9009 Albert Milton Eby, "a printer by trade, is at present residing in the city of Buffalo, New York, where he is engaged as foreman in some large printing establishment. On September 6th, 1886, he was married to Julia Clark who was born August 21st, 1850. They have no family."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Albert Milton Eby
 
9010 Grace Schmidt Room of Local History Digital Collection

Description: Black and white, full-length studio portrait of Alexander Ralph Eby, in uniform.

Notes: Private Eby served in the First Canadian Contingent of the British Expeditionary Force and in the Second Infantry Brigade, Fourth Company, Fifth Battalion. He was killed in action in France on 21 March 1915 and was reported to be the first native of Waterloo Township, Ontario, to be a victim of the Great War.

The photographer, Levi R. Yost, operated a photography studio at 175 King Street West in Berlin, Ontario, from 1915 to 1920. His studio was located at 12 King Street West, Berlin in 1912.

Inscriptions:
Front: Alexander Ralph Eby, 1891-1915.
Pte. First Can. Contingent B.E.F.
No. 13627, 2nd Infantry Brigade, 4th Company, 5th Batt'n.
Killed in action, in France, March 21st 1915.
First native of Waterloo Tp. victim of war

 
Alexander Ralph Eby
 
9011 Alexander Ralph Eby, of the Fifth Battalion, First Canadian Contingent, born in Berlin, Ontario, 1891, killed in action March 20th, 1915, descendant, in line of oldest sons in each generation, of Bishop Benjamin Eby, founder of Berlin and one of the first settlers in this locality.

Bishop Benjamin Eby's oldest son was Isaac Eby; Isaac Eby's oldest son was Menno Eby, who married a German, Elizabeth Becker. Menno Eby's oldest son was Alexander Eby, who married an English-woman, Nellie Watson, and their oldest son was Alexander Ralph Eby, with whose death the line in direct descent of oldest sons from Bishop Benjamin Eby becomes extinct. The early Mennonite settlers refused on religious principles to carry arms in war. In the war of 1812 a number of them took part as teamsters.1a

1aAnnual Report of the Waterloo Historical Society 1915 
Alexander Ralph Eby
 
9012 A SAD SCENE

On Tuesday evening the 9th of August about 7 o'clock Bro. Allen Eby, son of Eld. Amos Eby, and Bro. Simon Moyer, son of Jonas Moyer, both living near Berlin, Waterloo Co., Ontario, were killed by lightning while standing under a tree. They had gone out into the field to plow after supper, and after having plowed a few rounds, they saw a shower coming and they sought shelter under a tree in the adjoining field where the lightning struck them and instantly killed both. Their wives, after hearing the severe stroke, went out to see if it had struck the barn, and while thus looking they saw the horses running in the field, and not seeing the men they went in search for them, and found them lying under the burning tree. What a shock must this have been, to find their dear husbands lifeless before them. They lald them to one side and went after help. Allen Eby's age was 27 years, 10 months and 21 days. He leaves a widow with one child to mourn their loss.

Moyer's age was 26 years, 5 months and 20 days. He leaves a widow to mourn her loss. They were buried side by side in the Eby Cemetery, Berlin, on the 11th of August. This was the saddest funeral we ever witnessed. The entire community was stirred, and all seemed to deply sympathize with these two young widows and breaved friends. It is estimated that over 1,500 people were present at the burial. The services were conducted by Eld. H. Goudie at the house, and H. S. Hallman and Eld. Yaeger at the church. What a blessed thing it is to be ready. Then let death come by lightning or any other way, and it will be all right. - Gospel Banner.1a

1aHerald of Truth , Vol. XXIX, No. 17, September 1, 1892 - page 268. 269, 270 
Allan Eby
 
9013 Allan Eby, "born June 24th, 1876."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Allan Eby
 
9014 Allan Eby, "was born March 17th, 1863, is unmarried and resides in Winnipeg, Manitoba."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Allan Eby
 
9015 Eby, Almeda, daughter of Menno and Melinda (Gingrich) Eby, was born in Waterloo, Ont., Aug. 22, 1915; died at Elmira Nursing Home, Elmira, Ont., Mar. 30, 1983; aged 67 y. On Jan. 8, 1942, she was married to Orville Martin, who survives. Also surviving are 3 daughters (Glennis-Mrs. Maurice Koenig, Joyce-Mrs. Clifford Freeman, and Doreen-Mrs. Ken Martin), 3 sons (Lyle, Claude and James Martin), 2 sisters (Barbara-Mrs. Howard Weber and Lovina-Mrs. Nelson Weber), one stepsister (Luella-Mrs. Bretton Snider), and one brother (Ivan Eby). She was a member of Hawkesville Mennonite Church, where funeral services were held on Apr. 2, in charge of Gordon Martin; interment in Hawkesville Cemetery.Transcriber's note: Almeda Eby was listed by her maiden name in this obituary, even though she was actually Almeda Eby Martin, at the time of death.1a

1aGospel Herald Volume 76, Number 17- April 26, 1983 page 302 
Almeda Eby
 
9016 Amanda Eby, "the youngest daughter of Samuel and Susannah Eby, was born April 14th, 1846. She is married to Jonas Detweiler, a farmer, and resides near Excelsior, Missouri, U.S."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Amanda Eby
 
9017 Amanda Eby, "was born April 29th, 1863. She is married to Tobias B. Martin."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Amanda Eby
 
9018 Amanda Eby, "was born October 31st, 1851. On March 15th, 1873, she was married to Elias Bingeman. They reside near Breslau, Ontario, where he is engaged in farming. To them are born eight children"1a

1aFrom The Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Amanda Eby
 
9019 Amanda F. Eby, "was born November 6th, 1839. She was married to Joshua Bowman, a merchant. She resides in Listowel, Ontario, and has had a family of three children, namely: Addison Milo, Lizzie, and Louisa."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Amanda F. Eby
 
9020 Amanda H. Eby, "was born January 20th, 1865. She is a dressmaker and also resides in Grand Rapids, Michigan."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Amanda H. Eby
 
9021 Amelia Eby, "was born September 1st, 1849, and is married to Hugh Street, a butcher by trade. They reside in Winnipeg, Manitoba, and have a family of five children".1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Amelia Eby
 
9022 Amos Eby, "the only son of Benjamin E. Eby, was born April 13th, 1842. He was married, February 9th, 1864, to Hettie Moyer. He commenced farming at home on his father's farm, but in the year 1870 he moved on his own in Maryborough, Wellington County, Ontario, where he resided for a number of years. Since entering the ministry of the Mennonite Brethren in Christ he has disposed of his farm, and at present he is stationed on the Stayner field of labor where he is doing a noble work for our Lord. As a minister he has proved successful on every field on which he has been stationed by the conference. Like his cousin, Bishop Elias Weber, the winter months of his youthful days were spent at school, while during the summer months he was engaged in tilling the soil, hence his education is also limited, yet he is a good speaker in both languages, is well read in Bible literature, and is filled with that Spirit which comes from on high. May his efforts be crowned with glorious success. He has a family of six children, namely: Allan who was married to Clara Snider and resided on the old "Stafford Farm", near the toll bridge, where he and his brother-in-law, Mr. Moyer, were killed by lightning, August 9th, 1892, leaving a wife and family; Louisa, Matilda, Norman (dead), Josiah (dead), Ida."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Rev. Amos Eby
 
9023 Amos Eby, "was born March 23rd, 1862. He is married to Christina Eix and resides on a farm adjoining the old homestead. They have two children"1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Amos Eby
 
9024 Amos Eby, "was born May 2nd, 1849, and died March 20th, 1881. He was not married."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Amos Eby
 
9025 Concession 4 Lot 19 Amos Eby
 
9026 Andrew Eby, "was born February 1st, 1847, and died June 1st, 1875. He was never married."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Andrew Eby
 
9027 Andrew Eby, "was born November 19th, 1847, and is married to Magdalena Soeder. He is a miller by trade and at present resides in the village of Preston, Ontario. They have a family of two children, namely: Oscar S., and Herbert A."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Andrew Eby
 
9028 Angeline Eby, "was born October 6th, 1858. At present she resides at College Point, L. I., N. Y., where she is engaged in the Beraghah Orphanage. She is unmarried."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Angeline Eby
 
9029 Eby, Angus, son of Reuben and Mary Ann (Brubacher) Eby, was born n Floradale, Ont., Feb. 9, 1886; died in the Union Hospital, Lanigan, Sask., after a brief illness, April 21, 1964; aged 78 y. 2 m. 12 d. On Jan. 23, 1918, he was married to Annie Good, who survives. Also surviving are 3 sons (Lloyd, Claire, and Edgar), 4 daughters (Eileen, Agnes - Mrs. Milton Eby, Mary - Mrs. Wayne Lapp, and Hilda), 13 grandchildren, 5 stepgrandsons, one brother (Harvey), and 4 sisters (Joanna - Mrs. Allen Weber, Mrs. Amanda Weber, Clara Eby, and Edna - Mrs. Alvin Beihn). Two sisters preceded him in death. He was a member of the Sharon Mennonite Church in Guernsey, where funeral services were held April 24, in charge of James Mullet, assisted by Edwin Bartel.1a

1aGospel Herald - Volume LVII, Number 19 - May 19, 1964, Page 437, 438 
Angus Eby
 
9030 Anna Eby, "the fourth daughter and the eighth member of the family of Christian and Catharine (Bricker) Eby, was born September 9th, 1777, and died April 25th, 1829. On March 25th, 1800, she was married to Jacob Wissler who was born on the old "Wissler Homestead" on Middle Creek, Clay Township, Lancaster County, Pennsylvania. He lived and died on the old homestead. In his old age he built a one-story brick house for himself and his daughter, Catharine. This building adjoined the house-yard of the old homestead. Both he and his wife lie buried at the Hammar Creek Mennonite Meeting House, nearly two miles west of their home. Jacob Wissler was born November 12th, 1776, and died April 27th, 1853. They had a family of ten children, namely: Andrew, Jacob, Christian, Magdalena, Ezra, John, Catharine, Mary, Levi, and Sem. (See Sem Wissler's family). All the descendents of this family have settled in different parts of the United States with the exception of Sem, the youngest, who settled in Salem, Ontario, where his family still resides."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Anna Eby
 
9031 Anna Eby, "was born September 4th, 1831, and was married to John Rickert who was born October 18th, 1830. They resided on the old "Indian Sam" Eby's pioneer home in Berlin. They have a family of three children"1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Anna "Nancy" Eby
 
9032 Anna Christina Eby, "was born November 27th, 1863. She is married to James Ballard. They live on a homestead in the West and have one child."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Anna Christina Eby
 
9033 Anna E. Eby, "was born October 16th, 1842. She was married to John Schwalm, a mason, and lived near Clifford, Ontario. They had one son named Simon Peter who died when about two years of age. She died about the year 1878."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Anna E. "Nancy" Eby
 
9034 Annanias Eby, "was born January 19th, 1849, and died October 31st, 1879, leaving a widow and several children."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Annanias Eby
 
9035 Annie Eby, "was born December 19th, 1845. She is married to Benjamin Reesor. They reside in New Market, York County, Ontario, where Mr. Reesor is engaged in the milling business. Their family consists of three children, namely: Harry, Walter, and Fannie."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Annie Eby
 
9036 Annie Eby, "was born February 18th, 1818. On March 27th, 1838, she was married to Daniel Cressman who was born March 17th, 1815, and died May 19th, 1886. They resided about a mile east of New Hamburg where she died November 27th, 1848. Their family consisted of five children" 1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Annie Eby
 
9037 Annie Eby, "was born April 3rd, 1871. She is at home and unmarried."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Annie D. Eby
 
9038 Barbara Eby, "the third daughter of Christian Eby and his wife, Catharine Bricker, was born April 29th, 1774. On February 21st, 1798, she was married to Joseph Schneider who was born May 24th, 1772, and died October 27th, 1843. She died March 13th, 1843. In 1807 they, in company with some of the Ebys and Erbs, moved to what is now Berlin, Waterloo County, Ontario. They settled on lot No. 17, U. B., of the Township of Waterloo, now forming part of the town of Berlin. The old homestead is now owned by a grandson, Samuel B. Schneider. Here they raised a family of seven children."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Barbara Eby
 
9039 Barbara Eby, "the youngest child of Moses Eby, was born January 19th, 1842. She died in infancy."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Barbara Eby
 
9040 Barbara Eby, "was born December 1st, 1866. She is unmarried and resides with her mother on her father's old homestead."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Barbara Eby
 
9041 Barbara Eby, "was born June 15th, 1828. On December 21st, 1847, she was married to Henry Wideman who was born on October 12th, 1820. They reside on a farm near Dashwood, Hay Township, Huron County, Ontario, and have a family of seven children, namely: Elias E., Moses, Magdalena E., Lydia E., Henry E., Menno E., and Daniel E."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby

___________________

Weidman. -Barbara (Eby) Weidman was born in Waterloo Co., Ont., June 15, 1828; died Sept. 4, 1918; age 90 y. 2 m. 18 d. On Dec. 21, 1847 she was married to Henry Weidman. They lived in Woolwich township a number of years, then moved to Hay township, Huron Co., Ont., on a farm where they resided until the death of her husband in May, 1897. In the same year she moved to Huron Co., Mich., and had her home with her children. She is survived by six children (Elias, Moses, Menno, Mrs. Magadalena Reist, Henry and Mrs. Lydia Detweiler). One son preceded her in death. There are also living 30 grandchildren, 33 great-grandchildren, one sister and four brothers. Her health was failing for the last six months. Her desire for the last few years was to go to Jesus. The funeral was conducted on Sept. 7 by Bro. Menno Eash. Buried in the Bern Mennonite Cemetery.2a

2aGospel Herald - Volume XI, Number 26 - September 26, 1918 - pages 463 and 464 
Barbara Eby
 
9042 Barbara Ann Eby, "was born November 6th, 1824. She is married to Mathias Michaels, a farmer. They reside near Bangor, Van Buren County, Michigan."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Barbara Ann Eby
 
9043 Barnabas Eby, "was born March 6th, 1848, and died July 7th, 1870. He was a saddler by trade and died unmarried."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Barnabas Eby
 
9044 Benjamin Eby, "the sixth son and eleventh member of the family of Christian Eby and his wife, Catharine Bricker, was born on the old homestead on Hammer Creek, Warwick Township, Lancaster County, Pennsylvania, May 2nd, 1785. Benjamin spent his boyhood days on the farm and in his father's cooper-shop making barrels for the mills. He received a fair common school education, and during the winter evenings he continued his studies. He had free access to his father's books, as well as to his brother John's library. He was not very strong and it used to be the common saying among the neighbors: "Aus'em Bennie gebts ka Bauer, er muss Schulmaster werre!" -- "Bennie will never make a farmer, he must become a school-teacher." On May 21st, 1804, he was baptized in the Conestogo Mennonite Meeting House by Bishop Christian Burkholder, and on the same day he was admitted as a member of that body. In 1806 he came to Canada for the first time. On May 24th of the same year he came to what is now Berlin. Here he remained with his cousin, George Eby, who then resided on the place now known as the Jacob Y. Shantz farm. He purchased his land (the farm now possessed by Mr. Moses Betzner), had a small clearing of about two acres made during August, then made preparations for the erection of a log-house which was put up and completed during the following winter. On November 4th he, in company with others, set out for home. The mode of travelling in those days was on horse-back. On February 25th, 1807, he was married to Mary, daughter of Jacob and Susannah (Erb) Brubacher. She was born August 6th, 1789, and died of cholera August 18th, 1834.

On June 21st, 1807, the following party arrived at George Eby's, Berlin, viz: Benjamin Eby and wife, Joseph Schneider and wife, David Eby, Daniel Eby, John Eckert, Frederick Vogt, Peter Erb and wife, Daniel Erb, Samuel Eby and a few others. On the 30th day of the same month he took possession of his farm. On November 27th, 1809, he was ordained as a minister in the Mennonite Church, and on October 11th, 1812, he was ordained bishop in that body. No sooner was Benjamin Eby ordained as minister than he advocated strongly the building of meeting-houses. His idea was to have houses of worship built in which to hold regular services. Private houses, he said, answered the purpose very well as long as the membership was small, but since we have had such a large increase in membership it has become necessary for us to have churches. He found strong opposition at first, but the Erbs, Schneiders, Brubachers, Ebys, and a few others, agreed with him on this point, and the result was that a log church was erected in 1813. (See cut.) In this church Bishop Eby taught school during the winter months. The first regularly organized school in this section was held in a little log house situated near "Indian" Sam Eby's residence, now known as "Jacob Fry's old place", on the south side of the road leading from the "Two Bridges" to Mill Creek, near the former residence of Jacob Y. Shantz. This building, containing but one room, was erected for a private house, but the party ordering its erection failed to make his appearance, hence it was turned into a school house and utilized as such until the church was built in 1813. The school was first opened some time in October, 1809, by Mr. John Beatty, a native of Ireland, who came to the Eby settlement, as Berlin was then called, some time during the summer of the same year. After being convinced that Mr. Beatty had a fair English education, the following parties, viz: Benjamin Eby, Joseph Schneider, George Eby, Samuel Eby ("Indian Sam"), Jacob Erb and others, engaged him as their teacher for the winter months. School was generally closed the week before Easter. Among the first pupils who attended this, the first school opened in Ebytown, we find David Erb, George Eby, Catharine E. Schneider, Jacob E. Schneider, Elizabeth E. Schneider, Nancy Eby, John Eby, Peter Eby and others. Mr Beatty was re-engaged as their teacher in the fall of 1810, and according to the statements given me by some of the old pupils, he must have taught there three or four years in succession. After the erection of the Mennonite church in 1813 the school was moved to that place, where Bishop Eby taught for many winters in succession. In 1833 it was thought advisable to erect a new church, owing to the fact that the log church was too small to accommodate the large congregations that assembled here to worship. In 1834 the large church still standing was erected. (See cut.) This church is still known as Eby's Meeting House, or "'s Eby's versammlungshaus".

After the decease of Bishop Benjamin Eby's first wife he was married to Magdalena Erb, widow of old Abraham Erb, the founder of Waterloo. Bishop Eby died June 28th, 1853. To him and his first wife was born a family of eleven children"1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby

_________________________

Eby, Benjamin (1785-1853)

Benjamin Eby (2 May 1785-28 June 1853) was a pioneer Mennonite bishop of the Mennonite Church (MC) serving in Ontario. The eleventh child of Christian Eby and his wife Catharine Bricker, Benjamin was born in the old homestead on Hammer Creek, Warwick Twp., Lancaster Co., PA, May 2, 1785. On Feb. 25, 1807 he married Mary Brubacher. That spring he and his wife immigrated to Waterloo Co., ON, arriving at what was later Berlin (now Kitchener) on June 21. He was ordained as minister (MC) on 27 November 1809 and as bishop on 11 October 1812. In 1813 his dream of having a meetinghouse was realized with the erection of a log structure of modest dimensions, the first building erected solely for religious worship in Waterloo County. The congregation had not fewer than 150 members. Possibly as early as 1815 Benjamin Eby built a frame annex to the log church, with a movable partition between it and the main building. This annex served as a schoolhouse of which he was for many years the teacher. At the same time he carried on his farming. His farm was lot 2 of the Beasley Tract, comprising a large part of the East Ward of the modern city of Kitchener. To Benjamin and Mary Eby were born eleven children. In August 1834, Mary died of cholera. Some time after her death Benjamin married the widow of Abraham Erb, the founder of Waterloo. On 28 June 1853, Eby died.

To sketch the life of Benjamin Eby is to consider the man, his work, his interests, and his influence. As a farmer he seems to have been successful. He was at least generous with his money, as the few remaining records of his financial transactions indicate. In 1816, when the church purchased an acre of land to add to its holdings, he donated an additional three quarters of an acre. All this is now part of the property of First Mennonite Church of Kitchener. Between 1825 and 1830 two men, John Hoffman and Samuel Bowers, wanted to establish a furniture factory. Appealing in vain to various sources for land, they came finally to Bishop Eby, who readily made land available to them. This too was a gift. The third transaction was in connection with the founding, in 1835, of the first newspaper in inner Canada, the Canada Museum, by Henry W. Peterson. Benjamin Eby not only encouraged this enterprise by word but purchased two shares of stock at $40.00 each, a larger risk than anyone else, apart from Mr. Peterson, was willing or able to take. Again, in 1836, he donated $16.00 toward the building of a cemetery wall, the next highest gift being $4.00. Relatively small as those sums are today they were important in those pioneer days. Judged in relation to his times and his contemporaries all these transactions establish Benjamin Eby as a substantial farmer in his community. Of his occupation as a preacher only a few recorded comments survive. H.W. Peterson, publisher and Lutheran lay preacher, says in his diary: "Stayed all night at Benjamin Eby's, went with him and his family to the meeting or church. He prayed and preached well. He is a good man." An anonymous writer in the Berlin Daily Telegraph for May 19, 1906, says: "His sermons were full of good sense, very intelligible, lying parallel with the understanding of attentive hearers." A tradition has it that there were invariably tears in his eyes when he entered the pulpit on a Sabbath morning. For many years, from 1818-19 to the early 1840's, he was also the community schoolmaster. In this period he wrote two spelling or reading books, Neues Buchstabir- und Lesebuch (1839) and Fibel (1843). He also wrote a work on Mennonite faith and history entitled Kurzgefasste Kirchen-geschichte und Glaubenslehre der Taufgesinnten Christen oder Mennoniten (1841). He was most likely the compiler of the Gemeinschaftliche Liedersammlung (Berlin, 1836), which was long used in Ontario. Thus he was farmer, teacher, preacher, and author. As might be expected, his interests went beyond his own community. He corresponded with European Mennonites and published some of the letters received in Briefe an die Mennonisten Gemeine in Ober Canada (1840) and Zweyter Brief aus Dänemark (1841).

The physical man must be noted briefly. There was a tradition that he was frail. Aus 'em Bennie gebts ka Bauer, er muss Schulmester werre. (Bennie will never make a farmer, he must become a schoolteacher.) Yet he made two journeys to Canada on horseback through the wilderness, hewed for himself a home, prospered substantially, and was unusually active in church and community affairs. One of his coats, seen by the present writer, would indicate that he was about five feet, six inches tall, weighing possibly 150 lbs.

Up to 1833 the Waterloo County settlement was known as "Ben Eby's" or "Ebytown," thus establishing Eby as the leading citizen of his community. With the arrival of increasing numbers of German non-Mennonites, the name of the settlement was changed in 1833 to Berlin. The record of his influence and activities bears eloquent testimony that he had both a keen sense of civic and denominational responsibility. In his account of Benjamin Eby's funeral, written for the July 7, 1855 issue of the Guelph Advertiser, H.S. Peterson calls him "an Israelite in whom there was no guile, and that he was sincerely pious, humble, exemplary, practical, and non-sectarian, and eminently successful in his day and generation." The anonymous friend in the Daily Telegraph (Berlin, ON, 19 May 1906) says: "He was a person of unblemished character. Naturally of a sweet and gentle disposition, friendly and obliging, always ready to serve his friends in any way that he could by his interest and authority. This he did freely and generously, not proud or haughty, but serious in giving good counsel, and greatly esteemed for his integrity by all ranks and denominations. All very much desired his company and wholesome conversations."2a

2a
Cressman, J. Boyd. "Eby, Benjamin." Global Anabaptist Mennonite Encyclopedia Online. 1956. Global Anabaptist Mennonite Encyclopedia Online. Retrieved 13 Nov 2005

__________________________________________

Breslau (Cressman) Mennonite Church

Services were begun in Breslau in 1815. In 1834, Benjamin Eby's log meeting house, which had been built in Berlin in 1813, was moved to Breslau to the Cressman farm. Preaching services which were held every four weeks began in the reconstructed meeting house in 1837. A new brick church was built in 1856, at which time the old log meeting house was moved to Frederick Schaefer's brickyard. The old building may have been used for storage or an office until approximately 1880 when it was clad with white "Breslau Brick" from the brickyard, and used as a home by Frederick Schaefer and his family. The address of the house is reported to have been 18 Woolwich Street; it was still standing in 1985, according to Alder 1985, with the original log walls possibly preserved within the brick ones.

A summer Sunday School was begun in June of 1872. It was held in the Breslau schoolhouse until 1877 when it was moved to the church. Sunday School continued on in the summers only until 1889 when Sunday School classes began to be held all year.

The 1856 white brick church was taken down in March 1908, and was replaced with a new white brick church. In 1968 the name of the church was changed from Cressman Mennonite Church to Breslau Mennonite Church. Major renovations were made to the church in the same year. It is of interest to know that land amounting to approximately three acres was deeded to the congregation by Christian C. Snyder in three parcels, in 1837, 1859, and 1870.

Joseph Hagey, the first minister at Cressman's, was ordained on February 10, 1839. He was ordained bishop in 1851. Ministers who followed him in serving the church at Breslau were Jacob Woolner Sr., Elias Weber, Isaac A. Wambold, Jacob S. Woolner, and Oscar Burkholder. Services were held every four weeks from 1837-1867, and bi-weekly from 1867-1894 when weekly services were begun..3a

3aWaterloo County Churches A Research Guide To Churches Established Before 1900 By Rosemary Ambrose

___________________________

Wanner Mennonite Church
Begun: 1829

A small wooden meeting house was built in 1829 on a corner of the farm belonging to Samuel Bechtel which was located in the vicinity of the present-day regional headquarters of the Ministry of Natural Resources near the intersection of Highways 24 and 401. The site for this community meeting house, as well as a school and a burial ground, had been chosen on August 8, 1829. The land was donated by Samuel Bechtel and his wife Barbara (Baumann) on March 15, 1830. A new meeting house, of white brick, was built in 1837 on the east side of Henry Wanner's farm, somewhat north of the first meeting house. Meetings at first were held every eight weeks. The deed of land for the meeting house known as Wanner's was dated October 15, 1837. Early preachers were David Sherk, who had been ordained by Benjamin Eby in July 1837, Jacob Bretz, Jr., and Joseph Hagey.

Joseph Hagey was ordained bishop in 1851. During his time divisions occurred in the church by a surge of enthusiasm for a Methodist form of revivalism. Solomon Eby of Port Elgin, who announced his own conversion in December 1869, was leader of a group which believed that members could be converted through participation in revival meetings. John Baer of Wanner's became associated with Solomon Eby, and was compelled to leave the church in the spring of 1874, as were Eby and his other followers. The new church movement resulted in organization conferences which culminated in the conference on March 23, 1875 at Bloomingdale where New Mennonites and Reforming (or Reformed) Mennonites joined together as United Mennonites. The United Mennonites favored revival meetings, Sunday Schools and prayer meetings, and were opposed to the use of alcohol and tobacco.

The date of construction of the meeting house which replaced the one built in 1837 is somewhat in doubt. It is possible that a new building was erected in the early 1870s; it is also possible that the 1837 building only underwent extensive renovations at that time. There is no doubt, however, that a new brown brick church was built in 1938. An education wing was added in 1969.

The earliest Mennonite Sunday School in North America was begun in 1842 and was held jointly by the Wanner and Hagey Meeting Houses. It was discontinued after a short time because of a division of opinion within the congregations. An attempt was made later, in the mid-1860s, to begin another Sunday School, but this, too, did not last long. Many years later, on June 10, 1896, a meeting was held to organize a Sunday School. Anson Groh was appointed superintendent..4a

4aWaterloo County Churches A Research Guide To Churches Established Before 1900 By Rosemary Ambrose

__________________________

First Mennonite Church

The first church built in Waterloo County was erected in Berlin in 1813, and was known as Benjamin Eby's Meeting House.
Benjamin Eby had come to Canada in 1807 and in 1809 was ordained preacher. Three years later, in 1812, he was ordained bishop. His "parish included sections of Waterloo, Wilmot and Woolwich" (Uttley 1937:27). In 1818 a frame addition, which was to be used as a winter school, was built on to the church. The log meeting house was replaced in 1834 by a larger frame church, and the old building was taken to Breslau to become the first meeting house in that community. (The Breslau church was known as Cressman Meeting House, a name which was changed in 1968 to Breslau Mennonite Church.) A Sunday School was opened in the church in 1841.

Benjamin Eby died in 1853. He was followed by Abraham C. Weber who served the congregation until his death in 1874. In that same year, a division in the church brought about the departure of a group who organized a congregation of Reforming (or Reformed) Mennonites, to become United Mennonites in 1875 and then Mennonite Brethren in Christ in 1883. Their church is the present-day Bethany Missionary Church on Lancaster Street East. Christian Eby was the next minister of the Berlin Mennonite Church, until 1879. The church was known over the years as Benjamin Eby's Church, Christian Eby's Church (from 1854-1904), and the Berlin Church (from 1904 until 1917.) The name of the church became First Mennonite Church in 1917.

A new brick church was built in 1902. A Bible Study School was begun in 1907, and in 1928 a separate brick Bible Study School building was erected. Stirling Avenue Mennonite Church was formed by some members in 1924 as a result of a division in the church.

Of interest: when the new church was built in 1902, the 1834 frame church was bought by D.B. Betzner who moved it to Cedar Street where it became a woodenware business and then a furniture factory. It was destroyed by fire in 1937.5a

5aWaterloo County Churches A Research Guide To Churches Established Before 1900 By Rosemary Ambrose

____________________________

EBY, BENJAMIN, farmer, Mennonite minister, bishop, educator, and author; b. 2 May 1785 at a homestead on Hammer Creek, Lancaster County, Pa, son of Christian Eby and Catharine Bricker; m. first 25 Feb. 1807 Mary Brubacher (d. 1834), and they had eight sons and three daughters; m. secondly Magdalena Erb, widow of Abraham Erb*; they had no children; d. 28 June 1853 in Berlin (Kitchener), Upper Canada.
Benjamin Eby, the sixth son and eleventh child of German-speaking Mennonites, "received a fair common school education" while working on the farm and in his father's cooperage. He was among the minority of Mennonites in Pennsylvania who were unhappy at the prospect of remaining under American rule in the aftermath of the revolutionary war, and in 1806 visited Upper Canada to inspect the land in Waterloo Township that fellow Mennonites Daniel Erb and Samuel Bricker had purchased from Richard Beasley* on behalf of the German Company. After claiming lot 2 of the Beasley Tract he went back to Pennsylvania to marry and then, in the company of other settlers, returned to Upper Canada, reaching his homestead on 21 June 1807. The role he played as a founder and leading citizen of the community was reflected in its being named Ebytown, or Ben Eby's, in his honour.

Although farming was always to be the chief source of Eby's livelihood, soon after his return to the province he became involved in the affairs of the pioneer settlement. After being ordained first as minister (27 Nov. 1809) and then as bishop (11 Oct. 1812) at ceremonies presided over by his brother Peter, a bishop from Pennsylvania, he was instrumental in erecting in 1813 the village's first meeting-house for religious worship, and two years later a frame annex to serve as a schoolhouse. Ben Eby's Church, as it was known during the bishop's lifetime, began with a membership of some 150. As the years went by he donated some of his own land to expand the church's holdings, including its first cemetery. As bishop he left his mark not only on the town but on the whole county, where all Mennonite congregations were under his supervision. He was a leader of the church conferences which emerged in the province during his lifetime. When the Niagara and Markham districts were without bishops he presided over the election of new ones and officiated at their ordinations. A family tradition that Benjamin's parents had decided he should become a teacher seems to have been fulfilled in the winter of 1818-19 when he began a teaching career that, with some interruptions, was to last until the early 1840s.

Eby made a major contribution to the Mennonite church and to the preservation of German-language education in the province through a number of published works. In 1836, in an effort to enrich the church's worship and congregational life in general while respecting the various traditions of its adherents, he compiled a hymn-book called Die Gemeinschaftliche Liedersammlung. Reprinted several times in both Canada and the United States, it was in use until the end of the century. His first original work was a primer, Neues Buchstabir- und Lesebuch, published in 1839. Other works of a religious and educational nature followed, including his most important book, Kurzgefasste Kirchen Geschichte (1841), a study of the Mennonite church's history and doctrine.

Apart from his roles as family man and farmer, and as preacher and teacher, Eby was a promoter of the general good. He was frequently called on to offer his counsel and he occasionally adjudicated community disputes. Business involvements included the donation of some of his own land to two men in need of a property on which to establish a furniture factory, generous support of the printer Heinrich Wilhelm Peterson, and the sale of land in 1833 to Friedrich Gaukel for an inn. That sale was among the first on record to refer to the town as Berlin, a change of name traditionally attributed to the bishop.

Eby also found time to look beyond his community by corresponding with church leaders in Europe, as well as in America, and thereby establishing and cultivating international connections. His biggest contribution, however, was in his own community where he raised a large family (his son Christian succeeded him as minister), promoted a diversified economy, established a broadly based religious worship, introduced elementary school education, and inaugurated a literary tradition which served many generations.
Frank H. Epp

[Benjamin Eby's work as educator and clergyman is reflected in his publications. He wrote Neues Buchstabir- und Lesebuch . . . (1st ed., Berlin [Kitchener, Ont.], 1839); a speller entitled Fibel zu den ersten Lese-Uebungen (Berlin, [1839?]), a second edition of which was published there in 1843; Kurzgefasste Kirchen Geschichte und Glaubenslehre der Taufgesinnten-Christen oder Mennonisten (Berlin, 1841); and a second primer, ABC- Buchstabir- und Lesebuch, zum Gebrauch fuer Deutsche Schulen in Canada (2nd ed., Berlin, 1842). In addition to compiling Die Gemeinschaftliche Liedersammlung . . . (1st ed., Berlin, 1836), he published an edition of a popular German Mennonite catechism, [Gerhard Roosen], Christliches Gemüths Gespräch . . . (Berlin, 1839). He subsequently arranged for the first English edition of this work, which was published under the title Christian spiritual conversation on saving faith . . . (Lancaster, Pa., 1857), and may even have been the translator. His correspondence with churchmen abroad resulted in the publication of some of their letters to him in Briefe an die Mennonisten Gemeine, in Ober Canada, mit einer Zugabe (Berlin, 1840) and Zweyter Brief aus Dänemark an die Mennonisten Gemeine in Canada (Berlin, 1841). f.h.e.]

AO, RG 22, ser.211, Benjamin Eby. Guelph Advertiser (Guelph, [Ont.]), 7 July 1853. E. E. Eby and J. B. Snyder, A biographical history of early settlers and their descendants in Waterloo Township, with Supplement, ed. E. D. Weber (Kitchener, 1971). The Mennonite encyclopedia: a comprehensive reference work on the Anabaptist-Mennonite movement (4v., Hillsboro, Kans., 1955-59). F. H. Epp, Mennonites in Canada, 1786-1920: the history of a separate people (Toronto, 1974). J. B. Cressman, "Bishop Benjamin Eby," Waterloo Hist. Soc., Annual report, 1941: 152-58; "History of the First Mennonite Church of Kitchener, Ontario," Mennonite Quarterly Rev. (Goshen, Ind.), 13 (1939): 159-86. Daily Telegraph (Berlin), 19 May 1906: 1-2. M. [L]. Gingerich, "Mennonite leaders of North America: Benjamin Eby (1785-1853)," Gospel Herald (Scottsdale, Pa.), 58 (1965): 178. I. D. Landis, "Bishop Peter Eby of Pequea, 1765-1843," Mennonite Quarterly Rev., 14 (1940): 41-51.6a

6aDictionary of Canadian Biography Online 2000 University of Toronto/Université Laval

___________________

As has been seen, Benjamin Eby bought Cot 2, G.C.T., and came to Upper Canada in 1807. Before leaving Pennsylvania, he and Marie Brubacher were united in marriage. A good word is due the wives of the pioneers. Stanch as maples, they left comfortable homes in Pennsylvania, faced the difficile trail. and in a wooded wilderness bore the hardships of life without a murmur.

Benjamin Eby was of the leader type. Although just of age. he took thought of the settlers spiritual welfare. The pioneers at first worshipped God in their home. He had them gather together at a particular clearing, one Sunday here and the next there, until all had been visited. He was appointed preacher in 1809. Besides promoting the building of a church, he interested himself in prim-ary education.(1)

His log house stood west of the Mennonite Church. In 1814 he sold Samuel Eschelman 56 acres adjoining the church lands. So far as known he was the first settler to sell incoming townsmen plots of land. He sold his son-in-law, David Weber, 219 acres at the upper part of his big lot. His son Elias became the owner of the remaining part on the north side of King Street. The son sold his holding to John Brubacher and Menno Erb who in turn sold his land to William Moyer and Moses Betzner. As the history un-folds other activities of Ben Eby will come to light.

In 1834 a circus employee carried the Asiatic cholera to Galt. Nearly one-fifth of the inhabitants died of the scourge. Many persons from Waterloo Township attended the performance and numerous individuals, catching the disease from one another, died also, including Mrs. Ben Eby.

The Rev. Eby carried on his spiritual labors until his own death in 1853. He had then been the servant of the Mennonite Society for forty-four years.7a

7a
A History of Kitchener, W. V. (Ben) Uttley, Kitchener, Ontario 1937

_________________________

Kinagaghig Creek (1806) [Canagagigue]
How the creek in Woolwich Township got its name...


This creek was so named by George and Benjamin Eby after Conococheague creek, a little creek which drains Franklin county, Pennsylvania, and flows through Washington county, Maryland, to the Potomac [the area where from many Pennsylvania-Germans travelled by foot and Conestoga wagons.] One historian says the name Conococheague is from the Delaware Indian language and signifies "long indeed, very long indeed," while another says the original word also refers to the winding course of the stream. Eby spelled the name as Kinacachic; another as Canagaguige and others as Kanakijige, Cinacaghic. On an early map of Woolwich Township in Belden's Atlas, it appears as Kinacaghig. There are many more early spellings, as one can imagine!8a

8aThe Fifteenth Annual Report of the Waterloo Historical Society 1927 ,pg 375.

_________________________

A-1-17 Benjamin Eby: The Last Will and Testament of Benjamin Eby, of the Township of Waterloo, Minister

…I Benjamin Eby, of the Township of Waterloo, Minister, do make and constitute these presents, dated the second day of April 1853, my Last Will and Testament….
(1) I hereby desire and empower my hereinafter name Executors, to collect, ask, demand, draw and receive all and singular my outstanding debts, dues, accounts, notes, bonds, obligations and charges whatever of right belonging to me, in due time or times, and this also to pay and discharge my own debts and charges, lawfully brought against me and my estate, and I specially desire, order and direct them to pay and discharge to my beloved widow Magdalena, a born Erb, and afterward widow of the late Abraham Erb, deceased, that sum, of money which I do owe her, in accordance with my Bond to her, dated the thirtieth of March 1855, viz: two hundred pounds

(2)
This my said beloved widow Magdalena is further to have for and in place and stead of her widow third and dowry, as long as she shall and may live, all and singular the articles, goods, chattels, rights, privileges and benefits, which are mentioned and She also is to have all and singular the articles, goods, chattels, rights, privileges and benefits, which are mentioned and secured to her, in and by a certain articles of agreements between myself and my son Christian Eby, who holds our place, bearing date the third day of February A.D. 1848 and I hereby desire and enjoin my Executors, and each and either of them, to see and care that such articles be duly fulfilled. As her own property for ever, and left to her own final disposal, she is to have and use all and singuler the goods and chattels mentioned and put on the last page of my common housebook or account book. She is further to have for her own proper use and benefit during her her[?] life time all the notes, bonds and obligations, drawn in favor and name of herself, but after her demise, all that is left of such notes, bonds and obligations, in principal and interest is to fall back upon my own Estate, to be dealt with by my Executors as my own property left by myself in accordance hereinafter [rocided.[?]

(3) My son, Christian Eby is to have the farm, on which both of us do now live and dwell, it being lot number two of the German Company Tract of Waterloo Township, at the price and charge of seven hundred and fifty pounds… he is to pay to my executors - fifty pounds to be paid to the Executors one year after the day of demise of the last surviving part of myself and my wife, and thence the remainder in annual installments of fifty pounds each, until the whole be paid…

(4) All my own personal property and estates, except that belonging to my widow as herein before, provided, shall be sold by my Executors, amongst my children to the highest bidders, and the proceeds thereof be added to the general stock, consisting of the proceeds of my outstanding debts, notes, obligations and other dues. When debts, notes, obligations and other dues and such stock of proceeds of notes and other dues shall, as they shall and will be and become available from year to year, and be collected, and thus from year to year be divided and portioned and paid over by my Executors in equal shares and portions to my sons Isaac Eby, Elias Eby, Benjamin E. Eby, Henry Eby, Christian Eby, Abraham Eby, Jacob Eby and Peter Eby and my son-in-law David Weber, and their respective representatives. My son-in-law and my daughter William and Maria Bamberger shall share in the same dividends, but they, or the surviving part of them shall in the whole receive not more than fifty pounds.

(5) Concerning my son Abraham Eby, I do however direct and ordain and give it entirely over into the power and decision of my hereinafter mentioned Executors, as they shall and may deem it proper and will for him, either to pay over to him any, or either, or all such dividends, or put them, or any, or either of them, out in good and sure use for said Abraham Eby's children, to be paid to them as hereinafter mentioned. Concerning the landed property now in his possession, (but the right and title being in my own hands) the same consisting of four acres of a party of lot number fifty nine if the German Company Tract in the Township of Waterloo, aforesaid, situated in Lancaster, and as more particularly described in the Deed of Conveyance thereof from Elias Eby and wife to myself, he, my said son, Abraham and his wife and family are to have, retain and enjoy full and free possession, use and benefit there of during the whole lifetimes of both himself and his wife, but after the demise of both of them, and as soon thereafter as it conveniently can and may be, the same shall be sold, by my Executors, and the proceeds thereof, and also the aforesaid dividends, coming to Abraham Eby, or his children, be divided in equal shares amongst them - when the sons reach twenty-one year and the daughters, eighteen years. Should Abraham Eby die before his wife, and she marries again, then she is to draw her regular widow third, computed according to circumstances, and the property be sold and divided amongst his children.

(6) Concerning my daughter Maria Eby, now married to William Bamberger, I do ordain, that they shall continue to have and enjoy free, full and undisturbed possession, use and benefit of the property they now occupy, during the whole lifetime of both and either of them, but after the demise of both of them, and as soon thereafter as it conveniently can and may be, it shall be sold by my Executors, and the proceeds to be divided in equal shares between all my other children or their representatives, my son Abraham's share, however, as just before directed, such property consisting of a part of lot number nine of the German Company Tract of Waterloo, on the Waterloo and Arthur Road, and containing twenty four acres, two rods and eight perches. In case my said daughter Maria doth outlive her said husband, I hereby direct and enjoin my Executors, and also empower them to rent away such property for her benefit and use, and otherwise take proper interest and care in her well being; In case she then intermarry again, and have still no children, then after her demise the said property is still to revert upon my estate again and be divided as above directed….But if she then, or yet from her present husband, shall have issue out of her own body, then such her child or children shall have, drawn and receive the proceeds of said property, to be equally divided amongst them.

(7) I hereby nominate and appoint my beloved son Christian Eby and my trusty friend Joseph E. Schneider, both of the Township of Waterloo, Yeomen, my Executors.

Witnessed: Thomas Sparrow and Christian Schantz
Will dated: 2 April 1853
Received and insinuated 22 Oct 1853
Inventory £2,087/2/3
Died 28 June 18539a

9aWills of Waterloo County Register A 1853-1871, transcribed by Frances Hoffman 
Bishop Benjamin Eby
 
9045 Benjamin B. Eby, "was born December 24th, 1819, and was married to Sarah Smith who died of small-pox, January 2nd, 1847, aged 18 years, 8 months and 14 days. After the death of his wife he left Berlin, Ontario, and went to Stratford, Ontario, thence to Hamilton, Ontario. From Hamilton he went to Wheeling, West Virginia, where, January 18th, 1848, he married a second time. His second wife's name was Susan Watkins, born June 29th, 1829, in Guernsey County, Ohio, and died March 7th, 1885. They had a family of eight children, namely: Sarah C. (dead), Leander, (dead), Charles H. (dead), Annie (dead), Benjamin F. (dead), Alice E. (dead), Charles O.(dead), and Lee Hampton who resides in Wheeling. All the named children, with the exception of Sarah Cordelia who was born in Wheeling, West Virginia, were born in Louisville, Kentucky. Benjamin Franklin Eby, the third son of the family, was married to Mary Della Townsend, and at his death left a family of three children, namely: Daisy Adams, Robert Lee, and Irene."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Benjamin B. Eby
 
9046 Benjamin E. Eby, "the sixth member and third son of the family of Bishop Benjamin Eby, was born February 10th, 1818. He was married to Elizabeth, daughter of Abraham and Mary (Schneider) Cressman. She was born October 4th, 1818, and died February 23rd, 1889, aged 70 years, 4 months and 19 days. They moved on a farm two and one-half miles east of Berlin, on south-west part of lot No. 120, German Company's Tract, where they lived for many years. During their old age they lived with their son-in-law, John Erb, where they died. He died July 9th, 1872. They were blessed with a family of five children"1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Benjamin E. Eby
 
9047 Benjamin E. Eby, "was born December 28th, 1863. He is married to Lovina R. Shantz. They also reside in Galt. He is engaged with his brother Reuben."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Benjamin E. Eby
 
9048 Benjamin L. Eby, "the fourth member of Peter Eby's family, was first married, September 9th, 1851, to Barbara Martin who was born September 26th, 1830, and died July 23rd, 1876. They resided on a farm near St. Jacobs, Ontario. Some time after the decease of his wife he was married to Magdalena Detweiler. (See No. 2300) They reside in the town of Berlin. Mr. Eby's family consists of twelve children, of whom seven were born unto his first wife."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Benjamin L. Eby
 
9049 Benjamin M. Eby, "was born April 13th, 1860. He is married to Esther Brubacher. They reside near Bridgeport where he is the possessor of a beautiful farm. His family is as follows: Pharez, Luella, Mabel, Samuel, Elmina, and Ada."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby

___________________________________


Eby.-Benjamin M., son of the late Benjamin L. and Barbara (Martin) Eby, was born at St. Jacobs, Ont., April 13, 1860; passed away after a short illness on Oct. 19, 1948; aged 88 y. 6 m. 6 d. In early manhood he was converted under the Gospel preaching of the pioneer Mennonite evangelist, John S. Coffman, and united with the Mennonite Church, of which he remained a member until death. For the last twenty years he resided in St. Jacobs, where he moved after retiring from his farm near Waterloo. In 1881 he was married to Esther Brubacher, who predeceased him in August 1924. In 1927 he was married to Susannah Bearinger, who survives. Also surviving are 5 daughters (Luella-Mrs. Edgar Snider, Mabel-Mrs. Josiah Bearinger, Mina-Mrs. Alvin Shantz, Beulah-Mrs. Abram Shantz, all of Waterloo, Ont.; and Vera-Mrs. Isaac Hurst, Bloomingdale, Ont.), 3 sons (Phares, Kitchener, Ont.; Samuel, Toronto, Ont.; and Alpheus, Elmira, Ont.), 12 grand-children, and 5 great-grandchildren. Two daugh-ters predeceased him. Funeral services were conducted at the St. Jacobs Mennonite Church on Oct. 21 by Roy S. Koch, assisted by Noah Hunsberger. Interment was made in the First Mennonite Cemetery at Kitchener, Ont.2a

2aGospel Herald - Volume XLI, Number 46 - November 16, 1948, pages 1102 and 1103 
Benjamin M. Eby
 
9050 Benjamin S. Eby, "was born July 29th, 1853, and died February 23rd, 1881. He was married to Helen Ziegler and resided in Berlin and, in company with Mr. Jacob B. Fellman, carried on the mercantile business. He died without heirs."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby

__________________

Dead - The death is announced of Mr. Benjamin Eby, of the firm of Fellman & Eby, Berlin. The deceased had been suffering from consumption for some time, so that his death was not unexpected. Mr. Eby was very highly respected by his friends and acquaintances. He was only in his 28th year.

Galt Reporter Feb 25 1881 pg 1 
Benjamin S. Eby
 
9051 Benjamin Theodore Eby, "the third and youngest son of Peter and Susan (Sparrow) Eby, was born December 2nd, 1852, and died July 3rd, 1853."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Benjamin Theodore Eby
 
9052 Benjamin W. Eby, "was born July 26th, 1839. He is married to Hannah Kraft and resides on a farm at Caledonia, Kent County, Michigan. His family is as follows:...Norman, Lydia, Ann, Albert, and Laura, all of whom are living yet. Norman follows farming and Albert is a teacher."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Benjamin W. Eby
 
9053 Shantz.- Beulah, daughter of the late Mr. and Mrs. Benjamin Eby, was born Nov. 19, 1901; died May 21, 1969; aged 68 y. 6 m. 2 d. She was married to Abraham Shantz, who preceded her in death Dec. -, 1954. Surviving are 3 daughters (Audrey-Mrs. Orval Reist, June -Mrs. Mergan Geick, and Eileen-Mrs. William MacDonald), 10 grandchildren, one brother (Alpheus), and one sister (Vera-Mrs. Isaac Hurst). She was preceded in death by 5 sisters and 2 brothers. She was a member of the Erb Street Church where funeral services were held, with J. B. Martin and Milton Schwartzentruber officiating.1a

1aGospel Herald - Volume LXII, Number 27 - July 15, 1969, pages 619, 620 
Beulah Eby
 
9054 HOWARD Mrs. Gordon - of 595 C Langs Drive, Cambridge (Preston). as the result of a car accident, Thursday; June 12, 1975, Beverley Ruth Eby, beloved wife of Gordon Howard and dear mother of Sean, Jason and Tracey-Lynn, in hey 29th year. Mrs. Howard had lived all her life in Preston and was a member of St. Peter's Lutheran Church. She is survived by her parents, Mr. and Mrs. Alden (Coog) Eby and, three sisters Diana (Mrs Mervin Atchison), Roseville; Toni (Mrs. Bryan Hel-ler), Preston and Ms. April Eby ,of Preston. friends will be received at the Barthel-Stager Funeral of Queenston Preston, Friday afternoon and evening. Funeral services will be conducted Saturday, at 2 p. m. interment in Preston cemetery.1a

1aThe Kitchener-Waterloo Record 12 Jun 1975 
Beverley Ruth Eby
 
9055 Blandina Eby, "was born November 30th, 1850, and is married to William Brydon, a miller and farmer. At present they reside at Shoal Lake, Manitoba, and have a family of seven children"1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Blandina Eby
 
9056 KARGES, Bonnie Lynne (nee Eby) Passed away peacefully on Saturday, September 28, 2013, at Grand River Hospital, at the age of 64. Beloved wife and best friend of Brian Karges. Loved mother of Kevin (Kalina) Karges and Kimberly Karges (Jerry Cooper). Dear daughter of Elizabeth Eby and the late Robert Eby (1992). Proud grandmother to Chase, Courtney, Cohen, Hannah, Jaden and Austin. Fondly remembered by her sister Judy Eby. Predeceased by her mother and father-in-law, Beatrice and Jerome Karges. Bonnie's family will receive relatives and friends at the Henry Walser Funeral Home, 507 Frederick St., Kitchener, 519-749-8467 on Tuesday, October 1, 2013 from 10-10:45 a.m. A memorial celebration of her life will be held in the chapel at 11 a.m. with Rev. Christine Grahlman officiating. Interment in Parkview Cemetery following a reception at the funeral home. As expressions of sympathy, donations to the Grand River Regional Cancer Centre would be appreciated by the family (cards available at the funeral home). Bonnie's family would like to thank the Grand River Cancer Centre Team and give recognition to the terrific care of the Emergency Room nurses. Visit www.henrywalser.com for Bonnie's memorial. Bonnie Lynne Eby
 
9057 EBY, Carl T. Peacefully, with his family by his side on Sunday, Feb.28, 1999, at St. Mary's General Hospital, Carl T. Eby, of Kitchener, age 83 years. Carl was an employee with J.M. Schneider Inc., for 48 years until his retirement in1981. Beloved husband of Mildred (nee Ottman); loving father of Carol and her husband Norman Geng of Kitchener and Ray and his wife Patricia of Hanover.Carl will be sadly missed by his grandchildren, Lori Geng, Jenny and her husband Collin Belenger, Carl, Stephen and his friend Roxanne and his great-grandchildren, Danielle and Amanda Belenger and Tricia and Tyler Eby. Dear brother of Nelson and his wife Hilda, Herb and his wife Norma and Miriam and her husband Bill Knutson. Predeceased by his parents; his brothers, Irvin and Jacob and sisters, Verna, Rose and Dorothy. Relatives and friends may call at the Ratz-Bechtel Funeral Home, 621 King St. W., Kitchener, this evening (Monday) from 6-9 p.m. Transfer will be made Tuesday 12 noon, to St. Stephen's Lutheran Church, 248 Highland Rd. E., Kitchener, where the visitation will continue from 1 p.m. until the complete funeral service at 2 p.m. with Rev. Bill Schafer officiating. Interment Memory Gardens Cemetery, Breslau. Reception to follow in the church hall of St. Stephen's.

The Record 1 Mar 1999 pg B3 
Carl Theodore Eby
 
9058 Caroline Eby, "was born January 22nd, 1856, and died in the town of Waterloo, August 18th, 1876."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Caroline Eby
 
9059 Catharine Eby, "born January 20th, 1872."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Catharine Eby
 
9060 Catharine Eby, "the fourth member and the second daughter of Benjamin Eby, was born July 25th, 1814. She was married, February 3rd, 1833, to David, son of Benjamin and Veronica (Martin) Weber. They moved on their farm now forming the North Ward of the town of Berlin. Their farm buildings were situated near where the Grand Trunk Railroad station is now situated. Some time before the Grand Trunk Railway was built they sold their farm to Rev. Abraham Weber and moved two and three-fourths miles east of Berlin, on the east end of lot No. 120, where they resided until their deaths. She died March 30th, 1867, and he died September 17th, 1877. To them were born eleven children" 1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby

_________________________________________


On the 30th of March, in Waterloo Township, Waterloo Co., C. W., of consumption, CATHERINE, wife of David WEBER, and daughter of Bish. Benjamin Eby, deceased, aged 52 years, 8 months, and some days. She calmly fell asleep in Jesus. She was buried at Christian Eby's burying-ground, on which occasion Enoch Detweiler and Daniel Wismer delivered appropriate addresses.2a

2aHERALD OF TRUTH - Volume IV, Number 5 - May 1867 - Page 78 
Catharine Eby
 
9061 Catharine Eby, "was born March 25th, 1848. She is married to Samuel Bushlier and resides in Port Elgin, Ontario. They have a family of eleven children, six girls and five boys."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Catharine Eby
 
9062 Catharine E. Eby, "was born August 4th, 1867. She is unmarried and resides in the town of Galt, Ontario."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Catharine E. Eby
 
9063 Catharine W. Eby, "was born June 4th, 1830. She was married to Isaac G. Bowman, a farmer and resided near Freeport, Ontario. She had a family of ten children, namely: John, Noah, Benjamin, George, Levi, Veronica, Amanda, Mary, Sarah, and a baby whose name has not been ascertained. "1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby

______________________

Bowman.-- Catharine Eby, widow of the late Isaac Bowman, was born in Berlin, Ont., in 1830; died July 6, 1909; aged 79 y. 1 m. 2 d. She is survived by five sons and four daughters. She was a faithful sister in the Mennonite Church. Funeral services were conducted in the Berlin Mennonite Church, by Noah Stauffer and Simon Swartz. Text, Psa. 16:11 and Mark 14:8. Buried in cemetery near Hagy Church.2a

2aGospel Herald - Vol. II, No. 17 - July 22, 1909 
Catharine W. Eby
 
9064 Charles H. Eby, "was born June 18th, 1859. He is married to Caroline Grim. They reside in St. Ignace, Michigan, where he is engaged in the grocery business. To them were born three children, two of whom are living, namely: Eunice and Aldeth."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Charles H. Eby
 
9065 "Following is a biographical sketch of Dr. Eby who is a missionary of the Canadian Methodist Church, at Tokyo, Japan:

Charles S. Eby, fourth son of the late Jonas Eby, was born at Goderich, Ontario, November 3rd, 1845. The early years of his boyhood were spent in Elora where his parents moved before he had completed his second year. When only eleven years of age he was converted to God while attending a camp meeting on the old Peel circuit. He soon after joined the Wesleyan Methodist Church, and has always remained loyal and true to God and the church of his choice.

When about fifteen years old he was apprenticed to a saddle and harness maker in Guelph, but his heart was not in his work; he took more interest in his Latin grammar which he kept tacked before him while at work at the bench. He remained there nearly two years; then thought there was no use spending any more time in a harness-maker's shop, as the ambition of his life was to study for the ministry, to which he felt called. He taught school for some time, a few miles from Guelph, and at the age of eighteen began to preach. The late Rev. Dr. Carroll, then chairman of the Guelph District, recommended him to the Conference, and he spent one year (the first year of his probation), on the Peel circuit. In the fall of 1865 he went to Victoria University, Cobourg, with the determination to go through a college course, and to work his own way along.

Something seemed to draw him to the German work, and when he had been two years at Cobourg, Providence opened up a way for him to go to Germany to perfect himself in the German language. He attended the Theological University at Halle, and spent two years and a half there and in other parts of Europe. He made good use of the time in preparing himself for the mission work that lay before him. Before leaving Europe he preached in both German and French. In the latter part of 1870 he returned to Canada, much stronger in body and enjoying far better health than ever before.

He again went to Cobourg to continue his studies, and the following May graduated with honors, and received the degree of B. A. In June he was ordained and received into full connection by the conference. The same month he was married to Miss Nellie Keppel, of Brooklyn, New York, and settled down at Preston, Ontario, as superintendent of the German Mission in connection with the Methodist Church. He spent five years in the German work, - three in Preston and two in Hamilton, Ontario. Then came a change. God had other work for him, and a great future lay before him in a far distant land. Just at this time (in 1876), a call came for two more men for the foreign mission--Japan. Consecrated, whole-hearted men were wanted. Bro. Eby was one of the men the conference chose for that important work.

Always ready to obey the Saviour's command, and willing to go anywhere for Christ, he at once responded to the call. Preparations for the journey were immediately made, and in August of the same year he bade a long good-bye to friends, home and native land, and with his wife and two little children sailed for the islands of Japan. He threw his whole soul into his new work. It was not easy work. The Japanese language had to be learned, and many other difficulties overcome. His powers for learning languages are wonderful, and it was not long before he had mastered the Japanese, and could preach in that language as freely as in English. For several years he remained, doing a noble work for God, then his health failed and he was obliged to leave for a time and return to Canada.

Early in the spring of 1885 he left Japan and did not return for nearly two years. He and his family were welcomed by their many friends in Canada and the United States. His visit and the change were of great benefit to him and, through the blessing of God, he soon regained his health. During his stay here the degree of D. D. was bestowed upon him by the Victoria University, Cobourg. He lectured and gave missionary addresses from one end of the Dominion to the other, and in some places in the United States.

He was ready when the time came for him to return to Japan, and was anxious to get once more at the work he loved so well. Since his return his heart has been more than ever in the work. God is crowning his labors with success, and he is looking forward to a long term of usefulness in the Empire of Japan. He is a minister of superior ability, with strong mental powers and decided convictions. He is a master of his subject, and he pours out his heart with fervent eloquence, holding his audience with intense and absorbing interest. His rhetorical ability and literary skill will obtain him a hearing anywhere. He possesses a master mind, and his hearers feel that more than an ordinary man is addressing them. He has chosen a field where his superior powers will find ample scope in delivering and enforcing that gospel which has done so much for himself."

_____________________________

Charles S. Eby, D. D. "was born November 3rd, 1845. He was married to Nellie Keppel in June, 1871. they have five children, namely Nellie, born in 1876; Charles Albert, born in 1879; Mary, born in 1881; Winnie, born in 1883; and Harold, born in 1889."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby

___________________________

EBY, CHARLES SAMUEL, Methodist missionary, author, and publisher; b. 3 Nov. 1845 in Goderich, Upper Canada, son of Jonas Eby and Hannah Fessant; m. 15 June 1871 Ellie (Nellie) Keppel in Brooklyn (New York City), and they had three daughters and three sons; d. 20 Dec. 1925 in Saskatoon.

Descended from Pennsylvania German stock, Charles Eby was converted when he was 11 at a camp meeting in Elora, Upper Canada, where his family had moved. At about 15 he began a two-year apprenticeship with a saddle and harness maker in Guelph while expanding his education. He then earned a teaching certificate, taught for a year near Guelph, and served as an exhorter in the local Wesleyan church.
At age 19 Eby began preaching, and in 1865 the annual conference of the Wesleyan Methodist Church in Canada permitted him to attend Victoria College in Cobourg as part of his probation for the ministry. After two years he travelled to Europe, where he studied German, French, and theology. He returned to Victoria in 1870 and graduated the following spring (dd 1886). Shortly thereafter he was ordained and married Ellie Keppel.

Eby served the Methodist German missions at Preston (Cambridge) and Paris, Ont., from 1871 to 1874 and those in Hamilton from 1874 to 1876. He visited all the German missions in Ontario, and lectured widely on his European travels in order to raise money for this work. Considered an excellent lecturer and a rousing preacher, he staunchly supported traditional evangelism. He began publishing the biweekly Der Canadische Evangelist [Canadian Evangelist] (Preston) in 1872 and personally maintained the journal until 1875 despite financial losses. The magazine was never well received, however, and his financial and propaganda campaigns outside the regular mission channels disturbed many itinerants.

In 1876 Eby was appointed to Japan, where the church had begun work in 1873 [see George Cochran*]. The mission authorities believed that his ardent zeal would spark a revival there as well as reawaken the Christian spirit in Canada. After learning basic Japanese, Eby opened a mission in K?fu in 1878. Although conversions were initially rare, he attracted large crowds through his sermons and his lectures on Western religion and culture. He also helped to train a native Japanese ministry in Tokyo.

Strongly committed to evangelization, Eby considered that the real hindrance to Christian civilization came from the scepticism and secularism inherent in modern Western science and philosophy. For him, the best hope of success lay in attracting the brighter members of the samurai class by presenting Christianity as a logical ethical and moral system as well as a spiritual experience. In 1881-83 he published the Chrysanthemum (Yokohama), a monthly aimed at the Japanese intelligentsia but read mostly by the missionary community.
In early 1883 Eby delivered in Tokyo a popular series of lectures on Western theology and philosophy which was published in both English (Christianity and humanity) and Japanese. He credited these lectures with increased tolerance of Christianity by the Japanese authorities, and also with helping to promote a spiritual revival and making the K?fu mission financially self-supporting. Another lecture in early 1884 appeared as The immediate Christianization of Japan: prospects, plans, results. On furlough in 1885-86, Eby undertook an exhausting North American tour to promote Methodist missions. In 1886 he presented an important lecture, published in Toronto as Methodism and the missionary problem, on the need to devote greater resources to overseas work. Before leaving Canada, he began a campaign for two projects that would dominate his remaining years in Japan.

Eby believed that the best way to convert Japan was to establish a large educational and social-relief mission near the Tokyo Imperial University where special lectures on Christianity could be presented. After modifications to accommodate traditional evangelism, regular church services, and a greater role for native Japanese workers, the Central Tabernacle opened in January 1891. In addition to running it, Eby published Japan for Christ, a journal outlining its work. In his second undertaking Eby, recognizing that the Board of Missions in Canada could not afford new recruits, called for "a supplementary force of self-supporting missionaries who, would work in harmony with the mission, and teach to pay expenses." Fifteen men and one women were to work in Japan as part of this "light brigade" of Christian soldiers before it ceased operations in the early 1890s.

Most of Eby's campaigns led to disputes. The Central Tabernacle spent more than one-eighth of the Japan mission budget, yet had little impact on the Japanese intelligentsia. Moreover, Eby proved to be a poor administrator, and his independent financial campaigns embarrassed the Board of Missions. Similarly, the board had no authority over the Self-Support Band, but feared it would have to pay the group's expenses if anything went wrong. Eby had little regard for the wishes of others, and his relations with the Canadian Methodist authorities and the highly nationalistic native Japanese church were often strained. After his return to Canada in 1893 because of exhaustion, the controversies surrounding the Japan mission that he and his supporters had aggravated reached a climax. In late 1895 Eby and others were removed from the work there.

In 1896 Eby accepted an invitation to Homer Street Methodist Church in Vancouver, an institution with an active Japanese and Chinese membership. Three years later he moved to the similarly diverse Agnes Street Church in Toronto. Subsequently he held a variety of appointments, including Bracebridge (1903-5) and Kingston (1905-7). He then laboured for a year as secretary for eastern Asia of the International Reform Bureau, which opposed prostitution and the use of alcohol and opium. In 1908 he accepted a call from Zion Congregational Church in Toronto, and a year later he opened the People's Institute, a socialist church advocating brotherhood, social action, and peace. After his wife's death in 1912 he lived with a daughter in Saskatoon.

Eby was a man of rare talents, undoubted skills, and restless energy. He had a profound impact on the founding and early progress of the Methodist mission in Japan and did much to encourage Canadian support for mission work. He also strongly promoted ecumenism in church affairs, and strove to have Japan recognized as an equal member of the community of nations. As his obituary noted, he was a refined scholar, an impassioned preacher, and a courageous missionary.

Neil Semple

Charles Samuel Eby's Christianity and humanity: a course of lectures delivered in Meiji kuaido, Tokio, Japan and The immediate Christianization of Japan: prospects, plans, results were published in Yokohama in 1883 and 1884 respectively. Among his other works are How shall we preach Christ? ([Yokohama, 1885]); Jikken Shingaku/Experimental theology or, the Methodist standard of preaching, which he had printed in Japanese (Tokyo, 1888); The Forward Movement in Japan: an address to the Methodist Church (Toronto, 1889); and The world problem and the divine solution (Toronto, 1914).
UCC-C, Biog. file; Fonds 14/2/2, 78.083C; Fonds 14/2/4, 78.084C, 78.098C; Fonds 14/3/3, 78.092C. Christian Guardian, 1871-1908. G. H. Cornish, Cyclopædia of Methodism in Canada . . . (2v., Toronto and Halifax, 1881-1903). E. E. Eby and J. B. Snyder, A biographical history of early settlers and their descendants in Waterloo Township, with Supplement, ed. E. D. Weber (Kitchener, Ont., 1971). A. H. Ion, "Canadian missionaries in Meiji Japan: the Japan Mission of the Methodist Church of Canada (1873-1889)" (ma thesis, McGill Univ., Montreal, 1972). Methodist Church (Canada, Newfoundland, Bermuda), Missionary Soc., Annual report (Toronto), 1884-95; Woman's Missionary Soc., Annual report (Hamilton, Ont.; Toronto), 1884-96. Methodist Church of Canada, Missionary Soc., Annual report (Toronto), 1874-84. G. R. P. and Howard Norman, One hundred years in Japan, 1873-1973 (2v., typescript, UCC, Div. of World Outreach, [Toronto], 1981). Neil Semple, The Lord's dominion: the history of Canadian Methodism (Montreal and Kingston, Ont., 1996). Wesleyan Methodist Church in Canada, Missionary Soc., Annual report (Toronto), 1871-74.2a

2aDictionary of Canadian Biography Online 2000 University of Toronto/Université Laval 
Rev. Charles Samuel Eby, D. D.
 
9066 Charlotte Eby, "was born January 9th, 1859. She is married to Charles Van Pelt and resides in Indianola, Iowa. She has four children"1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Charlotte Eby
 
9067 SCHIBONO, Cheryl (nee: Eby) - Peacefully after a lengthy illness at the Hilltop Manor on Tuesday, May 31, 2005, in her 48th year. Cheryl Schibono of Cambridge, loving wife of Loredano (Dano) and dedicated mother of Jason and Ryan both at home. Loving daughter of Audrey and Neil Eby of Brantford and dear sister of Christine. Loved daughter-in-law of Rita and Antonio Schibono of Cambridge and sister-in-law of Ivana and Tony Jr. Schibono. Cheryl was loved by the staff at Hilltop Manor and prior to her illness was a devoted employee of Graham Mathew Chartered Accountants. Friends will be received at Little's Funeral Home, 223 Main St. E., Cambridge tonight (Wednesday) from 7-9 p.m. and Thursday from 2-4 and 7-9 p.m. Funeral services will be conducted at Forward Baptist Church, 455 Myers Road, Cambridge on Friday, June 3, 2005 at 11 a.m. Cremation to follow. Remembrances to the Multiple Sclerosis Society would be greatly appreciated by the family.1a

1aThe Record 1 Jun 2005 
Cheryl Ann Eby
 
9068 Gameo Article Christian Eby
 
9069 Christian Eby, "the eldest of the above family, was born near Lititz, Lancaster County, Pennsylvania, February 22nd, 1734. He was married to Catharine Bricker. They retained the old "Eby Homestead" situated on Hammer Creek. He greatly improved the dwelling house erected by his father in 1754. The dressed sandstone in front wall bears date 1754 and names of Christian Eby and his wife Elizabeth. (From Simon P. Eby's notes) The house and barn on the old homestead were in their time considered stately buildings. The house had originally a large chimney in the centre with fire place in nearly every room on first and second story; it had an arched cellar underneath, walnut and oaken panneled partitions, with some of the window sashes hung on cords with lead weights. The barn was built 99 feet long (only that long so as not to offend a neighbor who shortly before had built a barn of the boasted length of 100 feet). The walls of both, particularly so of the house, are good and solid to this day. Christian was a large, well proportioned and athletic man, retaining unusual health and vigor of both body and mind up to the time of his death. He was an elder in the Mennonite Church and wore a long beard, which in his later years had turned white. Regular stated Mennonite meetings were held at his house, until a building for that purpose was erected in his neighborhood. He lived during the Revolutionary War and foraging parties took off some of his horses and cattle, carrying with them large quantities of flour and grain from his mill. On one occasion his wife's pewter dishes and spoons and an oven full of newly baked bread and pies shared the same fate. During the winter in which the American Army was encamped at Valley Forge a number of disabled soldiers were quartered in the old Lutheran Church near Brickerville, and were supplied weekly with milk and other necessaries of life from his and neighboring farms. As already stated, he died September 14th, 1807, and lies buried in the family graveyard on top of the hill opposite the buildings of the said place. His wife Catharine, who is said to have been an amiable and greatly esteemed person, survived him several years. They had a family of twelve children, as follows: Elizabeth, Christian, Peter, John, Andrew, Catharine, Barbara, Anna, George, Maria, Benjamin, Maria. Barbara and Benjamin were the only two of the family that settled in Canada. The descendants of the others are all to be found in Pennsylvania and the Western and Pacific States with the exception of Sem Wissler,(See family of Sem Wissler), one of the sons of Anna who was married to Jacob Wissler."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Christian Eby
 
9070 Christian Eby, "the fourth son of Theodorus Eby, was born in Switzerland, February 12th, 1698. He was married to Elizabeth Mayor, a member of one of the families that emigrated with Theodorus. Christian and his wife settled on Hammer Creek, in Elizabeth Township, Lancaster County, Pennsylvania, about three miles north of Lititz. Here he died about the 15th day of September, 1756, and his wife died December 12th, 1787. They had a family of ten children"1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Christian Eby
 
9071 Rev. Christian Eby, "the fifth son and eighth member of Bishop Benjamin Eby's family, was born June 19th, 1821. He was received as a member of the Mennonite Church while yet a young man. On February 26th, 1854, he was ordained as a minister of the church. The congregation soon found him to be a man of more than ordinary talents. Having his mind well stored with biblical and other knowledge, besides being endued with grace and unction from on high, he was fully qualified for the work of the ministry. He ranked with the best ministers of the church in his day, and was by all considered sound in the doctrine of their famous founder, Simon Menno. He did not, like some, try to build the house of God, the Lord's temple, with wood, hay and stubble, but with gold, silver and precious stones. His sermons were generally well prepared for the various occasions, full of logic, adapted to the wants of the hearers and attended with divine influence and power, hence deep and lasting impressions were made upon his large congregations. The writer heard him preach telling sermons even within the first years of his ministry, and many times afterwards. He was very punctual in attending to his appointments and faithful in visiting the poor and all members of the church placed in his charge. During the year 1857 it was noticed that his health was failing, and, to the great loss of the church, he, on November 5th, 1859, passed out of this vale of tears to mansions above, where all is peace and joy. He was married to Mary, daughter of Abraham and Mary (Schneider) Cressman. She was born December 17th, 1820, and died April 23rd, 1867. They resided on the old homestead of his father, Bishop Benjamin Eby. They had two children who lived but a few hours"1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby

____________________________

First Mennonite Church

The first church built in Waterloo County was erected in Berlin in 1813, and was known as Benjamin Eby's Meeting House.
Benjamin Eby had come to Canada in 1807 and in 1809 was ordained preacher. Three years later, in 1812, he was ordained bishop. His "parish included sections of Waterloo, Wilmot and Woolwich" (Uttley 1937:27). In 1818 a frame addition, which was to be used as a winter school, was built on to the church. The log meeting house was replaced in 1834 by a larger frame church, and the old building was taken to Breslau to become the first meeting house in that community. (The Breslau church was known as Cressman Meeting House, a name which was changed in 1968 to Breslau Mennonite Church.) A Sunday School was opened in the church in 1841.
Benjamin Eby died in 1853. He was followed by Abraham C. Weber who served the congregation until his death in 1874. In that same year, a division in the church brought about the departure of a group who organized a congregation of Reforming (or Reformed) Mennonites, to become United Mennonites in 1875 and then Mennonite Brethren in Christ in 1883. Their church is the present-day Bethany Missionary Church on Lancaster Street East. Christian Eby was the next minister of the Berlin Mennonite Church, until 1879. The church was known over the years as Benjamin Eby's Church, Christian Eby's Church (from 1854-1904), and the Berlin Church (from 1904 until 1917.) The name of the church became First Mennonite Church in 1917.
A new brick church was built in 1902. A Bible Study School was begun in 1907, and in 1928 a separate brick Bible Study School building was erected. Stirling Avenue Mennonite Church was formed by some members in 1924 as a result of a division in the church.
Of interest: when the new church was built in 1902, the 1834 frame church was bought by D.B. Betzner who moved it to Cedar Street where it became a woodenware business and then a furniture factory. It was destroyed by fire in 1937.2a

2aWaterloo County Churches A Research Guide To Churches Established Before 1900 By Rosemary Ambrose 
Rev. Christian Eby
 
9072 Christian Eby, "was born April 27th, 1851, and was married to Lydia, daughter of Jacob Eby. After her decease he was married to Jennie Schuyler."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Christian D. Eby
 
9073 Eby, Gordon C., son of Mr. and Mrs. Christian Eby, was born at Kitchener, Ont., Sept. 21, 1890; died at the K-W Hospital, Kitchener, Aug. 17, 1965; aged 74 y. 10 m. 27 d. In 1921, he was married to Elsie Hewitt, who survives. Also surviving are 4 sons (Ward, Foster, Gary, and Timothy), 3 daughters (Ruth - Mrs. Murray Hill, Anne - Mrs. Douglas Millar, and Louella), and 16 grandchildren. One son preceded him in death. Two months previous to his death he renewed his faith in Christ. Funeral services were held at the First Mennonite Church, Aug. 20, in charge of C. F. Derstine.1a

1aGospel Herald - Volume LVIII, Number 37 - September 21, 1965 - pages 841, 842

______________________


Gordon Eby's diaries shine a light on Kitchener's past

KITCHENER Berlin was to become a city at the stroke of midnight, and young Gordon Eby did not want to miss the chance to record history in the making.

He loaded his gramophone into the back of his horse-drawn wagon, and headed downtown to record the celebrations. There was to be music, fireworks and parties, and Eby aimed to capture it all. But he was left heartbroken instead. "I started setting up the machine, while putting the horn on I bumped my coat pocket against the side of the rig, smashed the blank record which was in it … that of course put an end to record-making tonight," he wrote in his diary in June 1912.

Berlin, as Kitchener was then known, was a happening place in Eby's time. Electricity had only arrived two years earlier, and Eby - a Mennonite farmer who'd spent almost four months wages on his beloved gramophone - was busy documenting the exciting changes in his hometown....

Eby's diary entries are full of his observations on everyday life in Waterloo Region more than a century ago. While his father, a traditional Mennonite "charmer" was a remnant of different era, Eby was intrigued by anything new.

"He turned his back in some ways on his Mennonite heritage. He spent most of his time going to movies and plays," said Harper, a teacher at Elmira District Secondary School who also works with the Rural Diary Project at the University of Guelph.

Like a lot of citizens at the time, Eby was swept up the city's emerging status, with its growing population of 15,000 and bustling factories. "Berlin was coming into its own," she said. "We see Kitchener become a city through his eyes. He was very excited about it." Eby didn't just document early Kitchener with his diary entries. He also took hundreds of photos of people and things he saw, and owned one of the city's first flash-photography cameras while still in his early 20s.

Eby, who earned his living collecting manure and growing vegetables on land that is now Rockway Golf Course, used new technology as a social outlet, Harper said. His camera and gramophone were novelties, and drew crowds wherever he went. What he didn't realize is how he was helping historians more than a century later....by Greg Mercer

"Gordon Eby'S Diaries Shine A Light On Kitchener'S Past". Therecord.com. N. p., 2016. Web. 9 July 2016.

__________________________

Eby, Gordon C., son of Mr. and Mrs. Christian Eby, was born at Kitchener, Ont., Sept. 21, 1890; died at the K-W Hospital, Kitchener, Aug. 17, 1965; aged 74 y. 10 m. 27 d. In 1921, he was married to Elsie Hewitt, who survives. Also surviving are 4 sons (Ward, Foster, Gary, and Timothy), 3 daughters (Ruth - Mrs. Murray Hill, Anne - Mrs. Douglas Millar, and Louella), and 16 grandchildren. One son preceded him in death. Two months previous to his death he renewed his faith in Christ. Funeral services were held at the First Mennonite Church, Aug. 20, in charge of C. F. Derstine.

Gospel Herald - Volume LVIII, Number 37 - September 21, 1965 - pages 841, 842

__________________________________

Kitchener Pioneer's Kin Dies


Gordon C. Eby, 74, the last surviving great-grandson of Kitchener pioneer Benjamin Eby, died today at K-W Hospital after an illness of several months. Mr. Eby was born in Kitchener, a son of the late Mr. and Mrs. Christian Eby. He lived at 409 Mill St. He was a member of First Mennonite Church, the first church in the community, founded by Bishop Eby in 1813. Mr. Eby unveiled a plaque commemorating Bishop Eby at the church six years ago. Kitchener got its original name, Ebytown, from the bishop. Mr. Eby was an assistant foreman at J. M. Schneider Ltd. for 34 years until his retirement in in 1960. He was a member of the Schneider's Veterans Club and the firm's 20 Year Club. He served overseas with the 118th Battalion from 1915 to 1919, and after the armistice served in Germany as an interpreter, using the High German he learned in the Mennonite school that his great-grandfather founded. He was a member of the Kitchener branch of the Canadian Legion and the Waterloo Historical Society. Mr. Eby's main hobby was gardening, and he developed a new type of apple that is now being tested at the University of Guelph, the Vineland experimental nurseries and Stark Nurseries in the United States. Surviving are his wife, the former Elsie Hewitt whom he married in Kitchener in 1921; four sons, Ward of New Westminster, B.C., Foster of Baden, Gary and Timothy of Kitchener; three daughters, Mrs. Murray (Ruth) Hill of Blair, Mrs. Douglas (Anne) Millar and Loella of Kitchener and 16 grandchildren. One son predeceased him. The body is at the Schreiter Sandrock Funeral Home until Friday when removal will be made to the First Mennonite Church ofr a service at 2:30 p.m. with Bishop C.F. Derstine officiating. Burial will be in East End Mennonite cemetery. Contributions to the crippled children's centre will be accepted as expressions of sympathy. 
Christian Gordon "Gordon" Eby
 
9074 Christian Eby, "was born December 15th, 1842. He was married May 24th, 1868, to Catharine Clemens. They reside at the "Two Bridges", South Ward, Berlin. He follows gardening in summer and butchering in winter. They have a family of six children...They are all at home yet and unmarried save James Edward who is married and resides in Berlin."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Christian S. Eby
 
9075 Christian S. Eby, "was born February 7th, 1863. In 1882 he was married to Catharine Heintzman. They reside in the state of Washington, U. S. Their family consisted of three children".1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Christian S. Eby
 
9076 Christina Eby, "was born August 15th, 1863. She is married to Solomon M. Eby."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Christina Eby
 
9077 Eby, Clayton, son of the late Moses and Esther Eby, was born Oct. 11, 1904; died at the South Memorial Hospital, Galt, Ont., after a brief illness, Sept. 17, 1957; aged 52 y. 11m. 6 d. He accepted Christ as his Saviour in youth, united with the Mennonite Church, and remained a faithful member until death. On Oct. 2, 1934, he was married to Serena Shantz. To this union were born 4 children, 3 of whom survive (David, Gladys, and Richard). One grandchild also survives. Funeral services were held at the Preston Mennonite Church, Sept. 20, in charge of B.B. Shantz, Howard Good, and C. N. Good. Interment in the Hagey Cemetery1a

1aGospel Herald - Volume L, Number 53 - December 31, 1957 - page 1137, 1138 
Clayton Eby
 
9078 *** much confusion about name. In one instance Ezra has Cora Dalia as two separate individuals Cora Erb and Dalia Erb, another as Cora Dalia Eby. It is possible that she is named Cordelia. Cordelia Eby
 
9079 FLANNERY, Cornelia A. (nee Eby) Surrounded by her family, Cornelia passed away peacefully on Thursday, January 22, 2015 at the People Care A.R. Goudie Nursing Home, Kitchener, at the age of 93. Loving wife of the late James Patrick Flannery (1963). Loving mother of Thomas, Paul, Michael, Anne Ker (Brian), Mark, Steven (Kathryn) and Ward (Pauline). Cherished grand-mother of twelve grandchildren and eight great-grandchildren. Dear sister-in-law of Isabelle Eby. Predeceased by her parents, Ion and Martha Eby, and her siblings, Walter, Roy, Gordon, Ethel Carey and Marguerite Rush. Cornelia was a former member of Rockway and Breithaupt Seniors and St. Aloysius and St. Teresa's RC Churches. Cornelia's family will receive relatives and friends on Monday, January 26, 2015 from 6:00 p.m. - 9:00 p.m. at the Henry Walser Funeral Home , 507 Frederick Street, Kitchener, 519-749-8467. The Memorial Service will be held in the Funeral Home Chapel on Tuesday, January 27, 2015 at 1 p.m. Interment Woodland Cemetery. As expressions of sympathy, donations to the Charity of Choice would be appreciated by the family (cards available at the funeral home). A special thank you to the caring staff and volunteers at the People Care A.R. Goudie Home. Visit www.henrywalser.com for Cornelia's memorial.1a

1aWaterloo Region Record 24 Jan 2015 
Cornelia Ann Eby
 
9080 Cornelius Eby, "the youngest son of Moses Eby, was born January 10th, 1840. On November 24th, 1867, he was married to Elizabeth Allgeier who was born December 28th, 1844. At present they reside in Elmwood, Ontario, and have a family of twelve children"1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Cornelius Eby
 
9081 Lived with Elizabeth Eby and husband Jacob Bergey Cornelius Eby
 
9082 Cornelius A. Eby, "born February 5th, 1884."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Cornelius A. Eby
 
9083 Cuthbert H. Eby, "born March 20th, 1885."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Cuthbert H. Eby
 
9084 Cyrus Eby, "the youngest son of Samuel and Susannah Eby, was born August 2nd, 1844. On October 4th, 1864, he was married to Sarah Ann Heise who was born January 6th, 1841. He resides at Chippewa Hill, Ontario, and follows farming. He has a family of seven children" 1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Cyrus Eby
 
9085 Cyrus Eby, "was born January 18th, 1855. On November 17th, 1885, he was married to Mariah Buehler. They reside in the town of Waterloo where he is engaged as street-car driver. Their family consists of six children".1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby

_________________________

Found Dead in Bed at the Hotel Grand in Galt. Lived in this Town Several Years Ago.

The following despatch records the death of a former resident of Waterloo in the person of Cyrus Eby, who resided here for a number of years. Galt, Sept. 13 - When an employee of Hotel Grand went to call Cyrus Eby, stableman, this morning, he having failed to show up at his accustomed place, he discovered the man a corpse in his bedroom. There was no evidence of disorder in the room, the occupant having apparently died while he slept. Eby complained last night of pains in his stomach. Before retiring he took a Seidlitz powder, which seemed to afford him relief. The doctors summoned pronounced death due to natural causes, one of them having knowledge of deceased being affected with heart trouble. No inquest will be held. Eby belonged to Bloomingdale, Waterloo county. He was 55 years of age, and had a reputation for industry and good conduct in the discharge of his duties. He leaves a wife and family, who reside near Bloomingdale, and was about forty years of age. The remains were taken to Little's morgue and thence sent on to his former home.2a

2aWaterloo Chronicle Sep 20 1906 pg 5 
Cyrus Eby
 
9086 Cyrus Eby, "was born October 31st, 1866. He is married to Lizzie Brubacher."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby

_________________________

Eby,-- Cyrus, son of William K. and Susannah (Dettwiler) Eby, was born Oct. 31, 1866, in Conestoga, Ont.; died Dec. 28, 1951, at New Paris, Ind.; aged 85 y. 1 m. 28 d. He was married to Elizabeth Brubacher in 1890, to which union were born 6 children who survive him (Jeremiah Eby, Mrs. Susannah Brubacher, William Eby, Israel Eby, Mrs. Amanda Kulp, Mrs. Lydia Kilmer). His wife Elizabeth died Jun 11, 1913. He was married again to Susannah W. Martin in 1917. She died Nov. 20, 1934. Also surviving him are a stepson (Mahlon Martin, Brutus, Mich.), 45 grandchildren, 25 great-grandchildren, and one sister (Mrs. Daniel Brubacher, Elverson, Pa.). He moved withhis family to Brutus, Mich., in 1898 where he lived on a farm till the death of his wife, after which he made his home with his daughter. He accepted Christ as his Saviour in his youth and faithfully served the Lord until his departure. Funeral services were held at the Mennonite Church, Brutus, Mich., Jan. 2, 1952, by Clyde Kauffman, Royal Buskirk, and Ivan Weaver. Interment was in the Mennonite Cemetery, Brutus, Mich.2a

2aGospel Herald - Volume XLV, Number 12 - March 18, 1952 --- page 286, 287 
Cyrus Eby
 
9087 Saruch Eby, "was born January 28th, 1849. He is married but name of wife not received"1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby

___________________________________


Eby.-Cyrus, the last survivor of the Jacob B. and Mary Eby family, was born in Berlin (now Kitchner), Ont., Jan. 28, 1849. At about the age of twelve, he moved with his parents to Elkhart Co., Ind., where he has resided since. On Sept. 5, 1869, he was united in marriage to Anna Wenger, to which union were born the following children: Mrs. Albert Enders, Mrs. S. E. Weaver, Mrs. David Schrock, Mrs. Ralph Paritt, Elmer Eby, Mrs. Frank Sawyer, and Mrs. C. L. Amick. He united with the Mennonite Church in 1911 and remained a faithful member until death. He departed this life Oct. 26, 1923; aged 74 y. 8 m. 28 d., leaving his companion, 7 children, 21 grandchildren, 11 great-grandchildren, besides a large circle of relatives and friends, to mourn the loss of a husband, father, grandfather, and neighbors. Funeral services at the Olive Mennonite Church conducted by C. A. Shank and D. A. Yoder. II Cor. 5:1.2a

2aGospel Herald - Volume XVI, Number 32 - November 8, 1923 - pp. 669, 670 
Cyrus Eby
 
9088 Daniel Eby, "was born January, 1773, and in 1807 he, in company with others, emigrated to Canada and had his home with his cousin, Benjamin Eby. In 1809 he was married to Catharine Brech who died in 1815, leaving two daughters, namely: Susannah, and Rebecca who was married to Abraham Rosenberger. In October, 1817, he left Canada and went to western Pennsylvania where he formed an acquaintance with Delilah Moxley, a widow residing in McClellandtown, near Pittsburg, to whom he was married in January, 1818, and soon thereafter moved to what is now the township and county of Waterloo, Ontario. They took up land a little north of the town of Waterloo, the farm being now known as the "Huber" or "Mrs. Sittler Farm". Here he resided but a short time, and then went back to Pennsylvania where he took sick and died November 28th, 1820. His wife remained in Canada, and died June 25th, 1842. they were blessed with one son"1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Daniel Eby
 
9089 Daniel Eby, "was born October 4th, 1861. On May 19th, 1864, he fell off a fence and was instantly killed."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Daniel Eby
 
9090 Daniel C. Eby, "born August 26th, 1885."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Daniel C. Eby
 
9091 Daniel E. Eby, "was born March 3rd, 1862. He resides in Maryborough, Wellington County, near Moorefield, where he is engaged in farming. He is not married."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Daniel E. Eby
 
9092 Daniel E. Eby, "was born October 28th, 1833. He is married to Hannah Clemens and at present resides at Southampton, Ontario. They have a family of ten children"1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Daniel E. Eby
 
9093 Daniel M. Eby, "was born October 20th, 1852. He is married to Lydia Frey and resides in Berlin where he is engaged in Mr. Hall's lumber yard and planing mills. His family consists of three children, namely: Malinda, Mary Ann, and Nathaniel."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Daniel M. Eby
 
9094 Daniel M. Eby, "born July 12th, 1878."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Daniel Martin Eby
 
9095 Daniel Eby, "was born February 3rd, 1840. They resided on a farm near Macton, Wellesley Township, Waterloo County, Ontario. When ailing he moved on his father's place near Berlin, where he died May 17th, 1867. He was married to Frances Myers, March 18th, 1862. She died September 12th, 1869. They had a family of three children, namely: Emma Zalena is married to August Israel and had a family of one child which died in infancy. They own and occupy a farm at Strasburg, Ontario. Theophilus, died young. Effa Zilpha, married to Charles Meyer, a miller by trade, but now he is engaged in the grocery and bakery business. They have a family of several children, of whom two have died. They reside in Meaford, Ontario."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Daniel S. Eby
 
9096 David Eby, "was born in Lancaster County, Pennsylvania, February 23rd, 1785. The house in which he and the Rev. Benjamin Eby made arrangements in regard to the moving to Canada is still standing and occupied by a son of Henry E. Brubacher. On June 21st, 1807, David Eby, in company with Benjamin Eby and wife, Joseph Schneider and wife, Peter Erb and wife, Daniel Eby, Samuel Eby, Daniel Erb, and others arrived at George Eby's who resided on the farm now owned and occupied by Jacob B. Shantz, one-half mile south-east of Berlin. He made his home for a few months with Peter Erb for whom he cleared ten acres of forest. Peter Erb had settled on the west side of the Grand River, one mile north of Bridgeport. David Eby was always happy and merry, even while at his work clearing away the large trees of the dense forest he was either singing or whistling most of the time. On May 8th, 1810, he married Elizabeth Bechtel who was born March 5th, 1787, and died January 15th, 1844. They resided on lot No. 32, German Company's Tract, where he died April 1st, 1860. They raised a family of eleven children"1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby

___________________________

Erb Street (David Eby) Mennonite Church

Early services which began around 1837 were held in private homes. Land at the corner of Erb Street and Hallman Road, where the present-day cemetery is located, was donated by David Eby Sr. on July 14, 1851; a red brick church known as David Eby's Church was built in the same year. The first minister in the new church was Jacob M. Oberholtzer who served from 1852 to 1874. He was followed by Elias Schneider (1874-1889), Jonas Snider (1892-1900), Newton Weber (1921-1923), and Noah Hunsberger (1923-1929).

Due to a difference of opinion in the David Eby congregation, Sunday School classes were held at first in a private home, that of Levi Groff, beginning in 1887. The dissension which resulted culminated in a division in the church in 1889; the minister, Elias Schneider, and the deacon, Menno S. Shantz, left the church and joined with the Old Order Mennonites of Woolwich Township. The following year, 1890, saw the commencement of "Edification Meetings", which were held in the homes of members of the David Eby congregation. These meetings later became the Young People's Bible Meetings.

By the beginning of the twentieth century, it was recognized that the church building was either in need of repair or in need of complete replacement. Consideration was given to building a new church on the same site or on a site on King Street North. A decision was made to accept from Samuel S. Snider the donation of a parcel of land which was also on Erb Street, but nearer town. Excavation of the foundation for the new church began in the Spring of 1902. A dedication service was held on August 17, 1902. A parsonage was built in 1929 on land donated by Herbert Snider, the son of Samuel Snider. The church building was renovated and enlarged in 1949-1950; a dedication service was held on April 9, 1950. Further renovations were made in 1974..2a

2aWaterloo County Churches A Research Guide To Churches Established Before 1900 By Rosemary Ambrose

_________________________


In 1852 David lived with his son David. 
David Eby
 
9097 A mission was begun by Rev. Christian Holl shortly after his arrival in Berlin on May 9, 1839, and a class (or congregation) was organized several months later on August 29, 1839 by Bishop John Seybert of the Evangelical Association during a camp meeting held at David Erb's farm near Lexington. John Hoffman was the Berlin class leader; his brother, Jacob , was class leader for the Waterloo-Lexington congregation.1a

1aAmbrose, Rosemary. Waterloo County Churches A Research Guide to Churches Established Before 1900. Kitchener, Ontario, Canada: Waterloo-Wellington Branch, Ontario Genealogical Society, 1993. [used the kind permission of Rosemary Ambrose 2011] 
David Eby
 
9098 Died At Lexington, Ont., on Wednesday, September 9th, 1914 David Son of Moses and Esther Eby Aged 13 Years and 11 Months The Funeral Will take place from his late home at Lexington, on Saturday, September 12th, at 1. 30 o'clock p. m. to the East End Mennonite Church for service and interment. Friends and acquaintances will please accept this intimation.

Funeral Card 
David Eby
 
9099 Lived with George & Salome Schmidt David Eby
 
9100 Two story log house covered with clapboard was built in 1842. The logs were dressed down to 7" and by 1851 was covered in clapboard The date 1842 was carved into one of the second story logs. The house was on land in 1981 to be redeveloped and has probably been demolished. David Eby
 
9101 David B. Eby, "was born August 26th, 1827. On January 21st, 1851, he was married to Lydia Bowman who was born September 10th, 1831, and died August 14th, 1882. Shortly after his marriage he moved on his father's old homestead, several miles west of the town of Waterloo where she died. After the decease of his first wife he was married, March 25th, 1884, to Mary Kercher, widow of the late Hiram Hewitt. She was born February 11th, 1853. In April 1891, they left the farm and moved to the town of Waterloo where they are still residing. To Mr. Eby and his first wife were born ten children"

The Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby

_____________________

EBY - On the 19th of March, 1897, in the town of Waterloo, Ont. , Bro. David Eby, aged 70 years, 4 months, 13 days. Bro. Eby had been failing for a number of years, and had not expected to cross the threshold of 1897, but he was fully resigned to God's will. Buried on the 21st at the E. Eby M. H. Funeral services by Solomon Gehamn. A widow and family of three children mourn his departure.

Herald of Truth, Vol. XXXIV, No. 8, April 15, 1897 - Page 124, 125 
David B. Eby
 
9102 David B. Eby, "was born October 18th, 1846. He is married to Hannah Bowman and resides near Freeport, Ontario, where he is farming. His family consists of five children".1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby

_____________

Eby.-David B. Eby was born Oct. 18, 1846, in Waterloo Co., Ont.; died Nov. 10, 1921; aged 75 y. 23 d. He was converted 40 years ago and joined the Mennonite Church to which he remained faithful to the end. In January, 1881, he was married to Hannah Bowman who preceded him in September, 1895. The following year he was married to Mary Bechtel. He leaves a sorrowing widow, one son, three daughters, and four grandchildren. Funeral Nov. 12 at First Mennonite Church, Kitchener, conducted by the brethren, U. K. Weber and Jonas Snider2a

2aGospel Herald - Volume XIV, Number 34 - November 24, 1921 - p. 671 
David B. Eby
 
9103 David E. Eby, "was born December 10th, 1859. He is married to Susannah Hess. They reside in New Hamburg where he is engaged in the furniture factory."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
David E. Eby
 
9104 David E. Eby, "was born September 22nd, 1831. He was married to Leah Eby who was born November 9th, 1835. They resided on a farm in Maryborough Township, Wellington County, Ontario, where he died April 2nd, 1877. They had a family of ten children"1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
David E. Eby
 
9105 David S. Eby, "was born December 24th, 1864. He is unmarried and at present resides with his mother at Port Elgin, Ontario."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
David Enoch S. Eby
 
9106 David G. Eby, "was born September 1, 1888."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
David G. Eby
 
9107 David Eby, "the sixth son of George and Barbara (Wenger) Eby, was born on the farm now owned by Jacob B. Shantz within the corporation of the town of Berlin, Ontario, April 23rd, 1812. On January 20th, 1835, he was married to Christina Hauck who was born November 11th, 1816, and died October 13th, 1853. He died in Elmira, Waterloo County, Ontario, June 19th, 1886. After the decease of his first wife he was again married, February 22nd, 1854, to Ann Robinson who was born September 28th, 1822, and died July 16th, 1855. After her decease he was married a third time, to Christina Hoffer who was born March 23rd, 1828. He resided in Berlin for many years, then he moved to Elmira, where he died.."

The Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
David Wenger Eby
 
9108 Dilman Eby, "was born March 16th, 1855. He is married to Catharine Steuernagel and resides in the town of Berlin where he is engaged as a builder and carpenter. No family."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Dilman Eby
 
9109 Body was stolen by Dr. Frederick Christ to be used as a medical display.

A few days after the burial of Eby's child, Dr. Christ came into Schnarr's Tavern in Waterloo Village, and made the remark that the bodies of William Rebscher, John Nahrgang, and Zoeger were not in their graves. Afterwards, Dr. Christ offered to bet with witness that Abram Eby's child was not in his grave. Christ said that he would not go and bring the bodies himself, but that he could get plenty at an outlay of ten dollars. 
Edward Eby
 
9110 Edward Eby, "was born September 9th, 1853, and was accidentally killed at a Sabbath school celebration on Saturday afternoon, July 23rd, 1859."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Edward Eby
 
9111 Edward A. Eby, "born September 22, 1877."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby

_________________________



Edward (Ed) Eby was born in Ontario in Grant Township, Bruce County, Elemwood, in 1877, on September 22nd. He headed west in 1892 for Banff, Alberta where he was employed for one year. Still working his way west, he arrived in Vancouver in 1896. Then he crossed over to Victoria and worked his way up the island to Uclulet, where he found a job in a general store as manager. The store was owned by a H. C. Brewster, who later became Premier of B.C. In 1904 Eby went back to Victoria where he married Vina Fayette. From Victoria the couple came up the coast to the mouth of the Skeena River and Port Essington, where Eby was employed in the Carlisle Cannery. Their first child, Vernon, was born in Port Essington in 1905. In that year he was employed as foreman in Wadhams Cannery. But Eby wasn't interested in a career in the fish packing industry. In that year, 1905, the Kitsumkalum and Lakelse valleys had been thrown open to land seekers and the first settlers arrived to stake homesteads. With the beginning of steamboat traffic in May of 1906 Eby came up river to look around. When the steamer pulled into a cut bank, about one mile upriver from the mouth of the Kitsumkaum River, to take on cordwood, Eby decided to gather up his belongings and come ashore to size up the surrounding country. The site, halfway between Port Essington and Hazelton seemed ideal for a boat landing point, and, with the prospects of a rush of settlers seeking land, a good place to build a hotel and store. He staked out several acres of land there along the riverbank and proceeded to build himself a log cabin and do a bit of clearing. But they had to get back to the coast in July to his job in Wadhams Cannery, as the salmon run was starting. It was while he was at Wadhams Cannery that Eby met William (Billy) Bruce, who was bookkeeper at the Skeena River Commercial cannery in the vicinity of Port Essington. Eby told him of his plans to establish a hotel and store upriver at Kitsumkalum and said he could need a partner, and Bruce agreed to join in this new venture. In the spring of 1907 Eby again headed up the river, this time with a whole cargo of lumber to start construction of his hotel and store. Whether Bruce came up with him and helped with the buildings is not known. What we do know is that Bruce was back with the Skeena River Commercial cannery again for the 1907 fishing season. Being in Port Essington, he was able personally to see that Eby got the supplies he needed, and it was in September of that year that be bought a large order of various whiskies and beer for Eby's new bar and shipped it up on the steamer Northwest. About half way up the river to Kitsumkalum the boat hit a submerged snag or rock, ripping a large hole in the aging planking on the bottom, and the vessel settled to the bottom, in water deep enough that a good deal of her cargo, including Eby's order of beer and hard liquor sailed off downstream. About half of their order was lost, some of it to be picked up by thirsty travellers on the lower river in after years. But Eby was established at what became known as Eby's Landing, although the post office which the postal service opened there was Kitsumkalum post office, although the settlers always referred to it and spelled it Kitsumkalum, while some old maps called the river and lake Kitsumgallum, which might have been nearer to the native's way of pronouncing it. On a few occasions the riverboats make quick trips up to Hazelton in October if heavy rains raised the level of the river to make passage possible, but that had to hurry back as a frosty night or two would mean the river level could drop to the point where navigation would be impossible. The flat bottomed vessels, when coming down nearly empty didn't require much more than two feet of water, except the latest arrival on the river, the Inlander, whose owners claimed she could navigate quite well on a heavy dew. However, as a general rule navigation closed about the middle of September, so upriver storekeepers had to at least attempt to get in their full winter's supply of goods on these last trips. It wouldn't have been too hard to Eby in the fall of 1907 as there weren't too many bachelors in the valley yet. But in 1908 families started arriving, the Franks, the Marshes, the Johnstons besides many more single men taking up land.

Mrs. Eby and son Vernon came up to join her husband as soon as living quarters were available. They lived in a section of the hotel, and Mrs. Eby looked after the rooms and did the cooking in the hotel kitchen. And so, Ed Eby, with partner William Bruce, became the first businessmen in the new settlement which eventually ends up as the town of Terrace.

Edward Eby was a medium sized man, about five feet seven inches, and fairly stout in build. Where his folks originated, and the name Eby came from I don't know, although I had heard that they came to Eastern Canada from the middle east, possibly Syria. His distinguishing feature was that he had one blue eye and one brown eye, which suggested a mixing of nationalities somewhere in his background.

He had a shrewd business ability, as he proved in later business ventures he undertook. His brother, Sam, came into the area later, but I can't recall Sam ever taking an active part with Ed in the business, although he may have helped financially. As the name Fayette implies, Mrs. Eby was of French stock. She was born in Chesley, Wisconsin on October 24, 1882. She was quite a clever woman. She had the only camera in the district for a number of years, a Kodak postcard size, and she developed and printed all her own pictures. We are indebted to her for most of the old pictures of riverboats and dog teams, now so treasured. When the family moved to Smithers about 1919, they took with them a whole cardboard box of Mrs. Eby's negatives. What happened to those negatives after Mrs. Eby's death in 1956, I do not know. But the few old time residents left here could really have a field day looking them over.

The original log cabin became a Dominion Government telegraph office as soon as the Landing became a stopping place for the boats and the center of the new community, with Percy Brunell as the first operator. Then Henry (Hank) Boss was moved up from Graveyard Point to take over, and I believe the Graveyard Point office was closed. Following Boss was a Mr. Dempster, and last a Hugh Burch took over about 1911, and it was he who moved the office into Terrace a year or two later, to a small building on a lot just to the east of what is now the Skeena Hotel. Ed Eby brought the first horses into the area, possibly in 1907, and the site of the old barn, with stalls for four horses at the north end, a blacksmith at the south end, and a hay loft above, is still visible to those who know where to look. His blacksmith was Harry Richmond, some of whose family are still in the area. One team he called Kitsum and Kalum, the other was called Prince and Black Silver. When the country to the north as far as Kitsumkalum Lake was opened up somehow these teams managed to haul heavy freight wagons through to the foot of the lake, with several miles of the road just a muddy rutted track skirting around trees in the dense forest. In the fall of 1910 Clair Giggey and his father cut cordwood on the area around the old cemetery, and Eby's teams brought this cordwood down and piled it along the riverbank handy for loading on the steamboats. I remember watching out our windows as the heavily laden sleighs passed our home on the way to the Landing. He had a number of drivers over the years, some we got to know, like Dan Claher and Frank Nightwine, but many of them stayed only a short time and then were gone. But the favorite one with us youngsters was Pat Healy, right from Ireland. When he spoke in that Irish brogue he almost sang out the words, and loved his horses, petting them, caressing them, and the horses seemed to understand and respond. What eventually happened to his teams I do not know. Possibly Billy Bruce took them with him when he went up into the Bulkley Valley to fill the contract for railway ties he and Eby required.

The hotel lobby was the size of a big living room, and was used on a number of occasions to hold small dances. Small, because there were only a handful of women in the valley. Vital Soucie could play the violin, especially the fast square dance music, and George Minchin could wail out a tune on his mouth organ. Frank Nightwine could beat out the accompaniment on his guitar. It may not have been much to listen to, but the beat was there, the musicians usually stomping out the beat with one foot. In 1911, with the building of the community hall-school-church complex next to the Marsh home, that hall took over as the entertainment centre. The big building was never used as a store, whoever had it built in 1912 realizing that they had made a mistake, the town and all the business was to be in Terrace. But the fir floor upstairs was ideal for dancing, and all the dances in the valley were held there until the Progress Hall, later known as the I.O.O.F. hall, was built in Terrace. By 1912 Henry Frank had mastered the violin, and he and Frank Nightwine provided the dance music, with Frank Lazelle, if he was present, spelling Henry off on the violin. Lazelle was left handed and held the violin between his knees, facing outward, but he was able to saw away on the fiddle, giving off a very acceptable rendition.

With the rails being laid through the valley in late October of 1910, the last year of steamboating on the Skeena the fall of 1911, Eby realized that if he was to survive, he had to go to the new town of Terrace. The Rev. Thomas Marsh also saw the need to move into the new town and build a proper church. So in the fall of 1912 Marsh bought the Eby hotel and proceeded to tear it down, cart the lumber into Terrace and build himself a new home. He chose the east side of Kalum Street south of Keith, where he built a very large two storey home. And Eby started his move. The first building he tore down was the freight shed, Eugene (Gene) Hale taking on that job. But while standing on the two by four braces across the top of the walls, driving the boards off the roof, he last his balance and fell to the floor, breaking several ribs, and effectively removing him from the wrecking business. However, the work went on. Eby bought a lot up Eby, the street named after him, and built a bungalow type home on the property. It burned down in the 1950's, and the DeJong family bought the property. He also built a two storey store building in Terrace on the east side of Kalum Street.

In 1911 a daughter was born in the Prince Rupert hospital to the Ebys. She was named Vina after her mother. Then in 1913 a second son, Peter was born at home in Kitsumkalum. At this time Dr. Traynor was established in Terrace and he undoubtedly attended the birth.

Mrs. Eby was in charge of the hotel kitchen for the first while, when business was not very brisk. As Eby's partner said they tried to hire a Chinese cook in Port Essington, but there were so many reports of accidents and drownings on the river that no Chinaman would venture up the river. Work on the railway eventually brought a number of the many foreign workers into the area and one day a half dozen of these workers came into the dining room and sat down at a table. Mrs. Eby glanced out the door to the kitchen, saw all these strangers and decided she didn't want to go out to serve them. So she rounded up Jack Hepburn to act as waiter. Jock put a towel over his arm and went out to take their order. When asked what they wanted they all said pie. So he went to the kitchen where Mrs. Eby told him there was no pie. He went back to the group and told them "no pie", what else would you like. The answer from the group was again pie. It turned out this was the only English word they knew, so Mrs. Eby fixed up a lunch that seemed to satisfy them. With business getting brisker a cook was again looked for, and a widow woman, Mrs. Annie Ross, took over the running of the hotel, possibly about the fall of 1909, with Billy Bruce assuming the role of waiter if things got busy in his spare time. Mrs. Ross had a grown up family who also came into the district. Tom, the oldest, Frank, Bob, and Inez in her late teens. They took up land at the head of Kitsumkalum Lake, and hence the name Rosswood. So Ed built living quarters for his growing family to the rear of the store where the family lived the last few years they were at the Landing.

And so the era of Eby's Landing came to an end. It wasn't a long period, seven years at the most, but it took in the period when the valley was in its in infant stages. With few exceptions the settlers were single men, from all corners of the earth. As a group they got along exceedingly well. Eby's store was a favourite gathering place, with the big stove in the center of the room, a few chairs, barrels and boxes to lounge in or on, a spitton nearby which the smokers and chewers were adept, most of the time, at hitting. Much of the conversation centered around their plans for the next year, clearing land, putting in a garden, or the best kind of apple varieties to plant. I believe it was Mrs. Dan McKinnon who remarked that more farming was carried on around Eby's stove in the winter time than actually took place the next summer.

W.C. Sparkes bought part ownership in the new store in Terrace in 1914 and it became Eby and Sparkes. In 1916 Eby joined the Canadian Army when the 102nd battalion was recruited in Northern B.C. that year. Their commander was Col. Warden and they were known as Warden's Warriors. A large percentage of them were men in their middle ages, used to roughing it and familiar with firearms. From the time they were recruited to the time they were in the frontlines in France was the shortest training period of any of the troops that went overseas in that first world war. Ed Eby was put in charge of a field post office, so saw little or no service in the front line trenches. He was home again early in 1919 and shortly after his return he sold his interest in the store to W.C. Sparkes and moved with his family to the town of Smithers, where he built a hardware store. When the store was well established and Peter was old enough to take charge, Eby again moved east to Vanderhoof where he said he was building a cash and carry hardware store. People laughed at him saying customers wouldn't patronize a cash and carry store, they were too used to monthly credit. But Eby went ahead with his store and made a success of it. He also opened a store in Burns Lake. He eventually retired to Smithers. Mrs. Eby became very ill and passed away in the Smithers hospital on October 2, 1956, and Ed Eby died sometime in early 1964. To the best of my knowledge none of the Eby family now live in Smithers. However, several grandchildren dwell in Prince Rupert.

Floyd Frank

November 23, 19831a

1aHistory of Pioneer Residenct Edward Eby 
Edward A. Eby
 
9112 Edward H. Eby, "was born July 4th, 1852. He was married to Mary Rosseau. She died some ten years ago. He is now in Chicago, Illinois, where he is engaged in a bakery. To them were born two children, namely: Addison and Emma (dead)."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Edward H. Eby
 
9113 Eby, Edwin - On Saturday, April 15, 1989, suddenly, as the result of a heart attack, Edwin Eby, of RR 2, Petersburg, aged 84 years. He was a member of the Mannheim Mennonite Church. Edwin was a director with Mennonite Aid for over 30 years and was on the Mannheim Mennonite Cemetery Board for many years. Father of Glenn and his wife Joanne of Ottawa, Edward and his wife Margaret of Brampton, David and his wife Carol of New Hamburg, Kenneth and his wife Helen of Waterloo, Sandra and her husband Mark Brubacher of Conestogo and Audrey at home; foster father of Margaret (Mrs. Lincoln Bauman) of Ridgetown and Dorothy Knarr of Brantford; brother of Ellen of New Hamburg. Eight grandchildren, Jenifer, Daniel, Jason, Dereck, Geoffrey and Brent Eby, Eric and Alex Brubacher also survive. Predeceased by his parents, Daniel Eby and the former Angeline Baer; his wife, Elsie in 1984; one daughter, Lorene; three brothers, Gordon, Edward and Irvin. Friends may call at the Ratz-Bechtel Funeral Home, 621 King St. W., Kitchener, until noon on Tuesday, when removal will be made to the Mannheim Mennonite Church, where the funeral service will be held at 2:30 pm, with Rev. James Reusser officiating. Interment will be made in the adjoining cemetery.

Unidentified Newspaper Obituary 
Edwin Eby
 
9114 Sun. Oct. 6 1912 Got up about 9 oclock - was a sunny fine day - had breakfast, milked - as I was ready to take cows out about 10 thirty oclock, my cousins from New hamburg, George Rush and Nathaniel Stear also a friend of theirs Elgin Eby very distant cousin of ours came down in the barn with their horse - I took cows out with the wheel -when I came back I asked the boys where their friend was - they told me that he went up town to visit his sister for the day up on Queen St. at Shantze's - both Elgin's parents are dead. I and the boys got some grapes after dinner, then went to the park boat riding - had some fun being rocked about by the swells from the gasoline launch, which Mr. Bush had in command - Otto Kern and a bunch of girls were on it - Samand Herb were here evenings - around 8 oclock as I was milking, the first time by electric light Nathaniel Stear and George Rush being with me. Elgin Eby came to drive home with the boys. We went in the house to play the phonograph again for awhile - then helped boys to get horse ready, bid them good-by. Got our horse ready and drove Frany home -got to bed around 11 oclock.1a

1aGordon Christian Eby Diary 
Lance Corporal Elgin Earl Eby
 
9115 Built in 1838 the house was demolished by 2003 . It was a frame building built in the "Georgian Farmhouse" style, a popular design in the Waterloo Region. In 1978 is was listed in poor condition. Elias Eby
 
9116 Built in 1840 by Jacob S. Shoemaker across from the mill he constructed in 1830. In 1969 the house with stone foundation and handmade brick walls was listed in fair to poor condition. The roof was framed with mortise and tenon joining. The house was a combination of Georgian proportions and classical decorations. The large dormers were reminiscent of early buildings in Pennsylvania. In 1850 the house was sold to Elias Eby together with the mill complex. The house was been renovated a number of times. The porch was removed and the house converted into a tri-plex by 1969.1a

1aBridgeport Mill, a non-dated (probably 1969) type written manuscript located at Doon Heritage Crossroads 2009 
Elias Eby
 
9117 Elias Eby, "the second son of Benjamin Eby, was born February 22nd, 1810, and was married to Anna, daughter of Benjamin and Veronica (Martin) Weber. After their marriage they moved on the farm now owned by Simeon Brubacher, son of the late Samuel Brubacher. From there they moved to Bridgeport, Ontario, where he, in company with Barnabas Devitt, carried on the milling and mercantile business, besides running a large farm. He died rather suddenly, June 2nd, 1878. They had a family of ten children"1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby

________________________

DEATH OF ELIAS EBY

We regret to learn of the death of Mr. Elias Eby, of Bridgeport, one of the oldest and most highly esteemed residents of this county. He had a stroke of apoplexy on Thursday morning last\emdash just as He was getting ready to visit his daughter in Markham. He became at once insensible and never again rallied. He lingered till Saturday night when he breathed his last. Mr. Eby was the second son of the late Rev. Benjamin Eby, and was born in the old Eby homestead, now occupied by Mr. Menno Erb, East Berlin. Being possessed of rather a better education than was generally obtained in those days, we believe he taught school several years when a young man. He lived a number of years on the farm adjoining his father's\emdash now occupied by the widow of the late Samuel Brubacher, when about 30 years ago, he and Mr. Barnabas Devitt purchased the Bridgeport mills, farm, &c., belonging to the late Jacob S. Schoemaker. Messrs. Eby & Devitt carried on for man? years a most extensive business, when the firm was dissolved and Mr. Eby associated with him his brother Jacob B. Eby, and afterward his son and son-in-law. We believe few men enjoyed so much respect and confidence as did the deceased\emdash and the greatest sympathy was felt for him when, chiefly through being too kind-hearted with a large army of delinquent debtors, he lost a large portion of his property. He was a life-long member of the Mennonite church and his absence from the old meeting house will he greatly missed from Sunday to Sunday. His wife preceded him to her last resting place about a year. He leaves behind him two sons and four daughters, who are, one in California, one in Manitoba, one in Michigan, one in Markham and two in this county--showing how families at the present day get separated. The funeral takes place on Wednesday.1a

1aBerlin Daily News 3 Jun 1878 
Elias Eby
 
9118 from: Gazetteer and directory of the County of Waterloo. 1867 Elias Eby
 
9119 Rev. Elias Eby, "was born May 4th 1850. He was converted in his early days. In March, 1870, he joined the Evangelical Church, and entered the ministry in 1876. He was the first stationed on the Sebringville (Ontario) Circuit where he remained seven months, and the remainder of the year he was stationed on the Bentinck (Ontario) Mission. In 1877 he was stationed on the Middleton Mission, and during 1878-79 he was a local. In 1880 he was again stationed on the Sebringville Circuit, and during the years 1881-82 he labored on the Maitland Mission. During the years 1883-85 he was stationed on the Pembroke Mission, and during the years 1886-87 on the Niagara Mission. In the spring of 1888 the conference placed him on the Morriston Mission. From here he was placed on the Carrick field of labor, and in April 1895, he was stationed on the Dashwood field of labor where he is now working. So far he has proved successful in the ministry. May he still continue doing work for our Lord. On April 22nd, 1879, he was married to Margaret Bender who was born February 17th, 1851. He has a family of four children, namely: Sibylla, born May 30th, 1880; Edwin, born August 19th, 1881; Laurinda, born April 20th, 1884; and Oscar, born June 14th, 1886."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Rev. Elias Eby
 
9120 Elias B. Eby, "was born September 19th, 1829. On December 11th, 1853, he was married to Rachel Shantz who was born July 19th, 1833. They reside a mile or so to the west of Elmira where he followed farming for many years but now lives retired. To them were born twelve children"1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby

_________________________________________

Another Pioneer Gone

The old pioneers of Woolwich are disappearing from the scene of action. Another one passed away, on Thursday is the person of Elias B. Eby of Floradale neighborhood.

The Eby family are of Celtic origin; After the founding of the Mennonite body they united with the, and as early as 1683, we find one Jacob Eby ordained bishop in Zurich, Switzerland. The ancestor of the Ebys of the country was Theodorus Eby who came to Pennsylvania in 1715. His grandson, David Eby, came to Canada in 1807, and later settled north of Waterloo where the subject of this sketch was born on the 19th September, 1829. On December 11th 1853 he was married to Rachel Shantz. They settled on the farm a mile south-west of Floradale when it was all bush but 10 acres. Their first house was 14 ft. by 16 ft. in size with one window containing 4 panes of8 by 10 inches. The roof was made of hollowed out basswood logs. But through the beginning brought hardships, Mr. and Mrs. Eby were undaunted, and with industry and economy became possessed of one of the finest farms in the Township. And to the original farm they added several others so that their children when they grew up, had a fairly good start in life. Deceased lived on the old farm until his death, with the exception of a few years that he lived in Floradale, where his wife died about six years ago.

To Mr. and Mrs. Eby were born 12 children, one of whom died before his parents. The living are: Absolom, of Elmira; Susannah (Mrs. Reuben Snider) now living on the old Eby homestead; Jesse, living in the Northwest; Reuben, near Winfield; Amos, near Floradale; Noah, of Winnipeg; Hannah (Mrs. Enoch Burkhart) Jacob, of Didsbury, Alberta, Rebecca (Mrs. Noah Good); of Floradale; Elias of New Haven, Conn., Rachel (Mrs. Emerson Morrison), of Didsbury, Alta.; Besides these there are 54 grandchildren, so that there is not much danger of the Eby family dying out yet.

One sister of deceased, namely Mrs. Samuel Snider, also survives him. Deceased was of a retiring disposition and a good neighbor, always ready to lend a helping hand where such was needed. The funeral will be held this (Saturday) forenoon, and will without doubt be largely attended.2a

2aElmira Signet 8 Mar 1906 
Elias B. Eby
 
9121 Elias Cleason D. Eby, "was born June 10th, 1879."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Elias Cleason D. Eby
 
9122 Elias H. Eby, "was born December 20th, 1835. He is married to Mary Jane McKersie. He is a carpenter by trade and resides in St. Louis, Missouri. They had a family of two children, namely: Martin and Ida (dead)."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Elias H. Eby
 
9123 Elias S. Eby, "was born February 4th, 1875. He is at home and works on the farm."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Elias S. Eby
 
9124 Elias W. Eby, "was born July 6th, 1848. He resided at South Valejo, California, U.S., until a few weeks before his death. He returned to Caledonia, Michigan, where he died at his brother Benjamin's residence, August 28th, 1883. His body was brought to Berlin, Ontario, and interred at the Eby graveyard, east of Berlin. He was not married."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Elias W. Eby
 
9125 Elijah Eby, "born August 30th, 1867."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Elijah Eby
 
9126 mentioned in delayed birth registration. He is living in Detroit and has the family bible. Elijah Eby
 
9127 Elizabeth Eby, "born October 15th, 1888."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Elizabeth Eby
 
9128 Elizabeth Eby, "the eldest of Moses Eby's family, was born January 17th, 1824. She was married, April 11th, 1844, to Jacob Bergey who was born September 1st, 1818."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby

______________________________


Bergey.--Near Manheim, Ont., Elizabeth Eby Bergey, widow of the late Jacob Bergey, passed away on May 19, 1911. She was born Jan.17, 1824; aged 87 y. 4 m. 2 d. She bore her six weeks' illness previous to her death with great patience and resignation and often expressed a longing for her Savior to come and take her to Himself. She leaves to mourn her death 8 children, 45 grandchildren and 21 great-grandchildren. Funeral was held on May 21 at Latschar Church on which occasion Bro. N. Stauffer spoke to a crowded house from Rev. 21:4, 5, and Bro. Manasseh Hallman from II Tim. 4:6-8.2a

2aGospel Herald - Volume IV, Number 11 - June 15, 1911 
Elizabeth Eby
 
9129 Elizabeth Eby, "the youngest daughter of Samuel Eby, was born February 25th, 1836. She was married to Henry Drehmer, January 1st, 1861. In 1871 they moved to the West and are now living at Johnson, Nebraska, after having lived at Tecumseh, Ontario, nearly four years. They have three sons, namely: Samuel A., Charles H., and James E."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Elizabeth Eby
 
9130 Elizabeth Eby, "was born April 14th, 1814, and was married to Cyrus Bowers, a farmer, who was born September 27th, 1816, and died October 19th, 1889. She died April 5th, 1843. They resided on "Sweet Briar Farm," two miles south-west of Berlin, Ontario."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Elizabeth Eby
 
9131 Elizabeth Eby, "was born January 26th, 1820. She was married to Isaac Weber who was born January 30th, 1816, and died October 14th, 1889. They resided in Woolwich Township, near the Martin Mennonite Meeting House where she died June 19th, 1889. To them were born seven children"1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Elizabeth Eby
 
9132 Elizabeth Eby, "was born July 15th, 1833. She is married to William Echtenaker and resides in Manitowah, Wisconsin, U.S. She has a family of seven children, namely: Helena, Emma, Edith, Bertha, Emil, Gustave, and Amanda."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Elizabeth Eby
 
9133 Elizabeth Eby, "was born June 9th, 1827, and is married to B. A. Neberd, a tailor."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Elizabeth Eby
 
9134 Elizabeth Eby, "was born October 23rd, 1858. She is married to John Schmidt. They live in Minnesota and have several children."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Elizabeth Eby
 
9135 40 Wineva Ave. Elizabeth Amelia Eby
 
9136 Elizabeth B. Eby, "was born November 19th, 1848. She is married to Aaron B. Shantz, a farmer. They reside near Berlin. No family."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Elizabeth B. Eby
 
9137 Elizabeth F. Eby, "was born in Berlin, Ontario, February 12th, 1848, and now resides in Wisconsin, U.S. She is married to Philip Cress, a tanner. They have a family of ten children"1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Elizabeth F. "Lizzie" Eby
 
9138 Elizabeth Eby, "born October 15th, 1892."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Elizabeth Veronica Eby
 
9139 Ella May Eby, "born March 18th, 1881.1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Ella May Eby
 
9140 Emanuel Eby, "was born Septemebr 30th, 1869. He is in Michigan, engaged as a farmer."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Emanuel Eby
 
9141 Emanuel H. Eby, "was born December 27th, 1848. He is married to Lizzie Moyer and resides at Southampton, Ontario, where he is engaged in the tannery. To them were born five children, of whom three died in infancy. The two living are Edgar and Albert."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Emanuel H. Eby
 
9142 Emma Eby, "born May 10th, 1865."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Emma Eby
 
9143 Emma Eby, "was born June 22nd, 1866. She is married to Albert Ziegler, a painter. They reside in Victoria, Vancouver Island, B. C."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Emma Eby
 
9144 Emma Eby, "youngest daughter of Menno Eby, also resides with her parents."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Emma Eby
 
9145 Enoch Eby, "the youngest son of David and Elizabeth (Bechtel) Eby was born August 24th, 1834. On February 2nd, 1856, he was married to Magdalena Schneider who was born June 30th, 1833. They reside on a farm near Port Elgin, Ontario, where he died August 24th, 1884. To them were born ten children, .."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby


In 1852 Enoch lived with his brother David. 
Enoch Eby
 
9146 Enoch Eby, "was born December 3rd, 1841. He is married to Kezia Welty."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Enoch Eby
 
9147 Enoch Eby, "was born March 4th, 1877."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Enoch Eby
 
9148 Enoch S. Eby, "was born April 5th, 1867. He is residing in Port Elgin, Ontario, and is not married."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Enoch S. Eby
 
9149 Ephraim Eby, "second son of Menno Eby, was born in Ontario, and was married to Phenie Norman, at Jackson, Minnesota. They now live near Worthington, Minnesota, and have five children, namely: Nettie, Edith, Flossie, Grace, and Harry."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Ephraim Eby
 
9150 Esther M. Eby, "was born February 4th, 1864. She is married to Amos Gingerich. They reside near Elmira where he is farming."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Esther M. Eby
 
9151 1871 - Ezra Eby is staying with Aaron Kraft. Ezra Eby
 
9152 Ezra B. Eby, "was born November 28th, 1856. He is a miller by trade. On May 22nd, 1894, he was married to Emma Schoendelmeier. They reside in Berlin and have a daughter several weeks old, name not received"1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby

__________________


Ezra B. Eby

A widely known Twin-City resident in the person of Ezra B. Eby, 26 Francis St. north, Kitchener, passed away at his home early Friday morning, the result of a heart attack. He was in his 77th year and had been in his usual health. Born in St. Jacobs, he had lived in Kitchener for the past 40 years. Surviving are his wife, three daughters, Mrs. E. J. Capling and Mrs. Carl Zarnke of Kitchener, and Miss Laura at home. One brother, Silas, in Alberta, two sisters, Mrs. Peter Wenger, also in Alberta, and Mrs. Nathaniel Martin of St. Jacobs; also five grandchildren. A funeral service (private) was held from his late home on Sunday to Zion Church for public service. Interment took place in the Woodland Mausoleum. Rev. G. F. Barthel, assisted by Rev. E. E. Hallman officiated.2a

2aWaterloo Chronicle, August 10, 1933 
Ezra B. Eby
 
9153 A man's pocket watch in a gold hunter's case. The maker's name on the watch face is "Elgin Natl. Watch Co." The serial number 482322 is stamped inside the lid. The hour numerals are Roman numerals; the second-hand dial has Arabic numerals. The front and back of the case are heavily engraved with floral and other motifs. The case is also engraved "EE Eby / Berlin / Ont." A double twisted watch chain is linked to the stem at the top of the watch. A note with the watch gives the date 1887. Accession Number 2001.821.001 Ezra E. Eby
 
9154 Ezra E. Eby, "was born August 9th, 1850. He is married to Mary Ann Clemmer and resides near Berlin. He followed teaching for 20 years. He has a family of five children, of whom the eldest son, Ira, died when 14 years of age, Odo, Ion, Leo, and the youngest is Ina, the only daughter."

The Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby

___________________


EBY - On the 30th of July, 1901, at Ebersole, Waterloo Co., Ont., from the effects of a paralytic stroke which came upon him about ten days before his death. He was the youngest surviving son of the late Bro. Isaac Eby of near Berlin, who died many years ago. Deceased was born August 9, 1850, and was married to Mary Ann Clemmer, who with three sons and one daughter survive him. One son preceded him. Deceased was for upwards of twenty years a teacher in the public schools and was well known throughout the country, the editor having been for several years a pupil of his. He was also for several years engaged in the publishing business and is the author of several works, one of which is an excellent biographical "History of Waterloo Township" in two volumes, published in 1895. His burial on the 2d of August, in the C. Eby graveyard, Berlin, was very largely attended. Funeral services by S.R. Knechtel in German and D.B. Sherk in English.

Herald of Truth, Vol. XXXVIII, No. 16, August 15, 1901 - Page 254, 255

________________________

Ezra E. Eby

Ezra E. Eby succumbed on Tuesday, at eleven o'clock in the morning to the effects of the attack he suffered the Friday before last. He was a son of Isaak Eby and was born August 9, 1850. In his youth, he educated himself for the profession of a teacher and pursued this profession for over 30 years at various schools in this county. For some years, also, he was active with the late Caspar Hett at a printing and publication firm in Berlin. He was in demand as a writer and prepared many family registers. A few years ago, he published also a history of the first settlers of this county and their descendants in two large volumes, which is widely known. In Erbsville, he ran a small store, as well as pursuing the teaching profession. Besides his widow, Mary Ann, nee Clemmer, he is survived by three sons and one daughter. Amazingly, he died on the same day and at the same time at which his father was born, 93 years ago. Honour to his memory!

Berliner Journal August 1, 1901 Page 4 - Column 3 Translated by: Patricia J. Kauk for the Kitchener Public Library 
Ezra E. Eby
 
9155 Ezra M. Eby, "was born June 29th, 1877. He is engaged with Mr. Jesse Martin on the farm."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Ezra M. Eby
 
9156 EBY - On the 19th of December, 1892, in Berlin, Ontario, of diphtheria, Phares Loyal, beloved son and only child of Silas and March Eby, aged 3 years, 7 months and 19 days. Buried in C. Eby's graveyard on the 20th. Funeral services conducted by Pre. Daniel Wismer and Joseph Nahrgang from John 14:1-4.1a

1aHerald of Truth, Vol. XXX, No. 2, January 15, 1893, Page 37, 28  
Farris Loyal Eby
 
9157 Florence A. Eby, "born May 5th, 1873."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Florence Amelia Eby
 
9158 Eby, Floyd Edwin, son of Edwin and Ida (Diefenbacher) Eby, was born in Kitchener, Ont., Nov. 16, 1917; died of a heart attack at Kitchener, Ont., Mar. 12, 1981; aged 63 y. On Mar. 5, 1949, he was married to Marion Bauman, who survives. Also surviving are two sons (Darryl and Paul), two daughters (Karen-Mrs. Larry Buchanan and Lynn-Mrs. Ray Gibson), 4 grandchildren, 2 sisters (Pearl and Ruth Eby), and 3 brothers (Clarence, Orton, and Keith). He was a member of the Stirling Avenue Mennonite Church, where funeral services were held on Mar. 14, in charge of Vernon Leis and Mary Mae Schwartzentruber; interment in Woodland Cemetery.

Gospel Herald - Volume 74, Number 17 - April 28, 1981 - page 350 
Floyd Edwin Eby
 
9159 Franklin Eby, "was born July 13th, 1846, and is married to Huldah Butler. They have no family. At present they reside in Port Huron, Michigan."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Franklin Eby
 
9160 George Eby, "the fifth son of Christian Eby and his wife, Elizabeth Mayer, was born December 11th, 1748, and died June 10th, 1800. He was married, September 17th, 1769, to Barbara Sensenig who was born in January, 1750, and died April 24th, 1787. They resided in Lancaster County, near Lititz, where they had a family of nine children, namely: Christian, Samuel, David, George, Joseph, Esther, Anna, Elizabeth, and Susannah. None of this family settled in Canada save Samuel and George."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
George Eby
 
9161 George Eby, "the fourth son of George Eby and his wife, Barbara Sensenig, was born May 8th, 1776, and was married, April 1st, 1797, to Barbara Wenger who was born in the year 1780 and died in September, 1834. In 1804 they moved from Pennsylvania to Canada. They were accompanied by his elder brother, Samuel, and a few others. He took up part of lot No. 1, German Company's Tract, in the township and county of Waterloo. The farm is now owned by Jacob B. Shantz. They had a family of eleven children" 1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby

_________________________


?living with George in Waterloo Township in 1851 was apparently a second wife named Elizabeth born 10 Oct aged 63 born USA. source: 1851 census of Waterloo Township. 
George Eby
 
9162 George M. Eby, "was born April 23rd, 1856. He is a farmer and is married to Elizabeth Shupe. They reside at Gowanstown, Ontario, and have a family of six Children."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
George M. Eby
 
9163 George Eby, "the eldest son of George Eby, was born in Pennsylvania, December 25th, 1798, and came to Canada with his parents in 1804. He was married to Elizabeth Nafcher who was born August 13th, 1800, and died July 23rd, 1881. When a young man he moved to Elkhart County, Indiana, where he followed farming. He died November 1st, 1886."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
George W. Eby
 
9164 George W. Eby, "eldest son of John Eby, was born August 7th, 1828. He resides in Locke, Indiana, where he is engaged in the mercantile life. He was married to Lydia Weber who died some years ago. In 1888 he was again married, but to whom we did not learn. He has but one child named Lydia."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby

____________________


The Life of George Eby,
The man who named Nappanee, IN.
Written by Ida Belle Walters

George Eby was born in Ohio, the year is unknown. He had two (2) brothers, Samuel and Henry and a sister who married and went to Wisconsin. When George was a young man he came to the small village that was to become Nappanee for a short time, then going to Goshen. From Goshen, he then moved to a small village, which he named after a man who had a small store, "Locke." George stayed in Locke and built a sawmill, with the help of a couple of partners. George's first wife had died by this time and left him with a daughter named Lydia. Lydia married and moved to Wisconsin and had two sons. She and her sons died in Wisconsin

Nappanee at this time was called Locke Station and wanting to change the name, George was asked to give it a name. George was unable to attend the meeting for naming the town, so he sent 4 men to the meeting with the name he had choosen, "Nappanee."

At about this time, he married Catherine Stull, They had one (1) son, George Henry Eby Jr. When George Jr. was about a year old, George Sr. wanted to sell his share of the sawmill to his partners and go west. George was was a speculator and saw a possibilty for making money out west. So George, leaving his wife and son, took his share of the money and went to Dodge City, Iowa, (it was said he named Dodge City also, but there is no proof of this). In Dodge City, he is said to have built a hotel. George had been sending money home to his wife and son on a regular basis, and had intended to send for them. Catherine stayed behind because of their baby. At some point he met a group of missionaries that were supposed to be going to Mexico to build a Church, so he sold his hotel and decided to go with them to Mexico. From here on, George was never heard from again.

When George Jr. grew up, he decided to go in search of his father. He went west and then to Mexico, but found no trace of his father any where, in the US or Mexico. George Jr. has since passed away, but there is a Grandson, George, living in Kalamzoo, MI. 
George W. Eby
 
9165 George William Eby, "was born December 12th, 1839. He is married to Gertrude Pearce and resides in Grand Rapids, Michigan, where he follows the mercantile life."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
George William Eby
 
9166 Gideon Eby, "was born April 21st, 1860. He is married to Millie Chebott."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Gideon Eby
 
9167 Hannah Eby, "the eldest daughter, was born July 6th, 1854. She is married to Peter Wenger. They reside in Grand Rapids, Michigan, and have a family of nine children, namely:...and the youngest child's name was not received"1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby

___________________

Wenger.-Hannah (Eby) Wenger was born July 6, 1854, at St. Jacobs, Ont.; died July 10, 1936, at Calgary, Alta.; aged 82 y. 4 m. Death was caused by heart failure. On Nov. 18, 1873, she was married to Peter Wenger. To this union were born 12 children (Mrs. P. Kelly of Calgary, Alta., with whom she had her home; Edgar of Calgary; Samuel, Addison, Calvin, Allen of Grand Rapids, Mich.; and Mrs. Johns of Greenville, Mich.). She leaves her aged husband, the family as described above, 1 sister (Mrs. Maria Martin of St. Jacobs, Ont.), 1 brother (Silas Eby of Alberta), 18 grandchildren, 2 great-grandchildren. Services were held in Prophetic Bible Institute, Calgary, by Marten Burget, assisted by Isaac Miller. The body was brought to the Mount View Cemetery for burial.2a

2aGospel Herald, August 13, 1936 - Vol. XXIX, No.20 - page 445,446,447 
Hannah Eby
 
9168 Hannah Eby, "the eldest of the family, was born February 12th, 1844. She was married to Jonas B. Detweiler, a carpenter. They reside in Berlin and have had children:"1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Hannah Eby
 
9169 Hannah Eby, "was born April 13th, 1867. She is married to Enoch Burkhardt."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Hannah Eby
 
9170 Hannah Eby, "was born September 27th, 1869. She is married to William Gibbons."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Hannah Eby
 
9171 Harriet Eby, "was born February 1st, 1836. She is married to H. Eisenlohr, a tinsmith, and resides in Bangor, Michigan."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Harriet Eby
 
9172 Harriet Eby, "was born October 10th, 1846. She was married to Isaac B. Burkholder who died some years ago. She now resides in Port Huron, Michigan, and has a family of four children, of whom one is dead."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Harriet Louise Eby
 
9173 Built in 1850-1855 by Henry Eby, it is a frame house. In 1978 it was covered in insul-brick and was listed as being in fair condition. Heinrich "Henry" Eby
 
9174 Henry Eby, "the fourth son of Bishop Benjamin Eby, was born January 25th, 1820. When a young man he received a fair school education. He was a printer by trade and for some time editor and publisher of the Deutscher Canadier, issued weekly at Berlin, Ontario. He also published many books and all kinds of English and German literature. His printing office and residence were situated on the west side of King Street, South Ward, Berlin, about 150 yards from the Market House. The property is now owned by Mr. A. S. Hallman, grocer, who resides in it, and the printing office has been turned into a dwelling house which is rented to a Mrs. John Stauffer. Henry Eby was married, August 22nd, 1843, to Elizabeth Bowers who was born November 12th, 1825. Mr. Eby died March 11th, 1855, leaving three daughters"1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby

________________________

Henry Eby, proprietor of the German Canadian, died in Berlin, Waterloo County, the 11th inst.2a

2a
The Christian Guardian 28 Mar 1855, pg 99

______________________

A-1-66 Henry Eby: Probate of Will, granted by William Miller, Esquire, Judge of the Court, 24 March 1855 on the prayer of and in favor to Elias Eby of Lancaster Mills, Miller, Joseph E. Schneider, and Jacob Y. Shantz, both of Berlin, Yeomen, all in the County of Waterloo, and by Henry Eby, formerly of the said Berlin, Gentleman, deceased, appointed Executors to his Last Will and Testament….on the said Executors giving proof and satisfaction that the said Henry Eby is dead, and he having died on or about the eleventh day of the same month of March, and they also giving proof that such Will, and of which the following is a true and faithful transcript, is the true Last Will and Testament of the said Deceased…

In the name of God, Amen - I, Henry Eby, of the Village of Berlin…being of sound and disposingh mind, memory and understanding do make, pubish and declare this my Last Will and Testament, hererby revoking and making null and void all fo9rmer Last Wills and Testaments and writings in the nature of last Wills and Testaments by me heretofore made. First I give and devise in trust to my hereinafter named Executors and the survivors or survivor…to dispose of all and singular my real personal and mixed property of which I shall be seized and possessed or to which I shall be entitled at the time of my deceased (excepting that portion thereof herinafter given to my beloved wife Elizabeth Eby) entire or in parcels, by public auction or private contract…for the most money that can be obtained..to pay debts, dues, notes, bill, book accounts, obligations and charges against me…to give public notice in some public newspaper for all parties who are indebted to me to pay without delay and all persons to whom I be indebted to send in their claims forthwith, so that my Executors may know what amount to reserve for my debts and liabilities….I give devise and bequeath as follows, that is to ssay, I give and bequeath to my beloved wife Elizabeth Eby, one acre of land, which consists of the rear or south end of the lot number twelve in the said Village of Berlin, where I now reside, commencing at the corner of Eby and Church Streets…and which said lot of land together with the month and other provisions for her hereinafter made I declare shall be taken in lieu and satisfaction of all her Dower and right to Dpwer in the lands of which I have been or may hereafter be seized…I also direct that my said Executors shall build and prepare for my said wife a suitable house and premises, the expenses whereof shall not exceed twelve hundred dollars on the said acre of land bequeathed to my wife, and that my Executors do reserve sufficient for her support, so that she may live comfortably so long as she remains my Widow., and in case of my wife's second marriage or upon her death, I direct that the said acre of land and all and singular shall be sold - the money to be put into a general fund for my children. It is my desire that my children shall live with their mother until they shall attain respectively the age of Eighteen years…If all my said children be eighteen years of age upon my wife's death or in case of her second marriage, all the said money under the control of Executors shall be equally divided among my said children…I nominate and appoint Elias Eby of Lancaster Mills, in the Village of Lancaster and County of Waterloo, Miller, Joseph Schneider of the Village of Berlin, Farmer, and Jacob Y. Shantz of the said Village of Berlin, Farmer, to be Executors of this my last Will and Testament.
The Inventory of the personal Estate of the aforesaid Henry Eby, deceased, is of the amount of One Thousand Four Hundred and forty seven pounds, fifteen shillings and five pence.

Witnessed by Johannes Hiller and James Potter
Will Dated 8 March 1855
Probate granted 24 March 1855
Inventory amount £1447/15/5
Died 11 March 1855 
Heinrich "Henry" Eby
 
9175 Henry Eby, "was born August 27th, 1864. He is married to Nancy Schrock."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Henry Eby
 
9176 Henry Eby, "was born February 17th, 1857. He is a tanner by trade and resides at Sheboygan, Wisconsin, U.S. He has been married twice and has one child with second wife."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Henry Eby
 
9177 Henry Eby, "was born November 14th, 1822. He resides in Wyandot, Wayne County, Michigan."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Henry Eby
 
9178 Henry Eby, "was born October 10th, 1859. After he was 18 years of age he went out West and took up residence near Shoal Lake, Manitoba, where he resided for a few years. In the spring of 1886 he took sick, when he came east as far as Winnipeg, to his sister Amelia, where he died July 26th, 1886. He was not married."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby


In 1881 Henry was living with his sister Blandina Bryden. 
Henry Eby
 
9179 Arthur Henry Eby was City Fireman, and President of the Chamber of Commerce. Henry Arthur Eby
 
9180 Henry B. Eby, "was born December 16th, 1860. On April 4th, 1882, he was married to Sarah Honsberger. She was born May 16th, 1858, and died January 7th, 1891. After her decease he was again married, October 20th, 1891, to Susannah Shantz who was born February 15th, 1861. They reside on the old "Dunke Farm", near Berlin, and have a family of six children, of whom five were born unto his first wife. Their names are, Laura, Mary, Walter, Hattie, Oliver, and Edwin S."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby


___________________________

EBY - Henry B. Eby was born Dec. 16, 1860, near Kitchener, Ont.; died after a lengthy illness, Oct. 3, 1935; aged 74 y. 9 m. 17 d. He passed away at the home of his son, Edwin S. Eby, Natchez road near Kitchener. Deceased was the last surviving member of the family of the late Mr. And Mrs. Henry Eby Sr., and had farmed in this district until 15 years ago, when he retired from active work. He was a member of Sterling Avenue Mennonite Church. Surviving are his wife, 3 sons (Oliver of Guernsey, Sask.; Edwin and Ervin, both living near Kitchener) and 4 daughters (Mrs. Edwin Bowman, Guernsey, Sask.; Florence, near Kitchener; Ella Eby, R. N., Woodstock; and Mrs. Gordon Weber, near Kitchener). Several grandchildren and 1 great-granddaughter also survive. Two sons and two daughters predeceased him. Funeral services were held Oct. 7 at the home of his son, thence to Sterling Avenue Church. Interment in the First Mennonite Cemetery. Bro. U. K. Weber officiated.2a

2aGOSPEL HERALD - Vol. XXVIII, No. 34 - Nov. 21, 1935 
Henry B. Eby, Jr.
 
9181 Henry Eby, "the youngest in the family of Samuel Eby, was born January 12th, 1825. On November 11th, 1845, he was married to Maria Bauman who was born March 2nd, 1824, and died April 19th, 1875. For some time they resided on the old homestead, but afterwards moved on a farm one mile north-east of Bridgeport, Ontario. Some eighteen years ago he moved to Berlin where his wife and two of his daughters died. Since the marriage of his daughter, Elizabeth, to Aaron B. Shantz he has made his home with her. She resides about one and one-half miles south of Berlin. He had a family of five children" 1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby

_____________

the 17th of March, 1898, in Rosedale, Waterloo Co., Ont., after an illness of many months, of paralysis, Bro. Henry Eby, in the 74th year of his age. He was the son of Samuel Eby and was born Jan. .12th, 1825. He was married to Maria Baumann, Nov. 11th, 1845. His wife died April 19th, 1875. He was afterward married to Hannah, widow of Abraham Buehler. Bro. Eby was a devoted and highly esteemed member of the Mennonite Church. He was a patient sufferer during his last long illness, and we believe he has entered the eternal rest. Of his five children two sons and one daughter survive. The remains were laid to rest on the 20th at the C. Eby M. H., Berlin, where a large concourse of relatives and friends gathered to pay the last tribute of love to the departed.2a

2aHerald of Truth, Vol. XXXV, No. 8, April 15, 1898 - page 124, 125 
Henry B. Eby
 
9182 Henry F. Eby, "was born in Berlin, Ontario, September 12th, 1842, and now resides in Nappanee, Indiana, where he carries on the painting business. He is married to Elizabeth Schabach and has one child, name of which is not known to the writer."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby

_____________


Henry F. Eby Died Monday
Morning at Home on East Market Street.
WAS FIRST STATION AGENT
Served Term as Postmaster at Nappanee During Cleveland's Administration.

Henry F. Eby, aged 78 years 10 months and 6 days. One of the oldest and best known citizens of Nappanee, died Monday morning at 9:15 o'clock at his home on E. Market Street, after a short illness.

Mr. Eby, who was born in Kitchener, Ontario, Canada, on September 12, 1842 was brought to this country in 1857 by his parents, John W. and Veronica Eby, who settled in the Jones school house district near the southwest portion of Concord township. The parents, both natives of Pennsylvania, had spent a part of their career in Canada.

Mr. Eby in young manhood resided at Locke for some time, a town that was laid out in 1867 by his brother George Eby, and others, and he remained there some time after there was an exodus to Nappanee, following this town's establishment in 1875-6. However, he also became a resident of this growing community.

WAS FIRST FREIGHT AGENT.

Mr. Eby was the first B.&O. freight agent in Nappanee, when the Town was called Locke. His office was in an old freight car. He was afterwards engaged in the furniture and undertaking business for some time.

NAMED NAPPANEE.

With his brother, George Eby, he was instrumental in naming the town of Nappanee. Before a name was selected for this station by the B.&O. railroad, many wished to have the name of West Locke used. Mr. Eby and his brother had come from Nappanee, Canada, and they were influential in having this name chosen. This is a historical fact that will be of interest to many who have resided here but a few years and probably often wondered from where the town derived it name.

APPOINTED POSTMASTER BY CLEVELAND.

During Cleveland's administration he was appointed postmaster, a postion he filled very acceptably for three and one-half years.
Practically all the time since, until a short time before his death, he was employed by local industries as a cabinet maker and carver.
He was united in marriage with Miss Elizabeth Slabaugh, at Locke, in April 1865. She died about thirty-five years ago. Prior to her death they had moved to Nappanee. During his term as postmaster he was united in marriage with Mrs. Mary Helman. To this union were born three daughters, Eunice, Lula and Ethel. He is survivied by his wife, two daughters, Mrs. W. W. Kinney and Miss Lula; two step sons, Oliver and Charles E. Helman of Elkhart; also the family of a deceased step daughter, Mrs. Hugh Brevler; one sister, Mrs. Philip Cress of Philips, Wis., and one half brother, Moses Eby of Brampton, Ont., and many other relatives.
Early in life he became a member of the United Bretheren Church and about fifteen years ago untied with the St. John's Lutheren Church of Nappanee, in which he was a faithful worker until his death.
Funeral services were held from St. John's Lutheren Church, Tuesday afternoon at 3:30 o'clock, conducted by the pastor, Rev. Wm. Boatman. Interment was in the South Union Cemetery under the direction of undertaker A. E. Wright.2a

2aNappanee Advance News 18 July 1921 
Henry F. Eby
 
9183 Henry M. Eby, "was born May 19th, 1875. He resides at home in Berlin and is engaged in the brickyard."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby

______________________

Eby, -- Henry Martin, was born May 19, 1875, at Elmira, Ont.; passed away at the Rest Haven Nursing Home in Calgary, Alta., July 17, 1955; aged 80 y. 1 m. 28 d. He went to Carstairs in the spring of 1903, where he was at home until two years ago when he went to Calgary. In 1898 he was united in marriage to Minnie Giltig. To this union were born five children (Alice-Mrs. Sellers, Vancouver, B.C.; Norman, Cremona, Alta.; Menno, Water Valley, Alta.; Alvin, Royalties, Alta., and Walter, Carstairs, Alta.). He was preceded in death by his wife in 1938. He leaves to mourn his 5 children, 18 grandchildren, 3 great-grandchildren, 6 sisters (Esther, Magdalene, Rebecca, Sarah, and Susan, all of Ontario, and Lydia, of Oregon), and 3 brothers (Noah, Aaron, and Isaiah), and many relatives and friends. Funeral services were conducted by Clarence J. Ramer and Gordon Buschert in the West Zion Mennonite Church, with burial in the adjoining cemetery.2a

2aGospel Herald - Volume XLVIII , Number 35 - August 30, 1955 ---- page 839. 
Henry M. Eby
 
9184 Henry S. Eby, "was born September 24th, 1872. He resides in Port Elgin, Ontario, and is unmarried."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Henry S. Eby
 
9185 EBY, Herbert - Passed away on November 27, 2008, at Lanark Heights Nursing Home, at the age of 89. Beloved husband of Norma (Schmitt) Eby for 63 years. Loving father of Tim and Myrna Eby, Connie and Paul Wittig, all of Kitchener, Greg Eby and Phil Lanouette of Toronto. Grandfather of Tracey (nee Eby) and James Goodchild, Chad and Jill Wittig and Josh Wittig. Great-grandfather of Sebastien, Danica and Maya Goodchild and Charlie Wittig. Brother of Miriam Knutson and brother-in-law of Hilda Eby. Predeceased by his parents, Jacob and Isabella Eby; his sisters, Dorothy (Alex) Baird, Rose (Edward) Dorscht, Verna (Sid) Storer, Irvin, Nelson (Hilda), Carl (Mildred), Jake (Helen) and brother-in-law, Bill Knutson. A celebration of Herb's life will be held in the chapel of the Henry Walser Funeral Home , 507 Frederick St., Kitchener, 519-749-8467, on Sunday, November 30, 2008, at 2 p.m. The burial has already taken place. As expressions of sympathy, donations to St. Stephen's Lutheran Church or the Alzheimer Society would be appreciated by the family (cards available at the funeral home). Visit www.henrywalser.com for Herb's memorial.

Waterloo Region Record 28 Nov 2008

___________________
 
Herbert Walter Eby
 
9186 Herman Eby, "was born July 11th, 1851. He resides in the town of Berlin, Ontario, and is agent for various companies and manufacturers. He is married to Mary Ann Heiseman and has a family"1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Herman Eby
 
9187 Hiram Eby, "born December 18th, 1874."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Hiram Eby
 
9188 Hiram Eby, "was born October 25th, 1869."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Hiram Eby
 
9189 Ida Eby, "was born October 22nd, 1864, and is married to George Steed. They reside in Owosso, Michigan, and have a family of one child named Ivah."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Ida Eby
 
9190 Ida Minerva D. Eby, "was born March 5th, 1881."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Ida Minerva D. Eby
 
9191 Ida Rebecca Eby, "born Dec. 8th, 1881."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Ida Rebecca Eby
 
9192 CLUTTERBUCK (Robins), Ida V.

At the Kitchener-Waterloo Hospital, on Monday, April 5, 1976, after a brief illness, Ida Veronica Eby, of 60 Agnes St., age 72 years. Mrs. Clutterbuck was born near Goderich, a daughter of the late Mr. and Mrs. Solomon Eby. Predeceased by her husbands, Edwin Robins in 1941 and Ernest Clutterbuck in 1958; by a son Kenneth Robins and two sisters and two brothers. Surviving are two daughters, Audrey (Mrs. Harold Gowing), of Kitchener and Mrs. Patricia Pretty of Toronto; two sons, Eugene and Byron Robins, both of Kitchener (Bridgeport); two sisters, Mina (Mrs. Isaiah Spaetzel) of Kitchener (Bridgeport) and Edna Eby of Las Vegas, Nev.; 13 grandchildren and 13 great-grandchildren also survive. Friends may call at the Ratz-Bechtel Funeral Home, 621 King St. W., Kitchener after 7 p.m. tonight. Funeral service in the chapel Wednesday at 2 p.m. with Rev. Ralph W. Huras officiating. Interment Bridgeport Memorial cemetery.

Kitchener-Waterloo Record 5 Apr 1976 pg 29 
Ida Veronica Eby
 
9193 Died on the property of A.C. Clemmer near Berlin. Ira Eby
 
9194 Eby.--Ervin Eby was born near Manheim, Ont., Apr. 19, 1903; died Mar. 25, 1911; aged 7 y. 11 m. 6 d. Death came very unexpectedly, to little Ervin. While playing with a rod at a shafting of a gasoline engine, he was caught by his clothes and whirled around at a high speed, causing instant death. We do not know why he was taken away so soon, but God knows best. He leaves to mourn his departure a sorrowing father, mother, 2 brothers, 1 sister, 2 grandmothers, grandfather, with other friends. Funeral services conducted at Latchaw's meeting house by Bro. Manasseh Hallman and Bro. Osiah Cressman. Remains were laid in cemetery near by.

"Gone before to the golden shore,
To be with angels fair,
Much thou wast loved,
God loved thee more
Safe thou art in His care.
"1a

1aGospel Herald - Volume IV, Number 2 - April 13, 1911 - page 30, 31 
Irwin Eby
 
9195 Isaac Eby, "the eldest son of Benjamin Eby, was born in Berlin, July 30th, 1808. He spent his single days at home on his father's farm. On October 30th, 1831, he was married to Veronica, daughter of John and Mary (Shantz) Shoemaker, who was born February 2nd, 1815, and died July 20th, 1894. In November of the same year of their marriage they moved on their farm, situated two and one-half miles east of Berlin, being the north-west part of lot No. 120, German Company's Tract, in the township and county of Waterloo, containing by admeasurement 188 acres. The farm was, with the exception of a few acres where their first house and log stables stood, heavily timbered with all kinds of hard wood. Wolves, bears and deer were quite numerous then, and the howling of wolves was their evening band. Here they lived for nearly forty-three years. A few months before his death he disposed of his farm to Mr. Moses Betzner. Of the numerous assistants they had on their farm George Schmidt, afterwards a minister of the Gospel in the Mennonite Church, James Potter, now residing in Berlin, Jacob Becker, Barbara Rudy, now Mrs. Valentine Knechtel and mother of Rev. S. R. Knechtel, and Martha Allardyce, now of Toronto, were their favorites. These were always considered as members of their family. To Isaac Eby and his wife was born a family of ten children"1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Isaac Eby, Sr.
 
9196 Isaac H. Eby, "was born May 21st, 1865, is also a cooper by trade and resides at home with his mother in Bridgeport, Ontario. He is married to Bertha Limpert and has a family of one child named Ivah."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Isaac Hembling Eby
 
9197 Isaac M. Eby, "was born August 14th, 1852, and is married to Elizabeth Bergey. He is a farmer and resides near Gowanstown, Ontario. They have a family of seven children."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Isaac M. Eby
 
9198 Isaac R. Eby, "was born November 18th, 1854. He is a painter by trade and resides in Goshen, Indiana."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Isaac R. Eby
 
9199 Isaac S. Eby, "was born October 31st, 1837. On May 10th, 1859, he was married to Elizabeth Stauffer. He is a farmer and at present resides on a farm near New Hamburg, Ontario. They have had a family of ten children, of whom three are dead. Their names are as follows: Maria who was first married to Noah Woolner and lived in Aldborough Township, Elgin County, Ontario. They had a family of five children when Mr. Woolner died. She was married the second time to Joseph Nevetzeral, of Rodney, Elgin County, Ontario. Fannie is married to George Rush and lives in Gorrie, Huron County, Ontario. She has several children. Harriet, died young. Isaiah is married to Louisa Sagemiller and resides in New Hamburg, Ontario. Martha is married to John G. Jutzi. They have two children and reside in Newark, Gratiot County, Michigan. Angeline is married to Philip Stier. They reside in New Hamburg, Ontario and have one child. Lizzie, died young. Neander, died young. Jemima, and Benjamin S."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby

_____________________________________

Fri. Feb. 5 Uncle Isaac aged 77 dads only remaining brother died today - he had bin childish for the last 2 years

Sun. Feb. 21 I & Clarence were out to New Hamburg to see the remains of Uncle Isaac


Mon. Feb. 22 Have the funeral of fathers brother this afternoon at the Old Mennonite church Berlin - Mr. Paepke & Hopp drove some of the people2a

2aDiary of Gordon Christian Eby 
Isaac S. Eby, Jr.
 
9200 Isaiah Eby, "born October 14th, 1877."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Isaiah Eby
 
9201 Isaiah A. Eby, "was born February 23rd, 1871. He is a druggist and chemist."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Isaiah A. Eby
 
9202 Isaiah E. Eby, "was born June 10th, 1877. He is attending the Berlin High School."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Isaiah E. Eby
 
9203 Isaiah M. Eby, "was born November 3rd, 1868. He is also in Cavalier County, North Dakota, where he is the owner of 160 acres of land. He is unmarried."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Isaiah M. Eby
 
9204 Isidore E. Eby, "was born December 9th, 1848. He is a millwright by trade, and resides in the town of Galt, Ontario, where he is manager of the firm of Cowan & Co., engineers and machinists, who have constantly employed one hundred men and are doing a business extending from Halifax to Vancouver. He was married, July 29th, 1874, to Agnus Aussem Stoddard who was born February 27th, 1853. Their children are as follows; Mary Florence, born June 12th, 1876; Lillian Margaret, born June 24th, 1878; Albert Henry, born December 22nd, 1879; Kate Norma, born March 6th, 1882."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby

_______________


Eby, Isidore E., proprietor of Stoddard House. Was born at Berlin, this county, 18482a

2aIllustrated Atlas of the County of Waterloo, H. Parsel & Co., Toronto - 1881

______________________________

Imperial Hotel, Galt, Ontario

This hotel is one of the best known and most popular west of Toronto. It is well furnished and heated by steam so that every room is comfortable, even in the coldest weather, and prominently situated on South Water Street, just opposite the post office, and close to the business part of the town. The house was built in 1882 by the Imperial Hotel Co, and was opened by Mr. Isadore Eby and has always been highly popular.
It is a substantially four-storey brick building containing 48 large airy bed-rooms, six parlor and sitting rooms, six large sample rooms for use of commercial travellers, and a fully equipped billiard room. The large dining room has a seating capacity of 80 guests in comfort. The cuisine is not surpassed by that of any, which is ample evidence of the great care taken by Mr. Graham, or as he is best known as George. The name Imperial is just what the hotel is in ever respect. Rates $1.50 and $2.00 per day. Geo. A. Graham, Proprietor.3a

3aJubilee Souvenir of Galt 1897  
Isidore Emanuel Eby
 
9205 This hotel is one of the best known and most popular west of Toronto. It is well furnished and heated by steam so that every room is comfortable, even in the coldest weather, and is prom-inently situated on South Water street, just opposite the post office, and close to the business part of the town. The house was built in 1882 by the Imperial Hotel Co., and was opened by Mr. Isadore Eby and has always been highly popular. It is a substantially four-storey brick building containing 48 large airy bedrooms, six parlor and sitting rooms, six large sample rooms for use of commercial travellers, and a fully equipped billiard room. The large dining room has a seating capacity of 80 guests in comfort. The cuisine is not surpassed by that of any which is ample evidence of the great care taken by Mr. Graham, or as he is best known as George. The name Imperial is just what the hotel is in every respect. Rates $1.50 and $2.00 per day.1a

1aFrom 1897 Jubilee Souvenir of Galt 
Isidore Emanuel Eby
 
9206 Israel Eby, "was born January 24th, 1851. He is unmarried and when residing in this county has his home with Eli Horst near Waterloo."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Israel Eby
 
9207 Israel Eby, "was born September 18th, 1850. He is married to Mary Witmer, and is an inn-keeper at Shakespeare, Ontario. They have a family of three children."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Israel Eby
 
9208 Israel was living unmarried with his sister Hannah and her husband Peter Wenger in Elora, Ontario. Israel Eby
 
9209 Eby, "The Ebys belong to the Celts, an ancient race of Asiatic origin who formerly inhabited southern, central and western Europe. During the early ages they lived in the northern part of Italy where they were brought from heathendom to the worshipping of the true and living God through the labors of the Vaudois, with whom they came in contact at a very early date. They soon became strict adherents to the Vaudois' faith. Between the years 1300 and 1320 the Ebys, with others, left Lombardy, their Italian home, crossed the Alps and, after leading a wandering life for some years, settled in Canton, Berne. Here they led a God-fearing life and were rigid in the keeping of their primitive faith and form of worship.

During the reformation they were subjected to the same persecutions as other protestants in northern Europe. After the founding of the Mennonite body in 1537 by one of the early reformers named Simon Menno, a native of Holland, the Ebys, with others, united with Simon Menno's party, now known as the Mennonites.

As early as 1683 we find in some old records that one named Jacob Eby was ordained bishop of the Mennonite body in Canton, Zurich. The State party again getting the ruling power into their hands laid the Mennonites open to persecution, and not wishing to resist the authority of the State, a number of these Mennonites left Switzerland and went to the "Palatinate" or Pfaltz, an old German division now discarded on maps. Here they resided for some time when they were again troubled by their enemies for not conforming to the laws and church of the State. The laws of the state were not so much violated by these parties, only they would not take up arms nor would they speak in favor of war but took a decided stand against all manner of war, hence their frequent abuses by the State parties.

When William Penn, by his agents, offered free homes to persons of all religious denominations, quite a number of Mennonites from Switzerland, Germany, Pfaltz, and Holland moved to America and settled in Pennsylvania.

They had his assurance that if once in Pennsylvania, they could worship God according to their views of the teaching of the Bible and the dictates of their own consciences, which they considered more than a recompense compared with their losses and privations in forsaking their native land. Among the numerous parties thus quitting their parental homes and coming to the wilds of America was Theodorus Eby."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Jacob Eby
 
9210 Eby, Mervin, son of Jacob and Elizabeth (Wenger) Eby, was born in St. Joseph Co., Ind., Mar. 9, 1886; died at the Elkhart Nursing Home, Elkhart, Ind., Mar. 4, 1971; aged 84 y. 11 m. 23 d. On Dec. 9, 1905, he was married to Goldie Bemiller, who survives. Also surviving are 3 daughters (Vada - Mrs. Harvey Fink, Esther - Mrs. Russel Wenger, and Helen - Mrs. Irvin Grabill), 3 sons (Everett, Wayne, and Russel), 13 grandchildren, 23 great-grandchildren, and 3 brothers (Ira, Ralph, and Jacob). He was a member of the Olive Mennonite Church, where funeral services were held Mar. 7, in charge of Richard Hostetler and Ivan Weaver; interment in the Olive Cemetery1a

1aGOSPEL HERALD - Volume LXIV, Number 18 - May 4, 1971 - pp 411, 412 
Jacob Eby
 
9211 Jacob Eby, "the second son of David Eby, was born October 18th, 1815. On April 7th, 1840, he was married to Maria Bingeman who was born June 9th, 1820. Some time after their marriage they moved to St. Joseph County, Indiana, where they are still residing. Their family consisted of eight children" 1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby

______________

EBY.-In Elkhart Co., Ind., on the 20th of August, of the infirmities of old age, Bro. Jacob Eby, aged 80 years, 10 months and 2 days. He was born in Waterloo Co., Ontario, in 1815. Was married to Mary Bingeman in 1840. Came to Indiana at an early day, and resided here until the time of his death. He was the father of eight children, seven of whom, with the aged mother, survive him. He was buried at the Olive M. H. on Sunday, Aug. 23, where services were conducted by Bish. C. Shaum and -- Shwalm, from Isa. 38:1. The services were largely attended.2a

2aHerald of Truth, Vol. XXXIII, No. 17, September 1, 1896, page 270, 271

___________________________

Jacob Eby. The farming class of America and especially of the northern tier of States, is noted for the degree of intelligence that is possessed among its representatives. Mr. Eby belongs to one of the most progressive of families and as a tiller of the soil, as well as in other respects, he has endeavoured to keep out of old grooves and has always favored the adoption of new and improved methods in conducting his operations. The family originated in Switzerland and were Catholics. A well-defined tradition in the family relates that at one time there were five brothers of the name living in Switzerland and all were Catholics, but one who was a Mennonite, which sect was greatly persecuted in Switzerland, and many of its followers found homes in the wilderness of Pennsylvania, and among them was the founder of the Eby family in America.

The family resided in Pennsylvania for generations and there John Eby, the grandfather of the subject of this sketch, followed the calling of a blacksmith and was married to a Miss Lehmy, their children, Peter and David, being the only ones of their family that are remembered. David Eby, son of John, was born in Pennsylvania and was but twelve years of age when he started out to make his own way in the world, and in 1807 went to Canada with a party of eleven other men, five of which company are remembered: Benjamin and Samuel Eby, distant relatives of David; Joseph Snyder; Peter and Daniel Erb, three of whom were married men and the rest single.

They were all Mennonites and settled in Waterloo township, Waterloo Co., Ontario, and the city of Berlin now stands on the ground which was taken by Benjamin Eby. David Eby was married there to Elizabeth Bechtel, daughter of Joseph and Elizabeth (Allabaugh) Bechtel, and after his marriage settled on and cleared up a good farm from the dense timber with which it was covered. It consisted of 330 acres, and besides this he owned 200 acres in the township of Woolwich. Mr. and Mrs. Eby became the parents of eleven children: Joseph, Mary, Mattie, Jacob, Annie, Elizabeth, Fronica, Susan, David, Elias and Enoch. Joseph Bechtel, the maternal grandfather of the subject of this sketch, was a Mennonite preacher; Benjamin Eby was a bishop in the church and Samuel Eby was an elder, and together they established a church in their settlement which flourished, and at the death of Benjamin Eby, about 1850, there were 1,100 members, nearly all of whom were converted through the instrumentality of these humble followers of Christ. David Eby died at the age of seventy-five years in March, 1855, leaving a goodly property and an unsullied name as a heritage to his children, before whom he always set a good example, and to whom he was a kind and faithful father. His farm is now very valuable, as it is close to the city of Berlin, and is owned by David Eby and his sons and is valued at about $100,000.

Jacob Eby was born on the old homestead in Canada, October 18, 1815, and, owing to the primitive condition of the country during his youth, he received a very limited education, his studies being mainly pursued of evenings by the old-fashioned fireplace. Like many of the early pioneers he was handy with tools and worked at carpentering, blacksmithing and the mason's trade. When he was a young man wild game was very plentiful, and as he was skillful in the use of the rifle, and very fond of the sport, much of his leisure was spent in the chase. He kept an account of the game killed and brought down 46 deer, 7 wolves, 2 bear and shot and trapped 100 foxes. Coon, mink, martin, fish, otter and wildcat also fell victims to his skill. Two of the wildcats that he killed were as large as a common dog. When a young man he and his dog were one day in a field near some heavy timber in Canada, where several men were chopping wood, when a half-grown black bear came through the trees, but becoming frightened by the shouts of the men, turned and came through the field. Mr. Eby waited for it and at the right moment attacked it with knife and club and with the help of the dog, which was large and strong, killed it.

On another occasion, when he was going into the woods to split posts he saw a full-grown wolf asleep in a fallen tree top, whereupon he threw his axe, struck it fairly and killed it. April 7, 1840, he was married to Polly Bingaman, a daughter of John and Hannah (Berkey) Bingaman, her father being of Pennsylvania Dutch stock. He cleared a good farm of 100 acres and was accidentally killed by the falling of a large limb from a burning tree when about seventy years of age.

He and his wife were Mennonites and the parents of the following family: Judith, Esther, Susanna, Hannah, Eunice, Catherine, Mary, Magdaline, John, Sallie and Isaac. Eight children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. Eby: Enoch; Simon, who died at the age of twenty-one years; Seth; Cyrus; Jacob; John; Joseph and Noah. After his marriage Mr. Eby settled seven miles north of his father's home- stead on a 200-acre tract of wild land for which he paid $750, and here he lived and worked hard until 1860, when he came to St. Joseph county, Ind., and bought 280 acres of land, 80 of which were cleared.

He has improved the remainder by thrift and perseverance and added to his original purchase until he at one time owned 700 acres, all of which he has given to his children, except 280 acres. He and his wife have been life-long members of the Mennonite church, but have liberally assisted other churches with their means. He contributed money toward building two Mennonite Churches in his vicinity, as well as for the Catholic and Baptist Churches of Mishawaka. He is generous and high minded, broad in his views and well posted on all topics.

His sons are all settled near him and are in good circumstances: Enoch, who is farming near Tippecanoe Lake, Ind., married Keziah Wendy and has three children: Seth farms near Bangor, Mich., married Hannah Herrington and has two children; Cyrus is a farmer near the old home, is married to Annie Wenger and has seven children; Jacob also farms near home, is married to Elizabeth Wenger and has eight children; John is a farmer, is married to Harriet Weaver and has two children; Noah farms, is married to Laura Moon, by whom he has two children; Joseph is at home. Mr. and Mrs. Eby have two great-grand-children. Their granddaughter, Hannah Eby, daughter of Enoch, married Emmet Gordey and has one son, Alva Allen. John Eby, a grandson, married Mary Eby and has a son, Walter. Mr. Eby is a stanch Republican.3a

3a"Pictorial and Biographical Memoirs of Elkhart and St. Joseph Counties, Indiana Together with Biographies of Many Prominent Men of Northern Indiana and the Whole State, Both Living and Dead", Goodspeed Brothers Publishers, Chicago, 1893, John Morris Co. Printers and Binders

 
Jacob Eby
 
9212 Jacob Eby, "was born December 1st, 1869. He is married to Catharine Wanner. They reside at Floradale, Ontario, where he is engaged as a contractor and builder. His family consists of two children"1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Jacob Eby
 
9213 Jacob B. Eby, "son of Jacob B. Eby's second wife, Elizabeth Schill, was born May 27th, 1879. He resides with his mother in Grand Rapids, Michigan, where he is engaged in the meat business."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Jacob B. Eby
 
9214 Jacob B. Eby, "the seventh son of Bishop Benjamin Eby, was born March 24th, 1826. After his marriage, in September, 1845, to Lucy Kauffman (born February 26th, 1830, and died September 24th, 1877), he moved on his farm three miles north of the town of Waterloo, Ontario, where he resided for a number of years. He afterwards went into the milling business in partnership with his brother, Elias, having purchased Barnabas Devitt's interest in the firm of Eby & Devitt, Bridgeport, Ontario. In 1867 he sold his interest in the Bridgeport Mills and purchased the Salem Mills where he carried on business for some years. Some time within the years 1875-76 he disposed of his Salem property and moved to the town of Waterloo where his wife, Lucy Kauffman died. On September 16th, 1878, he was married a second time to Elizabeth Schill (born May 12th, 1848), to whom his youngest child was born. He died December 21st, 1882. He had a large family"1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Jacob B. Eby
 
9215 Jacob B. Eby, "was born October 16th, 1851. He is married to Elizabeth Wenger."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby

_________________________________________


Eby.-Jacob W. Eby was born Oct. 16, 1851, in Canada. In his early youth he came to St. Joseph Co., Ind., with his parents who settled on the farm which has since then been his home. He was united in marriage to Elizabeth Wenger Sept. 16, 1872. She preceded him in death Feb. 21, 1896. To this union were born three daughters and five sons. He is survived by two daughters,(Mrs. John Eby and Mrs. Sam Hunsberger), and 5 sons (Walter, Jacob, Mervyn, Ralph, and Ira). All of them are living within a few miles of the old home place. He also had two brothers living. He had many other relatives besides a host of friends. In the winter of 1910 he confessed Christ and united with the Mennonite Church and the Olive congregation. During the last year or more he was afflicted in such a way that at times he was robbed of his mental powers. Sometimes his affliction was much worse than at others and during one of these periods he took his own life, Sept. 14, 1918; age 66 y. 10 m. 28 d. Funeral at the Olive Church, Sept. 16, conducted by C. A. Shank and D. A. Yoder. 2a

2aGospel Herald - Volume XI, Number 32 - November 7, 1918 - pages 589 and 590

__________________________________

Jacob B. Eby, Osceola, Ind. Our subject is one of the solid and prosperous farmers of Penn township a good citizen and a descendant of good old Pennsylvania Dutch stock (see sketch of Jacob Eby). He was born on his father's farm, near Waterloo, Canada, October 12, 1851, was brought up on the farm and came with his father to St. Joseph county in 1861, on the 4th of March, being then ten years of age. He attended the common schools of the district and married, September 16, 1872. Elizabeth Wenger, born July 5, 1857, daughter of Henry and Margaret (Wanner) Wenger. Henry Wenger was born in Lancaster county, Penn., was a Mennonite in religion and the father of twelve children, as follows: Samuel, Maria (who died young), Ann, Elizabeth, Susannah, Daniel, Henry, Abraham, David, Mattie, Mary and Margaret. Mr. Wenger settled in Ohio at an early day, in Stark county, none of his children, except Samuel, having been born in Pennsylvania. Later he removed to Franklin county and then to Seneca county, but about 1866 he removed to Elkhart county, Ind., and settled in Olive township on a good farm of eighty acres. He was an upright, industrious man, respected by all. He was a devoted Christian and an honored citizen. In his political faith he was a Republican. His son Samuel married Lydia Topper, is a thresher, lives in Penn township and has six children; Ann married Cyrus Eby, a farmer of Penn township, and has seven children; Elizabeth married Jacob B. Eby, a farmer of Penn township, and has eight children (Cyrus and Jacob B. Eby being brothers); Susan married Joseph Hann, a farmer of Madison township, and has five children; Daniel married Annie Holderman, is a farmer of Olive township in Elkhart county, and has three children; Henry married Elizabeth Schrock, is a farmer of Olive township and has one child: Abraham married Alice Holderman, sister to Daniel's wife, and he is a farmer of Elkhart county and has two children; David married Eva S. Loncks, is a farmer of Olive township and has one child; Mattie, yet single; Mary married Jacob H. Loncks, brother to David's wife, who is a farmer of Olive township and has two children; and Margaret married Martin Bloucker, a farmer of Olive township, and has one child. After marriage Jacob B. Eby settled on the old Eby homestead, where his father settled after he removed from Canada. Eight children of Mr. and Mrs. Eby are as follows: Mary, born December 2,1873; Margaret, born March 29, 1876; Annas, bom November 22, 1877; Walter, born June 26, 1880; Jacob W., born December 28, 1882; Mervin, born March 9, 1886; Ralph, bom August 29, 1889, and Ira Eby, born October 13, 1892. Mr. Eby is a practical farmer, who, by industry and perseverance has acquired 120 acres of land, with excellent improvements. In 1890 he built a substantial and tasteful two-story brick residence finished in hardwood, everything handy and in good style. Mr. Eby is a self-made man and has made his own way, and his accumulations are the result of honest endeavor and hard labor. Politically he is a Republican, is a man of intelligence, takes the newspapers and keeps up to the times, being well informed on the leading subjects of the day. His daughter Mary married, December 6, 1890, John W. Eby, a farmer of Madison township, and they have one son, Walter J. Eby, who was born April 28, 1891. All of the children of our subject received good educations in the district schools and Margaret attended the normal school at Valparaiso, Ind. Mr. Eby had an experience while hunting with his brothers, Seth and Cyrus, and Ensign Hummel. "They came across a doe, five miles south and one mile west of his present home. Jacob and his brother Seth raised their rifles simultaneonsly and both balls struck him and the doe fell dead. This was the last deer killed in this vicinity.3a

3a"Pictorial and Biographical Memoirs of Elkhart and St. Joseph Counties, Indiana Together with Biographies of Many Prominent Men of Northern Indiana and the Whole State, Both Living and Dead", Goodspeed Brothers Publishers, Chicago, 1893, John Morris Co. Printers and Binders

 
Jacob B. Eby
 
9216 Jacob E. Eby, "the eldest of the family was born May 23rd, 1825, and was married, May 18th, 1847, to Anna Bowman who was born May 9th, 1828. They resided at Port Elgin where he was engaged as a carpenter. He died in 1885. They had a family of eleven children" 1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Jacob E. Eby
 
9217 Heavy Quality Of Gas May Have Been Cause Of Disaster

City Engineer Shupe At Lose To Account For Horrible Accident In Which Three Men Lost Lives; Gas Was Hydrogen Sulphide

TANK IN OPERATION SINCE 1901 WITHOUT ACCIDENT


While theories and suppositions appear to be abundant,an official expression of opinion as to the cause of the disaster at the Mill street sewer farm yesterday was not available today. Three men lost their lives in the tragedy as vaporous sewer gas, deadly in its action, seeped into one of the four large tanks where men were engaged in cleaning operations.

The gas, commonly known as sewer gas, is technically known as hydrogen sulphide, or as it is known to chemistry students by its symbols, H2S. It is particularly repellent to the nostrils and is usually swift and effective in reaction.

A certain amount of this gas is found in sewers. City Engineer Shupe stated today, altho it is unusual that it should be present in sufficient quantities to asphyxiate men so quickly.

Asked for his opinion as to the cause of the disaster, Mr. Shupe said that he finds it difficult to explain. He believes, however, that the gas, heavier than air, collected in the bottom of the tank and
gradually ove rcame the workmen. The fact that it is heavier than air would permit it to collect in the cavity particularly in view of the humid nature of the air.

He also believes that the absence of a breeze outside may have permitted the formation of this "gas pocket" in which the three lives were lost. The lid was off the tank and had a stir been present in the air, the heavy gas cloud might have been dispelled.

The tank in which the triple fatality occurred has done service since 1901 and this is the first mishap of its kind to occur in connection with this piece of equipment. Afterall these years, the engineer stated, the fatalities occurred with a new sewage disposal system in course of preparation. The tank was one of rather an ancient vintage which had to be cleaned by hand. In tanks on the new sewer property, the cleaning is done automatically.

Former Chairman Speaks

Dr. J. F. Honsberger, first chairman of the sewer committee, today outlined the events leading up to the construction of the plant at which the disaster occurred. It was built, the former chairman said, only after Dr. Nasmith and Dr. Arnyot, had spent an entire summer in this city, surveying sites and conducting experiments. The provincial department of health approved the plant on the recommendation of the experts. In view of this approval, it is likely that the attention of the department will be called to the disaster. Crown Attorney Bowlby today intimated his intention of summoning an inspector from the department to look into the mishap.

Benefit By Compensation

Survivors of the three gas victims will receive remittance from the Workmen's Compensation Board, City Engineer Shupe said today. At the preliminary inquest yesterday, September 9 was set for the hearing of evidence before Coroner Dr. J. E. Hett. The inquest will be held at the city hall at 7.30 o'clock in the evening.

Three Beyond Aid

Replying to a statement by Dr. C. Belyea who went to the scene in the ambulance and revived ,Alex Mayer thru artificial respiratory methods, Deputy Fire Chief Kern, today said that no amount of artificial respirationwould have saved the other three men. Dr. Belyea had said yesterday that, in his, opinion, the three victims might have rallied, had someone capable of administering artificial respiration been on the scene.

The deputy chief added that he applied the Schaefer method on the two men whom he dragged from the tank without avail. One of them, he said, was breathing when brought to the outer air but died while he was attempting to revive him. The other died before means of inducing respiration could he resorted to.

Moreover,Mr. Kern said, Mayer, the man whom Dr. Belyea revived, was the only one of the four men in the tank to show any outward signs of life. He was moving while the other three were lying quite still.

Determined To Investigate

"I am determined to investigate this disaster to the fullest possible extent," Coroner Dr. Hett said today. He added that the post mortem did not reveal the nature of the gas which caused death.

Explosion - The Daily Record 3 Sep 1930 pg 1

__________________


Jacob Foster Eby Jacob Foster Eby, 313 Mill street, engineer at the sewer farm pumping station, killed by gas poisoning yesterday, is survived by his wife, five sons; Irvin, Nelson, Carl, Jacob and Herbert, all at home, four daughter; Mrs. E. Dorseht, city, Dorothy, Verna and Miriam, all at home. One brother, Gordon Eby, city, and one sister, Miss Isabella Eby of Kingston, also survive. The deceased, a member of the Benton Street Baptist Church was a lifelong resident of this city, being born here in 1880, the son of Christian Eby and Katherine Clemens. He was in his 61st year. The funeral will be publicly held on Friday at 2 o'clock from the Schreiter Funeral Home. Interment will take place in Mount Hope Cemetery. Rev. J. R. Webb will be in charge of services. The remains will be resting at his late residence, until noon on Friday, when they willbe taken to the Schreitor Funeral Home.

The Daily Record 3 Sep 1930 pg 15 
Jacob Foster Eby
 
9218 Jacob H. Eby, 'was born December 30th, 1836. He is married to Frances Borden. They reside in Grand Rapids, Michigan, where he is engaged as a carpenter. They have no family."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Jacob H. Eby
 
9219 Jacob M. Eby, "was born July 30th, 1859. He is a baker and grocer, and is married to Florence Clarke. They reside in Aurora, Illinois, and have a family of two children."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Jacob M. Eby
 
9220 James Eby, "was born May 29th, 1844. He was married to Margaret Snell, at Albany, New York, in 1867. They are now residing on their farm near Saskatoon, North West territory. They have four children, namely: James M., born in 1869; William S., Eliza, and Manley."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
James Eby
 
9221 EDGAR S. EBY

For many years a farmer at Breslau, Edgar S. Eby, died last night at the K-W Hospital following an illness of six months' duration. He was born Dec. 8, 1882, to the late Mr. and Mr. George Eby at Gorrie, Ont. He was a member of the Breslau Mennonite Brethren in Christ Church. He is survived by his wife, nee Beatrice Cressman; three sons, Pearson of Breslau, Grant of Bloomingdale and Perry of Fort Erie; three brothers. Ervin of Griddley, Calif.; Angus of Lindsay, Calif. and Clifford of London, Ont.; three sisters. Mrs. Francis Colt, Seattle, Wash.; Mrs. Harry Dobbs, Maple Creek. Sask., and Mrs. Norman Hipel, Preston. Ont. There are two grandchildren. The funeral will be held tomorrow from the M. B. C. Church, Breslau, at three o'clock with Rev. V. K. Snyder officiating. Burial will be in the Preston Cemetery. Remains will rest at the Ratz-Bechtel Funeral Home until noon on Thursday when removal will be made to the church in Breslau, where friends may pay their respects until the hour of the service.

Kitchener Daily Record 4 Jul 1945 pg 15 
James Edgar S. "Edgar" Eby
 
9222 Jeconiah M. Eby, "was born May 1st, 1866. He is married to Effie P. Meyers. They reside in Cavalier County, North Dakota, where he is farming."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Jeconiah M. Eby
 
9223 On the 21st of October 1866, in Kent Co., Michigan, JEREMIAH, son of William and Susanna EBY, aged 7 years, 7 months, and 28 days. He was killed by the falling of a dead limb, which struck him on the back of his head, and also broke his right arm. He died four hours after the accident. Funeral services were conducted by Abm. Detweiler from Jn. 3:8. He was living with Jonas Detweiler. His parents reside in Waterloo Co., Canada West.1a

1aHerald of Truth - Volume IV, Number 1 - January 1867, Pages 14-16 
Jeremiah Eby
 
9224 Eby, Jeremiah B., son of Cyrus and Elizabeth (Brubacher) Eby, was born in Conestogo, Ont., Aug. 2, 1891; died at the Lockwood Hospital, Petoskey, Mich., Dec. 2, 1961; aged 70 y. 4 m. On Sept. 19, 1915, he was married to Mary Shaum, who survives. Also surviving are 5 sons and one daughter (John, Brutus, Mich.; Emerson, Pickford, Mich.; George, El Cajon, Calif.; Clayton, Clarinda, Iowa; Lawrence, Portland, Oreg.; and Susan, Goshen, Ind.), 17 grandchildren, 2 brothers (Israel and William), 3 sisters (Mrs. Clayton Kilmer), and one stepbrother (Mahlon Martin). Two sons preceded him in death. He was a member of the Maple River Church, Brutus, Mich., where funeral services were held Dec. 6, in charge of Earl Hartman, Clyde Kauffman, and Howard Bauman.1a

1aGospel Herald - Volume LV, Number 2 - January 9, 1962 - page 46, 47 
Jeremiah B. Eby
 
9225 Jesse Eby, "was born October 14th, 1857. He is married to Elizabeth Erb. They reside at Gowanstown, Perth County, where he is engaged as contractor in all kinds of mason work. Their family consists of seven children". 1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby
 
Jesse Eby
 
9226 Weber.- Joanna, daughter of Reuben and Marion (Brubacher) Eby, was born in Peel Twp., Dec. 12, 1889; died at Nithview, New Hamburg, Feb. 4, 1979; aged 89 y. She was married to Allen Weber, who survives. Also surviving are 3 sons (Cranson, Arthur, and Mervyn), 3 daughters (Helen-Mrs. Nyle Shantz, Norma-Mrs. Abner Shantz, and Glennys-Mrs. William Verkerke), 3 stepsons (Oliver, Samuel, George), 4 stepdaughters (Alice-Mrs. Etril Snyder, Tillie-Mrs. Gordon Hunsburger, Clara-Mrs. Roy Snyder, and Florence Weber), 25 grandchildren, 15 great-grandchildren, and 2 sisters (Mrs. Amanda Weber and Clara Eby). She was a member of Erb Street Mennonite Church, where funeral services were held on Feb. 7, in charge of Wilmer Martin; interment in Erb Street Mennonite Cemetery.1a

1aGospel Herald - Volume 72, Number 10 - March 6, 1979, page 206.


From EzraEby.com (Note: Contrary to what appears in the above obituary, Joanna's husband Allan Weber predeceased her in Aug. 1964. Joanna was first married to Oliver Lichty who died in Sept. 1933. The children listed above are from her marriage to Oliver, while the step children are from the marriage of her 2nd husband Allan Weber and his first wife, Sarah Sophia Martin.) 
Joannah Eby
 
9227 Joel Eby, "was born February 25th, 1853. On September 27th, 1873, he was married to Hannah Bricker. At present they reside at Shakespeare, Ontario, where he is keeping hotel. Their family consists of one child named Cora Dalia."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Joel Eby
 
9228 Joel E. Eby, "was born October 6th, 1844. He is married to Jane Hewton who was born March 28th, 1853, and resides in the city of Kingston, Ontario, where he is foreman in a hosiery establishment. They have a family of seven children"1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Joel E. Eby
 
9229 Joel Eby, "born September 24th, 1871."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Joel Joseph Eby
 
9230 For the last few years of his life he was completely blind. John Eby
 
9231 John Eby, "second son of Christian and Elizabeth (Mayer) Eby, was born September 28th, 1737. In 1762 he was married to Rebecca Hershey. They resided in Lancaster County, Pennsylvania, near Lititz, where he died in 1794. To them were born seven children, of whom four settled in Canada"1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
John Eby
 
9232 John Eby, "the eldest son of Peter Eby, was married to Mary Gerber.(From Benjamin Eby's notes). They resided near Lititz, Lancaster County, Pennsylvania. He died while comparatively young, leaving a family of five children. Whether they all arrived at the age of twenty-one is doubtful and as far as can be ascertained there were but two sons, David and Peter who remained in Pennsylvania."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
John Eby
 
9233 John Eby, "the second son of Samuel and Elizabeth (Brech) Eby, was born August 7th, 1814. On November 7th, 1837, he was married to Rebecca Bricker who was born September 22nd, 1819, and died May 11th, 1872. They resided on the farm now known as the "Poor House Farm", on which was built, in 1869, by the County Council of the County of Waterloo, the House of Industry and Refuge. The farm is directly east of Berlin, about ten minutes' walk from the Court House. Mr. Eby was married a second time to Nancy Groff (widow), and is now comfortably located in the town of Berlin, Ontario. Of late years, however, he has been so unfortunate as to be totally deprived of his eyesight. He has a family of seven children"1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby

________________________

On the 6th of March, 1899, in Berlin, Ont., of the infirmities of old age, John Eby, in the 84th year of his age. He was born Aug. 7th, 1814; was married to Rebecca Bricker, Nov. 7th, 1837. She died May 11th, 1872. To this union were born seven children, of whom four survive. After the death of his first wife deceased was married to Nancy Groff. For a number of years previous and up to his death deceased was completely blind. Buried on the 9th in the C. Eby cemetery.2a
2aThe Herald of Truth , Vol. XXXVI, No. 7, April 1, 1899 - pages 108-110

____________________________

John, bought the Poor House farm. The son erected a home in Frederick Street, opposite the House of Refuge. It was made of foot-wide planks, laid one atop the other. In 1837 he married Rebecca, daughter of Samuel Bricker, who played a prominent past in the Beasley mortgage snag.

North Waterloo is indebted to the Mennonites for the introduction of the apple-tree and apple-butter. John Eby planted a large orchard and owned a cider-mill. Maryborough farmers drove down and bought wagon-loads of apples from him. The buyers came in one day, stayed over night, and started off the next morning.

Mr. and Mrs. John Eby were the parents of two sons and four daughters. The youngest daughter, Susanna, of 178 Frederick Street, was born in the farm house in 1858. She remembers seeing her mother spinning flax and wool, and of twisting the threads for her. The girls were taught how to bake and sew; and all the children to work and save. Miss Eby often saw the pleasure wagon in which Samuel Bricker brought over the mass of silver to pay for the Mennonite purchase.

Her father built a home (which is still in use) [1937], for his widowed mother, on the east side of Frederick Street, at the Five Points. In 1868 her father sold the County the Poor House farm, retaining only his home and five acres of land. His second youngest child was daughter named Madeline (1851-1929). She was married to Martin Dunham in 1880. Eight years later her father sold to Mr. Dunham the five acres mentioned and moved farther into town. Later on Mr. Dunham subdivided his purchase and sold it for building lots The city renamed part of East Avenue and La Grange Street, Dunham Avenue, in 1933, in honor of this family.1a

1a
A History of Kitchener, W. V. (Ben) Uttley, Kitchener, Ontario 1937, pg 18 
John Eby
 
9234 John Eby, "the youngest, was born August 24th, 1866. He is living on the old homestead."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
John Eby
 
9235 John Eby, "was born March 7th, 1854. He is married to Hattie Weaver."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
John Eby
 
9236 John Eby, "was born October 1st, 1840. He is married to Elizabeth Lawson and has a family of six children, two boys and four girls. He resides in Elkhart, Indiana, U.S., where he is engaged as a minister of the Gospel in the United Brethren Church. In his calling he is doing a good work for the Lord, having been very successful as a minister. Sinners are converted and brought to the Lord through his labors, and the people of God are generally greatly refreshed in spirit while listening to his able sermons."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Rev. John Eby
 
9237 The Eby-Dunham home was constructed 1838-1840 by John Eby. It is a frame construction and in 1978 was considered to be in good condition. It was much altered in 1887.

__________________

John, bought the Poor House farm. The son erected a home in Frederick Street, opposite the House of Refuge. It was made of foot-wide planks, laid one atop the other. In 1837 he married Rebecca, daughter of Samuel Bricker, who played a prominent past in the Beasley mortgage snag.1a

1a
A History of Kitchener, W. V. (Ben) Uttley, Kitchener, Ontario 1937 
John Eby
 
9238 John B. Eby, "was born April 4th, 1862. He is a tanner by trade and resides at Sheboygan, Wisconsin, U.S. He is married and has a family of two sons."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
John B. Eby
 
9239 John B. Eby, "was born June 23rd, 1823. He is married to Rose Sheifley. They reside on a farm near Wyandot, Ontario. They have had seven children"1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
John B. Eby
 
9240 John F. Eby, "was born June 19th, 1839. He was married to Mary Romaine, at Albany, New York, August 18th, 1864. In 1867 they moved to Detroit, Michigan, where they still live with their six children. Names of children: Emma, born May 17th, 1865; Mabel, born December 19th, 1872; Eugenia, born March 2nd, 1876; Romaine, born February 12th, 1880; Bessie May, born May 9th, 1882, and Carl, born August 5th, 1885."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
John F. Eby
 
9241 John Eby, "the third son of George Eby, was born In Pennsylvania, November 6th, 1803. He was probably 6 months old when he came to Canada. It is supposed that he started the first drug store in the town of Berlin, Ontario. He used to bring his goods from Buffalo, New York, by team. He resided in the town of Berlin for about 70 years, then he moved to Elmira where he lived for 12 years, and several years ago he moved to Port Elgin where some of his family reside. Here he died October 22nd, 1891. He was married twice, first to Veronica Weber who was born July 19th, 1808, and died December 10th, 1837, and after the decease of his first wife he was married to Philipina Fischer who was born March 14th, 1811, and died in Listowel with her daughter, Mrs. Joshua Bowman, January 17th, 1894. His family consisted of the following children"1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
John W. Eby
 
9242 John Wesley Eby, "born May 14th, 1869."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
John Wesley Eby
 
9243 Jonas Eby, "the eldest son of Samuel Eby, was born in Lancaster County, Pennsylvania, January 3rd, 1815. In October, 1838, he was married to Hannah Fessant, at Guelph, Ontario. He died in Kingsville, Ontario, in 1887, where his widow and eldest daughter still live. He had a family of seven children"1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Jonas Eby
 
9244 Joseph Eby, "the second son of John Eby, was born December 13th, 1777, and came to Canada, from Pennsylvania, in 1818. He spent most of his time with his cousin, Bishop Benjamin Eby, and Christian Burkholder who resided one mile north of the town of Waterloo, on the place now known as the "Huether Farm". When at Christian Burkholder's "Josey" (or "der kla Joe Avy" as he was called), spent his leisure time in making shoes for the primitive settlers. The shoes were made without the use of a last, and when done had more the resemblance of a leather bag than of a shoe. He used no pegs, the shoe being made complete by sewing. He lived a very conscientious life, and was strongly opposed to the use of intoxicating liquors, obscene language, card playing and all kinds of gambling so common in those days. He was never married, and in the latter years of his life was much troubled with a severe cough. He died in the year 1855 at the residence of Lemuel Eby, his nephew, in Bridgeport, Ontario."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Joseph Eby
 
9245 Joseph Eby, "was born February 5th, 1857."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Joseph Eby
 
9246 Joseph Eby, "was born June 15th, 1858. He is married to Theresa Mugg and resides at Port Elgin, Ontario."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Joseph Eby
 
9247 Joseph Eby, "the eldest son of David Eby, was born March 25th, 1811, and died April 15th, 1871. After quitting the farm he went to the town of Waterloo and engaged himself to Daniel Snyder, in whose services he was, as clerk in store, for several years. He was married to Magdalena Bingeman who was born October 11th, 1822, and died August 18th, 1865. After their marriage they moved to St. Jacobs where they kept hotel for many years. After the decease of his first wife he was married to Margaretta Cress. To him were born eight children, seven of whom were born unto his first wife."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Joseph Bechtel Eby
 
9248 Nestled in the heart of the Village of St. Jacobs, Benjamin's Restaurant & Inn offers its guests the charm of a vintage inn with modern conveniences for your comfort. For 150 years, the building which houses Benjamin's has accommodated overnight guests. Built in 1852 by a local Mennonite named Joseph Eby, the original "Farmer's Inn" was a stage coach stop en route from Berlin (Kitchener) to Elmira and all other points north.
About 135 years later, in January of 1987 Benjamin's Restaurant & Inn was opened as part of the renowned Stone Crock Group of Restaurants. The original hand-hewn beams, brick and mortar work of the Farmer's Inn were preserved during the extensive renovations, but it is highly unlikely that Joseph Eby would recognize the building today.1a

1ahttp://www.stjacobs.com/html/restaurants.html#BENJAMIN

_____________

Other names for the building: Dominion Hotel, Benjamin's Restaurant and Inn, 
Joseph Bechtel Eby
 
9249 Joseph F. Eby, "was born in the town of Berlin, Ontario, March 23rd, 1844. After being clerk in Berlin for some years, he went to Toronto. where he, with Blain & Co., is doing a large wholesale business in tea, coffee, spices, etc. He is married to Emeline McMurtry, and has a family of four children".1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Joseph Fischer Eby
 
9250 Josiah M. Eby, "was born June 4th, 1862. He is married to Amanda Reist and resides near Elmira where he is farming."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby

_________________

Death Curve Scene Of Third Fatality

Josiah Eby Succumbs To Injuries Received When Truck Shatters Telephone Post

LORNE MARSHALL IN HOSPITAL BADLY HURT

Harry Heinrich Charged With Reckless Driving Following Highway Tragedy


Josiah Eby is dead, Lorne Marshall is in a Kitchener hospital suffering from severe injuries, Harry Heinrich of St. Jacobs faces a charge of reckless driving while a big truck owned by Mr. Chris Dreisinger is a total wreck following an accident at the curve in the highway about a mile south of Elmira Friday afternoon.

A preliminary Inquest was held Tuesday to inquire into the death of Eby, with Dr. LeRoy Wagner as coroner, but following the viewing of the remains the investigation was post-poned until Monday, June 3. By this time it is hoped that Marshall will be in condition to offer more light on the episode which ended so tragically.

IS THIRD DEATH

The accident occurred within 100 feet of where two persons were killed last August, where the road follows an elongated S formation. Just how the accident happened is still not definitely known but the authorities are working on the theory that the death car and that operated by Heinrich were being driven at a fast rate of speed perhaps were racing.

Mr. Noah Martin, a hired man employed on the farm of Clayton Martin whose farm abuts the road at this point, was the only witness of the accident.

According to his statement he heard the truck coming along at a high rate of speed and watched to discover how it would negotiate the curve. It left the road just before making the last bend and rammed a telephone post head on. The big timber cracked like a match under the force of the impact. The truck turned over and a portion of it was pitched over the fence while the two victims were tossed out. Eby was found in a half-sitting position near the shattered post while Marshall was about 15 feet away. The former was quite evidently seriously hurt and unconscious. His right leg was terribly mangled and the left apparently fractured. Marshall when picked up recovered and as he wiped the blood from a terrible gash over his eye asked for a cigarette and inquired faintly about Eby.

Dr. LeRoy Wagner. returning from a call, came upon the scene of the accident and after rendering first aid hurried the two injured men to the hospital.

HORRIBLY INJURED

At the hospital it was found that Eby's leg was torn to the bone from the knee to ankle while the other leg was broken in two places. Infection to the mangled leg was the cause of death. Marshall is suffering from the gash over his eye and his vision is threatened. A portion of the bone is missing and the physicians fear that his head may be fractured. His condition is reported as serious.

From the Information available Marshall borrowed the Dreisinger truck to gather up the Royal hotel laundry from a home in town where it is laundered. Apparently he later went 'to St. Jacobs and it was on his return trip with Eby that the accident happened.

Members of the jury are H. 0. and Hilbert Weichel, Oscar and Fred Ruppel, W. Winter, C. Playford, M. N. Bearinger, E. A. McQuay and A. Winger, Foreman. Chief of Police Bromely was on the scene of the accident early and took charge of the investigation.2a

2aElmira Signet 23 May 1929

______________________

Accident Victim is Laid to Rest


The Late Josiah Eby who succumbed Monday to injuries received in a motor accident on the highway Friday last was born in this district about 65 years ago. He farmed for several years west of Elmira and later operated a draying business in town. He also spent some time in the West. Surviving are his widow, four sons and one daughter; Menno, near St. Jacobs; Moses, Elmira; Samuel, near Floradale; Isaiah, Elmira; Mrs. Isaiah Martin (Perceda) near Heidelberg. The funeral is taking place this Wednesday afternoon from the home of his son, Mr. Isaiah Eby, to the Mennonite Church and cemetery.1a

1aElmira Signet, May 23, 1929

_________________

Mr. Josiah Eby has been in the draying business several years and has a good outfit for doing any work that may be entrusted to him. He also deals in wood-ashes, which he sells in car load lots to American manufacturers of fertilizers.1a

1aEnterprising Elmira Souvenir, An historical, descriptive, and illustrated Book of the Village of Elmira, Waterloo County, Ontario, Canada, published by George Klinck, 1903. 
Josiah M. Eby
 
9251 Julia Ann H. Eby, "was born December 27th, 1847. She is married to Philo G. Wilcott, a farmer. They reside in Kent County, Michigan, and have two children, namely: Eby and Jessie."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Julia Ann H. Eby
 
9252 Julia Anna Eby, "the eldest, was born August 15th, 1844. She resides in the town of Berlin, Ontario, is married to Richard C. Cowan, and has a family of nine children, namely: Robert Henry, William Craig, Charles Edward, Walter Richard (dead), Thomas Albert, Maria Louisa, Richard Eby, Frederick Harold, and Alice Olga."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Julia Anna Eby
 
9253 EBY

Kenneth Clarence - Passed away peacefully at K-W Health Centre of Grand River Hospital after a courageous battle with cancer, on Tuesday September 24. 2002, at 75 years of age. Ken is survived by his dear wife, (Mary) Beulah with whom he celebrated 52 years of happy marriage on September 23. He'll be missed by his children and grandchildren, Sandra Shantz, her husband Brian and their children Adam, Bradley and Luke; Carol Lawless, her husband Don and their children Josh, Katie and Marc. Ken is also remembered by his sister, Liz, her husband John and their family. He was predeceased in 1977 by his father, Clarence and in 1999 by his mother, Almeda. Born on June 15, 1927 and raised in Kitchener (Centerville), Ken retired in 1990 from Uniroyal-Goodrich after 45 years of loyal service. He enjoyed spending summers at Paul Bunyan Camp in Bayfield and gardening. He was an avid Jeopardy fan and a patient caregiver to Beulah for the last seven years. Ken's family will receive friends at the Edward R. Good Funeral Home, 171 King St. S., Waterloo on Friday from 2-4 and 7-9 p.m. and on Saturday from 12 noon - 1 p.m. A celebration of Ken's life will be held in the chapel of the funeral home, Saturday, September 28, 2002 at 1 p.m., with Harold Hildebrand Schlegel officiating. Ken's family thanks the 6th floor nursing and therapy staff as well as the Chateau Gardens staff and residents for their kindness and support.

The Waterloo Region Record 26 Sep 2002 pg B5 
Kenneth Clarence Eby
 
9254 Bowman, Laura, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Henry B. Eby, was born in Linwood, Ont., 1884; died at Fairview Mennonite Home, Preston, Ont., July 1, 1973; aged 89 y. She was married to Edwin S. Bowman, who survives. Also surviving are 2 sisters (Florence and Ella). She was preceded in death by 4 brothers and 3 sisters. She was a member of the First Mennonite Church, where funeral services were held on July 4, in charge of Robert N. Johnson; interment in church cemetery.1a

1a\bGospel Herald - Volume 66, Number 32 - August 14, 1973 page 630  
Laura Eby
 
9255 Lovina Eby, "was born May 6th, 1872. She is married and resides in Wisconsin, U.S."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Lavina Eby
 
9256 Leah Eby, "was born February 11th, 1839. On March 17th, 1857, she was married to Adam Klippert who was born May 24th, 1837. They reside in the town of Waterloo, Ontario, where he is engaged in manufacturing furniture, etc. They have had a family of eight children" 1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Leah Eby
 
9257 Leah Eby, "was born November 22nd, 1844. She is married to Moses Kenzie, a farmer. They live on the Preston Road, two miles south of Breslau, Waterloo County, Ontario, near the Cressman Meeting House. They have two children, Simon, married to Sarah Kraft and has a family of two children, and Lovina, unmarried."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Leah Eby
 
9258 Leah Eby, "was born November 9th, 1835. She was married, December 18th, 1853, to David E. Eby who was born February 22nd, 1831, and died April 2nd, 1877. They resided in the township of Maryborough, Wellington County, Ontario, where he died. Their family consisted of ten children."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Leah Eby
 
9259 Leah E. Eby, "was born January 24th, 1857. She is married to John Reinhard, a farmer. They reside at Port Elgin, Ontario."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Leah E. Eby
 
9260 Leah Grace Eby, "born Sept. 2nd, 1885."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Leah Grace Eby
 
9261 Lemuel Eby, "the fourth son of Samuel Eby, was born September 15th, 1825. On July 8th, 1847, he was married to Lucy Ann Bowman who was born February 28th, 1828. They resided in Mildmay, Ontario, for a number of years, then they moved to North Dakota, U. S., where they both died several years ago. They had a family of eight children" 1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Lemuel Eby
 
9262 Lemuel Eby, "third son of Menno Eby, is unmarried and lives at home, managing the old farm."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Lemuel Eby
 
9263 Levi B. Eby, "was born July 28th, 1850. He is married to Catharine Vollmer. They reside near Southampton, Ontario."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Levi B. Eby
 
9264 Levi E. Eby, "was born August 13th, 1872. He is unmarried and is home on his father's farm."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Levi E. Eby
 
9265 Levi Eby, "was born September 18th, 1842. He is married to Mary Lawson and resides in Inglewood, Cook County, Illinois. He is a local minister in the Methodist Church and has had a family of fifteen children, of whom six are dead. Six boys and three girls are still living."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Rev. Levi W. Eby
 
9266 Naomi D. Eby, "was born April 14th, 1891."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Lillian Naomi Eby
 
9267 Louis D. Eby, "born July 1st, 1879."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Louis Dominion Eby
 
9268 The death of Miss Louisa M. Eby, daughter of the Late Mr. and Mrs. Menno Eby, occurred at her home, 32 Eby Street south, last night. Miss Eby was born in Kitchener and was 82 years of age. She was a member of Benton Baptist Church. She is survived by two sisters, Mrs. George Erb of Winter Haven, Fla., and Miss Ilda Eby, with whom she had resided. The funeral will be held at 2 o'clock from Ratz-Bechtel Funeral Home. Interment will take place in First Mennonite Cemetery. Rev. C.M. Keen will officiate. The remains are resting at the funeral home.1a

1aKitchener Daily Record \b0March 13, Friday, 1942:


 
Louisa Matilda Eby
 
9269 Lucy Eby, "born in Ontario, was married to Fred. Held, of Faribault, Minnesota, where they now live. They have six children"1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Lucy Eby
 
9270 Lucy Ann Eby, "the eldest in the family, was born April 5th, 1847, and died April 8th, 1893. She was married to Benjamin Hallman, a farmer. They resided at New Dundee, Ontario, and had a family of nine children."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Lucy Ann Eby
 
9271 Lucy Ann Eby, "was born August 17th, 1857. On March 14th, 1876, she was married to David Seibert. They reside at Port Elgin, Ontario, and have a family of seven children".1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Lucy Ann Eby
 
9272 Snider, Luella, daughter of the late Mr. and Mrs. Benjamin Eby, was born at Bridgeport, Ont., Oct. 14, 1884; died Feb. 2, 1969; aged 84 y. 3 m. 19 d. On Jan. 16, 1907, she was married to Edgar Snider, who survives. Also surviving are 2 sons (Sanford and Maurice), 2 daughters (Mildred - Mrs. Walter Byer and Mabel), 4 grandchildren, 3 great-grandchildren, one brother (Alpheus), and 2 sisters (Mrs. Beulah Shantz and Vera - Mrs. Isaac Hurst). She was preceded in death by 2 brothers and 4 sisters. She was a member of the Erb Street Church, where funeral services were held, with Milton Schwartzentruber and J. B. Martin officiating.1a

1aGospel Herald - Volume LXII, Number 10 - March 11, 1969 pages 239, 240 
Luella Eby
 
9273 Lived with Elizabeth Eby and husband Jacob Bergey Lydia Eby
 
9274 Lydia Eby, "was born January 16th, 1838. On October 28th, 1860, she was married to John Derstein, a native of Pennsylvania. They reside in Elmwood, Ontario, and have a family of ten children, namely: Josiah, David (dead), Elizabeth, Maria, Elias, Hannah, Lydia, Sarah, John Henry, and Emma Naomi."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Lydia Eby
 
9275 Lydia Eby, "was born July 3rd, 1856, and died May 20th, 1883. She was married to Christian Eby."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Lydia Eby
 
9276 Lydia Eby, "was born September 14th, 1835. She was married to Jacob Traffelet who died in 1891, and resided in Port Elgin, Ontario. They have had a family of eleven children, one of whom is dead. Three boys and seven girls are still living."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Lydia Eby
 
9277 Lydia Ann Eby, "born May 12th, 1881."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Lydia Ann Eby
 
9278 Lydia Ann Eby, "the youngest child of Isaac and Veronica Eby, was born April 25th, 1856, and died November 11th, 1875. She was unmarried."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Lydia Ann Eby
 
9279 Lydia Ann Eby, "was born April 18th, 1866. She is married to William House, a teamster. They reside in the town of Waterloo. To them was born one child named Vernon."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Lydia Ann Eby
 
9280 Lydia Ann C. Eby, "the only daughter of Joseph and Margaretta (Cress) Eby, was born June 12th, 1871. She is unmarried and has her home with her mother who resides in Berlin."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Lydia Ann Kress "Sadie" Eby
 
9281 Lydia E. Eby, "was born September 17th, 1826. On June 3rd, 1851, she was married to Adam Seibert who was born May 7th, 1828, and died May 14th, 1886. They resided at Port Elgin, Ontario, and had a family of eight children".1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Lydia E. Eby
 
9282 Lydia M. Eby, "was born September 22nd, 1881. She has her home with Mr. Benjamin Martin, in Peel Township, near Yatton P.O."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Lydia M. Eby
 
9283 Bearinger, Mabel, daughter of the late Mr. and Mrs. Benjamin Eby, was born at Bridgeport, Ont., Jan. 1, 1887; died at her home April 7, 1962; aged 75 y. 2 m. 6 d. In 1909, she was married to Josiah Bearinger, who survives. Also surviving are one daughter (Doris-Mrs. Eden Good, Waterloo), 2 brothers (Samuel and Alpheus, Waterloo), 4 sisters (Luella-Mrs. Edgar Snider, Mina-Mrs. Alvin Shantz, Beulah-Mrs. Abram Shantz, and Nora-Mrs. Isaac Hurst), and 2 grandsons. One brother and 2 sisters preceded her in death. She was a member of the Erb Street Church, where funeral services were conducted by J. B. Martin.1a

1aGospel Herald - Volume LV, Number 19 - May 8, 1962 - pages 439, 440. 
Mabel Eby
 
9284 Mabel Eby, "born September 6th, 1874."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Mabel Eby
 
9285 SMITH, Mabel D.

Of 227 Melrose St., Cambridge, on Friday, Aug. 21, 1987, at her residence, Mabel Eby, in her 80th year. Beloved wife of Harold M. Smith; dear mother of Muriel (Mrs. Willard Moister) of Mississauga and Donna (Mrs. Rosy Godbout) of RR 1, Cambridge. Lovingly remembered by six grandchildren; seven great-grandchildren; one brother, Howard of Angus, Ont. and two sisters, Ruth (Mrs. Nick Bettke) of Cambridge and Mrs. Margaret Tomlinson of California. Mrs. Smith was born in Cambridge (Preston) and lived there all her life, The family will receive friends at the Barthel-Stager Funeral Home, 566 Queenston Rd., Cambridge, Saturday, 7-9 p.m. and Sunday, 2-4 and 7-9 p.m. The funeral service will be conducted at the funeral home, Monday, Aug. 24 1987, at 1:30 p.m. Interment Parklawn cemetery.

Kitchener-Waterloo Record 21 Aug 1987 pg B19 
Mabel Dorothy Eby
 
9286 Biehn. - Magdalena Eby Biehn, daughter of Reuben and Mary Ann Eby, was born Oct. 9, 1893, near Elmira, Ont.; died in a hospital at Watrous, Sask., Jan. 16, 1929; aged 35 y. 3 m. 7 d. She was united in marriage to Delton Biehn Mar. 29, 1924. She leaves to mourn her departure a sorrowing husband, 2 sons, and 1 daughter, an infant son having preceded her in death. She also leaves her parents, 2 brothers, 4 sisters, and a number of other relatives and friends. She accepted Christ as her Savior at an early age, uniting with the Mennonite Church and remaining faithful until death. Both home and church will keenly feel her loss, but we have the confidence that our loss is her eternal gain. Funeral services were held Jan. 20 at the home, and at the Sharon Mennonite Church, Guernsey, Sask., in charge of M. H. Schmitt and I. S. Rosenberger. Text, I Cor. 15:54-57. Interment in adjoining cemetery.1a

1aGospel Herald - Volume XXI, Number 45 - February 7, 1929 - page 942, 943 
Magdalena Eby
 
9287 Magdalena Eby, "born August 10th, 1876."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Magdalena Eby
 
9288 Magdalena Eby, "the second daughter in the family, was born December 12th, 1813. On April 30th, 1833, she was married to John Betzner who was born February 13th, 1808, and died February 6th, 1854. After Mr. Betzner's decease she was married, June 19th, 1855, to Abraham Hiestand. After Mr. Hiestand's decease she was married to Mr. Joseph Hallman. When married the third time she resided near New Dundee, Ontario, where she died April 2nd, 1886. With her first husband she had six children, namely:., and with Mr. Hiestand she had one child named Magdalena."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Magdalena Eby
 
9289 Magdalena Eby, "the second daughter of George and Barbara (Wenger) Eby, was born in November, 1813, and died January 30th, 1883. Her husband's name was Jacob Cress."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby



At the end of her life Magdalena lived with her son in law John D. David (1881 Census Saugeen Twp., Bruce Co., Ontario) 
Magdalena Eby
 
9290 Magdalena Eby, "was born April 19th, 1845. She is married to John Auman, a blacksmith. They reside in Marion, Kansas, and have a family of seven children"1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Magdalena Eby
 
9291 Magdalena Eby, "was born August 26th, 1841. She is married to Isaac E. Shantz and resides in Berlin where he is engaged in business. They have a family of six children: Josiah, married to Eliza Shantz, has a family of several children and resides in Berlin, Tilman, died young, Edmund is married to Susannah Groff and resides on the old homestead. They have two children. Elmina is married to Rev. Christian Miller and resides in Berlin. Mary Ann is married to Amos Groff. They reside on the old "Groff Farm" near Waterloo. Milton is at home and is engaged as book-keeper in the foundry."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Magdalena Eby
 
9292 Magdalena Eby, "was born August 30th, 1840. She is married to Daniel S. Martin. They reside on a beautiful farm about two and one-half miles north of Waterloo, Ontario, on the main road leading from Waterloo to St. Jacobs."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Magdalena Eby
 
9293 Magdalena Eby, "was born December, 12th, 1845. She was first married to Rev. Joseph Thede and resided in Port Elgin, Ontario, where he died. Some time after his death she was married to Rev. Conrad Bohlender. They reside in Pembroke, Ontario. She has no family."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Magdalena Eby
 
9294 Magdalena Eby, "was born January 14th, 1873. She is unmarried and has her home with Joseph B. Martin."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Magdalena Eby
 
9295 Magdalena Eby, "was born July 1st, 1852, and is married to Charles Findlay, a farmer and engineer. At present they reside at Shoal Lake, Manitoba. They have had six children"1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Magdalena Eby
 
9296 Magdalena Eby, "was born July 29th, 1825. She is married to Henry Rickert and resides in Locke, Elkhart County, Indiana. They have a family of eight children"1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Magdalena Eby
 
9297 Magdalena Eby, "was born March 1st, 1874. She is unmarried and at home."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Magdalena Eby
 
9298 Magdalena Eby, "was born May 15th, 1848. She is married to Conrad Steuernagel. They reside in Port Elgin, Ontario."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Magdalena Eby
 
9299 Magdalena Eby, "was born May 19th, 1810, and died July 22nd, 1883. She was married to Abraham B. Clemens who was born February 11th, 1814, and died March 20th, 1888. To them were born eight children, namely: Elizabeth, Samuel, Susannah, Jacob E., Magdalena, Jane, Catharine and Veronica."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Magdalena Eby
 
9300 Magdalena Eby, "was born May 3, 1872."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Magdalena Eby
 
9301 Magdalena Eby, "was born October 4th, 1866. She is married to John Benner."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Magdalena Eby
 
9302 Martha Lena Eby, "was born July 9th, 1829, and died January 24th, 1888. She was married to V. Brodregdrit, a carpenter."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Magdalena Eby
 
9303 Magdalena W. Eby, "was born July 22nd, 1831. She was married to Jacob M. Brubacher, a farmer, and resided near St. Jacobs, Ontario. She has a family of four children, namely: Martin, William, Amanda, and Mary Ann. "1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby

_________________

Brubacher.-Magdalena Eby Brubacher was born July 22, 1831, near Kitchener, Ont. Oct. 15, 1926, she peacefully passed away at the home of her daughter, Mrs. Reuben Eby, St. Jacobs, Ont.; aged 95 y. 2 m. 23 d. She had been able to be up and around till nearly 17 months ago when she took her bed and since she was never able to be up. Sept. 28, 1856, she was married to Jacob M. Brubacher who preceded her in death Dec. 10, 1889. This union was blessed with 3 sons and 2 daughters, of whom 1 son preceded her in infancy and Martin 19 months ago. Those left to mourn her departure are: Mrs. Christian Schiefle, and Mrs. Reuben Eby, St. Jacobs, Ont.; William H., of Rodney, Ont.; also one step-sister, Mrs. Phillip Cress, Phillips, Wis.; 23 grandchildren, and 20 great-grandchildren. Funeral services were held Oct. 17, at the Old Order Mennonite Church, Conestoga, and at the Riverside cemetery for burial. Funeral services were conducted by Urias Martin ant the house and by Israel Weber and Ezra Martin at the Church. Texts, I Pet. 3: 4; I Thess. 4: 13.
The room is quiet, all is still,
The bed is vacant, 'tis God's will;
So long you've waited for your rest,
Our blessed Lord knows what is best.
" -Grandaughter.2a

2aGOSPEL HERALD - Vol. XIX, No. 32 - November 4, 1926 - pp 686-686 
Magdalena W. Eby
 
9304 Magdalena Eby, "was born April 19th, 1851. She was married to Martin Dunham, June 10th, 1880. They reside on her father's old place, consisting of a few acres of land with dwelling, which Mr. Eby reserved when he disposed of his farm to the County Council. They have a family of four children, namely: Bertha Mabel, Franklin, Edith, and Herbert (dead)."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Magdelina "Maggie" Eby
 
9305 Maggie R. Eby, "was born December 20th, 1861. She is a tailoress and resides in Grand Rapids, Michigan."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Maggie R. Eby
 
9306 FREY, Malinda (Mrs. Urias) - Peacefully on Tuesday, May 9, 2006 at St. Mary's General Hospital. Malinda (Eby) Frey, age 82 years, of RR 1, Elmira. Wife of Urias Frey. Mother of Melvin at home, Minerva and Elam Bauman of RR 1, Fergus, Ada and Jason Showalter of RR 1, Elmira. Also survived by her 12 grandchildren and six great-grandchildren. Sister of Maryann and Owen Reist, Persida and Amos Martin, Elvina and Leander Martin and sister-in-law of Melinda Eby. Predeceased by her parents, Samuel and Magdalena (Weber) Eby; two brothers and one sister.Friends my call at the Dreisinger Funeral Home, Elmira, on Thursday evening from 7 - 9 p.m. Transfer will then be made to her home, RR 1, Elmira, for visitation on Friday from 12 noon - 6 p.m., where funeral service will be held on Saturday, May 13, at 9 a.m. then to Elmira Mennonite Meeting House for further public service and burial in the adjoining cemetery.1a

1aThe Record 10 May 2006 
Malinda Eby
 
9307 Manasseh Eby, "the fifth son of Samuel Eby, was born March 23rd, 1828. He resides in or near Jackson, Minnesota, and is married to Mary Longhouse and has three sons and two daughters."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Manasseh Eby
 
9308 Margaret Eby, "born October 25th, 1872."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Margaret Eby
 
9309 Maria Eby, "the third and youngest daughter of Bishop Benjamin Eby, was born March 14th, 1816. She was married to William Bomberger (born May 30th, 1816), son of Christian and Mary (Erb) Bomberger. After their marriage they moved on a farm three miles east of Berlin. From there they moved on a small farm two and one half miles north of Waterloo, where they both died. She died June 21st, 1861. He died January 22nd, 1866. They left no heirs."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Maria Eby
 
9310 Maria Watt passed away at St. Thomas, Ont., on June 15, 1941; aged 81 y. 3 m. 3 d. She was the daughter of the late Isaac Eby and Elizabeth Stauffer, born in New Hamburg on March 12, 1860. She was predeceased by her last husband, Alexander Watt, five years ago. She is survived by 3 daughters, Mrs. Edward Gilmore of Woodstock, Mrs. J. C. Schmidt of Cleveland, Ohio, and Mrs. Charles Kissner of Kitchener, and by 4 sons, Ervin Woolner of Milverton, Norman of Cayuga, Arthur of St. Thomas, and Harvey Nevetral of Cleveland, Ohio. Two sisters and 1 brother also survive. Mrs. Jemima Forrest of Kitchener, Mrs. Samuel Luckhart of New Hamburg, and Isaiah Eby of Stevensville, Ont. Funeral and interment, First Mennonite Church, Kitchener, Ont., conducted by Bro. C. F. Derstine. Theme, "If I Go." (John 14:2).1a

1aGospel Herald - Vol. XXXIV, No . 14 - July 3, 1941, page 295 
Maria Eby
 
9311 Martin Eby, "the fifth son of George Eby and his wife, Barbara Wenger, was born August 4th, 1807. On March 3rd, 1832, he was married to Catharine Weber who was born April 28th, 1811, and died December 2nd, 1890. He died June 13, 1891. They had a family of fourteen children, three of whom died soon after their birth, consequently having no names given to them, and one named Philip lived to be two months and a few days old. Ten of the family are still living"1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Martin Eby
 
9312 Martin E. Eby, "was born July 5th, 1838. He was first married to Mary Martin who was born September 5th, 1842, and died November 20th, 1881. After her decease he was again married to Mary Golden. They reside in Berlin where he is engaged in the grocery business."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Martin E. Eby
 
9313 Martin F. Eby, "was born in Berlin, Ontario, February 23rd, 1841. In June 1863, he moved to Port Elgin, Ontario, where he opened a drug store, and has been doing a successful business ever since. He has been running the express and telegraph offices, in connection with the drug business, since 1873. He is married to Catharine Rothaermel and has a family of ten children, namely: Milton Addison, who passed a creditable examination at the Ontario College Pharmacy some years ago, is in the drug business with his father and is married to Panelope Hilbert. Franklin Alexander, resides at Greenway, Manitoba, where he is agent for the Northern Pacific and Manitoba Railroad. His former residence was Hawk Lake where he was station master for the Canadian Pacific Railroad Company for two years. He is married to Mary Thompson. Lizzie Amelia, who is at home with her parents, John Albert, who is assisting his father in the drug business, Clara Louisa, Nellie Esther, Reuben Henry, Amanda Philippina Fischer, Katy May, and Edna."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Martin F. Eby
 
9314 Martin M. Eby, "was born January 27th, 1871. He is working for Adam Cressman of Strasburg, Ontario. He is unmarried."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Martin M. Eby
 
9315 1871 - Mary Eby is staying with Peter Good. Mary Eby
 
9316 Mary Eby, "born in Ontario, was married, at Jackson, Minnesota, to John Gritz, of Fulda, Minnesota. They now live in Jackson and have two girls, Mattie, and Zetta."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Mary Eby
 
9317 Mary Eby, "eldest daughter of David and Elizabeth (Bechtel) Eby, was born October 12th, 1812. She was married to Amos Cressman and resided on a farm in Wellesley Township, near Hawksville, Ontario, where she died November 8th, 1884. They had a family of eight children"1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Mary Eby
 
9318 Mary Eby, "was born April 16th, 1854. She is married to Owen B. Snider."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Mary Eby
 
9319 Mary Eby, "was born January 13th, 1835, and died April 28th, 1890. She was married to Abraham Groff who was born October 13th, 1829, and died February 15th, 1885. They resided on a farm two and one-half miles north of Waterloo, Ontario, where they were blessed with a large family."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Mary Eby
 
9320 Mary Eby, "was born March 22nd, 1821, and died in 1842, soon after her marriage to Joseph Souder. She had no children."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Mary Eby
 
9321 Mary Eby, "was born May 10th, 1852. She is married to Benjamin Shantz, a builder. They reside at Port Elgin, Ontario."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Mary Eby
 
9322 Mary Ann Eby, "was born April 14th, 1870. She is married to Allen Cressman. They reside on the old "David Eby Homestead" several miles west of Waterloo where he is engaged in farming. Their family consists of one child named Arclista."1a

1a\bThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby

_____________________


Cressman.-Mary Ann, widow of the late Allen Cressman, was born on the David Eby homestead near Waterloo, Ont., April 16, 1870; died at the Kitchener and Waterloo Hospital after a long illness, Dec. 26, 1941; aged 71 y. 8 m. 10 d. She was a daughter of the late David Eby and Lydia Bowman Eby. Jan. 14, 1891, she was united in marriage to Allen Cressman, who predeceased her Nov. 26, 1935. She leaves 1 daughter (Arclista Cressman), who has served as deaconess for the Old People's Home, in the Canadian Northwest, for 26 years. One sister (Mrs. Allen Kraft of Bridgeport) also survives. She was predeceased by 1 son (Lorne) in infancy. She was a faithful member of the First Mennonite Church, Kitchener, Ont., in which church she labored unstintingly in ladies' aid circles, in behalf of the unfortunate. She had a heart that beat in behalf of the poor. Her unselfish spirit and influence will live on in others. Funeral services were conducted at Kitchener, Ont., by Bro. C. F. Derstine, assisted by Clarence Keen and C. N. Good. Theme: "In That Day Shall Everyone Have Praise of God" (I Cor. 4:5).2a

2a\bGOSPEL HERALD - Vol. XXXIV, No . 41 - January 8, 1942 - pp 870, 871 
Mary Ann Eby
 
9323 Mary Ann Eby, "was born December 27th, 1853. She was married to James Thomlinson, deceased, and had three children."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Mary Ann Eby
 
9324 Mary Ann Eby, "was born January 2nd, 1864. She is married to Nathaniel Martin. At present they reside on the farm of Peter Good, near the Martin Mennonite Meeting House. Their family consists of three children"1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Mary Ann Eby
 
9325 Mary Ann Eby, "was born May 1st, 1870. She is unmarried and resides with her mother."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Mary Ann Eby
 
9326 Mary Ann H. Eby, "was born November 5th, 1845. She is married to Solomon Baumann."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Mary Ann H. Eby
 
9327 REIST, Mary Ann (Mrs. Owen B) - Peacefully on Thursday, January 10, 2008 at K-W Health Centre of Grand River Hospital. Mary Ann (Eby) Reist in her 87th year of RR 1, St. Jacobs. Beloved wife of Owen B. Reist. Loving mother, of Elmer and Susan Reist of St. Jacobs, Elsie and Aden Bowman of RR 1, Wallenstein, and Lena Reist of RR 1, St. Jacobs. Also survived by fourteen grandchildren and twenty-four great-grandchildren. Sister of Perseda and Amos Martin, Elvina and Leander Martin. Sister-in-law of Melinda Eby and Urias Frey. Predeceased by two brothers and two sisters. Friends may call at her home, RR 1, St. Jacobs on Saturday from 1-6 p.m. and Sunday 1-6 p.m. where a family service will be held on Monday, January 14, 2008 at 12 p.m. (noon) then to the Conestoga Mennonite Meeting House for further public service and burial in the adjoining cemetery. Arrangements entrusted to the Dreisinger Funeral Home , Elmira

The Record 11 Jan 2008 
Mary Ann W. Eby
 
9328 Mary Eby, "the first member of the family, was born June 17th, 1840, and is married to John Erb. They reside on a farm two miles south of Berlin, on the north side of the Preston Road. They have two children, namely: Angeline and Sarah. Angeline is married to Abraham Henry Wambold who resides on the old "Isaac Shantz Farm" near Berlin."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Mary C. Eby
 
9329 Mary Elizabeth Eby, "was born August 27th, 1852. She is married to John B. Scholte, a carpenter, and resides at Langdon, North Dakota, U.S. They have a family of six children, of whom two are dead."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Mary Elizabeth Eby
 
9330 Mary Elizabeth, "the eldest daughter of Jonas and Hannah (Fessant) Eby, resides in Kingsville, Ontario, with her widowed mother."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Mary Elizabeth Eby
 
9331 Mary M. Eby, "was born October 8th, 1879. She resides with Enoch Bauman of Woolwich."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Mary M. Eby
 
9332 Mattie Eby, "fourth daughter of Menno Eby, is married to Daniel Laschinger, of St. Paul, Minnesota, where they now reside. They have had four children: Addie, Lillie, Lulu, and Harry. Lillie died when eighteen months old."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Matilda Eby
 
9333 1851 - Menno Eby is staying with Benjamin Eby. Menno Eby
 
9334 Menno Eby, "the first member of the family, was born February 19th, 1833. He is a book-keeper and resides on Eby Street, Berlin, Ontario. He was married to Elizabeth Sophia Maria Becker in September, 1856, and has a family of eight children, five of whom are still living. Their names are as follows: Eva Magdalena, married to George Erb, has a family of two daughters and resides in Berlin, Ontario, Sophia Maria, died in infancy, Louisa Matilda, resides in Berlin, Alexander, married to Nellie Watson, resides in Berlin, Ilda Isabella, Leander, died young, Menno, died February 20th, 1889, aged 20 years. 8 months, and 15 days (he had been employed in Rochester, New York, but came to Berlin, Ontario to die), and Nellie Grace."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby

_____________________

Eby, Menno, Town Treasurer, Assessor, Official Assignee, &c. Mr. Eby was born here, 1833, and his father was the first white child born in the township.2a

2aIllustrated Atlas of the County of Waterloo, H. Parsel & Co., Toronto - 1881

_______________________________


In 1880 Menno and his son Menno was living or visiting his daughter Eva in North Branch, Lapeer Co., Michigan. 
Menno Eby
 
9335 Menno Eby, "the second son of Samuel Eby, was born in Berlin, Canada, February 20th, 1819, and was married to Catharine Fisher in September, 1840. After living in Canada about fifteen years, they moved to Preston, Minnesota. They are now living on a beautiful farm one mile west of the village of Jackson, Minnesota, near the Des Moines River. They have had ten children"1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Menno Eby
 
9336 Menno Eby, "was born June 14th, 1842. He is a machinist and resides in Detroit, Michigan, and is married to Rachel White. They have one son named Franklin."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Menno Eby
 
9337 Menno, died February 20th, 1889, aged 20 years. 8 months, and 15 days (he had been employed in Rochester, New York, but came to Berlin, Ontario to die) Menno Eby
 
9338 Menno M. Eby, "was born July 7th, 1869. He is unmarried and is engaged as clerk with Smyth Bros., Berlin."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Menno M. Eby
 
9339 Michael Eby, "the youngest son of Christian Eby (son of old Theodorus), and his wife Elizabeth Mayer, was born December 29th, 1755. To whom he was married and when he died could not be ascertained. He resided in Lancaster County, Pennsylvania, and had a family of eight sons, namely...The two youngest were twins. All of this family with the exception of Samuel, moved to Maryland. Their descendants are now very numerous and are to be found in the city of Baltimore and different parts of the states of Maryland and Virginia and some of the Western and South-western states and territories."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Michael Eby
 
9340 EBY, Milton - Passed away, peacefully, at home, after a courageous battle with cancer,surrounded by the family he loved, on Wednesday, December 11, 2002, in his 77th year. Beloved husband of Agnes; much loved father of Karen Martin and Linda and herhusband Chuck Kruger of St. Jacobs. He was also a special father-in-law to Darrel Martin of St. Jacobs. He will be lovingly remembered by his grandchildren, Tonya and Jonathan Martin,Nathan, Daniel and Matthew Kruger. Brother of Lovina and her husband Nelson Weber ofConestogo, Ivan Eby and his wife Irene of Cambridge and Luella Snider of St. Jacobs. He was predeceased by his parents, Menno Eby and Melinda (Gingrich); step-mother,Angeline (Martin) and sisters, Barbara Weber, Almeda Martin and Rebecca Gingerich. Milt'sgreat joys in life were his family, especially his grandchildren, travelling, genealogy and"puttering" in their yard. He was an active member of the First and Stirling Seniors andenjoyed volunteering for Habitat for Humanity and the House of Friendship.He was retired from Case Power Equipment where he had worked for 24 years. Milt's family will receive friends at the Edward R. Good Funeral Home, 171 King St. S., Waterloo from 2-4 and 7-9 p.m. Friday (today).The funeral service will be held at First Mennonite Church in Kitchener on Saturday, Dec.14, 2002, at 2 p.m. with Rev. Gary Knarr and Rev. Mark Diller_Harder officiating. Interment to follow in First Mennonite Cemetery. Donations to Grand River Regional Cancer Centre or the House of Friendship would be appreciated as expressions of sympathy and can be arranged through the funeral home - 745-8445 or www.edwardrgood.com Following the service at the cemetery, friends and and a time to visit with the family.The family express heartfelt appreciation to Dr. Stevens, Dr. Ward andthe palliative care team from Care Partners for their kindness and compassion.

The Record, Kitchener, Ontario, Friday, December 13, 2002 
Milton Eby
 
9341 Milton joined the Canadian Expeditionary Force at Alsask, Saskatchewan on May 26 1916, with 1st Canadian Mounted Rifles (Saskatchewan Regiment). Milton Shantz Eby
 
9342 KNUTSON, Miriam (nee Eby) 1930 - 2011 Passed away peacefully at Lanark Heights, Kitchener on Sunday, September 25, 2011, at the age of 81. Beloved wife of the late William Knutson (1999). Cherished mother of Brian and his wife Sharon, Kenton and Kane. Devoted grandma of April, Chrisie and Joshua and very special great-grandma to MacKenzie, Hudson and Bodie. Predeceased by her parents Jacob and Isabella Eby; brothers, Irvin, Nelson, Carl, Herb and Jacob and sisters, Dorothy Baird, Rose Dorscht and Verna Storer. The Knutson family will receive relatives and friends at the Erb & Good Family Funeral Home , 171 King St. S., Waterloo on Tuesday, September 27th from 2-4 and 7-9 p.m. The funeral service will be held in the Funeral Home Chapel on Wednesday, September 28, 2011 at 11:00 a.m., Following the interment at Mount Hope Cemetery, Kitchener there will be a reception at the funeral home's Fireside Reception Room. Condolences for the family and donations to the Diabetes Association would be appreciated as expressions of sympathy and may be arranged through the funeral home at www.erbgood.com or 519-745-8445. Miriam Isobel Colleen Eby
 
9343 Moses Eby, "the only child of Samuel Eby and his wife, Magdalena Erb, was born March 10th, 1799, and died March 8th, 1854. He was married to Barbara Pannebecker who was born May 24th, 1801, and died January 19th, 1842. They had a family of ten children"1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby

_____________________________

One of the icons of Doon Heritage Crossroads' collection, as an example, is the Moses Eby desk, made in 1817 by the apprentice cabinetmaker Moses Eby, who had emigrated to Waterloo County from Pennsylvania. Its elaborate marquetry, inlay and other construction details attest to the skill and fine workmanship of Eby and many of those early builders who crafted beautiful furniture without benefit of mechanical power.2a

2aLiz Hardin, "A Collecting Plan For Doon Heritage Crossroads, Connecting to the Past Shaping our Future"; report, 2007; Doon Heritage Crossroads. pg 17 
Moses Eby
 
9344 Moses Eby, "the youngest member of the family of George and Barbara (Wenger) Eby, was born December 23rd, 1822. He is married to Mary Miller who was born August 14th, 1820. They reside at New Dundee, Waterloo County, Ontario, and have a family of ten children"1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Moses Eby
 
9345 Moses E. Eby, "was born March 25th, 1864. He is married to Hettie Kraft. They reside at Bloomingdale, Ontario, where he is engaged in farming."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Moses E. Eby
 
9346 Moses M. Eby, "was born April 6th, 1864."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Moses M. Eby
 
9347 Moses W. Eby, "was born November 20th, 1835. He is one of the early pioneers of Port Elgin, Ontario, and has resided there ever since, with the exception of three years that he lived in Locke, Indiana. He has been very successful in the book and fancy goods business. He is married to Mary McLean and has a family of four children, namely: George, Rebecca, Sarah, and Lillie."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Moses Weber Eby
 
9348 Nancy Eby, "the eldest daughter of George and Barbara (Wenger) Eby, was born in Pennsylvania, October 13th, 1801, and died March 4th, 1887. She was married to David Erb who was born February 21st, 1797, and died August 25th, 1883. "1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Nancy Eby
 
9349 Nancy Eby, "was born July 13th, 1854, and died in Salem, Ontario, December 19th, 1877. She was unmarried."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Nancy Eby
 
9350 Nancy Eby, "was born June 29th, 1867. She is married to John Lackner, a gardener. They reside in Chesley, Ontario."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Nancy Eby
 
9351 Nancy Eby, "was born September 18th, 1838. She is married to Samuel P. Eby and resides on a farm a few miles west of Berlin, Ontario."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Nancy Eby
 
9352 Nathaniel Eby, "was born August 13th, 1868. He is a brakeman on a G.T.R. passenger train plying between London and Toronto."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Nathaniel Eby
 
9353 Nelson Eby, "the youngest son of Enoch and Magdalena (Schneider) Eby, was born May 27th, 1877. He has his home with his mother who resides in Port Elgin."1a

1a The Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Nelson Eby
 
9354 Nelson M. Eby, "the youngest, was born April 6th, 1869. He is a baker and resides in Aurora, Illinois."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Nelson M. Eby
 
9355 Nina Eby, "born December 21st, 1863."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Nina Eby
 
9356 Noah Eby, "was born December 15th, 1864. He is unmarried and resides with Josiah Snider, at Bloomingdale, Ontario, where he is engaged on the farm."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Noah Eby
 
9357 Noah Eby, "was born February 25th, 1857, and resides in the village of Bloomingdale, Ontario, where he is foreman in Mr. G. McAllister's factory. He is married to Susan Hilborn"1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Noah Eby
 
9358 Noah Eby, "was born March 4th, 1863. He is married to Laura Moon."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Noah Eby
 
9359 Noah E. Eby, "was born January 2nd, 1856. He is married to Matilda Shantz. They reside near Petersburg, Ontario, where he is engaged in farming."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Noah E. Eby
 
9360 Noah E. Eby, "was born May 11th, 1865. He is unmarried and resides at Pine Hill, Bruce County, where he is engaged as a sawyer."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Noah E. Eby
 
9361 Noah G. Eby, "was born April 28th, 1890."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Noah G. Eby
 
9362 Mon. Oct. 9, 1911 frosty in the morning, hauled three load of ties in the morning from track - then one load of pumpkins, rest of day all worked at cattle shugar beets at sewer farm, the two Herb's, father, Jake and I, got them nearly finished. Cousin Odo Eby from Superior Wisconsin, came here in the afternoon with his wife, and mother, was not in Berlin for ten years, which was at the time of the death of his father. They stayed here for tea, going home at about nine in the evening. Had fine weather all day, did not go to night school this evening.1a

1aThe 1911-1919 Diary of Gordon Christian Eby, Mennonite Farmer, edited by Paul Tiessen and Anne Eby Millar 
Odo Eby
 
9363 Eby, Oliver, son of Henry B. and Sarah (Honsburger) Eby, was born Oct. 22, 1889, in Wellesley Twp., Waterloo Co., Ont.; died at his daughter's home, Kelowna, B. C., May 9, 1957; aged 67 y. 6 m. 17 d. On Dec. 10, 1915, he married Amelia Ulmer, who preceded him Oct. 7, 1934. Two children also preceded him. Surviving are 2 daughters (Edna-Mrs. Larry Green, Kelowna; Gladys, Regina, Sask), and 2 sons (Leo, Morse, Sask. And William, Guernsey, Sask.), 9 grandchildren, one great-grandchild, 4 sisters, and 2 brothers (Mrs. Edwin Bowman, a full sister, the following half sisters and brothers, Mrs. Gordon Weber, Florence Eby, both of Kitchener; Ella Eby, St. Catharines; Irvin and Edwin, kitcheners). In 1911 he went to the Guernsey district in Saskatchewan, in 1943 to Saskatoon, and in 1950 to British Columbia. For a number of years he held membership at the Sharon Mennonite Church, and although that fellowship was broken, we are glad to say that toward the close of his life, his attention was again drawn to the Word of God. Funeral services were held at the Sharon Church in charge of Stanley D. Shantz.1a

1aGospel Herald - Volume L, Number 28 - July 9, 1957-page 646, 647 
Oliver Eby
 
9364 Oliver Eby, "born July 28th, 1878."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Oliver Eby
 
9365 Oscar S. Eby has been described as a humorist and philosopher, a man whose kindly wit was much appreciated. He was the founder and publisher of the Hespeler Herald. His family moved to Preston in 1883 where his father was a miller in the Cherry Flour Mill. He worked for a time for the Preston Progress and later while still young travelled Western Ontario working for several magazines. He in 1895 partnered with Thomas H. Sears to published the first Hespeler Herald. He purchased Sear's interest in 1896 and remained as editor and proprietor for 23 years. In 1917 he was appointed as Registrar of the County of Waterloo. In 1918 he sold his interest in the paper and moved to Kitchener.1a

1aCambridge Mosaic , Jim Quantrell, 1998, City of Cambridge [abbreviated snippet from original text in book]

_____________________


Oscar S. Eby

Oscar S. Eby, 30 Hohner avenue, former newspaperman and retired registrar of Waterloo county, who died suddenly at an outdoor camp near Birch Island in the Sudbury district Monday evening, had just seated himself after helping to extinguish a fire on the roof of the cabin at which he was staying when he collapsed, investigation showed death was due to natural causes. He was in his 86th year. The deceased, who has been a very prominent man in this district for many years was born at Salem, June 21 1871, a son of the late Mr. and Mrs Andrew Eby. He was married at Galt to Elisabeth Bolduc in 1899. Before his appointment as registrar of deeds, Mr. Eby owned and edited the Hespeler Herald. He was appointed registrar in 1917. The deceased led a public life, being past President of the Ontario Registratr Association, past president of Canada Lacrosse Association, Hespeler, and past president of Canadian Patriotic Association. He was a member of the Granite Club, Canadian order of Foresters and a member of Toronto Transportation Club. He was prominent in Conservative Circles and also in sports. He played soccer, baseball and was an ardent bowler. Serviving are his widow, one daughter Miss Norma, Kitchener, one brother, Herbert A. Eby, Washington, DC. and one nephew. Dr. Herbert Eby. Funeral services will be held publicly on Saturday morning from his late residence at 10 o'clock to St. Mary's church, with entombment in Woodland Mausoleum. The remains will rest at his late residence after Thursday morning.

Kitchener Daily Record 9 Jun 1937 pg 17 
Oscar Soeder Eby
 
9366 MARTIN, Perseda (Mrs. Amos B. E.) On Wednesday, October 28, 2009 at the home of James Martin, R. R. 4, Listowel. Perseda (Eby) Martin age 82 years of R. R. 1, St. Clements. Beloved wife of the late Amos B. E. Martin (January 18, 2009). Mother of Abner and Mary Martin of R. R. 1, St. Clements, Hannah and James Martin of R. R. 4, Listowel. Also survived by nine grandchildren and nine greatgrandchildren. Sister of Elvina (Mrs. Leander R. Martin) of R. R. 2, Elmira. Also survived by sister-in-law Melinda (Schallhorn) Eby and brother-in-law Urias Frey. Predeceased by her parents Samuel and Lena Eby, two brothers and three sisters. Friends may call at the home of Abner E. Martin, R. R. 1, St. Clements, today, Thursday, 5-8 p.m. and Friday 10 a.m. - 12 noon and 1-6 p.m. where funeral service will be held on Saturday morning, October 31st, at 9 a.m. then to the Linwood Mennonite Meeting House for further service and burial in the adjoining cemetery. Arrangements entrusted to the Dreisinger Funeral Home, Elmira.1a

1aWaterloo Region Record 29 Oct 2009 
Persida W. Eby
 
9367 Peter Eby, "eldest son of Theodorus Eby, was married to Annie Mylin and had a family of three sons"1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Peter Eby
 
9368 Peter Eby, "the second son of George and Barbara (Wenger) Eby, was born June 3rd, 1800. On March 15th, 1824, he was married to Magdalena Erb who was born September 22nd, 1807. They resided in Woolwich Township, Waterloo County, Ontario, where they followed farming. In their old age they lived in St. Jacobs, Ontario, where he died February 23rd, 1888. They had a family of thirteen children,.."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby

______________


EBY
.-On the 24th of March, in St. Jacobs, Waterloo county, Ontario, of old age, Peter Eby, aged 83 years. He was a member of the Mennonite church and was buried at Martin's Meeting-house on the 26 th., in the presence of many relatives and friends.2a

2aHerald of Truth - Volume XXI, Number 8 - APRIL 15, 1884, page 125,126 
Peter Eby
 
9369 Peter Eby, "the youngest son of Bishop Benjamin Eby, was born on the old homestead in the town of Berlin, February 28th, 1828. In his younger days he was engaged as a teacher in our public schools. He afterwards became interested in the printing business and was for a number of years proprietor and publisher of the Berlin Telegraph and Der Deutsche Canadier; he was also Crown agent. In 1856 he moved to the state of New York, and finally located in Buffalo where he carried on the printing business with great success for 30 years. On September 30th, 1847, he was married to Susan Sparrow who was born April 28th, 1826, and died November 17th, 1888. He died August 15th, 1894. To them was born a family of three children"1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Peter Eby
 
9370 Peter E. Eby, "was born May 26th, 1836. He is married to Catharine Frey and resides at Port Elgin, Ontario, where he is engaged as a carpenter. They have a family of eight children"1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Peter E. Eby
 
9371 Peter Henry Eby, "born November 22nd, 1873."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Peter Henry Eby
 
9372 Peter M. Eby. "was born June 26th, 1857. He is married to Susannah Brubacher. They reside about a mile west of Waterloo where he is engaged in farming. Their family consists of four children, namely: Elsie, Benjamin (dead), Soleda, and Vernon."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Peter M. Eby
 
9373 Phoebe Eby, "was born July 20th, 1849. She is married to Henry Lachman, a cooper. They reside in Bridgeport, Ontario, and have a family as follows: Lucy Etta, married to Henry Schmidt, merchant, and resides in Bridgeport, Charles Edward, Mary Ann, Albert L. (dead), Isaac Oscar, Leah Elizabeth, William Henry, Abram Odo, Milton (dead), Charlotte Ina, and Phoebe Elenor."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Phoebe Eby
 
9374 Phoebe Ann Eby, "born July 22nd, 1879."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Phoebe Ann Eby
 
9375 Rachel Eby, "was born July 29th, 1880. She is at home with her parents."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Rachel Eby
 
9376 Eby, Ralph, was born in St. Joseph Co., Ind., Aug. 29, 1889; died at Fountainview Place Nursing Home, Elkhart, Ind., Jan. 10, 1975; aged 85 y. In 1910, he was married to Ruth Palmer, who preceded him in death in Jan. 1958. In June 1959, he was married to Florence Hartranft, who died on Dec. 4, 1974. Surviving are 2 sons (Floyd and Carl), 2 stepdaughters (Helen - Mrs. Galen Cripe, and Mary Jane - Mrs. Forrest Yoder), one stepson (Jack Hartranft), 5 grandchildren, 13 great-grandchildren, 7 stepgrandchildren, and 3 stepgreat-grandchildren. He was a member of Olive Mennonite Church. Funeral services were held at Leinharts Funeral Home on Jan. 14, in charge of Ivan Weaver and Kent Borgaard; interment in Olive Cemetery1a

1aGospel Herald - Vol. 68, No. 8-- February 25, 1975 - p. 154 
Ralph Eby
 
9377 Rebecca Eby, "the eldest daughter of John Eby, was born April 14th, 1781, and was married to Samuel Bricker who was born July 25th, 1776, and died November 15th, 1868. In 1802 they moved from Pennsylvania to near Freeport, Ontario, Canada, where they settled on the farm now in possession of Mr. Souder. Here she died November 4th, 1861, leaving a family of eight children."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Rebecca Eby
 
9378 Rebecca Eby, "was born December 29th, 1854. She was married to George Hemmer and resided in Mildmay, Ontario, where she died July 28th, 1884, leaving two children."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Rebecca Eby
 
9379 Rebecca Eby, "was born May 17th, 1872. She is married to Noah Good, a carpenter. They reside at Floradale, Ontario."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby

___________________

Good. --- Rebecca, daughter of Elias and Susannah (Shantz) Eby, was born near Floradale, Ont., May 17, 1872; passed away Dec. 17, 1949, a patient in the Watrous Union Hospital; aged 77 y. 7 m. Death was caused by a broken leg which she suffered in a fall eleven days previously. On March 17, 1895, she was married to Noah M. Good, Floradale, Ont., who survives. To this union were born 6 children (Vera-Mrs. Irvin Gingerich, Alvin , Ivan, Laura, Myrl-Mrs. Alfred Bowman, and Violet-Mrs. Lincoln Shantz). One son (Ivan) died in infancy; the other children reside near Guernsey, Sask. Surviving besides her husband and 5 children are 11 grandchildren, one sister (Mrs. Rachel Morrison, Calgary, Alta.), and one brother (Jacob Eby, British Columbia). In 1906 the family moved from Floradale to Didsbury, Alta., where they lived fourteen years before moving to Guernsey, Sask. She was a faithful member of the Sharon Mennonite Church, Guernsey, having been baptized at the age of thirty-three in Ontario. Funeral services were conducted by Stanley D. Shantz. Text: Matt 13: 44.2a

2aGospel Herald - Volume XLIII, Number 5 - January 31, 1950-page 118, 119.
 
Rebecca Eby
 
9380 Rebekah Eby, "the eldest daughter of Samuel Eby, was born June 9th, 1817, and was married to Gottfried Stricker, and at her death, in 1852, left four children."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Rebekah Eby
 
9381 Reuben Eby, "was born February 13th, 1860. He is married to Mary Ann Brubacher. They reside near Elmira and have a family of four children"1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Reuben Eby
 
9382 Reuben E. Eby, "was born June 6th, 1862. He is married to Barbara Kesselring. They reside in Galt, Ontario, where he is engaged in lime burning."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Reuben E. Eby
 
9383 EBY, Robert - at Sunnyside Home, surrounded by family, on Monday, August 4, 2008. Beloved husband of Patricia Ann (nee McGarry) for 63 years. Loving father of Brian Patrick Eby (Laura), Kevin Ann Reinhart (David), Mary Pat Alarie (Ray), Shawn Patrice Eby and Roberta Jane Borrillo (Angelo). Grandfather to David (Meghan), Meaghan, Patrick, Matthew, Colleen, Amy, Ben (Khrista), Maggie, Rob, Lizzie (deceased), Peter, Louis and Tom. Great-grandfather to Charlotte. Robert was predeceased by his brothers, Gordon and Donald, and his sister, Mildred. Proud alumnus of Waterloo College (Laurier) and the University of Western Ontario, Robert, as the City Treasurer, dedicated 37 years of faithful service to the City of Kitchener before retiring in 1983. Robert served in the North Atlantic on corvette duty for the Royal Canadian Navy during the Second World War, attaining the rank of first lieutenant. Our Dad and Grampa also held the roles of Family Archivist, Poet Laureat, Songster and Story Teller. The backroads beckon - For brook trout await! "As you were, men." The family will receive relatives and friends today (Thursday) from 7-9 p.m. and on Friday from 10-10:45 a.m. at the Henry Walser Funeral Home , 507 Frederick St., Kitchener, 519-749-8467. A Catholic service will be celebrated by Father Mark Sullivan in the funeral home chapel at 11 a.m. A luncheon reception will follow. As an expression of sympathy, a donation to Community Living Guelph Wellington (Shawn's Group Home) would be appreciated. Cards will be available at the funeral home. Visit www.henrywalser.com for Robert's memorial.1a

1aThe Record 7 Aug 2008 
First Lieutenant Robert Vernon Eby
 
9384 Rose was studying medical science. Rose Eby
 
9385 Salina Eby, "was born October 21st, 1872. She is married to Allen Kraft. They reside on the old "Bingeman Place" near Bridgeport, Ontario, where he is engaged in farming. They have no family."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Salina Eby
 
9386 WIDEMAN, Salome (Mrs.Edwin) - Peacefully, on Sunday, Nov. 24, 2002, at the home of Daniel Martin, RR1 St. Jacobs, Salome (Eby) Wideman, in her 88th year, of RR1 Elora.
Beloved wife of the late Edwin Wideman (1986). Mother of Erla and HenryBauman of RR1 Elora, Reta Martin of RR1 Wallenstein, Carl and NancyWideman of RR1 Elora, Clare and Beatrice Wideman of Elmira, Verna and Daniel Martin of RR1 St. Jacobs, Leonard and Sharon Wideman of Elmira, Elmer Wideman and Margaret Sherk of RR1 Elora, Merle and Ellen Wideman of Fort St. John, B.C. and Margaret and Lester Eby of Fergus. Lovingly remembered by 37 grandchildren and 81 gr-grandchildren..... 
Salome Eby
 
9387 Samuel Eby, "(known as "Indian Sam") the second son of George Eby, was born February 20th, 1772, and died February 10th, 1840. He was married to Magdalena Erb who was born February 2nd, 1777, and died December 26th, 1864. In company with his brother, George, and a few others he left Pennsylvania in the spring of 1804 and moved to Canada. He took up north-west part of lot No. 1, German Company's Tract, in the township and county of Waterloo, Ontario. At that time there were but few white settlers in this beautiful county and the Indians were his next neighbors. He spent much of his time among the Indians and taught them many good things, in fact he was their law-giver, minister, interpreter and peace-maker. He had a family of one son"1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby

_____________


"Mennonite entrepreneur "Indian Sam" Eby, for instance, established a distillery in 1804 at a crossroads where he traded whisky in exchange for the Mississaugas' furs. Fellow settlers in 1808 then complained to the provincial legislature that Eby's actions had caused the Mississaugas "to get drunk and lie about and not follow their hunting, and [to leave] their young ones starving and begging for food." The Mississaugas eventually reacted by converting to Methodism and giving up the use of liquor. The Mississaugas also strove to become exemplary models of middle-class culture, leading one German immigrant to Waterloo in 1833 to remark that the Aboriginals he had met were "the most peaceable people, a large number of them Christians." 2a

2aUW Gazette, October 25, 1995

_______________

INDIAN SAM EBY

Samuel Eby of Lot No. 18 was called "Indian Sam" because he was the Indians' minister, interpreter and lawgiver, says Ezra Eby. In a vacant log house on his clearing the first school in the settlement was opened in 1808, with John Beatty as teacher. He taught only in the winter months and parents who sent their children to school paid him for his services. The rate is unknown, but in the early eighteen-forties Benjamin Burkholder, a Waterloo teacher, charged a child two dollars for three months' instruction, with two terms during a winter. In addition every pupil had to contribute a share of the firewood to heat the schoolroom.3a

3aA History of Kitchener, W. V. (Ben) Uttley, Kitchener, Ontario 1937 
Rev. Samuel Eby
 
9388 Samuel Eby, "the sixth son of Michael Eby, was born August 27th, 1785. In June, 1807, he came to Canada with Benjamin Eby, Daniel Eby, David Eby and others. On December 25th (Christmas), 1808, he was married to Elizabeth Brech who was born August 13th, 1789, and died November 28th, 1872. Soon after his marriage he was ordained deacon of the Mennonite Church, which position he held till the time of his death. Their farm was within the present corporation limits of the town of Berlin, Ontario, and their farm buildings were situated a little to the north of the Grand Trunk Railroad, right at the foot of the hill on the east side of the road leading from Berlin to Bridgeport. Their farm is now cut into small town lots. He died January 25th, 1844. They had a family of five children"1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Deacon Samuel Eby
 
9389 Samuel Eby, "was born August 19th, 1850. He is married to Mary Fenner and resides near Port Huron, Michigan. They have a family of eight children, of whom two are dead."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Samuel Eby
 
9390 Samuel Eby, who bought part of Lot 3, G. C. T., was a cousin of Benjamin Eby and Samuel Eby of Lot No. 18. He espoused Elizabeth Beech, and built a loghouse at the foot of the hill in Lancaster Street, where the Conger coal-office stands. First he cleared off the forest over to the House of Refuge. Later on he sold building lots to incoming villagers. He was a deacon in the Mennonite Church1a

1a
A History of Kitchener, W. V. (Ben) Uttley, Kitchener, Ontario 1937, pg 18 
Deacon Samuel Eby
 
9391 Samuel A. Eby, "born April 15th, 1887."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Samuel A. Eby
 
9392 Samuel Eby, "("Saddler Sam") the youngest son of John Eby, was born in Lancaster County, Pennsylvania, June 27th, 1790. He was one of the original settlers of Waterloo County, Ontario, Canada. In the year 1817 he, with other relatives and friends from his native state, settled in Berlin, Ontario. He soon afterwards made his home on a farm near Preston, Ontario, where he remained until 1844, when he returned to Berlin and worked at his trade of harness-making. In 1850 he moved to Colborne, Huron County, Ontario, where he occupied a farm until 1856, and then moved to Conestogo, Ontario, where his wife died in 1862. By this time he was getting up in years, and soon after went to live with his eldest son, Jonas, in Elora, Ontario, where he remained until 1865, then he made his home with his third son, John, at Wyandot, Ontario. Here he remained until the time of his death, which occurred August 8th, 1878. He attained to the mature age of 88 years. On July 27th, 1813, he was married to Elizabeth Brigel, in Lancaster County, Pennsylvania. They had a family of eight children"1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Samuel B. Eby
 
9393 Samuel C. Eby, "the youngest son of Jonas Eby, married Ella Watlington, at Detroit, Michigan, in the year 1878. They have three children: Ethelwyn, born in 1879; Garth, born in 1883; and Margery, born in 1886, living in Peoria, Illinois."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Samuel C. Eby
 
9394 Samuel E. Eby, "was born March 21st, 1865. He is married to Nancy Reinhard. They reside on his father's old homestead."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Samuel E. Eby
 
9395 Samuel F. Eby, "was born March 15th, 1846, and resides in Port Elgin, Ontario, where he is engaged in the grocery and provision business. He is married to Ursula Bensing and has a family of seven children".1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Samuel F. Eby
 
9396 Samuel P. Eby, "the eldest son of Moses and Barbara (Pannebecker) Eby, was born September 15th, 1827. On March 15th, 1855, he was married to Nancy Eby, sister of Rev. Solomon Eby and daughter of Martin Eby. She was born September 18th, 1838. They reside on a farm a few miles west of Berlin, Ontario, and have had a family of eleven children"1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Samuel P. Eby
 
9397 Samuel Eby, "("Potter Sam"), the fourth son of George and Barbara (Wenger) Eby, was born August 18th, 1805. He was the first white child that was born on lot No. 1, German Company's Tract. He married, March 10th, 1830, to Susannah Capplen who was born November 8th, 1811, and died June 18th, 1876. He died in New Hamburg October 17th, 1847. They had a family of seven children"1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Samuel W. Eby
 
9398 Sarah Eby, "the eldest daughter of Menno Eby, was born in Ontario. She was married, at Preston, Minnesota, to John Riehl, a well-to-do farmer. They have four children, namely: George, Allen, Emma, Willie, and Aaron, the fifth, died in infancy."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Sarah Eby
 
9399 Sarah Eby, "was born April 24th, 1834, and is married to Benjamin Reist who was born December 15th, 1830. At present they reside at Bangor, Michigan, where he follows the carpenter trade."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Sarah Eby
 
9400 Sarah Eby, "was born April 24th, 1847, and was married to David S. Moyer. They resided on a farm near Lebanon, Maryborough Township, Wellington County, Ontario, where she died March 1st, 1880. They had a family of seven children, of whom three died before their mother:"1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Sarah Eby
 
9401 Sarah Eby, "was born May 25th, 1852. She is married to George Reuber. They reside at Port Elgin, Ontario, and have a family of six children, two boys and four girls."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Sarah Eby
 
9402 Sarah Eby, "was born May 6th, 1863. She resides with her sister, Mary Elizabeth, at Langdon, North Dakota, U.S., and is unmarried."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Sarah Eby
 
9403 Sarah Eby, "second daughter of Jonas Eby, married William Stafford, of Elora, Ontario, in the year 1869. She died in 1878, leaving three sons who still live with their father in Elora, Ontario."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Sarah Fessant Eby
 
9404 Sarah G. Eby, "was born December 29, 1894."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Sarah G. Eby
 
9405 Saruch Eby, "born January 21st, 1849. When eighteen years of age he commenced to teach in our public schools. He was married to Mary Ann Hagey who was born August 2nd, 1845, and died June 15th, 1884. They had a family of six children, namely: Corena, Alvin, Addison, Milton, Arianna, and Wesley who died in 1883, a few weeks after his father. In 1881 or 1882, he, in company with his brother-in-law, Noah Haug, engaged in the woollen manufacturing business in Nottawa, Ontario. After being thus engaged for a little over a year, he took consumption and died March 21st, 1883."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Saruch Eby
 
9406 Seth Eby, "was born November 17th, 1846. He is married to Hannah Harrington."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Seth Eby
 
9407 Silas Eby, "was born January 31st, 1860. He resides in the town of Berlin where he is engaged in manufacturing buttons. He is married to Maria Bergey. They have a family of three children".1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Silas Eby
 
9408 Simeon E. Eby, "was born December 1st, 1869. He is married to Lydia Ann Shoemaker. They reside in Galt, Ontario."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Simeon E. Eby
 
9409 GAMEO article Rev. Solomon Eby
 
9410 Rev. Solomon Eby, "the eldest in the family, was born May 15th, 1834. When a young man he joined the Old Mennonite Church, of which body, some years thereafter, he was ordained minister. Some twenty years ago, on account of some difference of opinion between him and the authorities of the church, he was separated from that body, and afterwards became one of the instruments in the organization of what is at present known as the church of the Mennonite Brethren in Christ, usually called New Mennonites, of which body he was the first Presiding Elder. He was re-elected as Presiding Elder for quite a number of years in succession, but at present he is stationed on the Bethel, Ontario, field of labor where he is doing a grand work for the Lord. As a minister he has few superiors, speaks in both languages, and his sermons are full of life and spirit, refreshing to souls craving for spiritual manna. Many have been brought from darkness unto light through his labors. May he prove faithful unto the end, and when done here receive that crown of glory promised to all who do the Lord's will. He is married to Catharine Shantz and has had a family of twelve children, of whom six are dead. Their names are as follows: Lydia, Hannah (dead), Lovina (dead), Priscilla (dead), Jeremiah, Josiah, Magdalena (dead), Fannie (dead), Sarah Ann, Franklin (dead), Nellie, and Ida."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby

____________________

Eby, Solomon (1834-1931)

Solomon Eby (15 May 1834-1931) was one of the founders of the Mennonite Brethren in Christ Church (now Evangelical Missionary Church), the son of Benjamin and Elizabeth (Cressman) Eby. He was born May 15, 1834 in Waterloo Co., ON, was raised on the farm, and attended public school. On June 17, 1855 he married Catharine Shantz, and they had 12 children. He moved to Port Elgin, ON.

In 1858 he was ordained to the ministry in the Mennonite Church, and served in that capacity for 14 years. According to his testimony, he was not converted until eleven years after his ordination (1869, Port Elgin, ON). Following his conversion he became a zealous advocate for a definite religious experience. Eventually he was expelled from the Mennonite Church, and in 1874 he and Daniel Brenneman of Indiana organized the Reformed Mennonites, a group that later became a part of the Mennonite Brethren in Christ Church (now the Evangelical Missionary Church).

For various terms totaling 18 years Eby was presiding elder in the Ontario Conference, and for 14 years he served as pastor, holding pastorates at Breslau, Elmwood, New Dundee, Markham, and Kitchener circuits. He was a member of the first six general conferences, and was chairman of the first one (Zionsville, PA, 1885). Eby retired from active work in 1906. A few years later he became interested in the Pentecostal movement, and in 1912 he transferred his membership to that organization. He died in 1931.2a

2a
Storms, Everek R. "Eby, Solomon." Global Anabaptist Mennonite Encyclopedia Online. 1956. Global Anabaptist Mennonite Encyclopedia Online. Retrieved 13 Nov 2005

___________________________________

Wanner Mennonite Church
Begun: 1829

A small wooden meeting house was built in 1829 on a corner of the farm belonging to Samuel Bechtel which was located in the vicinity of the present-day regional headquarters of the Ministry of Natural Resources near the intersection of Highways 24 and 401. The site for this community meeting house, as well as a school and a burial ground, had been chosen on August 8, 1829. The land was donated by Samuel Bechtel and his wife Barbara (Baumann) on March 15, 1830. A new meeting house, of white brick, was built in 1837 on the east side of Henry Wanner's farm, somewhat north of the first meeting house. Meetings at first were held every eight weeks. The deed of land for the meeting house known as Wanner's was dated October 15, 1837. Early preachers were David Sherk, who had been ordained by Benjamin Eby in July 1837, Jacob Bretz, Jr., and Joseph Hagey.

Joseph Hagey was ordained bishop in 1851. During his time divisions occurred in the church by a surge of enthusiasm for a Methodist form of revivalism. Solomon Eby of Port Elgin, who announced his own conversion in December 1869, was leader of a group which believed that members could be converted through participation in revival meetings. John Baer of Wanner's became associated with Solomon Eby, and was compelled to leave the church in the spring of 1874, as were Eby and his other followers. The new church movement resulted in organization conferences which culminated in the conference on March 23, 1875 at Bloomingdale where New Mennonites and Reforming (or Reformed) Mennonites joined together as United Mennonites. The United Mennonites favored revival meetings, Sunday Schools and prayer meetings, and were opposed to the use of alcohol and tobacco.

The date of construction of the meeting house which replaced the one built in 1837 is somewhat in doubt. It is possible that a new building was erected in the early 1870s; it is also possible that the 1837 building only underwent extensive renovations at that time. There is no doubt, however, that a new brown brick church was built in 1938. An education wing was added in 1969.

The earliest Mennonite Sunday School in North America was begun in 1842 and was held jointly by the Wanner and Hagey Meeting Houses. It was discontinued after a short time because of a division of opinion within the congregations. An attempt was made later, in the mid-1860s, to begin another Sunday School, but this, too, did not last long. Many years later, on June 10, 1896, a meeting was held to organize a Sunday School. Anson Groh was appointed superintendent..3a

3aWaterloo County Churches A Research Guide To Churches Established Before 1900 By Rosemary Ambrose

__________________________________________

Bloomingdale (Schneider or Snyder) Mennonite Church

Services began in 1824, and in 1826 a first meeting house, known as Schneider's or Snyder's, was built northwest of Bloomingdale, and east of the Grand River, on land (part Lot 7) donated by Jacob Schneider. Henry Weber was the first minister to this congregation, from 1824 until 1854. He was followed by Moses Erb who was ordained minister to the congregation on April 14, 1854. The church building was primarily used as a school in the beginning; the first teacher was John Bauman from Pennsylvania. Church services were held in homes. Dorothy Sauder, in her 1972 history of the church, states that "Prior to 1860, Schneider's was the only [Mennonite] place of worship on the Grand River and, until the 1889 Martin schism, it was one with the Martin congregation with ministers serving both groups" (Sauder 1972:8). Services were held on a two-week schedule, at one meeting house and then at the other.

Snyder's was affected by division in the church in the early 1870s. The majority of the congregation joined the Reforming (or Reformed) Mennonites, a group organized by Solomon Eby on May 15, 1874, and from 1875-1879 the meeting house was used almost exclusively by them. It was here that the conference was held on March 23, 1875 in which the New Mennonites and the Reforming (or Reformed) Mennonites joined together as the United Mennonites. However, because the original deed to the church property had been lost or perhaps never duly executed, a new deed was drawn up on January 15, 1879, giving ownership of building and property to the group of more conservative Mennonites in the congregation.

The present church was built in 1878 on approximately the same site as the first meeting house. Renovations to the church building were carried out in 1951. One main entrance, to replace the two separate entrances, was part of the changes made. Further improvements were made in 1985. The name of the church is now Bloomingdale Mennonite Church.4a

4aWaterloo County Churches A Research Guide To Churches Established Before 1900 By Rosemary Ambrose

_______________________

Breslau Missionary Church

Meetings are reported to have been held in 1872 in a building at the corner of Woolwich Street and Mader Lane by a group who were followers of Solomon Eby. Conferences to consider reorganization of the church were held in 1874 and 1875, the most important of which was considered to have been the meeting at the Bloomingdale Mennonite Church on May 23, 1875. Members of the New Mennonites and the Reforming (or Reformed) Mennonites joined together at that meeting as the United Mennonites. At a meeting in Blair in 1879 a union, called the Evangelical United Mennonites, was formed from the United Mennonites and the Evangelical Mennonites. Four years later, in 1883, the Ohio Brethren in Christ (Tunker) joined with the Evangelical United Mennonites to form the Mennonite Brethren in Christ.

Dedication services were held on Christmas Day, 1882, for the new Breslau Mennonite Church which had been built during the year. Henry Goudie was minister to the congregation from 1881-1884. He was followed by Peter Geiger (1884-1885) and Frank Moyer (1885-1886). Solomon Eby, a member of the congregation who was minister from 1886-1889, had been one of the organizers on May 15, 1874 of the Reforming Mennonites.

On May 6, 1959 a decision was made to construct an 1800 square foot addition to the church. The sanctuary was enlarged and new pews were installed in 1978; dedication was in September of that year. Rev. Leonard DeWitt, president of the Missionary Church was guest speaker on Sunday, November 21, 1982, when the church's 100th Anniversary service was held. Of interest: the sign eteched in the glass above the doors on the northwest side of the back section reads "United Missionary Church."5a

5aWaterloo County Churches A Research Guide To Churches Established Before 1900 By Rosemary Ambrose


 
Rev. Solomon Eby
 
9411 The majority of the congregation joined the Reforming (or Reformed) Mennonites, a group organized by Solomon Eby on May 15, 1874, and from 1875-1879 the meeting house was used almost exclusively by them. It was here that the conference was held on March 23, 1875 in which the New Mennonites and the Reforming (or Reformed) Mennonites joined together as the United Mennonites. However, because the original deed to the church property had been lost or perhaps never duly executed, a new deed was drawn up on January 15, 1879, giving ownership of building and property to the group of more conservative Mennonites in the congregation.. 1a

1aAmbrose, Rosemary. Waterloo County Churches A Research Guide to Churches Established Before 1900. Kitchener, Ontario, Canada: Waterloo-Wellington Branch, Ontario Genealogical Society, 1993. [used the kind permission of Rosemary Ambrose 2011] 
Rev. Solomon Eby
 
9412 Solomon E. Eby, "was born March 22nd, 1858. He was first married to Sarah Jane Trussler, and after her decease he was married to Jennet Puttock. They reside several miles west of Berlin."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Solomon E. Eby
 
9413 Solomon H. Eby, "was born April 20th, 1857. He is married to Laura Vogt. They reside in St. Thomas, Ontario. He is a piano tuner by profession. Their family consists of one son named Oscar C."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Solomon Henry Eby
 
9414 Solomon M. Eby, "was born April 7th, 1864. He is married to Christina Eby. They reside in St. Jacobs, Ontario, where he is engaged in manufacturing patent heating drums. His family consists of three children, namely: Edna, Lloyd, and Arma."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Solomon M. Eby
 
9415 Sophia Eby, "was born June 10th, 1840, and died April 11th, 1868. She was not married."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Sophia Eby
 
9416 EBY

Stewart \emdash Of 248 Erb St., Cambridge, Monday, May 6. 1985, at Cambridge Memorial Hospital, in his 70th year. Beloved husband of Lenore Navin; dear father of James of Meaford, Jane (Mrs. Steve Kerper) of Toronto. Also survived by two grandchildren, Michael and Paula Eby; one brother, Neil of Cambridge; two sisters, Norma (Mrs. Lorne Murphy) of California and Mrs. Joyce Hinschberger of Waterloo. Mr. Eby was a lifelong resident of Cambridge (Preston); retired from Savage Shoes Limited; a member of St. Clement's Church; veteran of the Second World War, serving with the Canadian Army; member of the Preston Canadian Legion, Branch 126. Funeral mass for Mr. Eby will be celebrated at St. Clement's Church, Cambridge, Wednesday, May 8 at 11 a.m.Interment in Parklawn cemetery.

Kitchener-Waterloo Record 7 May 1985 pg D15 
Stewart Eby
 
9417 EBY, Stewart

Of 248 Erb St., Cambridge, Monday, May 6, 1985, at Cambridge Memorial Hospital, in his 70th year. Beloved husband of Lenore Navin; dear father of James of Meaford, Jane (Mrs. Steve Kerper) of Toronto. Also survived by two grandchildren, Michael and Paula Eby; one brother, Neil of Cambridge; two sisters, Norma (Mrs. Lorne Murphy) of California and Mrs. Joyce Hinschberger of Waterloo. Mr. Eby was a lifelong resident of Cambridge (Preston); retired from Savage Shoes Limited; a member of St. Clement's Church; veteran of the Second World War, serving with the Canadian Army; member of the Preston Canadian Legion, Branch 126. Funeral mass for Mr. Eby will be celebrated at St. Clement's Church, Cambridge, Wednesday, May 8, at 11 a.m. Interment in Parklawn cemetery.

Kitchener-Waterloo Record 7 May 1985 pg D15 
Stewart Eby
 
9418 1871 - Susanna Eby is staying with Elias Snyder. Susanna Eby
 
9419 Brubacher, Susanna B., daughter of Cyrus and Elizabeth (Brubacher) Eby, was born in Waterloo, Ont., Sept. 10, 1895; died at Northern Michigan Hospitals, Inc., Petoskey, Mich., Feb. 10, 1978; aged 82 y. On May 31, 1917, she was married to Harvey Brubacher, who died in July l966. Surviving are 3 sons (Emmanuel, Jesse, and Harvey), 6 daughters (Alma, Leona Martin, Magdalena - Mrs. Isaac Salah, Grace - Mrs. Elmer Eberly, Mary, and Martha), 18 grandchildren, 17 great-grandchildren, 2 brothers (Israel and William Eby), 2 sisters (Amanda - Mrs. Manassah Kulp and Lydia Ann - Mrs. Clayton Kilmer), and one stepbrother (Mahlon Martin). She was preceded in death by one brother (Jeremiah) and one daughter (Elizabeth). She was a member of the Maple River Mennonite Church. Funeral services were held at the Stone Funeral Home in charge of Bruce W. Lyndaker and Homer E. Yutzy; interment in the Mennonite Cemetery, Brutus, Mich.1a

1aGospel Herald - Volume 71, Number 11 - March 14, 1978 - page 226 
Susannah Eby
 
9420 Susannah Eby, "the third member and eldest daughter of the family of Benjamin Eby, was born February 8th, 1812, and died September 23rd, 1819."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Susannah Eby
 
9421 Susannah Eby, "was born December 17th, 1861. She is unmarried and has her home with her uncle, Jonas Bingeman."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Susannah Eby
 
9422 Susannah Eby, "was born February 10th, 1856. She is married to Reuben Snider, a farmer. They reside near Floradale, Ontario. To them are born nine children"1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Susannah Eby
 
9423 Susannah Eby, "was born February 16th, 1861. She is married to Ephraim Snyder."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Susannah Eby
 
9424 Susannah Eby, "was born November 15th, 1823. On December 15th, 1846, she was married to Samuel Snider who was born November 8th, 1824, and died May 22nd, 1862. To them were born four children"1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Susannah Eby
 
9425 Susannah Eby, "was born November 29th, 1868. She is married to Menno B. Hoffman."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Susannah Eby
 
9426 Susannah Eby, "was born September 22nd, 1858. She is unmarried and resides with her father."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Susannah Eby
 
9427 Susannah G. Eby, "was born July 4, 1892."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Susannah G. Eby
 
9428 Theodore Eby, "was born January 1st, 1846, and died January 30th, 1873. He was married to Susannah Reist but left no heirs. They resided on his father's homestead where he died."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby

______________


January 30th, in Waterloo county, Ont. of Consumption, THEODORE EBY, aged 27 years, and 30 days. Discourse by C. Halm in English and J. Woolner and Joseph Hege in German2a

2aHerald of Truth - Volume X, Number 3 - March 1873 - Pages 61-63 
Theodore Eby
 
9429 Theodorus Eby, "our ancestor, was the son of Jacob Eby (From Rev. Benjamin Eby's records) who was ordained bishop of the Mennonites in Switzerland in 1683. He was born in Canton, Zurich, Switzerland, April 25th, 1663. He being a strict Mennonite in faith, left Switzerland about the year 1704 on account of the religious persecutions. From 1704 till 1715 he resided in the Palatinate, Germany. Finding persecutions equally severe as in the country previously left, he in company with his family and other co-religionists, left for Philadelphia in spring of 1715. Some time in August of the same year he settled on what is now called Mill Creek, at a place now known as Roland's Mill, situated south of New Holland and near the line of Earl and Leacock Townships, Lancaster County, Pennsylvania (From S. P. Eby's notes). Here he resided until his death and enjoyed the privileges and freedom of religion for which he had to suffer persecutions and trials in Europe. He died in September, 1737. His end was peace. The old progenitor had a family of six children, five sons and a daughter. Their names were...The sons were skilled in the various mechanical arts so that with their assistance the old ancestor built a mill and erected such other buildings as were required, without employing persons outside of his family save for the burning of charcoal to supply the smith forge which process they themselves did not sufficiently understand."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Theodorus Eby
 
9430 Tillie Eby, "fifth daughter of Menno Eby, lives with her parents on the old homestead."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Tillie Eby
 
9431 Urias Eby, "was born December 23rd, 1857. He resided at Palmerston, Ontario, for some years where he engaged in the mercantile business. At present he is at Shoal Lake, Manitoba. He is unmarried."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Urias Eby
 
9432 Urias EBY, W. - Peacefully went home to be with the Lord, on Monday, Dec. 16, 2002, at Chateau Gardens, Elmira. Urias W. Eby, in his 87th year, of Elmira. Beloved husband of Melinda (Schallhorn) Eby for 61 years. Loving father of Lloyd and Julie Eby of Elmira, Naomi and Ken Freiburger of Elmira, Martha and Doug Porteous of Waterloo, Lester and Margaret Eby of Fergus, Marie and Earl Martin of Elmira, Sharon and Bruce Norris of Virginia. Urias Eby
 
9433 Hurst, Vera Marion (Eby), 89, Cambridge, Ont. Born: Aug. 16, 1903, to Benjamin and Esther (Brubacher) Eby. Died: Aug. 29, 1992. Survivors - daughters: Miriam Harnden, Lois Krause; 6 grandchildren, 5 great-grandchilcren. Predeceased by: Isaac Hurst (husband). Funeral and burial: Aug. 31, Bloomingdale Mennonite Church, by Bertha Landers and Orland Gingrich.1a

1aGospel Herald -- Volume 85, Number 39 - October 6, 1992 - page 14 
Vera Marion Eby
 
9434 Lived with brother Henry B. Eby., Veronica Eby
 
9435 Veronica Eby, "the second daughter of Samuel Eby and his wife, Elizabeth Brech, was born May 31st, 1816. In 1873 she was married to Abraham Brubacher, of the township of Woolwich, county of Waterloo, Ontario. He died some years ago. In March, 1889, she, in company with others, moved to Ocheydan, Iowa, where she died February 19th, 1894."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Veronica Eby
 
9436 Veronica Eby, "the youngest daughter of George Eby, was born March 8th. 1817, and died December 19th, 1876. She was married to Jacob Hoffman who was born in Lancaster County, Pennsylvania, September 18th, 1809, and died in Berlin, Ontario, November 15th, 1864.1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby

_____________________


In Veronica's daughter's marriage (Maria) it states that Veronica's name was Fredericka. 
Veronica Eby
 
9437 Veronica Eby, "was born January 13th, 1862. She is unmarried and resides with her mother."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Veronica Eby
 
9438 Veronica Eby, "was born March 25th, 1842. She is married to Peter Fordney and resides in Petoskey, Michigan. They have a family of seven children whose names are as follows: Abner, Moses, Hannah, Edward, Lydia Ann, Angeline, and Matilda."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Veronica Eby
 
9439 Veronica Eby, "was born November 25th, 1854. She is married to John Schwalm. They reside near Nithburg, North Easthope Township, Perth County, Ontario, and have a family of eight children, two of whom are dead. One boy and five girls are still living."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Veronica Eby
 
9440 Veronica Eby, "was born September 26th, 1821. On February 13th, 1849, she was married to Daniel Cressman who was first married to her deceased sister, Annie. They resided about a mile east of New Hamburg where she died June 15th, 1878. To them was born one son named Noah."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Veronica Eby
 
9441 Veronica Eby, "was born September 19th, 1843, and died at Winnipeg, Manitoba, in November, 1885. She was married to Aaron E. Shantz who still resides in Winnipeg. She had a family of eight children, of whom five are dead."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Veronica "Fannie" Eby
 
9442 Eby, -- Walter, son of the late Jacob and Elizabeth (Wenger) Eby, was born in St. Joseph Co., Ind., June 26, 1880; died of apoplexy on Feb. 23, 1955, after an illness of one week; aged 74 y. 8 m. 28 d. He was twice married, first to Emma J. Pletcher on Oct. 19, 1901, who died on Feb. 27, 1920; and second to Ellen Drake on Nov. 17, 1921. Four children were born to each union (Edna M., --the late Mrs. Warren Risser; Grace J.,--Mrs. Lowell Holmes of Mishawaka, Ind.; Earl L., Glenn W., and Gladys B-.-Mrs. Howard Miller, all of near Elkhart, Ind.; Arlene F., deceased; and Loren J., at home.). He is survived by his wife, 3 sons, 2 daughters, 25 grandchildren, 12 great-grandchildren, 4 brothers, and one sister (Mrs. Mary Eby, Elkhart; Jacob, Osceola, Ind.; Mervin and Ira, of Elkhart; and Ralph, Wakarusa, Ind.). Two sisters and 3 daughters preceded him in death. About the year 1927 he accepted Christ as his personal Saviour and was received into the fellowship of the Olive Mennonite Church where he was a faithful member until death. It was a time of weary waiting for him until his youngest son could complete his two years of I-W service and return home to farm the home place. After Loren was released, he took ill and passed away after only a week's sickness. Funeral services were conducted at the Olive Church by J. C. Wenger, Elno Steiner, and C. A. Shank, with burial in the South Olive Cemetery.1a

1aGospel Herald - Volume XLVIII , Number 11 - March 15, 1955 -- page 262. 
Walter Eby
 
9443 Wellington Eby, "born Sept. 29th. 1866."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Wellington Eby
 
9444 The death occurred this morning of Wilfrid Eby, infant son of Mr. and Mrs. Vernon Eby, at the age of one year. He is survived by his parents, three brothers and one sister. The funeral will take place Tuesday afternoon, Nov.. 22nd from the residence, 107 Brubacher Street, at 2.30 o'clock. Interment to be made in East End Mennonite cemetery.1a

1aThe Daily Telegraph, Kitchener, Ontario 21 Nov 1921 
Wilfrid Louis Eby
 
9445 William Eby, "the eldest son of Menno Eby, was born in Colborne, Ontario, and died in Preston, Minnesota, when about sixteen years of age."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
William Eby
 
9446 William Eby, "was born July 23rd, 1842. He was married to Sarah Stafford, at Elora, Ontario, August 19th, 1864. Their home is now in Detroit, Michigan. They have six children, namely: William Herbert, born in 1865; Francis Burton, born in 1869; Edwin Fessant, born in 1872; Brock Carroll, born in 1874; Etta May, born in 1876; and Charles Stafford, born in 1883."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
William Eby
 
9447 William Charles Eby, "was born April 18th, 1866, and is at present in the state of Washington, U.S., where he follows farming. He is unmarried."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
William Charles Eby
 
9448 William D. Eby, "was born March 26th, 1877. He works in his father's pottery."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
William D. Eby
 
9449 Franklin Eby, "born August 10th, 1880."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
William Frankliin Eby
 
9450 William Eby, "was born November 25th, 1862. He is married to Susannah Göler and resides in the village of Bridgeport, Ontario, where he is engaged as a cooper. They have a family of five children, " Edward, Henry, William, Anna, and Emma."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby

_____________________


Eby

Died at his home in Preston on Wesnesday, July 8, 1936, William H. Eby, beloved husband of Susan Gaeler, in his 74 year. The funeral will be held from his residence, 222 Guelph street, on Saturday, July 11, at 2:30 p.m. Interment will take place in Preston Cemetery.

Kitchener Daily Record 9 Jul 1936 pg 13 
William H. Eby
 
9451 William H. Eby, "born December 9th, 1875."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
William Henry Eby
 
9452 William K. Eby, "the eldest son, was born July 11th, 1831. He is married to Susannah Detweiler who was born August 8th, 1832, and resides in the village of Conestogo, Ontario, where he carries on the potter trade. They have a family of nine children"1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby

___________________

Probably the best-known Mennonite potter of the region was William K. Eby. Eby, whose father Potter Sam taught the trade to him and his brother Cyrus, bought 10 acres of land with an existing pottery on it a half-mile south of Conestoga where he established the region's longest-running pottery business, Conestogo Pottery.2a

2aYour Waterloo Heritage 2010 
William K. Eby
 
9453 William M. Eby, "was born August 14th, 1854, and died March 10th, 1882. He was not married."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
William M. Eby
 
9454 Winnifred had children, Henry Eby Skelton, Eleanor Mary Skelton, Winnifred Mora Skelton. Winnifred M. Eby
 
9455 1851 - Daniel Ecclin is in same household as James Anderson. Daniel Ecclin
 
9456 1871 - Margaret Compass waa staying with Francis A. Compass. Margaret Eckersviller
 
9457 Mrs. John Cavers, wife of the manager of the imperial Bank at Galt, died on Friday last, in Hamilton, at the residence of her father, Mr. Wallace. Deceased went on a visit to her father's some weeks ago, and contracted the illness which terminated fatally.1a

1aHuron Expositor - 7 May 1886 
Teresa Eckersviller
 
9458 The death occurred in Bamberg on Wednesday afternoon of this week, of Laura, adopted daughter Mr. Wm. Arnold. She was about eleven years of age and had been sick a week with pyueinia [?]. [blood poisoning]1a

1aWellesley Maple Leaf, January 11, 1906

Obituary is supplied by the Wellesley Township Heritage and Historical Society Click here to go to their website 
Laura Eckert
 
9459 1871 - Joseph Eckertsviller is staying with Ignatz Freiburger. Joseph Eckertsviller
 
9460 MRS. WILLIS SLOAT

PRESTON. March 31— The funeral service for Mrs. Willis Sloat of Limerick, whose death occurred suddenly at her home on Thursday afternoon, took place this afternoon at 2:30 from the Stager-Pass Funeral Home. Interment was in Preston Cemetery. Mrs. Willis nee Elsa Echard, had been in ill health for some time. Born in Ohio, and a resident of Preston district for the past 14 years, she was a member of St. John's Anglican Church and the Preston Women's Institute. She is survived by her husband and relaties residing in the U.S. Her parents are no longer living.

Kitchener Daily Record 31 Mar 1945 pg 15 
Elsa Louise Eckhardt
 
9461 Johanna's death certificate states father was Gottlieb Eleazer and ______ Baumann Johanna Eckinger
 
9462 Conrad lived with Christian Seitz. Conrad Eckstein
 
9463 GOETTLING, Helen

Passed away, peacefully, on June 23, 2005, in her 81st year, at her home in Kitchener. Beloved wife of Sangster of 57 years. Dear mother of Ron Goettling (Wendy Elrick) of New Hamburg, Rob Goettling (Elizabeth) of Kitchener, Karen Reinhart (Joe) of Kitchener. Helen will be sadly missed by her grandchildren. Survived by her sisters Ruby Hamacher of Kitchener, Arlene Arnet of Victoria B.C.; also survived by aunt Irene Sims and her brother Lorne Eckstein (Lois) of Waterloo and her sister-in-law Gertrude Schaefer of Ayr. Predeceased by her parents, Walter and Martha Eckstein; brothers-in-law, Richard Hamacher, Clarence Schaefer and sister-in-law, Violet Fried. Special mom to Sheila, Kim, and Darren (Rose) Longpre. Visitation to take place today (Monday) at 10 a.m. at the Wilmot Centre Missionary Church, 2463 Bleams Rd., Petersburg, followed by a Funeral Service, at 11 a.m.

The Record 27 Jun 2005 pg B7 
Helen Marie Eckstein
 
9464 Died In Toronto, on Sunday, September 18th, 1927 Marie Eckstein Relict of the late Frederick Miller, In her 76th year. The Funeral Will be held from St. Peter's Lutheran Church, Preston, on Wednesday, September 21st, at 2.30 p.m., where services will be held. Interment in Preston Cemetery. Friends and acquaintances will please accept this intimation.1a

1aWaterloo Historical Society Death Notices Collection - photocopies

 
Mary Catherine Eckstein
 
9465 Valentin Eckstein

After a lengthy illness, Valentin Eckstein, 89 of 19 Strange St, died Thursday at K-W Hospital. Born April 14th, 1872 in Bamberg. Mr. Eckstein was a son of the late Mr. and Mrs. Henry Eckstein. He moved to Kitchener 60 years ago. He was a member of St Peter's Lutheran Church. Mr. Eckstein was predeceased by his wife the former Catherine E. Gaiser, whom he married in Hanover in 1899. She predeceased him Sept 24th. 1954. Surviving are two sons, Reuben of Kitchener, Irvin of Niagara Falls, four grandchildren and five great-grandchildren. He was the last surviving member of the Henry Eckstein family. The body is at the Ratz-Bechtel Funeral Home where funeral service will be conducted Saturday at 3:30 p.m. Burial will be in St Peter's Cemetery.1a

1aKitchener-Waterloo Record 28 Apr 1961 pg 5 
Valentine Eckstein
 
9466 ECKSTEIN, Walter Edward

On Tuesday, Jan. 2, 1990, at St. Mary's Hospital, Kitchener, Walter Eckstein, in his 93rd year. Mr. Eckstein farmed in Wilmot township for many years and later worked at Uniroyal in Kitchener. Loving father of Lorne and his wife Lois of Waterloo, Helen and her husband Sengster Goettling of Kitchener, Ruby and her husband Richard Hamacher of Kitchener and Arlene Arnet of Victoria, B.C.; beloved brother of Elmer and his wife Florence of Waterloo. Survived by 10 grandchildren and 13 great-grandchildren. Lovingly remembered by good friend, Lydia Gondosch. Predeceased by his wife, Martha (nee Paepcke); his parents, two brothers and three sisters. Friends may call at the Ratz-Bechtel Funeral Home, 821 King St. W., Kitchener, on Friday, from 2-4 and 7-9 p.m. Complete funeral service will be held on Saturday, at 1 p.m., in the Ratz-Bechtel Chapel. Interment Woodland cemetery.

Kitchener-Waterloo Record 4 Jan 1990 pg A9 
Walter Edward Eckstein
 
9467 Mrs. Jack Deeton

The death occurred at St. Mary's General Hospital, Kitchener, on Thursday, December 3rd, 1992 of Nettie Evelyn Deeton of Bright and formerly of Ayr. She was in her 76th year. Born in Wolseley, Saskatchewan, she was the daughter of the late Alexander Eddington and Jane Brown. Mrs. Deeton moved from Wolseley to Ayr in 1937 where she married her husband, the late Jack Deeton, in 1939. She has been a longtime member of Knox United Church. She is survived by her son, Cameron and his wife, Vicki of Cochrane, Alberta; her daugher, Marilyn and her husband, David Drewett of England; by her grandchildren, Owen Deeton and his wife, Lori, Marni Deeton and Julie, Nadine, Jason and Greg Drewett; great-grandchildren, Darci Deeton and Ryan Drewett; sisters, Lavina Wilson of St. John, New Brunswick, and Leona Peagam of Belcarris, Saskatchewan. She will be missed by her dear friend, Alec Linton of Bright. In addition to her parents and her husband, Mrs. Deeton was predeceased by her brother, George Eddington of Galt and her sister, Mary Bloomfield of Wolseley, Saskatchewan. Funeral service was held at the Ayr Chapel of Wm. Kipp Funeral Home on Tuesday, December 8, 1992 at 1:30 p.m. Reverend Douglas Willis of Selkirk officiated. Interment was in Ayr Cemetery. Honourary pallbearers were Peter McDonald, Irvin Seyler, John Campbell, Don Thomas, James W. Baker and Roy Baker.

The Ayr News 9 Dec 1992 pg 17 
Nettie Evelyn Eddington
 
9468 EDDY, Allan Clarke

Passed away peacefully, at his home on Friday, September 11, 2015, at the age of 80 years. Beloved husband of Ruth, who predeceased him in May 2010. Loving father of Susan Vallinga (Travis), Darrel (Bobbi-Jo), David (Eleanore), Leeta Davidson (Kenneth), Glenn (Linda) and Matthew. Cherished grandfather of nineteen grandchildren and four great-grandchildren. Allan will be missed by his siblings, Margaret Schenk, Florence Violot, and Paul Eddy. He is predeceased by his parents, Orloff and Myrtle. Resting at Grace Bible Church, 334 Preston Parkway, Cambridge, on Tuesday, September 15, 2015, from 7-9 p.m. Visitation will continue on Wednesday, September 16, 2015, at Calvary Baptist Church, 7975 Hurontario St., Brampton, from 10 a.m. to 12 p.m. Funeral Service will follow at 12 p.m. at Calvary Baptist Church, with reception to follow. Interment at Parklawn Cemetery, Cambridge, Ontario.

Waterloo Region Record 14 Sep 2015 
Allan Clakre Eddy
 
9469 1871 - Sarah Eddy in same household as Eliza Dennis. Sarah S. Eddy
 
9470 Em THOMAS EDE, M.D., died in Galt on May 30th. He was born in Essex County, Ontario, graduated in medicine from Toronto University, and then continued his studies at Edinburgh and London, where he obtained the degrees of L.R.C.P. and F.R.C.S. Subsequently he qualified for service in the British Royal Navy. In 1886 he retired from the Navy and returned to Canada, taking up private practice in vanous parts of the country. He took a very active part in war work, especially in recruiting, his energies being directed chiefly to assisting the Navy League organization. He was a prominent public speaker and his addresses during the past winter will always be remembered as fine examples of the art of oratory. He leaves a widow but no family.1a

1aCanadian Medical Journal 1919 July; 9(7): 652\endash 654. 
Dr. Eli Thomas Ede
 
9471 In 1886 he retired from the Navy and returned to Canada, taking up private practice in vanous parts of the country Dr. Eli Thomas Ede
 
9472 Died. At Kennaquhair, Waterloo Township, on the 13th June, Hannah Eden, beloved wife of James Phin, aged 82 years and 5 months. The funeral will take place on Sunday, June 15th, at half past two o'clock, to the Hespeler Cemetery. June 13, 1884.1a

1aCity of Cambridge Archives Funeral Card Collection 
Hannah Adelphia Eden
 
9473 John R. Eden, Mayor, 1899- 1900 and 1902-3.

Mr. John R. Eden was mayor of Berlin in the years 1899, 1900 and 1902-3. Previous to that, in 1897-8, he sat on the council as reeve and represented the town in the county council. Also in 1903-4 he represented the town in the county council for a term of two years.
During his term of office, the C. P. R. connection was secured and during his first term as mayor the waterworks was put in the hands of a commission. The lighting plant was also purchased during his term of office. In 1.903 he had the hon-or of entertaining Lord Minto, then Governor-General of Canada.1a

1aOfficial souvenir of the celebration of cityhood, July 17th 1912, Berlin, Ontario, The German Printing and Publishing Co  
Mayor John R. Eden
 
9474 Years Served: 1894 (Deputy Reeve), 1895 (Reeve), 1899-1900 (Mayor), 1902-03 (Mayor), 1920 (Mayor) Mayor John R. Eden
 
9475 Edenborough, Harry, "Diggy" - Peacefully, on Thursday, Jan. 20, 2005, at St. Mary's Hospital, Kitchener, Harry Edenborough, in his 92nd year, of Elmira. Beloved husband of Margaret (Williams) Edenborough for 63 years. Devoted father of Doug and Joan of West Montrose and Bob of Waterloo and father-in-law of Misuzu Yoshino of Japan. Also lovingly remembered by his grandchildren, Matthew (Robin), Joey and David, Penny and Jeff Maillette and Ryan Edenborough and Lisa of Japan and his great-grandchildren, Cameron, Madeline and Joey Maillette. Also survived by his nieces and nephews and their families. Predeceased by his youngest son, Ross (1991). The family will receive friends and relatives at the Dreisinger Funeral Home, Elmira on Friday (today) from 2-4 and 7-9 p.m. At 9 a.m. on Saturday transfer will be made to Trinity United Church, Elmira for funeral service at 11 a.m. with Rev. David Jagger officiating followed by interment in Elmira Union Cemetery. In his memory donations to War Amps or Shriners Children's Hospital would be appreciated by the family as expressions of sympathy. The Glenrose Masonic Lodge AF and AM No.628 Elmira will assemble for a memorial service on Friday evening (tonight) at 6:30 p.m. at the funeral home.1a

1aThe Record 21 Jan 2005

_________________

An example of the sincerity of the Old Order Mennonites in their methods of fighting social welfare benefits was revealed today by Harry Edenborough, manager of the Silverwood Dairies Ltd., in Elmira, Mr. Edenborough said there are approximately 200 Old Order shipping to the plant. At least 10 percent of them consistently refuse to accept the government subsidy for milk...At this time of the year, a subsidy payment is more than $120 a month. This means he is refusing up to $1,200 a year. He felt it was a handout from the government which he had not earned. We have 20 to 25 of these people who refuse payments2a

2aThe Waterloo Mennonites a Community in Paradox by J. Winfield Fretz 
Harry Walter Edenborough
 
9476 In Loving Memory Died In Blenheim Township, on Monday, June 6th, 1927, at 12 p.m. Agnes Elizabeth Edgar Beloved wife of Douglas R. Lillico In her 57th year. The Funeral Will take place from her late residence, N. half Lot 5, Concession 10, Blenheim, on Thursday, June 9th, at 2 p.m., to the Ayr Cemetery. Friends and acquaintances will please accept this intimation Agnes Elizabeth Edgar
 
9477 Death of Alexander Edgar

The death occurred at his home in Galt on Tuesday morning of Alexander Edgar, in his 81st year. He was a son of the late Thomas Edgar and Elizabeth Hall, who came over from Ayrshire and Selkirkshire, Scotland. Deceased was born and lived nearly 70 years on the homestead near Ayr. A successful farmer and stockman, he was elected a director of the Provincial Plowmen's Association at its inauguration, and was at the time of his demise an honorary director of the local association. He was for 25 years connected with the township board of health, and was also the oldest member of Dolman Lodge, I.O.O.F., Ayr, being made the recipient of the 50-year Jewel some years ago. Mr. Edgar was deeply concerned in matters of his church. being in the Session of Knox Presbyterian Church. Ayr, some 20 years and later in Knox's Church, Galt, and his heart was in all movements tending to the welfare of the community in which he lived.

He was married in 1885 to the late Mary Gray, who as a child came over from Ayrshire, Scotland, with her parents. Mrs. Edgar predeceased her husband 15 years ago. Surviving are two sons and one daughter, T. McKenzie, at Detroit; William G. on the homestead, and Elizabeth H., at home. Where are also 11 grandchildren. Funeral services will be conducted at the T. Little & Son Funeral Parlors, adjacent to his late residence., at 2.30 p.m. today (Thursday), with interment in the family plot at the Ayr Cemetery.


The Ayr News Oct 3 1940 pg 3 
Alexander Edgar
 
9478 Main farm was purchased 1840, passed to Alex Edgar 1880, passed to William G. Edgar 1918, passed to Alex M. Edgar 1953 Alexander Edgar
 
9479 Alex M. Edgar

A lifelong resident of the Reidsville area, Alexander McAllister Edgar, passed away at St. Mary's Hospital, Kitchener, on Friday, February 21, 1997. He was in his 77th year. Born on the home farm, Alps Road, RR 1, Ayr, where he farmed all his life, he was a son of William G. Edgar and Alice Mae Veitch. Alex was a past member of the Ayr Lodge A.F. & A.M. No. 172, was active in Knox United Church, Ayr, having served fifteen years as elder and was also on the board of managers. His hobby of acquiring and restoring antique tractors and engines resulted in his having one of the finest collections of these in the province. He had exhibited at the Steam Era Show in Milton every year for the past 36 years. He is survived by his wife of 47 years, Marion (Ford) Edgar; a daughter, Carol of Ottawa and a son, Lyle of Ayr. Also survived by his brothers, Robert Edgar of Ayr, Dr. Hugh Edgar of London and sisters, Dorothy (Mrs. Clifford Scott) of Chatham, Jean (Mrs. William Stager) of Oakville and Marjorie (Mrs. Robert McLeod) of RR 4, Cambridge and 15 nieces and nephews. Rested at the Ayr Chapel, Wm. Kipp Funeral Home, where funeral service was held on Tuesday with Rev. Fred Hagle officiating. Interment Ayr Cemetery.

The Ayr News 26 Feb 1997 pg 12 
Alexander McAllister "Alex" Edgar
 
9480 Main farm was purchased 1840, passed to Alex Edgar 1880, passed to William G. Edgar 1918, passed to Alex M. Edgar 1953 Alexander McAllister "Alex" Edgar
 
9481 EDGAR\emdash At the Galt General Hos-pital, Sunday, January 27, 1952, Bruce Telfer Edgar, infant son of Mr. and Mrs. Cameron Edgar. Service was held at Ayr Cemetery on Monday afternoon.

The Ayr News Jan 31 1952 pg 17 
Bruce Telfer Edgar
 
9482 Died. At North Dumfries, on Wednesday, the 7th of September, 1892, at 2 p.m., Cameron A. Second Son of John and Agnes Edgar, Aged 26 years and six months. The Funeral Will take place at three o'clock p.m., on Friday, 9th inst., from the residence of his parents to the Ayr cemetery. Friends and acquaintances are respectfully invited to attend. North Dumfries, 7th Sept., 1892.1a

1aWaterloo Historical Society Death Notices Collection - photocopies  
Cameron Anderson Edgar
 
9483 CHARLES E. EDGAR

PRESTON, Sept. 7--- Charles E. Edgar, well known Preston citizen, died at St. Mary's Hospital, Kitchener, Sunday morning, after an illness of a month's duration. Born in Blair, son of the late John Edgar, Mr. Edgar lived in Preston for some years, then moved to Chicago where he operated a clothing business, returning to Preston six years ago. He was in his 77th year and was a member of St. Paul's United Church. His wife, Rose Ohlman predeceased him three years ago. Surviving are three sisters, Miss Florence Edger, Miss Ida Edger and Mrs. James Landreth, all of Preston. Funeral services were conducted from the Stager-Pass Funeral Home at 2:30 this afternoon with interment in the Preston Cemetery.

Kitchener Daily Record 7 Sep 1943 pg 15 
Charles Edwin Edgar
 
9484 Elizabeth H. Edgar Passes

Elizabeth Hutchison Edgar passed away in Toronto General Hospital on October 11th. A former resident of Ayr and Galt, Miss Edgar was a daughter of the late Alex Edgar and Mary Gray. She made her home for the past several years at Julia Greenshields Memorial Home. Toronto, but had maintained a residence in Galt. Miss Edgar was formerly a church choir member and ardent worker of Knox's Galt Presbyterian Church. She also took a great interest in the Waterloo Historical Society. Surviving are a brother T. McKenzie Edgar of Dearborn, Michigan., several nieces and nephews. A brother William Gray Edgar of Ayr predeceased her. Funeral and committal services were conducted at Little's Funeral Home, Galt, on Wednesday. Dr. James H. Williams of Glenview Presbyterian Church, Toronto, officiated. Interment in family lot at Avr Cemetery.


The Ayr News 
Elizabeth Hutchinson Edgar
 
9485 Harry Clifford Edgar was born near Watford, Lambton Co., was educated in Preston Public School and the Galt Collegiate Institute. He first worked for Clare Bros. Ltd. foundry and then became accountant for E. J. Checkley & Co. private bankers. from 1900 to 1908 served as assistant to C. R. Hanning (Preston's Town Clerk). He became clerk in 1908 and remained until 1919. He established the H. C. Edgar Insurance Agency in 1896 which continues as Edgar Insurance Brokers Ltd.1a

1aCambridge Mosaic , Jim Quantrell, 1998, City of Cambridge [abbreviated snippet from original text in book] 
Francis Henry Clifford "Harry" Edgar
 
9486 Died, In North Dumfries, to-day, (Monday) at 12.15, George Edgar, Aged 71 Years, 3 Months & 9 Days. Funeral, On Thursday afternoon, at 1 o'clock, from his late residence, Lot 31, 9th Con., Cedar Creek, to Mount View Cemetery, Galt. Friends and acquaintances are respectfully invited to attend. North Dumfries, April 4th, 1887.1a

1aWaterloo Historical Society Death Notices Collection - photocopies  
George Edgar
 
9487 In North Dumfries, near Ayr, this (Saturday) morning, at 6 o'clock. James Edgar, Aged 77 Years. Funeral, on Tuesday, the 25th inst., at one o'clock P.M., from his late residence, Lot 38, 7th Con., to the Burying Ground one mile east of Ayr. North Dumfries, March 22nd, 1873.1a

1aWaterloo Historical Society Death Notices Collection - photocopies 
James Edgar
 
9488 Died, In North Dumfries, on Thursday, June 22nd, 1905, at 7.30 a.m., Jeannie D. Edgar, Beloved wife of Robert Morton, in her 36th year. The Funeral Will take place from her father's residence, lot 38 con. 7, North Dumfries, on Saturday, June 24th, at 2.30 p.m., to the Ayr Cemetery. Friends and acquaintances please accept this intimation.1a

1aWaterloo Historical Society Death Notices Collection - photocopies  
Janet Douglas "Jeannie" Edgar
 
9489 Died In Ayr, on Saturday, June 14, 1947 Jeannie Douglas Edgar Widow of W.A. Reid, in her 79th year. The Funeral Will take place from her late residence, Elliott Street, Ayr, on Monday, June 16th, at 2.30 p.m., to the Ayr Cemetery. Friends and acquaintances will please accept this intimation.1a

1aWaterloo Historical Society Death Notices Collection - photocopies  
Jeannie Douglas Edgar
 
9490 Died, In North Dumfries, on Monday, Oct. 1st, 1894, at 5 o'clock, P.M., John Edgar, in his 65th year. Funeral On Wednesday afternoon, at 3 o'clock, from his late residence to Ayr Cemetery. Friends and acquaintances respectfully invited.1a

1aWaterloo Historical Society Death Notices Collection - photocopies  
John Edgar
 
9491 Marjorie McLeod

Greenfield Road ( RR 1, Ayr) resident, Marjorie Mae McLeod, died at Cambridge Memorial Hospital on Tuesday, December 21st, 1999. She was in her 72nd year. Born in North Dumfries Township, she was a daughter of the late Alice Mae Veitch and William Gray Edgar. Marj was a friend to the many students who rode with her on her school bus route for many years. She was a long-time member of Knox United Presbyterian Church, Galt and was a volunteer with the Canadian Cancer Society offering her support to other cancer patients. She will be missed by her husband, Robert McLeod; her children, Bill and his wife Peggy of RR 1, Ayr, Kathy White of Richmond Hill, Dan and his wife Barbara of Plattsville, Terry McLeod of Cambridge and Norm and his wife Sylvia of Kitchener; grandchildren Nathan, Oedyia, Kitt, Lee, Clayt, Julia and great-granddaughter Cheyenne; sisters, Dorothy and her husband Clifford Scott, Jean and her husband Bill Stager; brother Dr. Hugh Edgar and his wife Margaret; mother-in-law, Viola McLeod of New Hamburg and sisters-in-law Marion Edgar of Ayr and Naomi and her husband Marshall of Glen Mills, Pennsylvania. Predeceased by brothers Alex and Bob. Friends were received at the Ayr Chapel, Wm. Kipp Funeral Home then to Knox Presbyterian Church, Galt, where funeral service was held on Friday, December 24th, at 11 a.m. Rev. Wayne Davis officiated with Dr. Linda Ewing assisting. Interment was in Ayr Cemetery.

The Ayr News 29 Dec 1999 pg 9 
Marjorie Mae Edgar
 
9492 Miss Mary Edgar

One of the district's highly regarded elderly citizens, Miss Mary Edgar, died at the home of her brother, William T. Edgar, Bute St., on Saturday. She was in her 80th year. A daughter of the late William A. Edgar and Catherine Deans, she was born on the "Hill Farm," west of Ayr on the Blenheim-Dumfries townline, now owned by her nephew, Cameron Edgar. Miss Edgar was a lifelong resident of Ayr and district, and a valued member of Knox United Church. She is survived by a brother, William T. Edgar, of Ayr. A sister, Mrs. Robert Morton, and two brothers, Matthew and Allan, predeceased her.

The Funeral

The funeral was held from the home of her brother on Tuesday afternoon, with Rev. W. D. Goodger conducting the service, assisted by Rev. J. W. Currie. Interment was made in Ayr Cemetery. The following were pallbearers: J. Morton Guthrie, Wm. G. Edgar, Norman R. Morton, Cameron Edgar, John Edgar, Paris, and James Edgar, Paris, Friends and relatives were present from Windsor, London, Gorrie, Listowel, Molesworth, Paris, Brantford, Galt and Toronto.

The Ayr News Mar 26 1953 pg 2 
Mary Edgar
 
9493 Died. In North Dumfries, on Friday morning, 30th inst., at 7 o'clock, Matthew W. Edgar, Second Son of Wm. Edgar, Aged 19 Years, 1 Month, and 8 Days. Funeral on Sabbath, 2nd prox., at 3 o'clock p.m., from his late residence, Lot 38, 7th Con., to the place of interment, New Cemetery, Ayr. North Dumfries, April 30, 1886.1a

1aWaterloo Historical Society Death Notices Collection - photocopies  
Matthew Wallace Edgar
 
9494 A popular local girl, Sheila .lean Edgar, 17, RR 3, Ayr, died suddenly early Saturday morning in an auto crash. The car Miss Edgar was driving, left the road on an S-turn approaching the Twin Bridges which span the Nith River, 1/2-mile south 0o Perry's Corners, just Past the Henri Boterberg farm.

The car which had landed in the river was not fiiund until 9 am Saturday when it as spotted by Mr. Boterberg and his son Robert. who were driving by the scene on a farm tractor. At the same time, three men who were hunting nearby, came to the scene. 'I'hey called the Woodstock O. P. P. who investigated. Miss Edgar had been baby-sitting with two other girls at the Harry Edgar residence. RR 3. Bright. during the evening. Prior to the accident she had driven home friends who lived in the Washington area.

Her parents, Mr. and Mrs. Cameron Edgar. became alarmed when she failed to return home. A search of district roads failed to locate the car until it was spotted by the Boterbergs in the morning.

Sheila was a Grade 12 student at Southwood Secondary School, Galt. She was a member of Knox Church, Ayr and of the Knox Young Peoples' group. She was also an active member of the 4-H Homemaking Club.

Surviving besides her parents is a brober, Robert. at home.

Funeral service was conducted by Rev D. E. Willis of Ayr from Little's Funeral Home, Galt on Tuesday afternoon. Internment in Ayr Cemetery. Pallbearers were Gordon McRuer. Alex Edgar. William Kinaird. Alden Cochrane. Allan Edgar and George Gillespie.


The Ayr News Oct 22 1970 pg 1 
Sheila Jean Edgar
 
9495 In Memoriam Died In the Village of Ayr on Wednesday afternoon, September 20th, 1899, at 3 o'clock, Thomas Edgar, In his 76th year. The Funeral Will take place from his late residence Bute Street, on Saturday, September 23rd, at 2 o'clock, p.m., to Ayr Cemetery. Friends and acquaintances are cordially invited to attend.1a

1aWaterloo Historical Society Death Notices Collection - photocopies  
Thomas Edgar
 
9496 Main farm was purchased 1840, passed to Alex Edgar 1880, passed to William G. Edgar 1918, passed to Alex M. Edgar 1953 Thomas Edgar
 
9497 Thomas McKenzie Edgar of Dearborn. Michigan passed away on Sunday. December 28th. He was in his 94Th year: Mr. Edgar was born on the former Gaides farm. Alps Road. Reidsville. He moved to Detroit in 1923 where he was employed as a pattern maker with major automotive companies. Predeceased by his wife, the former Mary Baxter, also a sister Elizabeth Edgar and a brother William G. Edgar. Surviving are three sons Alex of Dearborn, Michigan, Richard of Los Angeles, California, and Hugh of Tucson, Arizorta; and two daughters Mrs. Roland (Betty) Mniece of Dearborn, Michigan and Mrs. Richard (Mary) Schmidt of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. Resting at the T. Little and Son Funeral Home, Galt, today (Tues.) from 3 to 4 p.m. and 7 to 9 p.m. Funeral service will be held at the funeral home on Wednesday at 11 a.m. with Rev. Jackson of Knox's Presbyterian Church officiating. Interment in Ayr Cemetery.


The Ayr News Dec 29 1980 pg 7 
Thomas McKenzie Edgar
 
9498 Main farm was purchased 1840, passed to Alex Edgar 1880, passed to William G. Edgar 1918, passed to Alex M. Edgar 1953 William Gray Edgar
 
9499 William G. Edgar Passes

A lifelong resident of Ayr and district, William G. Edgar, Colquhoun Street, Ayr passed away early Monday in St. Mary's Hospital, Kitchener. He was in his 83rd year. Mr. Edgar Was born in North Dumfries Township on the century farm now owned by his son Alex Edgar. He was a son of the late Alex Edgar and Mary Grey. Married in 1918 to the former Alice Mae Vietch, the couple farmed at RR 1, Ayr until retiring to Ayr in early 1953. in June, 1968, they celebrated their golden wedding anniversary. Mr. Edgar was a member of Knox's Presbyterian Church, Galt, and had served as an elder. He was a member of the Ayr Masonic Lodge No. 172; had served on the board of directors of Ayr Farmers Mutual Fire Insurance Company; also on the Ayr Cemetery Board. Surviving besides his wife are three sons, Alex, of RR 1, Ayr, Hugh, London and Robert, Montreal; three daughters, Dorothy (Mrs. Clifford Scott) Chatham, Jean (Mrs. William Stager) Mississauga and Marjorie (Mrs. Robert McLeod) RR 4, Galt; one brother, T. McKenzie Edgar of Dearborn, Michigan and one sister, Miss Elizabeth Edgar, Toronto; 15 grandchildren and one great grandchild. Funeral service was conducted today (Wed.) at Little's Funeral Home, Galt, at 3:00 p.m. Rev. R. A. Jackson officiated. Inter-ment in Ayr Cemetery. Pallbearers were Carl Buck, Gordon Marshall, Cameron Edgar, Robert McLeod. Clifford Scott and William Stager. Flower bearers were grandsons.


The Ayr News Feb 22 1973 pg 2 
William Gray Edgar
 
9500 Robert Edgar

Ayr resident, William Robert Edgar of Colquhoun Street, died at Cambridge Memorial Hospital on Wednesday, December 15th, 1999. He was in his 79th year. Born in Ayr, Robert was a son of the late Mae Veitch and William Gray Edgar. He was a veteran of the Second World War serving with the Merchant Marines between Canada and Great Britain. He was a 32-year member of the Royal Canadian Legion, Branch 121, Galt and a member of the Royal Canadian Naval Association, South Waterloo. He was employed with Air Canada as cargo facilities and equipment manager for 33 years. After his retirement in 1977, he and his wife, the late Jeanette Burnett (1998) divided their time between their homes in Ayr, Florida and Beachburg. Mr. Edgar was an avid car collector. He will be missed by three sisters, Dorothy and her husband Clifford Scott of Chatham, Jean and her husband William Stager of Oakville, Marjorie and her husband Robert McLeod of RR 1, Ayr; one brother, Dr. Hugh Edgar and his wife Margaret of London; sister-in-law Marion Edgar of Ayr ; and by nieces and nephews, Bill, Kathy, Dan, Terry, Norm, David, Margaret, Graeme, Sheila, Cameron, Heather, Duncan, Carol, Lyle and Greg. He was predeceased by his brother Alex Edgar. Funeral service was held at the Ayr Chapel, Wm. Kipp Funeral Home on Friday, December 17th at 1:30 p.m. Dr. Linda Ewing officiated. Interment was in Ayr Cemetery.

The Ayr News 22 Oct 1999 pg 20 
William Robert "Robert" Edgar
 
9501 WILLIAM R. EDGAR

Preston, Aug. 25 — William Robinson Edgar, for the past 50 years, a resident of Preston, died at his home on Margaret street, early today. He had been ill for about a year. The late Mr. Edgar was well known in Preston for his keen interest in horticultural work. Besides his widow, who was Anna Wettlaufer before her marriage, there survive three sisters, Mrs. Jane Landreth and the Misses, Ida and Florence, all of Preston and two brothers, Mesers, Charles E. Edgar, of Chicago and Harry C. Edgar, of Preston. The funeral will take place from his late residence at 446 Margaret street on Thursday afternoon, at 2.30 o'clock. Interment will take place in Preston cemetery.

Kitchener Daily Record 25 Aug 1938 pg 13 
William Robinson Edgar
 
9502 William T. Edgar, Outstanding Farmer

An eminently successful farmer and a member of one of the district's early families, William T. Edgar passed away at his home, Bute St., Ayr, on Wednesday. lie had been in ill health for a lengthy period. He was born on the family homestead on the Blenheim Townline, which has always been known in this community as 'The Hill Farm'. His parents, both from prominent. district families were the late William Edgar and Catherine Deans. Mr. Edgar lived out his industrious years on these ancestral acres until retiring into Ayr eight years ago. It was a matter of pride with him that the farm had been in the family for over a century, and this tradition is being furthered by his son Cameron, who now operates the farm. The late Mr. Edgar built for him-self a reputation as one of the out-standing district farmers, and this fact was reflected in the neat appearance of the premises and well kept buildings. A deeply religious man, Mr. Edgar was a valued member of Knox United Church, where he served on the Board of Managers and as a Trustee. His keen business sense made his services in these capacities extremely valuable, and although hampered by failing eye-sight in later years he retained a continued interest in the church. He was a director of the former Ayr Rural Telephone Company, and, until ill health forced his retirement, he was also a director of the Ayr Cemetery Company. Surviving besides his wife, the former Jeannie Laurie, are two daughters and a son: Mrs. John MacLellan (Kathryn) of Windsor, Mrs. Lorne Curnoe (Mary) of Toronto. and Cameron, on the farm. There are several grandchildren. Resting at his late residence, where services will he held on Saturday, May 26, at 2 p m., conducted by Rev. R. D. Thompson Interment will be made in Ayr Cemetery.


The Ayr News May 24 1956 pg 1 
William Thomas Edgar
 
9503 William Wallace Edgar Dies

The death occurred at. Willett Hospital, Paris, on Monday of William Wallace Edgar, Hit 3, Ayr, aged 70 years. Born in the Paris district, he was a son of the late Mr. and Mrs. James Edgar. He lived at Straticlair, Man., for many years, returning to this district about 20 years ago. In recent years he had resided with his cousins, Misses Elizabeth and Mary Black, North Dumfries-Blenheim townline. He was a member of Knox United Church here. Surviving are three brothers, John and James Edgar of Paris and Morton Edgar of London. Funeral service was held at Cumming's Funeral Home, Paris, today (Wednesday) with interment in Ayr Cemetery. Rev. W. J. V. Buchanan officiated.

The Ayr News Jun 11 1959 pg 2 
William Wallace Edgar
 
9504 In Memory of Mary wife of Wm. Raby, born in Staffordshire, England Oct. 13, 1826 died Dec. 12, 1908. Gone but not forgotten

Tombstone Evergreen Cemetery, Fitzgerald, Ben Hill, Georgia, USA 
Mary Edge
 
9505 Ancestry Public Member Tree indicates he was born in Oberseebach, Bas-Rhin, France, documentation needed. Michael Edighoffer
 
9506 Mrs. Catharine Schinbein, 90, died at the St. Catharines hospital early on Tuesday morning. She was born in Waterloo. Her late husband, George Schinbein, conducted a shoe store business at Conestogo until the time of his death in 1929. The couple had resided at Conestogo for about forty years. She is survived by one daughter Mrs. Walter (Elizabeth) Shantz of St. Catharines and one son Edler of Kirkwood, Missouri. Their eldest son William died in September, 1933. There are also five grandchildren. The funeral will be held on Friday, Nov. 29th at 1:30 p.m. from the Dreisinger Funeral Home to the Elmira Cemetery with Rev. E. N. Mohr officiating.1a

1aElmira Signet 28 Nov 1946 
Cathrina Edler
 
9507 The late Mrs. J.L. Umbach, whose death was chronicled in our last issue, was born in Virginia, on March 9th, 1849. She came to Canada with her parents when about ten years old, and the family lived in Waterloo for a short time, then in North Woolwich and later on the 6th of Peel. She was married to Mr. Umbach on July 7, 1868, and they lived in North Woolwich until 1900 when they came to Elmira. Last October they moved to Floradale, where they bought the Quickfall home. Besides her sorrowing husband she leaves three children, namely, Samuel, on the old homestead, Joshua, in Victoria, B.C., and Mrs. J. B. Snyder, at Floradale. She is also survived by her brother, Mr. Geo. Edler, and two sisters, Mrs. Con. Miller, Elmira, and Mrs. George Schinbein, of Conestogo. Mrs. Umbach enjoyed good health until about a month ago when she occasionally got spells of dizziness. These finally ended in a fatal stroke of apoplexy after she had been in bed for about ten days. The remains were laid to rest in Elmira Union Cemetery last Sunday afternoon, Pastor F.B. Meyer, of the Evangelical Church, officiating. A large number of friends paid her a last tribute of respect by attending the funeral.

Elmira Signet Jul 31 1913 pg 1 
Mary Edler
 
9508 Lamentable Accident in Galt - A very sad accident happened in Galt on Saturday afternoon last about half-past 5 o'clock, whereby a fine little son of our esteemed townsman, Mr. J.W. Edmand, lost his life. It appears that the little boy aged about 9 years, along with his younger sister was playing in the back garden attached to the house in which Mr. Edmand lives, which is only separated by a fence from the river. The water at this time was so high in the river that it was even with the garden, and it would appear that while playing, the two by some means got to a place where there was nothing to prevent them falling into the water. The little boy was the most venturesome, and getting very close to the edge, by some means he fell in and was of course borne rapidly away by the swift current. His little sister ran screaming to the house and gave the alarm, but nothing could be done. Parties passing over the bridge had a momentary glimpse of the poor little fellow as he went below it, and the alarm given aid was attempted and parties started down the river, but only one or two saw anything of the little fellow, and owing to the tremendous current they were unable to do anything towards a rescue. Just below Mr. Siddall's all trace was lost, and although an active search has been maintained ever since we are very sorry to say no trace of the body has been discovered. This poor little fellow was a general favorite in the town, and it is with the sincerest sorrow that their many friends tender to the bereaved parents their sympathy in their fearful loss. We have said that an active search has been going on ever since the accident, and that so far the efforts made have been unsuccessful. We are pleased to hear that the residents along the river are aiding those who are carrying on the search, and we would ask our friends between here and Glenmorris and below, now that the water is falling rapidly, to give a few minutes now and then to inspecting the banks of the river.

Galt Reporter Sep 20 1878 pg 2 
Harry Dee Edmand
 
9509 Lamentable Accident in Galt - A very sad accident happened in Galt on Saturday afternoon last about half-past 5 o'clock, whereby a fine little son of our esteemed townsman, Mr. J.W. Edmand, lost his life. It appears that the little boy aged about 9 years, along with his younger sister was playing in the back garden attached to the house in which Mr. Edmand lives, which is only separated by a fence from the river. The water at this time was so high in the river that it was even with the garden, and it would appear that while playing, the two by some means got to a place where there was nothing to prevent them falling into the water. The little boy was the most venturesome, and getting very close to the edge, by some means he fell in and was of course borne rapidly away by the swift current. His little sister ran screaming to the house and gave the alarm, but nothing could be done. Parties passing over the bridge had a momentary glimpse of the poor little fellow as he went below it, and the alarm given aid was attempted and parties started down the river, but only one or two saw anything of the little fellow, and owing to the tremendous current they were unable to do anything towards a rescue. Just below Mr. Siddall's all trace was lost, and although an active search has been maintained ever since we are very sorry to say no trace of the body has been discovered. This poor little fellow was a general favorite in the town, and it is with the sincerest sorrow that their many friends tender to the bereaved parents their sympathy in their fearful loss. We have said that an active search has been going on ever since the accident, and that so far the efforts made have been unsuccessful. We are pleased to hear that the residents along the river are aiding those who are carrying on the search, and we would ask our friends between here and Glenmorris and below, now that the water is falling rapidly, to give a few minutes now and then to inspecting the banks of the river.

Galt Reporter Sep 20 1878 pg 2 
Harry Dee Edmand
 
9510 Tombstone Reads 10 Aug 1909 Charles Henry Edmonds
 
9511 Tombstone Reads 27 Oct 1909 Charles Henry Edmonds
 
9512 Edmund, J. W., general agent. Is a native of Laprairie County, Quebec. Born, 1834, Has been a resident of the county since 1870.2a

2aIllustrated Atlas of the County of Waterloo, H. Parsel & Co., Toronto - 1881 
John W. Edmund
 
9513 EDMUNDS, Brooks Wakefield 1905
Death of old Wellesley resident.
One of the old residents of Wellesley township, in the person of Mr. Brooks Wakefield Edmunds, died at Berlin last week at the age of 80 years. Deceased was born at Scarboro, Ont. and was married to a sister of Dr. Lancerkin, late M. P. for Grey county. Mr. Edmunds lived for many years on a farm northwest of Hawkesvile but moved to Berlin, opposite the greenbush, a few years ago. Mr. and Mrs. Edmunds had a family of 8 children, 5 of whom are living, namely: Dr. Ira Edmunds, St. Cloud, Minn.; Mrs. Andrew Fowler, on the old homestead; Mrs. Dr. Noecker Waterloo; Miss May at home, and Miss Ella, milliner at Elmira. The interment took place at Hawkesville on Sunday forenoon.1a

1aElmira Signet 18 May 1905 
Brooks Wakefield Edmunds
 
9514 Mrs. Mary Haines, daughter of Asahel Edmonds, of Maryborough, and wife of Samuel Haines of Wellesley, whom she married in Jan., 1846, died of consumption, Sept. 20, 1867, in her 41st year, and was buried in the Hawkesville Cemetery; survived by her husband and 8 children. For 13 years, she had been a member of the Wesleyan Church in the village of Hawkesville.1a

1aThe Christian Guardian 8 Jan 1868 pg 8 
Mary Edmunds
 
9515 1901 Berlin Census - Edward is a lodger in the home of Mary and William Viedt Gildner Edward
 
9516 Alexander MacKay Edwards was born in Bothwell 6 Apr 1872, the son of Charles Edwards and Annie MacKay. Educated in Bothwell and at Glencoe he completed his formal educations at the Ontario College of Pharmacy. About 1900 he opened the White Drug Store which later became Meikleham's Pharmacy. In 1912 he sold the drug store and created the Galt Stove and Furnace Co. and served as president. He served on Galt council, reeve and mayor. He was elected to represent Waterloo South in the House of Commons in 1925.1a

1aCambridge Mosaic , Jim Quantrell, 1998, City of Cambridge [abbreviated snippet from original text in book] 
Alexander M. Edwards, MP
 
9517 Elizabeth's last name may have been Townsend, it is possible that she was mother of Robert Townsend who married Charles Godbold's daughter. Elizabeth Edwards
 
9518 1871 - George Edwards was in the same household as Abram Ball. George Edwards
 
9519 TANTON, Mildred (nee Edwards)

Passed away peacefully, with her family by her side, on Sunday, September 6, 2009, at the age of 84. Devoted wife of the late, George Tanton (1993). Loving mother of Carol Chappell (nee Tanton) and her husband Clay and grandmother of Craig and Caitlyn. Dear sister of Larry Edwards of Sarnia, Myrna Wallis (Ron) of St. Thomas, Donna Birtch of Cambridge, Darlene Barnes of Watford, Madeline McCallum (Mike) of Brantford and Rieta Harris (Doug) of Dungannon. Mildred will also be missed by her many nieces and nephews. Predeceased by five brothers. Mildred was an active member of the David Durward Center, The Alan Reuter Center and the Golden Opportunities Program as well as a past member of the Eastern Star and the Rebekahs. Resting at Corbett Funeral Home, 95 Dundas Street, Cambridge where the family received friends on Wednesday, September 9, 2009 from 2-4 and 7-9 p.m. A Funeral Service will be held in the funeral home chapel on Thursday, September 10, 2009 (today) at 1 p.m. Rev. R. Merritt officiating.

Cambridge Times 16 Sep 2009 
Mildred Edwards
 
9520 Robert Edwards was born in Toronto, was converted by the Primitive Methodists as a young man living in Toronto Twp., and settled c. 1846 in Chinquacousy, where he worked as a blacksmith. In 1855, he settled on a farm in Wellesley, where he joined the Wesleyan Methodist Church. he died in the same twp., Nov. 1 1863, and was buried in Hawkesville Cemetery: survived by his wife and 6 children.1a

1aChristian Guardian Newspaper 27 Jan 1864 pg 19 
Robert Edwards
 
9521 WALLACE EARL EDWARDS 1922 - 2008 It is with great sadness that the family of Wallace Earl Edwards, age 86 years, announces his passing on Tuesday, October 21, 2008. Wallace's courage, positive attitude and determination to win his battle with lymphoma has been and will always be an inspiration to his family. He was optimistic and hopeful to the end, supervising the planting of spring bulbs in his garden the day before he entered the hospital for his final stay. Wallace was born in Hamilton, Ontario on October 3, 1922, and graduated from Saltfleet High School in Stoney Creek, Ontario. Wallace was a Second World War Veteran (RCAF 1942 - 1945, Sixth Bomber Group, stationed in Topcliffe, Yorkshire, England). Wallace was a long time employee of the Kitchener Waterloo Record in the Circulation Department, having previously worked for the Toronto Telegram and Prudential Insurance Company. He was a long time member of St. Columba Anglican Church, having served as a Sunday School Teacher and Board Member. His interests in life included gardening, mineral collecting, jewelry making, wood carving, music and dancing. He also had a passion for traveling which started early in life. When he was stationed overseas, his 48 hour passes allowed him to see many parts of England, Scotland and Wales. With his wife Joyce and children he camped from coast to coast in Canada, visiting destinations known for mineral collecting. He visited Hawaii, China, Britain and the Caribbean with Joyce, and later traveled with his friend Evelyn to South America, Europe, Iceland, Russia, South Pacific, Australia, New Zealand and Scandinavia. Wallace was predeceased by his beloved wife, Joyce, a war bride from England, in 1991, after 46 years of marriage, and predeceased in January 2008 by his dear friend and traveling companion, Evelyn McLaughlin. He is survived by his children, John Dennis Edwards and his wife Joanne, Deborah Mae Latta and her husband Wayne, and Lois Anne Bowman and her husband Jim; grandchildren, Holly and Wesley Edwards, Joshua and Nathan Latta; brother-in-law, Jack Payne and nieces, Shelly and Darlene. He was predeceased by his brother, Clifford in 2007; sister-in-law, Mildred in 2002 and sister-in-law, Margaret in 1998. In lieu of flowers, the family would appreciate donations to the Grand River Regional Cancer Centre, for Outpatient services, knowing they need more equipment such as vitals machines. The family extends gratitude to Oncologist Dr. Bob Stevens and nurse Nikki for the compassionate care that Wallace received for the past 3½ years, and the encouragement they gave him to continue to hope. The family also thanks all the staff working on the 6th Floor Oncology unit at Grand River Hospital for their sensitive and dignified care. On Saturday, November 1, 2008 a memorial service to celebrate the life of Wallace will take place in the chapel of the Erb and Good Family Funeral Home, 171 King St. S., Waterloo at 11 a.m. with Rev. Dana Rodgers officiating. Private family interment in Parkview Cemetery will follow. A reception will be held in the Fireside Reception Room of the funeral home following the graveside service.1a

1aWaterloo Region Record - Oct. 28, 2008  
Wallace Earl Edwards
 
9522 BAULK. Marjorie B.

Of River Bend Place, Coronation Boulevard, Cambridge, formerly of Moore Street, Cambridge, at Cambridge Memorial Hospital, on Saturday, Sept. 12, 1992. Marjorie Edworthy, beloved wife of the late Walter Baulk. Beloved mother of Kenneth of Vancouver, Beverley (Mrs Ray Middleton) of Salt Lake city, Utah, loving grandmother of Michael and Greg. Predeceased by twin brothers and one sister. Mrs Baulk was horn in Orkney. Ont., a resident of Cambridge, since 1947 from Kitchener. Owned and opcrated the Preston Times, the Hespepler Herald and the Waterloo Chronicle for a number of years and was a member of St John’s Anglican Church, Cambridge. Friends will be received at the Barthel Funeral Home, 566 Queenston Rd., Cambridge, Sunday. Sept. 13, 1992, from 7-9 p.m. and Monday, Sept. 14, 1992, (today), 2-4 and 7-9 p.m. Funeral services at the funeral home, Tuesday, at 1:30 p.m. Interment in Parklawn Cemetery.

Kitchener-Waterloo Record 14 Sep 1992 pg A11 
Marjorie B. Edworthy
 
9523 Boshart, Bertha - Of Nithview Nursing Home, at her residence, on Thursday, Jan. 6, 1994, in her 100th year. Dear mother of Kenneth Boshart of Kitchener and Thelma Makcrow and her husband Charles of Cambridge. Also surviving are one brother, Ernest of Cambridge; nine grandchildren; 13 great-grandchildren and six great-great-grandchildren. Bertha Boshart was predeceased by two brother and three sisters. Resting at the Corbett Funeral Home, 95 Dundas St., Cambridge, where the family will receive friends on Sunday, Jan. 9, 1994, from 2-4 and 7-9 p.m. Funeral services will be held on Monday, Jan. 10, 1994 at a time and place to be announced in Saturday's edition of the Record.

Kitchener-Waterloo Record, January 7, 1994 
Bertha Egerdee
 
9524 Wellesley Couple Married 60 Years

Mrs. and Mrs. Edward J. Miller of Wellesley were married 60 years Monday. Mr. Miller and his wife, the former Caroline Egerdie, were married at the Wellesley Lutheran parsonage with Rev. Daniel Lochner officiating. The couple farmed at the Miller homestead in the village for 25 years. Mr. Miller was a dairyman for the village for six years. Leaving the farm, he continued as a Waterloo county road foreman until retiring after 42 years service. The couple have been lifelong residents of Wellesley and members of First St. Paul's Lutheran Church. They have one son, Willard of Kitchener; three daughters, Mrs. Fred (Gladys) Schlote of Waterloo, Nelda K. of Kitchener and Mrs. Arthur (Helen) Reiner of Wellesley, and six grandchildren.1a

1aElmira Signet 29 Dec 1965 pg 8 
Carolina "Carrie" Egerdee
 
9525 BOWMAN, Hulda 1995 On Tuesday, Oct. 10, 1995, at Nithview Home, New Hamburg, in her 94th year. She was born in Wilmot township a daughter of the late William and Eva (Hank) Egerde. She was a member of Trinity Lutheran Church where she was a member of the ELW, a member of the Social Committee, a member of the Trinity Quilting Group. She was also a member of the New Hamburg Women's Institute, a member of the Lawn Bowling League, a member of the Horticultural Club and a member of the 39 Plus Club, New Hamburg. Beloved wife of Henry B. Bowman who predeceased her November 12, 1962. Loving mother of Doris and her husband Stanley Wagner of Haysville; dear grandmother of Nancy and David Brown of Kitchener, Brian and Beryl Wagner of Halifax, N.S., Darcy and Vanda Wagner, Marilyn and Bruce Battler, all of R.R. 2, New Hamburg; ever remembered by her great grandchildren, Karen and Kevin Brown, Amy, Dale, Julie and Lisa Battler, Katlyn, Troy, Gretchen and Carson Wagner. Sadly missed by her brother, John Egerde of Ayr and her sister-in-law, Cleo (Mrs. Albert Egerde) of New Dundee. Hulda was predeceased by two sons, Wallace and Delmer; two brothers, Alvin and his wife Edith Egerde and Albert Egerde and two sisters, Alma and her husband, Solomon Bowman and Laura and her husband William Kurt. Friends and relatives may call at the Mark Jutzi Funeral Home, 291 Huron St., New Hamburg, today (Friday) from 3:30-5 p.m. and 7-9 p.m. At noon on Saturday, transfer will be made to Trinity Lutheran Church for the service at 2 p.m., with Pastor Andre Lavergne officiating. Interment to follow in Union Cemetery, New Dundee. As expressions of sympathy, donations may be made to Trinity Lutheran Church or Nithview Home.1a

1aThe Record 11 Oct 1995 
Hulda Egerdee
 
9526 RALPH FRED EGERDEEN 1919 - 2008 Passed away, on Wednesday, August 6, 2008, at the age of 89 years. Beloved husband of the late Klara Egerdeen, (2002). Dear father of Charles and his wife Sharon of Fergus and Susan Richards and her husband Fred of Cambridge. Cherished grandfather of Trish, David, Michael, Judy, Jennifer, Bradley Amy, Myra and Steven plus six great-grandchildren. Survived by his brother, Laverne (Ike) and his wife Marie; sister, Jean and her husband Art Elchert and Stacia Huehn. Predeceased by his son, Bryan and by his five brothers and one sister. Ralph was a longtime employee of Burns Food until his retirement. He was involved in many sports in his younger years. In his golden years he enjoyed being a spectator. He enjoyed spending time with his family especially watching his grandchildren and great-grandchildren play sports and was amused by their antics. Ralph was also a veteran of the Second World War. Honouring Ralph's personal wishes there will be no visitation or funeral services. Cremation has taken place and a private interment was held at Parkview Cemetery. Condolences to the family and donations to Grace Lutheran Church may be arranged through the Erb and Good Family Funeral Home , 171 King St. South, Waterloo, 519-745-8445 or www.erbgood.com. In living memory of Ralph, a donation will be made to the Trees for Learning Program by the funeral home.1a

1aThe Waterloo Region Record 12 Aug 2008 
Ralph Fred Egerdeen
 
9527 EGERTON, Charles Arthur (Pete)

At Cambridge Memorial Hospital, on Saturday, July 17, 1982, Pete Egerton, of 100 Stewart Ave., Cambridge, in his 61st year. Beloved husband of the late Ruth Morley (1980); dear father of Gerald and Betty (Mrs. Lloyd Carter), both of Cambridge. Also loved by six grandchildren. Dear brother of Albert of Cambridge and Ruth of Kitchener. Friends will be received at Little's Funeral Home, 39 Grand Ave. N., Cambridge, on Sunday, from 2-4 and 7-9 p.m. Funeral service at the funeral home on Monday, July 19, 1982, at 11:30 a.m. Interment, Trinity cemetery, Cambridge.

Kitchener-Waterloo Record 17 Jul 1982 pg 35 
Charles Arthur "Pete" Egerton
 
9528 Pastor Adolf Eggers (one of Rev.Jurgen Goos's fellow passengers on the ship the Ems) Rev. Adolph Egger
 
9529 EGGERT, JOHN WILLIAM “BILL”

A well known Hespeler district resident, of R. R. #2, Hespeler, in South Waterloo Memorial Hospital, early on Friday, March 8, 1963. Mr. Eggert, who was in his 76th year, had been in hospital for ten days. Born in Preston, son of the late John Eggert and Mary Fach, he had resided in Puslinch Township for the past ten years. He was a mechanic and was employed by the Guelph Sand and Gravel until his retirement five years ago. He was a member of St. Mary of the Visitation Church in Hespeler and of the Holy Name Society. Surviving are his wife, Maud Kelly, whom he married in Hespeler in 1911; two sons, James of Ottawa; Willard, at home; two daughters, Violet, at home and Jean (Mrs. Joseph Carter) of Guelph. A daughter, Marion (Mrs. Ed Burnett) died in 1948. Maurice J. O’Brien Funeral Residence, 328 Lowther St. (at Laurel) in Preston. Requiem mass sung at 10 on Monday by Rev. D. D. Simpson in St. Mary of the Visitation Church. Numerous floral and spiritual tributes were offered. Casket-bearers: Gerald Schwantz, Bernard Goodburn and Robert From from Hespeler; Harold Smith, Thomas Hilton and Hugh Dickison of Guelph. Interment St. Clement’s Roman Catholic Cemetery.

Kitchener-Waterloo Record 8 Mar 1963 pg 19 
John William "William Isadore" Eggert
 
9530 Kajetan in 1890 donated money towards Waterloo's First Roman Catholic church building. Kajetan Egle
 
9531 EGOFF, Sheila Agnes - Officer of the Order of Canada, died on May 22, 2005, in her 88th year, at Vancouver, B.C. Born in Auburn, Maine, she grew up in Galt (now Cambridge), Ontario. Her lifelong career as a scholar and critic of children's literature, and pre-eminent promoter of Canadian children's literature in particular, began at the Galt Public Library. After graduating from the University of Toronto and qualifying as a librarian at the University of London (England), she worked at the Children's Room of the Toronto Public Libraries and with their Osborne Collection of Early Children's Books, where experience in serving the reading needs of contemporary children was balanced with learning about four centuries of writing, publishing, and illustrating books for children. After a short period on the staff of the Canadian Library Association, she was recruited to join the faculty of the School of Librarianship at the University of British Columbia soon after its establishment in 1961. By her retirement in 1983 as Professor Emerita, she had sent a generation of enthusiastic promoters of children's books and reading from Vancouver to libraries across Canada, in the United States, and elsewhere. They applied her rigorous message "only the best is good enough for children!" by writing children's books, storytelling, practising and administering children's services in public and school libraries, and contributing to the cultural life of their communities. Her own writing and editing include the books "The Republic of Childhood", "Thursday's Child", "Worlds Within", "Children's Periodicals of the 19th Century", "Only Connect", and two annotated catalogues of holdings in the Arkley Collection of Early and Historical Children's Literature which she attracted to the University of British Columbia Library; also articles, survey reports, and published speeches. Retirement did not stop the flow; her final book "My Life with Children's Books" will appear posthumously in a few months. In addition to the Order of Canada, her public honours include honorary doctorates from the Universities of Alberta, New Brunswick, and Victoria. Among many professional honours are the Award for Lifetime Achievement in Children's Literature Scholarship of the Children's Literature Association and the annual British Columbia Book Prize for Children's Literature which bears her name. Predeceased by her brother George and sister-in-law Luella, she is survived by their sons, her nephews John, Brian, and Christopher Egoff, and John's wife and children, all of Cambridge, Ontario. Donations to the scholarship already established in her name may be sent to the School of Library, Archival and Information Studies at the University of British Columbia.1a

1aThe Record newspaper 25 May 2005 
Sheila Agnes Egoff
 
9532 WELLESLEY - Mrs. Edward Schmidt of Lisbon died Tuesday at St. Mary's Hospital, Kitchener. She was 83.

Born in North Easthope Township, she was the former Amelia (Millie) Ehnes, a daughter of the late Mr. and Mrs. Frederick Ehnes. She was a member of the Wellesley Community Missionary Church. Her husband predeceased her Sept. 13, 1951.

Surviving are two sons, Arthur C. and Howard J., both of RR 1, Gadshill; one daughter, Mrs. Henry (Idella) Schmidt of RR 1, New Hamburg; two brothers, Ephraim of Kitchener and Arthur of Weston and nine grandchildren. She was predeceased by two sons, a daughter, two brothers and three sisters.

The body will be at the Futher Brothers Funeral Home, Wellesley after 7 o'clock tonight. Rev. Lynn Snider will conduct the service at the funeral home Friday at 2:30 p.m. Temporary entombment will be in St. Paul's Lutheran chapel followed by burial at a later date in the Lutheran United cemetery.1a

1a 
Amelia "Millie" Ehnes
 
9533 WELLESLEY - Mrs. Mary Paff, 83, of Wellesley died today at a London hospital following a lengthy illness. She was born in North Easthope Township, a daughter of the late Mr. and Mrs. Frederick Ehnes. She had resided in Wellesley for many years. Her husband, the late William Paff, died in 1931. Mrs. Paff was a member of the Lisbon Evangelical United Brethren Church. Surviving are two brothers, Ephriam of Kitchener and Arthur of Weston, and one sister, Mrs. Amelia Schmidt of Lisbon. Two brothers and two sisters predeceased her. The body will rest at the Futher Funeral Home, Wellesley, after noon Sunday. Funeral arrangements are incomplete.1a

1aKitchener-Waterloo Record 11 Jan 1963 
Mary Ehnes
 
9534 WELLESLEY - Mrs. Sarah Paff, 81, of Wellesley, died Thursday at her home. Born in North Easthope Township, she was a daughter of the late Mr. and Mrs. Frederick Ehnes. A resident of Wellesley for the past 14 years, she was a member of the Lisbon Evangelical UB Church and a life member of the Women's Society of World Service. Surviving are two sons, Edward and Albin of Wellesley; two sisters, Anna of Wellesley and Mrs. Lloyd (Agnes) Kaufman of Wellesley; two brothers, Ephraim of Kitchener and Arthur of Weston; two sisters, Mrs. William (Mary) Paff of London and Mrs. Edward (Amelia) Schmidt of RR 1, Wellesley, and three grandchildren. Her husband, John, predeceased her. The body will be at the Futher Funeral Home, Wellesley, until Sunday noon when removal will be made to the Lisbon Church where the funeral will be conducted at 2:30 p.m. by Rev. Ronald Amy, pastor. Interment will be in the church cemetery.1a

1aKitchener-Waterloo Record  
Sarah Ehnes
 
9535 EHRAT, John Jacob - On Sunday, Feb. 24, 1985, at K-W Hospital, Kitchener, John Ehrat, of 145 MacGregor Cres., Waterloo, formerly of Philipsburg.

He was born in Switzerland 83 years ago, son of the late Johannes Ehrat and the former Anna Busenhart. He was a member of Zion Lutheran Church, Philipsburg; the Canadian Order of Foresters of Court Nith, Philipsburg, where he was a treasurer for 31 years and in 1975 was named forester of the Year. A member of the Waterloo Rod and gun club, the New Hamburg Royal Canadian Legion, Branch 532 and the Senior Citizens of New Dundee.

Beloved husband of the former Eva Forler, whom he married February 10 1934; sadly missed by his son, Ronald and his wife Helen of RR2, Baden; his daughter, Sheila and her husband Grant McLaughlin of Waterloo; fondly remembered by his grandchildren, Christine Ehrat, Kathryn Skowron, Michael and Susan McLaughlin and one sister, Margait of Schaffhausen, Switzerland; one nephew, Rudolf Muffler of Switzerland.

He was predeceased by one son, Paul in infancy and one sister, Mrs. Gertrude Muffler.

Friends and relatives may call at the Mark Jutzi Funeral Home, 291 Huron St., Ne Hamburg, after 7 pm this evening and until Wednesday, Feb. 27, 1985, at noon, when transfer will be made to Zion Lutheran Church, Philipsburg, for service at 2 pm, with rev. D. Kranz officiating. Interment in the church cemetery.1a

1aKitchener-Waterloo Record 25 Feb 1985 pg D11 
John Jacob Ehrat
 
9536 EHRHARDT, Edward L.

Of St. Luke's Place, Cambridge, on Tuesday, June 29, 1999, at Cambridge Memorial Hospital, in his 78th year. Beloved husband of Lillian Russ: dear father of Rev. Lawrmce Ehrhardt and his wife Sharon of Petawawa, Linda Ehrhardt and Janice Chapple and her husband Bruce, all of Cambridge and Karen Ocelak of K itchener. Lovingly remembered by nine grandchildren and three great-grandchildren. Survived by one brother, Carl of Cambridge and one sister, Helen Reidt of Guelph. Predeceased by his parents, George and Laura Ehrhardt: one sister, Nelda Klein and two grandchildren. Mr. Ehrhardt was born in Waterloo township and has been a lifelong resident of the Cambridge area. He was a member of St. James Lutheran Church, a retired inspector for the Ministry of Transportation, a member of the Preston Masonic Lodge No. 297, a Skipper of the former 1st Hespeler Rover Scouts Crew, a Veteran of the Second World War, serving overseas with the Royal Canadian Army Medical Corp. and served with the police force in Ontario, for over 30 years. The family received friends at the Barthel Funeral Home, 566 Queenston Rd., Cambridge on Thursday, from 7-9 p.m. and again today (Friday) from 2-4 and 7-9 p.m. The funeral service will be held at St. James Lutheran Church, 96 Queen St. E., Cambridge (Hespeler) on Saturday, July 3, 1999, at 1:30 p.m., with Rev. Andrew Paulsen officiating. Interment in Park Lawn Cemetery, Cambridge.

The Record 2 Jul 1999 pg B4 
Edward L. Ehrhardt
 
9537 EHRHARDT, GEORGE WILLIAM
Well known Hespeler and district resident, suddenly, at the South Waterloo Memorial Hospital in Galt, on Sunday evening October 14, 1962, of 69 Hungerford Rd. in Hespeler, in his 78th year. Husband of the late Edith Grill (1915) and the late Laura Gremm (1954). Father of Carl of Hespeler, Edward of Preston; Nelda (Mrs. Ernest Klein) of Hespeler; and Mrs. Helen Reidt of Waterloo. Brother of Harry of R. R. #1, Hespeler. Predeceased by two brothers and two sisters. Born in Guelph Township, he was the son of the late William Ehrhardt and Sophia Hefkey. A retired farmer, Mr. Erhardt had lived in Hespeler since 1947 and previously resided at R. R. #3, Galt in Waterloo Township. He was a valued and honoured member of St. James' Lutheran Church in Hespeler, served on the church boards and was a lay delegate to the synod. Stager Nelson Funeral Home, 23 Galt St. in Hespeler. Funeral at St. James Lutheran Church on Wednesday at 2, conducted by Rev. David Kaiser. Interment Hespeler Cemetery. A special memorial service for family and friends was held at the church at 9: 30 p. m. on Tuesday. 
George Ehrhardt
 
9538 LUDWIG, Elizabeth G. (nee Eich) -Passed away, at K-W Health Centre of Grand River Hospital, on Thursday, March 8, 2001, at the age of 87. Wife of the late Clarence Anthony Joseph Ludwig. Dear mother of Ron Ludwig and his wife Paula and Paul Ludwig and his wife Louise, all of Kitchener and Liz Kittel and her husband Raymond of Waterloo; cherished grandmother of Tammy and Shelley Kittel, Andrea and husband Jeff Wilson, Jason Ludwig and Kimberley and husband Harold Kump; great-grandmother of Laura and Ryan Kump and Kyle and Jessica Wilson. Predeceased by her parents, George Eich and Margaret (nee Stever); her brother, Weldon Pommer and sister, Frieda Bowman. Elizabeth was a member of St. Louis RC Parish in Waterloo and was active with the Adult Recreation Centre in Waterloo. Mrs. Ludwig's family will receive friends at the Edward R. Good Funeral Home, 171 King St. S., Waterloo today (Saturday) from 7-9 p.m. and Sunday from 2-4 and 7-9 p.m. The funeral service will take place at 10 a.m. on Monday, March 12, 2001 in the funeral home chapel, followed by a time of fellowship in the funeral home Reception Room. Interment in Parkview Cemetery, Waterloo. As expressions of sympathy, donations to the Arthritis Society or Canadian Cancer Society would be appreciated.1a

1aThe Record newspaper 9 Mar 2001 
Elizabeth Geogina Eich
 
9539 The News Record Apr 17, 1917
Sudden Death of Mrs. Samuel Lindner. There passed from life to death this morning Mrs. Lindner wife of Mr Samuel Lindner of 63 Wilhelm street. Mrs. Lindner had not been sick [--] last evening she was out visiting a sick neighbor and returned about ten o'clock. As she was undressing to retire she suffered a paralytic stroke followed by a hemorrhage in the head. A physician was called at once but she only lived until six o'clock this morning and was unconscious from the time the attack came. Mrs. Lindner was about 47 years of age and leaves a sorrowing husband and nine children to mourn her sudden death. She was born in Millbank on 27th August 1870 and thus was 46 years 7 months and 2 days old. Her maiden name was Maria Eich. Mrs. Lindner was a member of the English Lutheran church. Her funeral will be held on Thursday afternoon at 2 o'clock. The sympathy of all who knew her will be extended to the bereaved family. 
Maria Eich
 
9540 Tombstone Reads. Carl August Emil "Emil" Eicheldinger
 
9541 Clement Eicheldinger

PRESTON — Clement Eicheldinger, 51, formerly of Preston and late of Welland, died of a heart seizure in Montreal, yesterday while on vacation. Born in Preston, Mr. Eicheldinger moved to Welland several years ago where he was employed as an inspector in an electrical manufacturing company. An affiliated Roman Catholic with membership in a Welland church. He was a member of the Holy Name Society and a third and fourth degree Knight of Columbus. He is survived by his wife Nancy and one sister, Mrs. William (Rita) Ryerson of Detroit. The body will be at Maurice O'Brien Funeral Home here, from Friday noon until 8:30 a.m. Saturday, when removal will be made to St. Clement's RC Church for requiem mass at 9 a.m. Burial will be in St. Clement's Cemetery.

Kitchener-Waterloo Record 9 Aug 1962 pg 19 
Clement Grant Eicheldinger
 
9542 Lived with Peter Boesinger. Larry Eicher
 
9543 DIED OF WOUNDS

Sergt. Ben W. Eichler Passes on August 29 Due to Wounds Received In Action

Mr. and Mrs. Julius Eichler received the sad news from the Records Department, Ottawa, on Saturday that their son Sergt. Benjamin William Eichler was officially reported to have died August 29 as the result of toxaemia due to wounds received. action in France, August 14th.

Coming so soon after the news of the death of Segt. Wilfred Hedley, a cousin of Sergt. Eichler, the shock was felt more keenly..

Sergt. Eichler received stomach wounds in action in France on August 14, but it thought his condition was improving due to a letter received last week from the padre of his unit pointing out that Ben would be a to write personally in a few days.

Ben was born in Ayr on March 17, 1920. and was 24 year of age. He attended Ayr Public and Continuation Schools. His favourite sports were hockey and softball and he also indulged in skiing. He was an active member of Knox United Church and Sunday School.

Prior to enlisting with the Highland Light Infantry of Canada in June, 1940, he was employed with the Reid Lumber Coal Co.

Besides his parents Mr. and Mrs. J. Eichler, he is survived by three sisters and one brother as follows: Mrs Archie Mathison, Aylmer; Mrs. Arthur Smith, Toronto, (whose husband is serving with the C.A.M.C.); Mrs. Hugh Clark, Ayr (whose husband is in with the R.C.O.C.), and Jack Eichler, Camp Borden.

The Ayr News Sep 7 1944 pg 1 
Sgt. Benjamin William "Ben" Eichler
 
9544 Lived with Michael Eichler. Christian Eichler
 
9545 Listed in 1852 census of Wilmot as residing in America Daniel Eichler
 
9546 Acquired in 1854 it remained in family hands from 1854 to at least 1975. Owners: Michael Eichler 1854, Julius Eichler 1885, Thalma Eicher 1920, Stanley A. Wagner 1947 Julius Eichler
 
9547 FOE, Mary Josephine

Of 554 Dolph St. N., Cambridge, on Sunday, Sept. 9, 1979, at the Cambridge Memorial Hospital, in her 62nd year. Mary Josephine Eichler. Beloved wife of Howard Foe; dear mother of Norman of Mission, B.C., John of Cambridge. Linda (Mrs. Wayne Duggan) and Beverley, both of Cambridge. Predeceased by one son Russell and a daughter Marilyn. Survived by four brothers, Roland of Mississauga, Albert of Wasaga, Calvin of Waterloo and James of Kitchener, and four sisters, Sarah (Mrs. Alfred Cavey) of New Hamburg, Martha (Mrs. Fred Wilts) of Stratford, Mabel (Mrs. Victor Nablo) and June (Mrs. Neil Garland) of Kitchener. Predeceased by two brothers and one sister. Survived by seven grandchildren. Mrs. Foe was born in New Hamburg and had been a resident of Cambridge since 1940. A member of St. Peter's Lutheran Church. Resting at the Barthel-Stager Funeral Home, 566 Queenston Rd., Cambridge, for funeral and committal services, Wednesday, at 2 p.m. Interment in Park Lawn cemetery.

Kitchener-Waterloo Record 10 Sep 1979 pg 29 
Mary Josephine Eichler
 
9548 Acquired in 1854 it remained in family hands from 1854 to at least 1975. Owners: Michael Eichler 1854, Julius Eichler 1885, Thalma Eicher 1920, Stanley A. Wagner 1947 Michael Eichler
 
9549 Acquired in 1854 it remained in family hands from 1854 to at least 1975. Owners: Michael Eichler 1854, Julius Eichler 1885, Thalma Eicher 1920, Stanley A. Wagner 1947 Thalma Eichler
 
9550 EICHHOLZ - ARNO JACOB

At the K-W Hospital, on Tuesday, July 24, 1973, Arno Eichholz, age 79, of 45 Alexandra Ave., after a lengthy illness; born in Carrick township, retired from Carling Breweries in 1959; member of St. John's Lutheran Church and a veteran of the First World War. Son of the late Mr. And Mrs. Adam Eichholz; father of Arno Jr., Waterloo; Mrs. Lloyd (Erna) Cassidy of Waterloo, Mrs. Edna Bridgeford of Waterloo, Mrs. Andrew (Vera) Gilmour of Toronto, Florence and Frieda at home; brother of Emanuel of Niagara Falls, N.Y., John of Kitchener, Henry and David of Waterloo, Mrs. Saloma Hill of Clifford and Mrs. Ernest (Martha) Hill of Hanover Predeceased by his wife Elsie Meisner in 1963, also by one brother; survived also by 13 grandchildren and two great-grandchildren. Resting at the Edward R. Good Funeral Home, 171 King St. S., Waterloo, after 7 p.m. on Tuesday, until noon on Thursday when removal will be made to St. John's Lutheran Church for the service at 2 p.m., Pastor A. L. Conrad officiating. Interment Waterloo Mount Hope cemetery. Donations to St. John's Lutheran Church building fund or Canadian Cancer Society would be appreciated as expressions of sympathy.1a

1aThe Kitchener-Waterloo Record 25 Jul 1973 
Arno Jacob Eicholz
 
9551 EICHHOLZ, FLORENCE

At the K-W Hospital, on Oct. 12, 1974, Florence Eichholz, age 48, of 49 William St. West, Waterloo, she lived in Waterloo all her life and was a chartered member of Mount Zion Lutheran Church, Waterloo. She was a daughter of the late Mr. and Mrs. Arno Eichholz. Sister of Arno, Mrs. Lloyd (Erna) Cassidy, Mrs. Edna Bridgeford, Miss Frieda Eichholz, all of Waterloo, and Mrs. Andrew (Vera) Gilmour of Beverly Hills, California. Also survived by 13 nieces and nephews and three great-nephews. Resting at the Edward R. Good Funeral Home, 171 King St. S., Waterloo after noon on Sunday til 11 a.m. on Tuesday, thence to Mount Zion Lutheran Church for service at 1 p.m., Rev. Norman Lange officiating. Interment Waterloo Mount Hope Cemetery. Donations to Mount Hope Lutheran Building Fund, or the Canadian Cancer Society, will be accepted as expressions of sympathy.1a

1aThe Kitchener-Waterloo Record 13 Oct 1974 
Florence Eicholz
 
9552 NEW HAMBURG - March 1, 1953 - Mrs. E.D. Eidt died early this morning at her home on Peel St., at the age of 73 years. She suffered a paralytic stroke February 17 from which she failed to rally. Mrs. Eidt was born at Philipsburg, May 18, 1871. Following her marriage she and her husband operated the Philipsburg store. They retired eight months ago and moved to New Hamburg. She was a member of the Evangelical Church. Surviving are her husband, one son Sydney, at home; and two daughters [should read sisters], Mrs. John Hahn, Baden, and Mrs. M. J. Thiel, London, Ontario. One daughter, Vera, died 11 years ago. The funeral will be held Saturday afternoon with service at the residence on Peel St., at 2 o'clock, followed by service at Zion Evangelical Church. Interment will be made in Oetzels Cemetery, North Easthope. Rev. Clayton Becker, pastor of the New Hamburg Evangelical Church will conduct the services, assisted by Rev. W.H. Campbell of Oetzels Church. The remains will rest at Becker's Funeral Parlor until tomorrow afternoon when removal will be made to the residence.1a

1aKitchener-Waterloo Record 1 Mar 1953 
Caroline Eidt
 
9553 It is reported that Conrad is buried in Zion Lutheran Church Cem. Philipsburg, Ontario, no documentation. Conrad Eidt
 
9554 EIDT, Earl Edwin - On Monday, Nov. 19, 1990, at St. Mary's Hospital, Kitchener, Earl Eidt, of RR 1, New Hamburg. He was born in Wilmot township, 70 years ago and was a son of the late Alvin Eidt and the former Mary Ann Eydt. He was a very active member of Lisbon United Church. He was a member and former President of the Stratford Agricultural Society. Beloved husband of the former Kathryn Lantz; loving father of Paul and his wife Betty Ann of RR 1, Gads Hill, Ken and his wife Pat of RR 1, New Hamburg, Bruce at home and Yvonne and her husband Larry Pletsch of RR 4, Stratford. Sadly missed by seven grandchildren, Leanne, Stephanie, Matthew, Sherri-Lynn, Gary, Jason and Cherise. Dear brother of Delton of RR 2, Baden and Mrs. Erna Mohr of RR 4, Stratford. He was predeceased by two sisters, Mrs. Hazel Doering and Mrs. Ila Buck. Friends and relatives may call at the Mark Jutzi Funeral Home, 291 Huron St., New Hamburg, after 7 p.m. today (Tuesday) and until Thursday at noon, when transfer will be made to Lisbon United Church for the service at 2 p.m. with Rev. T.E. Dahms, Rev. D. Irwin and Rev. P. Ashwin officiating. Interment to follow in the church cemetery.1a

1aThe Kitchener-Waterloo Record 20 Nov 1990 
Earl Edwin Eidt
 
9555 Edwin D. Eidt, well known and esteemed resident of New Hamburg, passed away suddenly at his home on Peel Street last Friday morning at the advanced age of 87 years. Mr. Eidt was born at Philipsburg, a son of the late Mr. And Mrs. John L. Eidt. He spent the greater part of his life at Philipsburg, where he taught school for 22 years and also owned the village store and was postmaster. He was a commissioner of the Wilmot Township municipal telephone system for 23 years. For 52 years he was choir leader at Oetzels Church. In 1892 he married the former Caroline Eidt, who died in 1945. He retired to New Hamburg in 1944 and was a member of Evangelical-United Brethren Church. One son, Sydney, at home survives. A daughter, Vera, died in 1934. He was also predeceased by two brothers and one sister. The funeral was held on Sunday afternoon with service at Zion Evangelical-United Brethren Church, conducted but the minister, Rev. M.E. Reuber, and interment was in Oetzels Cemetery, North Easthope. Edwin D. Eidt
 
9556 A-1-44 George Eidt: Administration with Will annexed to the Estate of George Eidt, formerly of the Township of Wilmot, deceased, granted to his widow Anna Maria, now intermarried with Lawrence Koenig, of the same place, Yeoman; after her having delivered written permission of such her resent husband to administer; And such Administration granted on her giving proof that the said George Eidt is dead, and having died on or about the 6th September 1851 and the hereinafter transcribed translation - and such translation duly testified - of the last will of the said deceased showing itself incompletely, there being no Executors to it. And the said administratrix giving Bond with two sureties, viz, her aforesaid present husband Lawrence Koenig and Andrew Reiber of said Wilmot, Farmer, namely the said Koenig into the sum of £25/- and the said Reiber into the sum of £12/10/-, for her due Administration of the said Estate. The inventory stated to be and to amount of but Ten Pounds. And the said Translation of the Will of the said Deceased - written in the original in the German language, reads as follows, that is to say:-

"I the Subscriber, in case I shall died, do hereby make known my last Will. All property, the Real property as well as my other Goods, shall after my death belong to my wife a born Ann Maria Victor. In all cases, even if she doth intermarry again, she shall retain unalterably all the property. Done Wilmot the 6th September 1851"

Witnessed by V. Schmidt and Jost Gunther
Will dated 6 September 18511a

1aSurrogate Court Records Copybook Register A 1853-1871 transcript to 1863. Frances Hoffman transcriber.  
George Eidt
 
9557 Philipsburg - An extraordinary and very sudden fatality occurred on Saturday afternoon, April 4th, when Idella, the only daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Wm. Eidt, was on her any home from the village store. She was accompanied by one of her cousins, and had in her mouth a small wooden tube with a rubber attachment which accidently lodged in her larynx, and before assistance arrived, life was extinct. Idella was of a cheerful disposition and will be greatly missed by her school mates and friends. She was eleven years old, less ten days, and a gloom is cast over the whole community by such an untimely death. The funeral took place on Wednesday afternoon at 2 o'clock p.m. from her late residence to Oelzel's cemetery.1a

1aWellesley Maple Leaf, April 9, 1908

Obituary is supplied by the Wellesley Township Heritage and Historical Society Click here to go to their website. 
Idella Christina Eidt
 
9558 John is reportedly born in Hatterode, Hessen, Germany, documentation needed Johannes "John" Eidt
 
9559 Crash Injuries claim life of Hanover man

LONDON - A 66 year old Hanover man has died of injuries received in a two car crash Sept. 16, near Walkerton., Stuart W. Eidt, driver of one of the cars, died Thursday at Victoria Hospital here. The accident at Bruce County Roads 3 and 15 about 15 kilometres north of Walkerton, also claimed the life of Susan Bell, 31, of Paisley, who was in the other car. Eidt is survived by two sons, a daughter, one sister and two brothers. The funeral service will be conducted at 11 a.m. Saturday at the Westmount Funeral Chapel in Kitchener.1a

1aThe Kitchener-Waterloo Record 6 Oct 1989 
Stuart William Eidt
 
9560 Worked for Nicholas Schinbein. John Eiler
 
9561 MISS LAURA EILER

PRESTON, Dec. 19— The death occurred on Sunday, following a brief illness, of Laura Eiler at the home of her nephew, Percy Candler, Fountain street, Preston. The late Miss Eiler, who was 78 years of age, was born in Shakespeare and had resided in Kitchener for many years before coming to Preston, six years ago. The deceased was of Christian Science faith. Surviving are one brother, Adam Eiler of Welland and two sisters, Mrs. Henry Krahling of Niagara Falls and Mrs. George Capling of Shakespeare.The remains are at the H. K. Stager, Funeral Home, 308 Dover street, from where service will take place on Tuesday afternoon at 2 o'clock. Interment will be in the Preston cemetery.

Kitchener Daily Record 19 Dec 1938 pg 15 
Laura Eiler
 
9562 On the 6th inst., at Wilmot, Magdalena, beloved wife of Jacob B. Roth, aged 36 years and 3 months.

New Hamburg Independent 10 Jun 1892 pg 3 
Magdalena Eiman
 
9563 Earl Einwechter, director of New Dundee's Little German Band, was one of that Village's most colourful citizens of the past century. A lifelong resident of the area, he and his twin brother Emmerson were born on a farm, the first of two sets of twins in a family of seven sons. Einwechter was one of the early cream haulers for the New Dundee Creamery beginning in 1922, often rising at 3:30 a.m. in the winter to start his long route to Galt with a team of horses and sleigh. He also owned and operated the New Dundee Hotel from 1954 to 1957.

He was the leader of the Little German Band from 1948 to the late 1980s. At the band's first performance in 1947, he pulled a live piglet from his horn, much to the amusement of the audience. He directed the band "with dignity" in black top hat, tails, flippers, and a dish mop for his baton. The band played for family reunions, fall fairs, nursing homes, conventions, the Preston Old Boys' Reunion, at Oktoberfest, and in many Santa Claus parades in Kitchener and New Hamburg. When he was no longer able to walk a great distance in parades, he directed the band from a float or truck. He was awarded a life membership in the Musicians Union, after the band's twenty-five year affiliation with Local 226 in Kitchener.

On his 93rd birthday, five members of the original band of eight came to his home to play several selections, while he directed. Earl Einwechter passed away January 7, 1998 in his 96th year. His wife of seventy years, the former Ella Scheel, died a few months later. Bringing smiles to the faces of young and old for forty-six years was Earl's gift to Waterloo County.1a

1aWaterloo Region Hall of Fame
 
Earl George Einwechter
 
9564 Mrs. Henrietta Goettling - By Record Correspondent - New Dundee - Mrs. Henrietta Goettling, 81, of New Dundee, died Tuesday at Likeholme Lodge, St. Jacobs, after a lengthy illness. Born June 9, 1880, in New Dundee, she was a daughter of the late Mr. and Mrs. Henry Einwechter. She was a member of St. James' Lutheran Church, New Dundee. Her husband, William Goettling died Feb. 25, 1958. Surviving are three sons, Lloyd and Henry of New Dundee and Nelson of Lindbergh, Alta., two daughters, Mrs. Max (Edna) Bogusat of Virgil and Mrs. Alvin (Lydia) Duench of Waterloo; one sister, Mrs. Emma Becker of Kitchener, 10 grandchildren. She was predeceased by one sister and three brothers. The body will be at the Ratz-Bechtel Funeral Home, Kitchener, until Saturday at 10 am when removal will be made to St. James' Church, New Dundee. Friends may pay their respects at the church until the service at 3 pm. Seminarian Walter E. Ludwig will officiate. Burial will be in Union Cemetery, New Dundee.

Unidentified Newspaper Obituary 
Henrietta Einwechter
 
9565 CAROLINE L., EISENBACH

PRESTON, Nov. 3 — Ailing six months but seriously ill only one week, Carolina Louisa Eisenbach, daughter of the late Mr. and Mrs. John Eisenbach, died last night at the home of her brother-in-law and sister, Mr. and Mrs. John Ludwig, R.R. 1, Preston. Born in Winterbourne where she lived for 40 years, Miss Eisenbseh had resided in Kitchener for 18 years prior to living with Mr. and Mrs. Ludwig for the past six months. She was a member of St. Clement's R.C. Church, Preston. Surviving are two brothers, Joseph Eisenbach of Sarnia and John Eisenbach of Preston and three sisters, Mrs. Susan Wadel of Kitchener, Mrs. Ludwig, Preston and Mrs. Isabel Scherer of Harbourg Springs,Mich. Remains are resting at the Stager-Pass Ltd. Funeral Home, Preston, until Wednesday at 9 a.m., when they will be removed to St. Clement's Church for service at 8:30. Burial will be in Preston R.C. Cemetery.

Kitchener Daily Record 5 Nov 1945 pg 15 
Caroline Louise Eisenbach
 
9566 MISS CLARA E. EISENBACH There passed away early Wednesday morning at the home of her sister, Mrs. H. Felpush, Elmira. Miss Clara E. Eisenbach, who was in her 52nd year. Deceased was born in Woolwich Twp. and had lived in Elmira for the past eight years. Surviving are two sisters, Mrs. H. Felpush of Elmira and Mrs. M. Morrison of Detroit; also five brothers, Jacob and Conrad of Brantford; Henry and Leo of Elmira; William, near Elmira. The funeral will be held Saturday afternoon at 2 o'clock from the home of her sister, Mrs. Felpush, 33 Queen Street to St. Paul's Lutheran Church for service. Interment will be made in Elmira cemetery. The remains will rest at the Dreisinger Funeral Chapel until Friday afternoon, when they will be removed to Queen Street. Rev. F. Malinsky will officiate at the services.1a

1aThe Elmira Signet 18 Mar 1943 
Clara Elizabeth Eisenbach
 
9567 Arrived on the ship Von Stein

CONRAD EISENBACH 9 Origin HESSEN DARMSTADT Destination CANADA
ELISE EISENBACH 9 F Origin HESSEN DARMSTADT Destination CANADA
GEORG EISENBACH 22 M Origin HESSEN DARMSTADT Destination CANADA
HEINRICH EISENBACH 53 M Occupation WEAVER Origina HESSEN DARMSTADT Destination CANADA
MARIE EISENBACH 54 F Origina HESSEN DARMSTADT, Destination CANADA 
Conrad Eisenbach
 
9568 Arrived on the ship Von Stein

CONRAD EISENBACH 9 Origin HESSEN DARMSTADT Destination CANADA
ELISE EISENBACH 9 F Origin HESSEN DARMSTADT Destination CANADA
GEORG EISENBACH 22 M Origin HESSEN DARMSTADT Destination CANADA
HEINRICH EISENBACH 53 M Occupation WEAVER Origina HESSEN DARMSTADT Destination CANADA
MARIE EISENBACH 54 F Origina HESSEN DARMSTADT, Destination CANADA 
Elizabeth Eisenbach
 
9569 Arrived on the ship Von Stein

CONRAD EISENBACH 9 Origin HESSEN DARMSTADT Destination CANADA
ELISE EISENBACH 9 F Origin HESSEN DARMSTADT Destination CANADA
GEORG EISENBACH 22 M Origin HESSEN DARMSTADT Destination CANADA
HEINRICH EISENBACH 53 M Occupation WEAVER Origina HESSEN DARMSTADT Destination CANADA
MARIE EISENBACH 54 F Origina HESSEN DARMSTADT, Destination CANADA 
George Johann Eisenbach
 
9570 YOUNG CHILD CALLED EARLY FOUR-YEAR-OLD LAD DIES QUITE UNEXPECTEDLY LAST FRIDAY

Universal sympathy goes out to Mr. and Mrs. Jacob Eisenbach in the loss of their only child, a bright little boy of fours years of age, who passed away in the early hours of Friday morning. The cause of death is somewhat mysterious. He had been sick with a bad throat several weeks ago and it is thought that the poison went through his system and weakened his heart so that it could not withstand an attack of convulsions.

The little lad passed away before the doctor arrived on the scene. The funeral took place on Christmas Day to St. Paul's church for service and thence to the Union Cemetery for burial. A large number of relatives and friends showed their sympathy by attendance at the funeral.1a

1aElmira Signet 27 Dec 1923  
Harold Arthur Eisenbach
 
9571 Arrived on the ship Von Stein

CONRAD EISENBACH 9 Origin HESSEN DARMSTADT Destination CANADA
ELISE EISENBACH 9 F Origin HESSEN DARMSTADT Destination CANADA
GEORG EISENBACH 22 M Origin HESSEN DARMSTADT Destination CANADA
HEINRICH EISENBACH 53 M Occupation WEAVER Origina HESSEN DARMSTADT Destination CANADA
MARIE EISENBACH 54 F Origina HESSEN DARMSTADT, Destination CANADA 
Heinrich "Henry" Eisenbach
 
9572 MRS. SCHARER'S DEATH

We have this week to chronicle the very sudden death of Mrs. Xavier Scharer, which occurred on Sunday afternoon. On Saturday, about 11 a.m. her grandson Mr. A. Scharer, called at the house and left her seemingly as well as usual. Shortly afterwards her husband entering the house found her lying on the floor unconscious. A doctor was at once called but nothing could be done for her, and she never regained consciousness.
Deceased was born in Woolwich township in 1842 and was married to her now bereaved husband about 47 years ago. They lived on a farm in Pool[?] township for about 25 years, and for the last Eight[sic] they have lived in Elmira.

Their marriage was blessed with nine children, of whom the following eight survive: - Martin, in Elmira; Theresa (Mrs. McQuarry), Duntroon, Ont.; Mary (Mrs. Everist) Toronto; John, Egremont township; Annie (Mrs. Reuben Cauman), Corbetton, Ont.; George, Eramosa, Maggie (Mrs. Borge)[?], Garafraxa township; Caroline, late of Preston, now at home. Three sisters and a brother also survive the deceased namely: Mrs. Koerber and Mrs. M. Ludwig, Elmira; Mrs. Nicholas Gies, Berlin; John Eisenbach, Kossuth. The funeral will be held this (Wednesday) forenoon at 9 a.m. to the Catholic church for service and thence to the R.C. Cemetery for burial. The bereaved family have the sympathy of the community in their sudden bereavement.1a

1aElmira Advertiser 9 Dec 1908 
Margaret Eisenbach
 
9573 Tombstone Reads. Mary Rebecca Eisenbach
 
9574 Reta C. Eisenbach_Searth B-Sep 6 1921 Ontario Dies Sep 3 2012 Kitchener

SEARTH, Reta C. (nee Eisenbach) Passed away peacefully, after a lengthy illness, at the A.R. Goudie Eventide Home on Monday, September 3, 2012 at the age of 90 years. Beloved wife of the late Fred Searth (1982). Loving mother of Sharon (Les) Edwards and Lyle Searth. Cherished grandmother of Jared Edwards. Dear sister of the late Earl Eisenbach (1986) and Ruth C. Martin (2011). Reta's family will receive relatives and friends from 2-4 and 7-9 p.m. on Friday, September 7, 2012 at Henry Walser Funeral Home, 507 Frederick St., Kitchener, 519-749-8467. Funeral services will be conducted at 11 a.m. on Saturday, September 8, 2012 in the funeral home chapel. Interment at St. Peter's Lutheran Cemetery, followed by a reception at the funeral home. As expressions of sympathy, donations to the Crohn's & Colitis Foundation of Canada (Kitchener) or the Canadian Bible Society would be appreciated (cards available at the funeral home). Visit www.henrywalser.com for Reta's memorial.

The Record Sep 6 2012 
Reta C. Eisenbach
 
9575 MARTIN, Ruth C. Passed away peacefully on Tuesday, December 20, 2011 at St. Mary's Hospital. Ruth (Eisenbach) Martin, age 84 years, of Elmira. Beloved wife of the late Harold R. Martin (2004). Dear mother of Reg and Pam Martin of Wiarton, Laurie Grundy of Elmira, and Steven Martin of Costa Rica. Lovingly remembered by her nine grandchildren, six great-grand-children and a sister Rita Searth. Predeceased by her parents Henry and Alma (Schmermund) Eisenbach, her son-in-law Joe Grundy (2000), her daughter-in-law Louise Martin (2010) and a brother Earl Eisenbach (1986). At Ruth's request, cremation has taken place. There will be no funeral home visitation. A memorial service for family and friends will be held in the chapel at the Dreisinger Funeral Home , Elmira on Wednesday, December 28, 2011 at 11 a.m. In her memory, donations to St. Mary's Hospital Cardiac Care or Grand River Regional Cancer Centre would be appreciated as expressions of sympathy. www.dreisingerfuneralhome.com Ruth Catherine Eisenbach
 
9576 1851 - Lennard Eisenhauer is in same household as Michael Eisenhauer. Leonhardt Eisenhauer
 
9577 EISENMENGER, Anthony (Tony)

Of 74 King St. E . Linwood, died Tuesday, July 20, at St. Mary's Hospital Kitchener. Was born in Linwood 69 years ago, son of the late Mr. and Mrs. Gustav Eisenmenger. A member of St. Mary's RC Church, Linwood; also a member of the Holy Name Society. He farmed at Linwood, retiring about 15 years ago. Beloved husband of Margaret Biesinger; dear father of Melvin and Francis, both of Waterloo, Russel of Kitchener. Helen (Mrs. Kenneth Schnarr) of Petersburg, Gladys (Mrs. John Beacom) of Linwood and Rita (Mrs. Laverne Mac-Intosh) of Drayton; brother of Pius and Louis, both of Kitchener and Philomina (Mrs. Henry Karley) of Linwood: also survived by 25 grandchildren and three great-grandchildren. Was predeceased by four brothers. Friends called at the Futher Bros. Funeral Home, Wellesley. Prayers were offered at the funeral home Thursday, July 22 at 9 o’clock, followed by funeral mass at St. Mary's RC Church, Linwood at 10 a.m. Interment followed in St. Clements RC cemetery. Rev. John Stapleton officiated. The parish rosary was recited at the funeral home, Wednesday at 8 p m.

Kitchener-Waterloo Record 20 Jul 1976 pg 33 
Anthony "Tony" Eisenmenger
 
9578 BEACOM, Gladys M.

Peacefully, on Thursday, May 6. 2004, at K-W Health Centre of the Grand River Hospital, Gladys Marion Beacom, of Linwood. Gladys was born in Linwood 67 years ago. Daughter of the late Anthony Eisenmenger and the late Margaret Biesinger. Beloved wife of John Wesley Beacom whom she married Dec. 20. 1968. Dear mother of Rick Beacom and his friend Jules Huehn of Hesson, Kim and his wife Gwen Beacons of Linwood and Wayne Eisenmenger of Listowel. Mother-in-law of Jim Schultz of Wellesley: sister and sister-in-law of Russel and Gladys Eisenmenger of Kitchener, Francis and Marilyn Eisenmenger of Kitchener, Helen and Kenneth Schnarr of Brantford and Rita and Laverne McIntosh of Drayton. Also sister-in-law of Marlene Eisenmenger of Goderich. Cherished grandma of Melanie, Amanda, Tiffany, Brittany, Ashley, Chad, Ben and Candice; great-grandma of Hannah. Predeceased by a daughter, Vicky Schultz, Oct. 23. 2003; by one brother, Mel Eisenmenger. 2000 and by one grandson, Anthony. A private family service will be held on Saturday, May 8th, 2004, at the Futher Bros. Funeral Home. 1172 Henry St., in Wellesley. Father Peter Tuyen Nygen will officiate. Burial will be in St. Clement RC Cemetery.

The Record 7 May 2004 pg B9 
Gladys Marion Eisenmenger
 
9579 SCHNARR, Helen

Peacefully, surrounded by her family, on October 1, 2012, at the Brantford General Hospital, in her 77th year. Beloved wife of Ken. Loving mother of the Late Terry, Ron, Cathy (the Late Peter) Glynn, Lynn, Linda (Paul) Whetter, Karen (Brad) Gingerich, Tawnya (Mario) Brum, Ron Jr. (Michelle). Deeply missed by many grandchildren and great-grandchildren. She will be forever in our hearts. The family will receive friends at the "THORPE BROTHERS' FUNERAL HOME & CHAPEL", 96 West Street, on Friday, October 5, 2012 from 12 p.m. - 2 p.m., with a Funeral Service being held in the chapel at 2 p.m. Interment Mount Hope Cemetery. As expressions of sympathy, donations to the Sick Kids Foundation would be appreciated by the family. Online condolence may be made at www.thorpebrothersfh.com

Waterloo Region Record 4 Oct 2012 
Helen Eisenmenger
 
9580 EISENMENGER, Mel

Died suddenly, as the result of a heart attack, in Zephyrhills, Florida, on Tuesday, November 7, 2000. age 68 years. Mel was a resident of Conestogo Lake and formerly lived in Waterloo. Dear husband of Marlene Eisenmenger: loving father to Brad Eisenmenger and his wife Lisa of Bamberg and Jodi and her husband Brian McMahon of Arthur. He is fondly remembered by his grandchildren, Jasmine, Christopher and Nicole. Brother of Russel Eisenmenger and his wife Gladys, Francis Eisenmenger and his wife Marilyn of Kitchener, Helen and her husband Kenneth Schnarr of Brantford, Gladys and her husband Wes Beacom of Linwood and Rita and her husband Laverne McIntosh of Drayton. Predeceased by his parents, Margaret Biesinger and Anthony Eisenmenger. He was retired from Labatt's Breweries, where he had worked for 45 years. Mel's family will receive friends at the Edward R. Good Funeral Home, 171 King St. S. in Waterloo from 7-9 p.m. Saturday and 2-4 and 7.9 p.m. Sunday. Prayers will he said at the funeral home on Monday, November 20, 2000 at 9:30 a.m., followed by the funeral mass at St. Clements RC Church, in St. Clements at 10:30 a.m.. with Rev. Arthur Busch officiating. Interment to follow in St. Clements RC Cemetery. The parish prayer service will be held at the funeral home, on Sunday at 8:30 p.m.

The Record 10 Nov 2000 pg 11 
Melvin Joseph "Mel" Eisenmenger
 
9581 EISENMENGER, Russel A.

Passed away peacefully on Thursday, February 5, 2015 at Grand River Hospital, at the age of 81. Beloved husband of Gladys of 58 years. Cherished father of Edward (Marilyn), Deborah (Garry) Mitchell, Charmaine (Dave) Owen and Colleen (Ross) Peters. Dear grandfather of Ryan, Jennifer (Trevor) Ditner, Sara and Sean Peters. Loved brother of Frank (Marilyn) and Rita (Laverne) MacIntosh and predeceased by siblings Melvin, Gladys Beacom and Helen Schnurr. Russel's family will receive relatives and friends from 2 - 4 p.m. and 7 - 9 p.m. on Sunday, February 8, 2015 at the Henry Walser Funeral Home , 507 Frederick Street, Kitchener, 519-749-8467. Funeral services will be conducted at 1 p.m. on Monday in the funeral home chapel. Interment Memory Gardens followed by a reception at the funeral home. As expressions of sympathy, donations to the Heart & Stroke Foundation would be appreciated by the family (cards available at the funeral home). Visit www.henrywalser.com for Russel's memorial.

Waterloo Region Record 7 Feb 2015 
Russel Anthony Eisenmenger
 
9582 Mrs. John Rau of Linwood died August 27 at her home after a lengthy illness. She was 91. Born in Wellesley Township, she was the former Theresa Eisenmenger, a daughter of the late Mr. and Mrs. Jacob Eisenmenger. Until two years ago when she moved to Linwood, she had lived in Kitchener where she was a member of Sacred Heart RC Church. In Linwood she was a member of St. Mary's RC Church and the Catholic Women's League. Surviving are a son Cyril, Kitchener, two daughters, Mrs. Alvin Bauman of Kitchener, and Mrs. Joseph (Angelita) Runstedler of Linwood, eight grandchildren and eight great-grandchildren. She was predeceased by her husband in 1926, two sons, four daughters and five brothers. The body was at the Futher Brothers Funeral Home. Requiem high mass was held at St. Mary's RC Church. Burial in St. Clements RC cemetery. Rev. Roman Hinsperger officiated. Theresia Walburga "Theresa" Eisenmenger
 
9583 Wayne Eisenmenger

At Palmerston Hospital on Thursday, July 27, 2006, Mr. Wayne Micheal Eisenmenger of Listowel, in his 50th year. Beloved son of John Beacom of Linwood and the late Gladys (Eisenmenger) Beacom. Dear father of Melanie Brenner and Amanda Brenner, both of Waterloo. Grandfather of Hannah Brenner. Brother of Rick Beacom (Jules) of Elmira and Kim Beacom (Gwen) of Linwood, and the late Vickie Schultz. A private graveside service will be held at Linwood Union Cemetery on Tuesday, August 1st. Memorial donations to Canadian Cancer Society would be appreciated.

The Record 29 Jul 2006 pg B5 
Wayne Michael Eisenmenger
 
9584 It has been reported that Barbara was born in Sjettbach, Hess, Darnest, Germany, documentation needed. Elizabetha Barbara "Barbara" Eisinger
 
9585 EATON

At Galt Hospital, Friday, May 12, 1939, Mary Eitel, dearly beloved wife of W. Irvin Eaton and dear mother of Wilbur Eaton, in her 54th year. Funeral will be held from the residence, 128, Union street, Preston, on Monday, May 15, with a short private service at the home, at 2 pm., followed by services at St. Peter's Lutheran church at 2.30 o'clock, with Interment in Preston Cemetery, .

Kitchener Daily Record 13 May 1939 pg 17 
Emma Mary Eitel
 
9586 Frederick W. Eitel

PRESTON — Frederick William Eitel, 78, died Wednesday at his home, 1546 King St., Preston. He was a native of Preston, and spent most of his life in the furniture industry in Elmira, Kitchener, Buffalo and OriIlia. In later years he was manager of the Brewery Warehouse here. He retired about five years ago. Mr. Eitel was a member of St. Peter's Lutheran Church, the Masonic Lodge, and was an honorary member of Preston-Hespeler Rotary Club. He was an ardent sportsman. He was predeceand by his first wife, the former Elizabeth Moogk and his second wife, Lillian Swaisland. Surviving is a sister, Mrs. Cornelia McQueen of Galt The body is at the Stager Barthel Funeral Home where service will be conducted at 4 p.m Saturday by Rev. J. S. Dauphinee. Burial will be in Preston Cemetery.

Kitchener-Waterloo Record 22 Mar 1962 pg 5 
Frederick William "Fred" Eitel
 
9587 Designer George Eitel Dies at 55 - George Eitel, 55, well-known Canadian artist and furniture designer for Dominion Electro-home Industries Ltd. for the past 25 years, died suddenly today from a heart attack. Mr. Eitel was stricken while walking near his residence, 82 Filbert St. The artist, whose paintings have been shown in all major Canadian exhibitions for the unusual techniques and experiments in the field of water colors. His work has influenced that of other Canadian artists. Native of Preston Mr. Eitel's paintings are included in the permanent collection of the Toronto, Winnipeg and Montreal Art Galleries. He was also recognized as one of Canada's leading furniture designers. Stylings of Deilcraft furniture and Electro-home radio, television and high-fidelity cabinets are largely due to Mr. Eliel's creative abilities. He was born in Preston, a son of the late Mr. and Mrs. George Eitel. After receiving his education in Preston and Hamilton schools he became associated with a furniture factory in Kincardine. Later he was employed with a Toronto company and with the Electro-home firm in Elmira before coming to Kitchener. Married in 1932 Mr. Eitel was a member of Zion Evangelical Church. His marriage to the former Margaret Tuffin, who survives took place in Preston in 1932. Also surviving are one son, Donald, and one daughter, Gloria, both of Kitchener. One brother, Norman, predeceased him in 1942.

Unidentified Newspaper Obituary 
George Eitel
 
9588 Designer George Eitel Dies at 55

George Eitel, 55, well-known Canadian artist and a furniture designer for Dominion Electrohome Industries Ltd., for the past 25 years, died suddenly today from a heart attack. Mr. Eitel, was stricken while walking, near his residence, 82 Filbert St. The artist, whose paintings have been shown in all major Canadian exhibitions, for the unusual techniques and experiments in the field of water colours. His work has influenced that of other Canadian artists.

NATIVE OF PRESTON
Mr. Eitel's paintings are included in the permanent collections (of the Toronto, Winnipeg and Montreal) Art Galleries. He was also recognized as one of Canada's leading furniture designers, Stylings of Delicraft furniture and Electrohome radio, television and high-fidelity cabinets are largely due to Mr. Eitel's creative abilities. He was born in Preston, a son of the late Mr. and Mrs. George Eitel. After receiving his education in Preston and Hamilton schools, he became associated with a furniture factory at Kincardine. Later he was employed with a Toronto company and with the Electrohome firm in Elmira before coming to Kitchener.

MARRIED IN 1932
Mr. Eitel was a member of Zion Evangelical church. His marriage to the former Margaret Tuffin, who survives, took place in Preston in 1932. Also surviving are one son, Donald and one daughter (Anna ), both of Kitchener, one brother Norman, predeceased him in 1942.

Kitchener-Waterloo Record 8 Nov 1961 pg 7 
George Edwin Eitel
 
9589 GEORGE H. EITEL

PRESTON, April 9 — George Henry Eitel, a resident of this town practically all his life, died suddenly at his home here at nine o'clock this morning following a heart attack. He was in his 74th year. The deceased was born at Speedsville. He lived in Detroit approximately two years. Up until eight years ago he was employed with the Preston Furniture Company. Mr. Eitel was formerly a member of the 1.0.0.F. Surviving arc a son. George Edward Eitel of Kitchener, and a brother, Fred Eitel, of Galt. Also surviving are two grandchildren, Donald George Eitel and Gloria Ann Eitel, both of Kitchener. His wife predeceased him three years ago. He was also predeceased by a son and a sister. The remains are resting at the H. K. Stager Funeral Home, Preston. The funeral will be held Sunday afternoon at 2:30 p.m. from the funeral home with interment in Preston Cemetery .

Kitchener Daily Record 9 Apr 1943 pg 19 
George Henry Eitel
 
9590 MRS. WILLIAM KLEINSTRUEBER

PRESTON, Sep. 25 --- Illness of 2.5 months duration culminated in the death here yesterday of Mary Eitel, 77, wife of William Kleinstrueber. Deceased was born in Preston and had resided here practically all her life. A member of St. Peter's Lutheran church, she was also a member of the Ladies Aid Society of that church. Surviving are her husband, one daughter, Mrs. Charles Chittick, Preston, a granddaughter, two brothers, Fred Eitel, Galt and George Eitel, Preston. The remains are at the residence, 806 Queen street, where funersl service will be held on Sunday at 2.30. Interment will be in the Preston cemetery.

Kitchener Daily Record 25 Sep 1941 pg 15 
Mary Eitel
 
9591 NORMAN WILLIAM EITEL

PRESTON, Dec, 19 — A former well-known Preston resident for more than 20 years, Norman William Eitel, died at the Toronto General Hospital this morning following an operation two and a half weeks ago. In his 35th year, the deceased had resided and worked in Kitchener for the past eight years with the Dominion Electrohome as a radio technician and a tool maker. Born in Preston, the son of George Eitel and the late Mrs. Eitel, he was educated at the local public school and the Galt Collegiate. He was a former member of the local Young Britons. He attended the Kitchener Lutheran Church. Until he accepted the position with the Kitchener concern eight years ago, the late Mr, Eitel lived in Preston. Surviving is his wife, nee Valeria Knack, his father, George Eitel. and a brother, George E. Eitel of Kitchener. The remains will be brought to his home, 151 Elmer Street, Waterloo, Sunday at noon and will rest there until Tuesday morning at 10 o'clock when they will be taken to the H. K. Stager Funeral Home, Preston, from where funeral service will be held at 2:30 o'clock Tuesday afternoon, Interment will be in Preston Cemetery.

Kitchener Daily Record 19 Dec 1942 pg 15

EITEL-KNACK, Feb, 4, Norman William Eitel to Valerie Anna Knack, both of Preston.

Kitchener Daily Record 6 Feb 1939 pg 13
 
Norman William Eitel
 
9592 ELMIRA, May 11.-Mrs. Louis Beisel, nee Adeline Eix, age 87, died early this morning at her home in Elmira. She had been in failing health for several years. She was born near Hawkesville on the Eix homestead where she lived until her marriage to Louis Beisel in 1874. Following her marriage, she resided in Woolwich Township and later on the Beisel farm one mile west of Elmira until 16 years ago, when the family moved to Elmira. She was a lifelong member of the Lutheran Church. Her husband predeceased her four years ago. Surviving are four sons, William, Addison, Norman and Theodore of Elmira, two daughters, Mrs. Jacob Ritter (Catherine) of near Conestogo and Mrs. Arthur Klinck, (Parseda?) of Elmira, two brothers, Henry Eix of Elmira, and Charles Eix of Detroit, and two sisters, Mrs. Amos Eby and Mrs. John Ritter of Elmira. There are also 18? grandchildren and 17 great-grandchildren surviving. The funeral will be held Friday afternoon at two o'clock from her late residence, Church Street West, with memorial service at St. James Lutheran Church. The burial will take place in the Elmira Cemetery. Rev. L. H. Kalbfleisch will officiate. The body is resting at the Dreisinger Funeral Chapel until Friday morning.1a

1aKitchener Daily Record 11 May 1943 
Adeline Elizabeth Wilhelmina Eix
 
9593 EIX, Carl A. On Saturday, March 11, 1978, at Atlanta, Ga., aged 45 years, formerly of Elmira. Dear father of Julie Ann Eix of Waterloo; beloved son of Mrs. Pearl Eix of Elmira and the late Milton Eix; brother of Harry H. of Route 1, Elmira, Mrs. Laverne (Myrtle) Jantzi of Levittown, Pa., Mrs. Roy (Lorraine) Fischer of Kitchener. Friends called at the Dreisinger Funeral Home, 62 Arthur St. S., Elmira. Funeral service was in the chapel on Tuesday, March 14 at 2:30 p.m. Interment in the Elmira Union cemetery.1a

1aThe Kitchener-Waterloo Record 13 Mar 1978 
Carl A. Eix
 
9594 ELMIRA-Mrs. Amos Eby, 94, of Elmira died today at St. Mary's Hospital, Kitchener after a short illness. Mrs. Eby was the former Christine Eix. She was born near Hawkesville, a daughter of the late Mr. and Mrs. Henry Eix, one of the Woolwich Township pioneer families. Mrs. Eby spent her entire life in the Elmira district and was a member of St. Paul's Lutheran Church. She was married to Amos Eby in 1892 and they farmed near Floradale until the death of her husband in 1930. She then moved to Elmira. Surviving are a son, Arthur of Timmins; four daughters, Mrs. Henri (Florentine) Reeg of Valois, N.Y., Mrs. Edward (Rachel) Campbell of Kitchener, Mrs. Keary (Hilda) Galley of Elmira and Mrs. Dan (Rosetta) Hill of Lockport, N.Y.; 16 grandchildren and 28 great-grandchildren. She was predeceased by her husband, a daughter, four brothers and four sisters. The body will be at the Dreisinger Funeral Home, Elmira; after Thursday until Saturday noon when removal will be made to St. Paul's Lutheran Church for the funeral at 3 p.m. conducted by Rev. Dayton Fritz. Burial will be in Elmira Cemetery.1a

1aThe Kitchener-Waterloo Record 8 Apr 1964 
Christina Margaretha Eix
 
9595 Jacob Eix

With the passing of Jacob Eix on Saturday morning the town lost a well-known and highly respected citizen. Mr. Eix was almost 80 years old and during his residence in Elmira, lasting about a third of a century, his interest in others and his kindly nature made him many warm friends.

He was born in Hawkesville on June 26th, 1853, almost 80 years ago. After his marriage in 1878 he moved to a farm two miles west of St. Jacobs where he lived for seven years. He then moved to the 4th line of Peel where he farmed for thirteen years. Here he met with an accident on the farm of James Bruce. While threshing he slipped on the horse power and was caught in the cogs of the machine, which necessitated the amputation of his leg. He could no longer farm so moved to Elmira, living on Church street for a number of years and later on William St. In all he resided here for 35 years. He suffered many years of illness but through all he carried his cross in a patient and Christian manner.

Surviving are his widow, four daughters, Mrs. C. Percy Ruppel, Mrs. H. W. Zilliax, Mrs. W. Schedewitz, all of Elmira, and Mrs. J. C. Moebus of Kitchener, and one son, Roy J., of Elmira. Three brothers, H. B. Eix of Elmira, Rev. S. B. Eix of Fillmore, N.Y. and Charles B. Eix of Detroit and four sisters, Mrs. Louis Beisel, Mrs. Amos Eby, Mrs. John Ritter of Elmira and Mrs. Jacob Schmetzer of Kitchener, also survive.

The funeral was held on Tuesday afternoon at 2.30 o'clock from his late residence, 8 William St., to St. Paul's Lutheran Church, where the pastor, Rev. F. Malinsky, conducted the funeral service. Burial was made in the Elmira Cemetery.

Six nephews acted as pall-bearers. They were: Charles Ritter, Archie Ritter, Theodore Beisel, Norman Beisel, Allen Eix and Milton Eix.

Among those who attended the funeral were: Mrs. William Duench, Mrs. Kaster, Mrs. Charles Wolfenberg, Mr. W. Derbecker, Mr. Lehnen, Mrs. Westfall, Mr. Robert Israel, Mr. John Israel and Sylvester Israel, Miss Freda and Emma Israel, Mrs. A. Fischer and son Roy, all of Kitchener; Rev. and Mrs. S. B. Eix and Miss Aleda Behrens, of Fillmore, N.Y., and Mrs. James Causland and Mrs. Robert McTaggaret of Winterbourne.1a

1aElmira Signet 25 May 1933 
Christopher Jacob Bezel "Jacob" Eix
 
9596 Concession 5 Lot 10 Christopher Jacob Bezel "Jacob" Eix
 
9597 Mrs. Clare Zilliax, widow of Harry W. Zilliax, died suddenly at the home of her daughter, Mrs. J. W. McQuibban, 196 Arthur St., Sunday afternoon at the age of 69 years. A daughter of the late Mr. and Mrs. Jacob Eix, of Elmira. Mrs. Zilliax was born in Woolwich Township and was a lifelong resident of the community. She was married at Elmira in 1901 to Mr. Zilliax who predeceased her in January, 1945. She was a member of St. James's Lutheran Church and of the Ladies Aid and Women's Missionary Societies of the church. Surviving are one son, Arthur, and one daughter, Mrs. (Marie) McQuibban both of Elmira; three sisters, Mrs. Percy Ruppel and Mrs. William Schedewitz, Elmira, and Mrs. Clarence Moebus, Kitchener; one brother, Roy Eix, Waterloo, and two grandchildren. One daughter, Gertrude, died in infancy. The body rested at the Dreisinger Funeral Chapel where a private service was held Wednesday afternoon at 2 o'clock, followed by a public memorial service at St. James's Church. Interment was in the Elmira cemetery. Rev. L. H. Kalbfleisch conducted the services.1a

1a\bElmira Signet 
Clara Eix
 
9598 RUPPEL, Emma Katherine (Eix) unknown
MRS. PERCY RUPPEL
The death of Mrs. Percy Ruppel, 69, took place at her home, 72 Arthur St., Elmira, Sunday morning, April 4, following a lengthy illness. Born in Woolwich Township, Jan. 23, 1879, she was the former Emma Katherine Eix, daughter of the late Mr. and Mrs. Jacob Eix of Woolwich Township.
In October, 1924, she was married to Percy Ruppel in Elmira. Mrs. Ruppel was a life-long member of St. Paul's Lutheran Church, Elmira, and the Ladies Aid of that church.
Surviving besides her husband, are one son, Rupert, of Kitchener; one daughter, Mrs. A. J. (Margaret) Felton, Elmira; one brother, Roy J. Eix of Waterloo, and two sisters, Mrs. J. C. Moebus of Kitchener and Mrs. William Schedewitz, Elmira. One sister, Mrs. H. W. Zilliax, predeceased her in December, 1947.
The body rested at the late residence until Wednesday at 2 p.m. when the funeral were held from the home, with a public memorial service at St. Paul's Lutheran Church at 2:30 p.m. Rev. F. P. Malinsky officiated. Interment was in Elmira Cemetery. 
Emma Catherine Eix
 
9599 On Saturday, March 4, 1978, at the Elmira Nursing Home, age 67 years. Daughter of the late Mr. and Mrs. Henry B. Eix; sister of Mrs. Alfred (Edna) Ritter of Route 1, Elmira and Allan of Elmira. Predeceased by one brother, Milton. Friends called at the Dreisinger Funeral Home, 62 Arthur St. South, Elmira. Funeral service from the chapel on Monday, March 6, 1978, at 2:30 p.m. Burial in the Elmira Union cemetery.1a

1aElmira Signet 9 Mar 1978 
Hilda Eix
 
9600 In 1888 Rev. Solomon Eix of Wallace Township, Perth Co., Ontario dedicated the new church organ at the Trinity Lutheran Church at Floradale. The cost of the organ was $185.1

1Brief History of Trinity Evangelical Lutheran Church Floradale, Ontario 1852 - 1955 This was written up for the celebration of the centennial on August 14, 1955, by the pastor, Rev. Frank Malinsky 
Rev. Solomon B. Eix
 
9601 Man's body pulled from Victoria Park lake

KITCHENER - Barry Ek lived his life as though nothing was holding him back. Not the wheelchair he used to get around Kitchener, his adopted home since his family's arrival as refugees in 1988. Not cerebral palsy, the condition that hindered his mobility and his speech but couldn't dampen his spirit. Ek was a familiar sight around town, his infectious smile well-known from the corridors of Fairview Park mall to the paths of Victoria Park. It was at the park where police divers pulled his lifeless body from the lake on Saturday morning, about 15 hours after he was last seen sitting near the water's edge. Passersby noticed his wheelchair, unoccupied, on the bank early Friday evening, and personal items floating in the water. Firefighters searched in vain that night. Ek was 40....1a

1aWaterloo Region Record 24 Jun 2012 
Barry Ek
 
9602 In the Martin Mennonite Cemetery in Waterloo City besides Elizabeth is the following who may be the parents of Elizabeth. [broken in 2 pieces & eroded] Hier ruhet in Gott / Michael Elbert / geboren / den 10 Mai 1790 / gestorben / den (1) 9 Mai 1849 / im Alter von / [eroded] / Hier ruhet in Gott / Rosina Elbert / geboren / den 10 Mai 1796 / gestorben / den 28 April 187(8) / im [buried] Alter von / (81 Jah. 11 M. u. 18 T.)  Elizabeth Elbert
 
9603 Mrs. Edward Reiber - Mrs. Edward Reiber, 73, of 607 King St. West, at the K-W Hospital Sunday after a lengthy illness. Born in Strasburg. She was the former Isabella Priscilla Albert, daughter of the late Mr. and Mrs. Michael Albert. She attended St. Matthew's Lutheran Church.

Surviving are her husband; three sons, Milton, Donald and James of Kitchener; two daughters, Mabel of Kitchener and Mrs. Wilton (Florence) Miller of Glen Allan, and eight grandchildren.

The body is resting at the Ratz Bechtel Funeral Home where the funeral will be held Tuesday at 2 p.m. Burial will be in Woodland Cemetery with Rev. Dr. John Schmeider, pastor of St. Matthew's Church officating.1a

1aThe Kitchener-Waterloo Record 21 Jul 1952 
Isabella Priscilla Elbert
 
9604 1901 Berlin Census - Minnie is a general servant likely in the home/hotel of William and Paulina Zinger Minnie Elbert
 
9605 Passed away peacefully at K-W Health Centre of the Grand River Hospital on Monday, October 9, 2006 at the age of 86 years. Beloved husband of the late Reta (Heideman) Elchert (1984). Dear father of Elaine and her husband Roy Dunk of Toronto, and Betty Elchert and her husband Chuck Irvine of Waterloo. Brother of Arthur Elchert of Kitchener. Alexander will be missed by many nieces and nephews. Predeceased by his sisters, Catherine Molinary, Rose Schlumkoski, Loretta Seibert, Pauline Dentinger, Betty Goodwin, and Erma Snider and his brothers, Erie, John, and Joseph Elchert. He was a loyal volunteer for 16 years at Sunnyside Home for the Aged, and was employed by B.F. Gooderich for over 30 years. Alexander's family will receive relatives and friends at the Henry Walser Funeral Home, 507 Frederick St., Kitchener, (519-749-8467), Thursday from 2-4 and 7-9 pm with parish prayers at 3:00 pm. Prayers will be offered from the Funeral Home Chapel, on Friday, October 13, 2006 at 9:30 am, then transfer will be made to Sacred Heart RC Church (66 Shanley St. Kitchener) for Alexander's Funeral Mass at 10am. Interment at the Woodland Cemetery. As expressions of sympathy, donations to the CNIB or the Kidney Foundation would be appreciated by the family. Alexander Edward Elchert
 
9606 ELCHERT, Anthony (Tony)

Of 217 Dolph St. N., Cambridge, on Tuesday, Sept. 1, 1981, at Southampton, Ont., in his 62nd year. Dear brother of William of Kitchener, Peter, Annabelle (Mrs. George Brohman) and Mrs. Marie Simmers, all of Cambridge. Mr. Eichert was born in Maryhill, and lived all his life in the Cambridge area. He had been employed with Savage Shoes Limited in Cambridge and was a member of St. Clement's RC Church. The family will receive friends at the Barthel Stager Funeral Home, 566 Queenston Rd., Cambridge, today, 7-9 p.m. and Friday, 2-4 and 7-9 p.m. Funeral mass will be celebrated at St. Clement's RC Church, Cambridge, on Saturday, Sept. 5, 1981, at 10 a.m. Interment in Parklawn cemetery. The parish rosary will be recited at the funeral home, Friday evening at 8:15 p.m.

Kitchener-Waterloo Record 3 Sep 1981 pg 29 
Anthony "Tony" Elchert
 
9607 95-Year-Old Recalls Events of Long Life

One of Preston's Oldest residents, Mrs. Philip (Johannah) Fehrenback celebrated her 95th birthday anniversary Sunday at her home, 217 Guelph St. N.

An open house given in her honor by her nieces and nephews was convened by co-hostesses, Mrs. Harold Simmers, Hamilton Street, and Mrs. George Brohman, Concession Road.

Mrs. Fehrenback's childhood began on a little farm near Maryhill. She was one of nine children born to John Elchart and Catherine Beechey. A Maryhill one-room school house, its only heat, supplied by a wood stove, is where Johannah Elchart received her education. It was a two-mile walk to school from her home and Mrs. Fehrenback clearly recalls the deep snowbanks and extreme cold of the winters. The family attended the Maryhill Roman Catholic Church. It was there Johannah was baptized, received her first communion, and then on Oct. 1, 1896 married Philip Fehrenback.

"We would have married sooner, however a special excursion to Ohio was arranged for that time of year. We decided to wait and journey to Ohio on our honeymoon." commented Mrs. Fehrenback.

Her husband built their first home in Maryhill where they lived 8-1/2 years. Later moving to Kitchener, the young couple resided there about the same length of time. Following this Mr. and Mrs. Fehrenback moved to Preston, establishing residence at their Guelph Street Home where Mrs. Fehrenback has lived for the past 60 years.

Mr. Fehrenback died Nov. 30, 1940, but for many years he had owned and operated a harness shop in Preston where he also sold luggage. He first located his business where Landell's Book store now operates, later he opened his store in the old Kleinstuber block, on the premises of what is now the Italian Shoe Store.

This bright little lady of 95, is most efficient in her own home. Although her eyesight is failing, she takes care of her large home and prepares al the meals for her two nephews, Peter and Tony Elchart, who reside with her. Mrs. Fehrenback has one sister still living, Mrs. Sophia Fehrenback, Ktichener Highway, Preston.

An honorary member of the Catholic Women's League, Mrs. Fehrenback loved to knit and sew until her eyesight failed. " A beautiful bedspread which she made, square by square is still in use on her Jenny Lind bed." said her niece. 
Jane Caroline "Johanna" Elchert
 
9608 SIMMERS, Marie Magdelan

Passed away, peacefully, on Tuesday, August 20, 2002, at Pines Nursing Home, Bracebridge, in her 82nd year. Loving mother of Gayle Yeo and her husband Douglas of Huntsville; loving grandmother of Laurie Yeo-Schmidt and her husband Dana Schmidt, Jeffrey Yeo and his wife Carmen, Justin Yeo and Jamie Yeo and great-grandchildren, Cameron and Jenna Yeo. Also survived by her son-in-law, Jeff Delarosbil of Cambridge and her sister, Annabelle Brohman and her husband George of Cambridge: brother, William Elchert of Kitchener. Predeceased by her husband, Harold and her daughter, Patricia Delarosbil and her brothers; Peter and Tony. The family will receive friends at the Barthel Funeral Home, 566 Queenston Road, Cambridge, on Thursday, August 22, 2002 (today), from 2-4 and 7-9 p.m. Funeral mass will be held at St. Clements RC Church, 745 Duke St., Cambridge, on Friday, August 23, 2002, at 10 a.m. Interment Parklawn Cemetery. Prayers will be held at the funeral home this evening (Thursday), at 7 p.m.

The Record 22 Aug 2002 pg B7 
Marie Magdelan Elchert
 
9609 Mrs. Margaret Leithead

PRESTON — A resident of Preston for the past 47 years, Mrs. Margaret Brisbane Leithead. 79, died early today at the South Waterloo Memorial Hospital, following a prolonged illness. A resident at 217 Hexam St., with her son-in-law and daughter, Mr. and Mrs. W. F. Mickus, she had been in hospital for the past week. Born in Hawick, Scotland, Mrs. Leithead came to Preston in 1907 and resided here ever since. She was a member of Knox Presbyterian Church, Preston. Her husband the late William Leithead, predeceased her in 1948. Surviving are a daughter, Mrs. W. F. Mickus (May) of Preston; one son, James, of CollIngwood; two sisters. Mrs. John Armstrong of Barrie, Mrs, James Kennedy of Scotland and two grandchildren. Funeral service will be held Thursday, at 2 p.m. from the Stager-Pass Ltd. Funeral Home, Preston. Interment will be in Preston cemetery.

Kitchener-Waterloo Record 10 Aug 1954 pg 5 
Margaret Brisbane Elder
 
9610 Very Reverend General-Vicar Dr. Louis Elena

Died in Berlin, Apr. 26, 1899.

The Catholic Church suffered a great loss on Friday afternoon at 4:30 through the death of the Very Reverend Louis Elena, L.L.D. He was born in September 1817 in the Tyrol, Austria and was a member of a highly-regarded family. He studied at the university in Padua, Italy, where he graduated as a Doctor of civil and canon law. He practiced for some time as a lawyer and also was a member of the Tirol parliament, as well as mayor of Trient.

In 1864, he abandoned his civilian career and devoted himself to the spiritual state, and went to Rome, where he joined the Congregation of the Resurrection of Christ and was ordained as a priest in 1865. Shortly after, he came to Canada and was active here as a professor at Saint-Jerome's College in St. Agatha. Then, after the institution was moved to Berlin, he was a substitute for the president, Very Rev. Dr. Louis Funken, for a time. In addition, he was active as pastor and as a result of his great piety and his charming modesty, was just as affectionately regarded as he had been as a teacher and educator.

After he had been pastor in New Germany for over a year, he became president of the college in St. Mary's Kentucky, re-opened in August 1871, which office he retained until December 1873.

Then, he returned to Canada, and, after he led the St. Joseph's congregation in Hamilton for a time, he became pastor in Formosa, where he worked with great success, and directed the building of the beautiful, big church there. It stands debt-free as a monument to a loyal, energetic priest and a self-sacrificing congregation. The church in Formosa is the largest and most beautiful German church in Canada. It is built of stone and, in its magnificent site on a high hill, is visible far away. It should be mentioned especially, that as soon as the construction of the church had been finished, the costs of construction were completely paid off.

In 1890, he retired from active service, was named "General-Vicar" for the Germans in the Diocese of Hamilton and since then, has remained for the most part in St. Jerome's College here.
Although the consequences of old age had been obvious for several years in him, he was still quite active and one could see him going for a walk every day when the weather allowed, until noon, the Friday before last, when he became unwell and had to go to bed. He had an intestinal pain, which despite the best medical treatment, could not be relieved and passed away peacefully and piously at the age of 81 years and seven months.

After a very solemn requiem mass, in which Father David Fennessey was the celebrant, Father A. Weiler, the deacon, Father Ignatius Perius, the assistant deacon, and Father J. Schweitzer, the master of ceremonies, on Thursday morning, the body, accompanied by Very Rev. Wm. Kloepfer and R. Lehmann, was taken to Formosa for burial, according to his wishes.

In Mildmay on Thursday, a large crowd had gathered at the station when the train carrying the body arrived. The pupils from the separate school formed a guard of honour and the funeral procession, accompanied by many vehicles, set out in the direction of Formosa. The farmers residing on the road joined the procession as it passed. Just outside of Formosa, the parish organizations and the former parish children of the deceased took over the procession and accompanied it to the church. After the coffin had been deposited in the church, the singing of the vespers service followed.

On Friday morning, mourners from the whole area took their places in the church, to show their respect for their dearly beloved pastor. The solemn mass began at 10:00 o'clock. Very Rev. Father St. Forster was the celebrant; R. Lehmann, the deacon, W. Gehl, the sub-deacon; W. Kloepfer, master of ceremonies. Monsignor McEwan, who was representing the Bishop of Hamilton, read a letter from the latter, and preached about the deceased's love of justice. Very Rev. M. Halm gave a sermon in German, fitting for the occasion. In addition, the following priests were present: Deacon O'Connell, Mount Forest; Geo. Brohmann, St. Clements; Rev. Cote, Dundalk; Joseph Wey, Deemerton; Jos. E. Wey, Carlsruhe; Kelly, Walkerton; Hauck, Markdale; Corcoran, Teeswater; Zettler, Walkerton; J. Gehl and Cl. Brohmann, Formosa. The body was buried in the centre of the recently enlarged cemetery, where the remains of the priests, J.L. Schmitz, and N. Lehmann are to be buried.

At the close of the sermon at the high mass in the Catholic church here on Sunday, Very Rev. W.B. Kloepfer spoke of the noble character and blessed works performed by the deceased.1a

1aBerliner Journal May 4, 1899 Page 4 - Columns 3 & 4 Translated by Patricia J. Kauk April 1, 2005 for the Kitchener Public Library 
Reverend - Doctor Louis Elena
 
9611 PFEIFFER, Mary (nee Elie)

In her 75th year, at Miramichi Lodge, Pembroke, on April 8, 1999. Predeceased by her husband, Arthur Pfeiffer of Cambridge. Dear sister of Edward of Kitchener, Alex and his wife Eleanor of Batchawana Bay, Henry and his wife Lois of Golden Lake, Florence and her husband Leonard Powers of Kingston, Theresa Schultz of Pembroke, Frances and her husband Carl Stager of Rankin. Predeceased by her parents, Henry and Edna Elie; brothers, Raymond and William and sister, Josephine Kraftchick.

The Record 13 Apr 1999 pg B4 
Mary F. Elie
 
9612 1851 - Ellen Eliott in same household as James Robson. Ellen Eliott
 
9613 A man who went after what he wanted
Gord Elkeer of New Hamburg
Born: Oct. 11, 1934, in Camrose, Alta.
Died: Feb. 5, 2010, of esophageal cancer

February 23, 2010 By Valerie Hill, Record staff
NEW HAMBURG Ask the folks in New Hamburg about Gord Elkeer and there seems to be a repeating theme: he was a man ahead of his time, a man of great integrity and a man with an infectious vision.

If Gord was excited about a project, he'd have half the town on his side, a valuable asset given he came to New Hamburg from Toronto in 1973, long before influences of nearby cities altered the dynamics of the quiet, rural life. Gord, then a retired RCMP officer had this crazy idea of opening a fine-dining French restaurant he called The Waterlot, located in a doctor's Victorian-style home. It was smack in the middle of a town of 3,400 where the sale of liquor was illegal. Gord was not easily discouraged and purchased the house with his business partner, then convinced a rising talent, French chef Jean Pierre Gillet, to leave Toronto for the wilds of New Hamburg. He then hired a top-ranked marketing firm to create an image and successfully lobbied the town to allow a liquor licence. Gord was the sort that if you said he couldn't, he set out to prove he could.

The 1847 stately house was originally built for William J. Scott, one of the town's wealthier founders and later became a medical practice. In 1933, Dr. T. Crosby Kirkpatrick, took over the house after his partner died and it was with the good doctor that Gord made a pact.
In 1973, Dr Kirkpatrick was ready to retire but he wasn't about to take the cash for the old place and run. He wanted assurances that these new owners from Toronto would protect the historical integrity of the old place; keep it accessible to the public. The partners agreed, and other than installing a mandatory professional kitchen the building was unaltered and remains much as it had been 150 years ago.
Four years after opening, Gord bought out his partner and gave an acre of the property to the town, which in turn created Scott Park on the banks of the Nith River. He also opened a second restaurant next door, one much smaller and less formal. Then in the mid-1980s he opened three guest rooms in the upstairs of the home, naming each room for a former owner. In this second career Gord had become a successful restaurant owner, entrepreneur and community leader. Rather different than his first career.

Born to Danish immigrants in Alberta, Gord was the only child in his family to survive to adulthood. He grew up in Tillsonburg. Family legend has it that Gord once saw the picture of an RCMP officer on a calendar and after expressing interest, was told he could never become a Mountie. He set out to prove them wrong.

Gord graduated as a RCMP officer in 1954, became a member of the musical ride, and then joined the force's highly secretive intelligence department, serving across Canada as well as around the world. Gord could never speak of his secret assignments, and as he got closer to retirement age, he grew increasingly frustrated with the level of red tape he had to deal with. It was time for a new plan, something more suited to his social, fun side.

While still serving in the RCMP Gord completed the hotel and tourism program at Ryerson University and with firm ideas in his mind about his future, he left the RCMP after 23 years, two years before full retirement age. It was time for a new adventure and he found one in New Hamburg, a location close to Stratford and all the tourists that town attracts, particularly Americans from the border states.
"When he wanted to do something, that's just what he did," said son Chris Elkeer. "He was one of a kind."

In his personal life, Gord served with the local board of trade and achieved the rank of Master Mason in the Free Masons, which qualified him to also become a Shriner. Gord, though eventually divorced, was always a strong family man, taking his kids on many trips, always off the beaten track. They would arrive in a country with a flexible itinerary and no hotel booked. At the Waterlot, he was the guy all the staff saw as a mentor, not just the boss. Former restaurant manager Kerry Long was first a friend and later an employee, and he was always impressed by how Gord encouraged his young staff to get an education, to move on to a better future and he kept tabs on their progress for years.

Kerry was also impressed by the high standards Gord demanded. "He used silver plate cutlery and had fine original art on the walls of the restaurant. Gord was a proponent of local food years ago." He also enthusiastically promoted Ontario VQA wines, long before wine lovers would even consider trying a glass. Everything, from meat dishes to pastries and soup stock had to be made in the Waterlot's kitchen from scratch.

"All around he was quite a guy: focused, detailed and uncompromising on some things and a softy with a heart of gold with other things," Kerry said. Independent to the end though he could no longer eat the wonderful foods he so loved, Gord died, leaving a legacy that continues to stand on the banks of the Nith River. It's a testament to a man with unusual foresight and unwavering drive. Daughter Leslie, who now runs The Waterloo, concluded "he was definitely a visionary."

______________


ELKEER, Wiggo Gordon
February 05, 2010 Location: Kitchener

ELKEER, Wiggo Gordon Passed peacefully on Friday, February 5, 2010 at Freeport Health Centre of the Grand River Hospital, Kitchener. Gord was born 75 years ago in Camrose, Alberta a son of Peter and Minka Elkeer. Gord served 23 years with the Royal Canadian Mounted Police and was the owner of the Waterlot Restaurant and Inn in New Hamburg for the past 35 years. Gord was a member of the New Hamburg Board of Trade and Shriners International. Dear father of Leslie Elkeer and partner Frank Hubert, Christopher and wife Valerie Elkeer and sadly missed by grandchildren Chantelle, Alyssa and Alexander all of New Hamburg. According to Gord's wishes, cremation has taken place and burial will follow at a later date at Delmer Cemetery in Tillsonburg, Ontario. All are welcome to join the family to celebrate and remember Gord's life at an open house to be held at The Waterlot Restaurant, 17 Huron St., New Hamburg on Sunday February 21, 2010 from 2-6 p.m. As expressions of sympathy donations may be made to the New Hamburg Firefighters Association, Sick Kids Foundation, or Grand River Regional Cancer Centre by contacting Mark Jutzi Funeral Home , New Hamburg who assisted with arrangements. Online condolences and donation information at: www.markjutzifuneralhomes.ca1a

1aThe Waterloo Region Record 5 Feb 2010 
Wiggo Gordon Elkeer
 
9614 In "Descendants Meet Again, Two Centuries Later" by Deborah Gilbert in the Ontario Genealogical Society's Magazine "Families" Feb 2009, it states, Lydia was taken to an asylum in Berlin, Waterloo Co where she died. Her husband was Joel Eli Stauffer

____________________

Lydia was the daughter of Samuel Ellenbaum and Polly Geismer 
Lydia Ellenbaum
 
9615 WILLIAM ELLERMAN

Wellesley - The funeral for William Frederick Ellerman, 61, of Wellesley who died at St. Mary's Hospital, Kitchener, Thursday, was held at St. Mark's Lutheran Church today. Rev. Orville Jansen officiated. Temporary entombment was made in St. Paul's cemetery chapel. Mr. Ellerman owned the Ellerman saw mill and lumber yard until his retirement because of illness two years ago. Born in Neudorf, Sask., Sept. 18, 1909, a son of the late Mr. And Mrs. Frederick Ellerman, he moved to Wellesley as a young man. He was a member and a former council member of St. Mark's Church and past president of the Luther League. He was also active in local bowling organizations. He is survived by a sister, Mrs. Louis (Elsie) Heise of RR 1, St. Agatha.1a

1aThe Kitchener-Waterloo Record 27 Dec 1970 
William Ellerman
 
9616 OSCAR ELLIGSON

At Freeport Hospital, Kitchener, on Wednesday, May 5. 1952, following a lengthy illness, age 62 years, Oscar Elligson, of 196 Fairfield Ave., Kitchener. A member of Grace Lutheran Church: a former employee of the Public Utilities Commission and had served with the Royal Canadian Air Force. Son of the late Ernst Elligson and Caroline Wesenburg; husband of the former Irene Hofstetter; father of Dennis (Barney) and Sharon (Mrs. Victor Straus), both of Waterloo and Janice (Mrs. Murray Koebel) of Toronto: brother of Harold of Mitchell. Carl of Windsor and Alvin of Walton. Also survived by six grandchildren. Predeceased by one sister. Visitation at the Schreiter-Sandrock Funeral Home, 51 Benton St., Kitchener, after 7 p.m. tonight. Funeral and committal services will be held from the funeral home on Friday at 2 p.m., Rev. Carl Wagner officiating. Interment Memory Gardens.

Kitchener-Waterloo Record 6 May 1982 pg 47 
Oscar Elligson
 
9617 The men who took the most prominent part in organizing the first library in the village were: Rev. Dr. Bayne, Alexander Burnet, James Cowan, John Gowinlock, William Trotter, H. G. Barlow, James Harris, Andrew Elliott, Francis McElroy, Francis Hogg, Andrew Moscrip and Walter H. Benn. These men have long since passed away, but they all did good work in their day in laying the foundations of a progressive and moral community; to the older generation of Galtonians their names call up a crowd of memories of the days that are no more. 1a

1a First Annual Report of the Waterloo Historical Society, Berlin 1913, pg 17

_____________________

Andrew Elliott was born in Westerkirk, Eskdale, Scotland, the son of William Elliott and Jane Jardine. He arrived in Galt in 1834 and joined the Galt Debating Society. He helped organize the Galt Subscription and Circulating Library in 1836. The same year he went into the grocery business which partnered with John Fleming he operated for a number of years. In 1840's and 1850's he operated the Elliott Distillery the site of the first steam engine in Galt in 1844. He served on Galt council and served as reeve. In 1855 he became a partner with Robert Hunt in the Preston Woollen Mills. He also operated the Elliott Soap Works. In 1869 he moved to Almonte he operated a textile mill until his retirement in 1888. Elliott Street in Galt is named in his honour.2a

2aCambridge Mosaic , Jim Quantrell, 1998, City of Cambridge [abbreviated snippet from original text in book]

_________________________________


Elliott, Andrew, Almonte, one of the most enterprising of our woollen manufacturers, was born on the 3rd April, 1809, at Stanishwater, parish of Westerkirk, Eskdale, Scotland. His father, William Elliott, and his mother, Jane Jardine, were both natives of Dumfriesshire, Scotland. Mr. Elliott received his education at the Langholme and Corrie school, near Lockerby, which he left at the age of thirteen, and began the battle of life unaided. In 1834 he came to Canada, and two years after his arrival he began business as a grocer in Galt, Ontario. Here he did a good business, built a distillery, ran it for several years, sold it out, and joined Kobert Hunt, of Preston, in the woollen business. In 1853 they changed the factory into a fourset mill, and worked it very successfully for about ten years. About 1864, while Mr. Elliott was in Great Britain buying wool, the mill was burnt down, but on his return he rebuilt it, and associated with him in his new venture (the old partnership having been dissolved) J. L. Hunt and George Stephen (now Sir George Stephen, bart.).

The new firm abandoned the manufacture of cloth, and went into that of flax and linseed oil. After spending a great, deal of money in importing first-class machinery from Great Britain, Ireland and the United States, and pushing the business for about four years, they found that Canada was unsuited for such an enterprise, and parted with the concern, having lost a considerable sum of money by the venture. Mr. Elliott then sold out all his property in Preston and Galt, and purchased a woollen mill in Almonte, where for the past seventeen years he has successfully prosecuted his business. Mr. Elliott was elected district (Gore district) councillor for the township of Dumfries (Upper Canada), and: 1840 he was chosen the first reeve for the village of Galt, and occupied the position for several years. The late Hon. Kobe Baldwin made him a magistrate, and in this capacity he acted for about ten year; he was sent as a delegate from the village Galt and the township of Dumfries with an address to Lord Elgin, in Montreal shortly after the destruction of the Parliament buildings by a mob.

Mr. Elliott took an active interest in railway extension, he did his share in getting the Great Western Railway Company to build a branch in from Harrisburg to Galt. In his young days he was a strong supporter of the Baldwin administration, and even supported the late Hon. George Brown, but refused longer to follow him as a party leader when he left the government of the day and formed the "Grit" party; and he has ever since been an opponent of the Reform party Mr. Elliott has been a Presbyterian from his youth up. In 1839 he married Mary Hanley, a native of the county of Longford Ireland. He has been a busy man, and now enjoys the fruits of his industry.3a

3aGeo. MacLean Rose, A Cyclopaepdia of Canadian Biography being chiefly men of the time. Rose Publishing Co., Toronto 1888 
Andrew Elliott
 
9618 Andrew Elliott, a son of a Scottish immigrant to North Dumfries Township, was a great reader, which helped to prepare him to be a particularly competent lecturer on agricultural subjects.

He was an expert in livestock judging and judged in many parts of Canada and the United States. Greatly interested in Farmers' Institutes, he lectured for them in every province and twelve American states.

Elliott retired from farming in 1904 but continued judging livestock and lecturing until 1920. He also supervised twelve demonstration farms in Eastern Canada for the Dominion Department of Agriculture. A number of wealthy New England farmers commissioned him to go to Great Britain to purchase purebred sheep to improve their flocks.

He was an active member of the South Waterloo Agricultural Society for forty years, a member of the Kirk Session of Knox Presbyterian Church, Galt and a staunch Liberal.1a

1aWaterloo Region Hall of Fame


 
Andrew S. Elliott
 
9619 Died In Preston, on Thursday, October 12th, 1911, Bert Sherman Elliott Son of Mr. and Mrs. Wm. Elliott, aged 1 year, 5 months and 10 days. The Funeral Will take place from the home of his parents, Vine St., on Saturday, Oct. 14th, at 2. 30 p. m., to Preston Cemetery. Friends and acquaintances will please accept this intimation.

Funeral Card 
Bert Shermann Elliott
 
9620 1871 - Elizabeth Elliott is staying with John Hunter. Elizabeth Elliott
 
9621 Died/ In North Dumfries, this (Friday) morn/ ing, at 8.20 O'Clock/ Elizabeth Elliott/ Beloved wife of Robert Ford,/ aged 48 years and 11 months/ The funeral/ Will take place from her late residence/ on Monday forenoon, 7th inst., at 11/ o'clock to the Galt Cemetery. / Friends and acquaintances are respect/ fully invited to attend/ North Dumfries, Feb. 4, 1881

Funeral Card 
Elizabeth Elliott
 
9622 Funeral Notice. Died, In Ottawa, on Wednesday, July 18th, 1883, at 7 o'clock P.M., Elizabeth Elliott, Aged 25 years. The funeral will take place on Monday, 23rd inst., at 1 o'clock, p.m., from her mother's residence, William St., to the place of interment, New Cemetery, Ayr. Friends and acqauintances respectfully invited. Ayr, July 23rd, 1883. Recorder Print, Ayr.1a

1aWaterloo Historical Society Death Notices Collection - photocopies 
Elizabeth Elliott
 
9623 In North Dumfries, on the 4th inst., Elizabeth Elliott, wife of Mr. Robert Ford, aged 48 years and 11 months.

Galt Reporter Feb 11 1881 pg 8 
Elizabeth Elliott
 
9624 Mrs. John W. Bock of 206 Simeon St., died Friday at K-W Hospital after a long illness. She was 81. The former Frances Elliott, she was born March 24, 1886, at Mindemoya, Manitoulin Island, a daughter of the late Mr. and Mrs. William Elliott. She moved to Kitchener 38 years ago. She was a member of Bethany United Missionary Church and of the Patricia Chapter of the Eastern Star. Mrs. Bock was a former district deputy when a member of the Brilliant Rebecca Lodge. Surviving are her husband whom she married May 15, 1906, at Mindemoya, Manitoulin Island; three sons, Alvin of Galt, Carson of Cooksville and Ronald of Elmira; three daughters. Mrs. Nelson (Mildred) Leham of Kitchener, Mrs. Verden (Blanche) Buie of Sault Ste. Marie and Mrs. Gordon (Edith) Eby of Regina; one sister, Mrs. Stanley Goodbrand of Dundas, 20 grandchildren and 12 great-grandchildren. Those attending the funeral from Manitoulin were Mr. Tom Wright, Gore Bay, Mr. and Mrs. Howard Elliot, Mindemoya, Mr. Morley Tracy, Little Current, Mr. Gilmore Tracy, Miss Elva Tracy, Spring Bay.

The Recorder, May 4, 1967 
Frances "Fannie" Elliott
 
9625 1871 - George Elliot was staying with George Hope. George Elliott
 
9626 Died At Berlin, on Monday, Nov. 14th, 1898 George Elliott Aged 73 Years. The Funeral Will take place, leaving the residence of Mrs. Hunter, Ayr., on Thursday, Nov 17th inst., at 2 p.m., to the New Cemetery, Ayr, for interment. Friends and acquaintances will please accept this intimation

Waterloo Historical Society Death Notices Collection - photocopies  
George Elliott
 
9627 Alymer was an active member of Galt's industrial community. He was president of Galt Metal Industries, he was one of the founders of the Canadian Toy Manufacturers Association.1a

1aCambridge Mosaic , Jim Quantrell, 1998, City of Cambridge [abbreviated snippet from original text in book] 
Horace Aylmer Elliott
 
9628 Hugh C. Elliott was born on February 7, 1899, and operated the family farm in North Dumfries Township which had been settled by his grandfather in 1832.

After attending the Galt Collegiate Institute, he graduated from the Ontario Agricultural College with a B.S.A. degree. In 1918-19, he was in the advance party of the 16th Field Company, Canadian Engineers, C.E.F., Siberia in Vladivostok.

He was active in the municipal affairs of North Dumfries serving as Clerk and Treasurer from 1933 to 1971, secretary-treasurer
of the Area School Board from 1946 to 1952, and of the High School District Board from 1929 to 1967. In 1945, he was President of the South Waterloo Agricultural Society and the Secretary-Treasurer from 1946 to 1952, as well as being a charter director of Doon Pioneer Village.

His experience in municipal affairs, farming and his concern for conservation work led to various offices on the Grand Valley Conservation Authority from 1966 to 1974, and was appointed to the G.R.C.A. Honour Roll in 19761a

1aWaterloo Region Hall of Fame

____________________

Hugh C. Elliott

A North Dumfries Township clerk-treasurer for nearly four decades, Hugh Croll Elliott, passed away Friday, March 17, 1995 at Telfer Place, Paris. He was in his 97th year. Born in Galt, Mr. Elliott was a son of the late William Elliott and Eva Croll. Until 1989 he lived on the land in North Dumfries Township that had been settled by his great-grandfather in 1832. He served with the advance party of the 16th Field Company, Canadian Engineers, Canadian Expeditionary Force in Vladivostok, Siberia, 1918-1919. Graduated from the Ontario Agricultural College, Guelph, 1923 with a B.S.A. degree. Mr. Elliott was clerk and treasurer of North Dumfries Township from 1933-1971. He was secretary-treasurer of the South Waterloo Agricultural Society 1946-1952; secretary-treasurer of the Grand Valley Conservation Authority 1952-1963 and served on the executive committees of the G.V.CA., the Grand River Conservation Authority and the board of directors of Doon Pioneer Village. In 1967, Mr. Elliott was awarded the Canadian Centennial medal for municipal service. Predeceased by his first wife, Jean Barrie and an infant daughter Mary. He is survived by his wife Irene Fink; daughters Janet and her husband Edward Buckley of Ithaca, New York and Helen and her husband Ken-neth Hollidge of Kitchener; stepdaughter Patricia and her husband Reynold Scharf of Cayley, Alberta; nine grand-children; and three great-grandchildren. According to Mr. Elliott's wishes, there will be no visitation. A memorial service will be conducted at Knox's (Gait) Presbyterian Church, Queen's Square, Cambridge today (Wednesday) at 2:00 p.m. with Rev. Linda Ewing officiating. Cremation has taken place. Arrangements entrusted to Little's Funeral Home, Cambridge.

The Ayr News 22 Mar 1995 pg 15 
Hugh Croll Elliott
 
9629 Elliott Soap Works, J.& R. Elliott, Harris Street - "Where there is life, there's soap," is a new version of an old adage, but a true one nevertheless. Soap is one of the many necessary articles required in everyday life. Among the varied manufacturing industries in Galt, the Elliott Soap and Candle Works stand alone in their special line. The business of this concern has been established for over 30 years, the present firm coming into possession 6 years ago, succeeding Dixon, who succeeded Simpson, who succeeded Oliver, etc. The premises occupied are 34x106 feet in dimensions and 1 ½ stories in height, being substantially built of stone. There is one vat having a capacity of 16,000 lbs. of soap; there are also the necessary moulds, presses, etc., and a six-horse-power engine, used for pumping water. The special brands of soap manufactured - which are all laundry - are: "Pure," "Free Trade," "Sultana," "Dominion" and "Electric." The trade of the concern, which is excellent and steadily increasing, goes from London, Walkerton, St. Catharines, Brantford and Toronto, and all intermediate sections. Employment is furnished to four competent workmen. Messrs. Elliott are natives of Canada, and are active energetic and enterprising business men, and are on the sure road to business success.1a

1aIndustries of Canada, historical and commercial sketches, Hamilton and environs: its prominent places and people: representative merchants and manufacturers: its improvements, progress and enterprise (1886)  
James Elliott
 
9630 J. & R. Elliott manufacturers of plain and facy soaps, lard and other oils. This establishment is large and well fitted for the business. The premises are built of stone situated on Mill Creek, near the head of Main street. For a number of years this firm has conducted a successful business and by general urbanity and business tact they command the respect of the public and their patrons.1a

1a\\bFrom 1897 Jubilee Souvenir of Galt 
James Elliott
 
9631 1871 - Jane Elliot is in same household as James Sharpe. Jane Elliott
 
9632 One reference to Jane gives her middle name as Gordon. Jane Geraldine Elliott
 
9633 Staying at James McMillan's Inn. Janet Elliott
 
9634 JOHN ELLIOTT.

No mention of Hagersville would be complete without the record of John Elliott, for he came to this place when there was only one house on the site of the present village and he assisted in clearing the forest and in planting the seeds of civilization in the wilderness. For many years he continued active here, but is now living retired in the enjoyment of a rest which he has truly earned and richly deserves. He was born in England in 1819, and leaving his native country when a boy went to Scotland, where he lived for many years. In 1843 he came to Canada and located first at Galt, where he resided for one year, after which he took up his abode at Hagersville, where fifty years ago he began farming. He aided in the arduous task of clearing and developing new land, cutting away the forests, grubbing out the stumps and preparing the soil for cultivation. Year after year he placed his fields under the plow and as the result of his care and labor gathered good harvests. Making judicious use of his financial resources he is now enabled to live retired, having acquired a handsome competence which supplies him with all of the necessities, many of the comforts and some of the luxuries of life.

Mr. Elliott was married to Miss Shortreed of Canada and they have two daughters, Christina and Mary Elizabeth, both at home. That Mr. Elliott has not made the acquirement of wealth the sole aim and end of his life is well known to his fellow citizens, for he has always been loyal to the community and devoted to the welfare of his family and friends, and, moreover, he is a faithful member of the Presbyterian Church. He has now passed the eighty-eighth milestone on life's journey and he receives the veneration, good will and esteem which should ever be accorded one who has reached an advanced age and whose life has been honorable and upright.2a

2aA History of Ontario: its resources and development 
John Elliott
 
9635 In Galt, on Friday afternoon, 9th inst., at half-past 5 o'clock, John Elliott, aged 63 years and 6 months.

Galt Reporter Aug 16 1878 pg 3 
John Elliott
 
9636 In Loving Memory. Died In Ayr, on Wednesday, March 29th, 1922, at 3.30 p.m. John Elliott In his 62nd year. The Funeral Will take place from his late residence, Colquhoun St., on Saturday, Apr. 1, at 2.30 p.m., to Ayr Cemetery. (Please omit flowers.) Friends and acquaintances will please accept this intimation John Elliott
 
9637 Rev. John Elliott was born in Bowcastle, Cumberland, England, October 17 1824, came to Canada with his parents in 1829 and settled in Trafalgar township. He was converted in his 17th years, was licenced as a L. P. C. 5 years later, and preached in that capacity for 17 years. In 1849 he married Mary Jane Mullholland, daughter of the late George M., UEL, Trafalagar. Until 1862 he followed the mercantile pursuits in Port Hope, Peterboro and Lindsay. In 1862 he entered the NCM minister. He was rec'd into full membership with Con in 1866, then served several counties. He died Jan 31 1885 at the pars, Ayr (res of his son, Rev. R. J. Elliot) and was buried in Ayr Cemetery. [wording abridged]1a

1a Obituaries from the Christian Guardian July 1884 to December 1890 Volume 10, Donald A. McKenzie 
Rev. John Elliott
 
9638 ATKINSON, Margaret (Bette) Passed away peacefully at Fairview Mennonite Home on Thursday, December 3, 2009 in her 91st year. Bette Atkinson (nee Elliott) is the beloved mother of Denise Atkinson of Ottawa, loved grandmother of Spice Eden Maybe of Toronto and Kathleen Hindle of Haliburton. Also survived by her sisters Roberta Elliott and Joan Coutts (Wilf) both of Cambridge. She was predeceased by a son Douglas Atkinson (1961), one brother Ted (1980), and three sisters Jeannette Elliott (1934), Gertrude Rankine (1993) and Mary Syme (2000). Bette served her country during Second World War in the C.W.A.C. (Canadian Women's Army Corps), and was a retired employee of Canada Employment, a member of Trinity Anglican Church. The family will receive friends at Coutts Funeral Home, 96 St. Andrews Street on Saturday, December 5, 2009 from 1-2 P.M. followed by a funeral service in the chapel at 2 P.M. Interment Mt. View Cemetery. As expressions of sympathy donations to the Parkinson Society would be appreciated by the family. Tributes may be made on line at www.Couttsfuneralhome.com The family would like to express their thanks to the nursing staff and caregivers of Fairview Mennonite Home.1a

1aThe Waterloo Region Record 3 Dec 2009 
Margaret Elliott
 
9639 In 1851 Martha was living in Waterloo Township with her son William. Martha Elliott
 
9640 BAKED TOMATOES

Select large firm fruit; cut out a round place in the centre of each one, and scrape out the seeds and soft part with a teaspoon. Season stale bread crumbs with minced onion, parsley, salt and pepper, and fill the tomatoes. Butter a baking pan, place them close together, put few bits of butter on the top of each one, a little water in the bottom of the pan, and bake in moderate oven. If inclined to scorch, lay buttered paper over. 
Mary Miller Elliott
 
9641 1871 - Robert Elliott is staying with John Hunter. Robert Elliott
 
9642 Elliott Soap Works, J.& R. Elliott, Harris Street - "Where there is life, there's soap," is a new version of an old adage, but a true one nevertheless. Soap is one of the many necessary articles required in everyday life. Among the varied manufacturing industries in Galt, the Elliott Soap and Candle Works stand alone in their special line. The business of this concern has been established for over 30 years, the present firm coming into possession 6 years ago, succeeding Dixon, who succeeded Simpson, who succeeded Oliver, etc. The premises occupied are 34x106 feet in dimensions and 1 ½ stories in height, being substantially built of stone. There is one vat having a capacity of 16,000 lbs. of soap; there are also the necessary moulds, presses, etc., and a six-horse-power engine, used for pumping water. The special brands of soap manufactured - which are all laundry - are: "Pure," "Free Trade," "Sultana," "Dominion" and "Electric." The trade of the concern, which is excellent and steadily increasing, goes from London, Walkerton, St. Catharines, Brantford and Toronto, and all intermediate sections. Employment is furnished to four competent workmen. Messrs. Elliott are natives of Canada, and are active energetic and enterprising business men, and are on the sure road to business success.1a

1aIndustries of Canada, historical and commercial sketches, Hamilton and environs: its prominent places and people: representative merchants and manufacturers: its improvements, progress and enterprise (1886) 
Robert Elliott
 
9643 ELLIOTT, Robert

With fondest memories, the family announces the passing, of Robert Elliott, at Trinity Village Care Centre, on Sunday, May 16, 1999, in his 90th year. Beloved husband for 73 years of Eva; devoted Father of Edna Kirkorian of Kitchener and Wayne and his wife Debbie of Waterloo. He was predeceased by his daughter, Joy Trotter and her husband Scott and by his son-in-law, Sark Kirkorian. Proud grandfather of Judy and her husband Tom Fourney, Ray and his wife Darlene Trotter, Sherry and her husband Mike Meloche, Lee Elliott and his fiancee Monica Stubgen and Adam Elliott. Survived by six great-grandchildren. Bob was a longtime employee of Babcock-Wilcox until his retirement. Visitation will be held at the Barthel Funeral Home, 566 Queenston Rd, Cambridge, on Monday, May 17 (today) from 2-4 and 7-9 p.m. Funeral service will be held from the Salvation Army, 18 Tannery St., Cambridge, on Tuesday, at 1 p.m. Captain Sterling Snelgrove to officiate. Interment Parklawn Cemetery.

The Record 17 May 1999 pg B3 
Robert Elliott
 
9644 J. & R. Elliott manufacturers of plain and facy soaps, lard and other oils. This establishment is large and well fitted for the business. The premises are built of stone situated on Mill Creek, near the head of Main street. For a number of years this firm has conducted a successful business and by general urbanity and business tact they command the respect of the public and their patrons.1a

1aFrom 1897 Jubilee Souvenir of Galt  
Robert Elliott
 
9645 TROTTER, Thelma Joy

Of Vine Street, Cambridge, on Saturday, Dec. 24, 1994, at Cambridge Memorial Hospital, in her 68th year. Beloved wife of Scott Trotter and daughter of Robert and Eva Elliott of Kitchener. Dear mother of Raymond and his wife Darlene of Brantford and Sherry and her husband Mike Melodic of Alberta. Also survived by one sister, Edna Kirkorian of Cambridge and one brother, Wayne and his wife Debbie of Kitchener. Loving grandmother of six grandchildren. Derek, Shayne, Shannon, Raymond Jr., Katie and Julie. Joy Trotter was born in Botwood, Nfld. and had been a resident of Cambridge, since 1947 from Newfoundland. She was retired from Westinghouse, a member of the Preston Royal Canadian Legion Branch 126 and also a life member and past President of the Ladies Auxiliary. Friends will be received at the Barthel Funeral Home, 566 Queenston Rd., Cambridge, on Tuesday, Dec. 27, from 7-9 p.m. and Wednesday, Dec. 28, from 2-4 and 7-9 p.m. The funeral and committal services will be held at the funeral home on Thursday, Dec. 29, 1994, at 11 a.m., with Rev. Herb Hartig officiating. Cremation to follow. A legion service will be held on Wednesday evening, Dec. 28, at 7 p.m., under the auspices of the Preston Royal Canadian Legion Branch 126.

The Record 29 Dec 1994 pg A7 
Thelma Joy "Joy" Elliott
 
9646 1871 - Thomas Elliott is staying with John Hunter. Thomas Elliott
 
9647 SAD ACCIDENT AT GALT

A Pleasure Steamboat Goes Over The Mill Dam -- 8 Drowned

May 23, Galt. --The little steamer EMPRESS OF INDIA, which had been placed on the Grand River, and which on Monday last commenced its trips for the season on Blain's Dam, to all appearance was perfectly safe for the business required of it, and the calamity which has overtaken it was totally unlooked for.

Last evening about eight o'clock a party of some fifteen young men and two young women embarked on the vessel for a sail up the river. As the boat was crossing the dam something appeared to go wrong with the rudder, and the head of the boat could not be turned sufficiently up the stream to enable it to counteract the effects of the current caused by the flow over the dam. The west side of the dam was reached without mishap, however, but the point where the boat would have touched being rough and rocky, an order was given to reverse the engine, which was done. The boat again getting out into the stream, an effort was made to turn the bow up the stream but again it seemed as if the rudder would not work, and when at last it did, it unfortunately was turned the wrong way, and the boat headed directly for the fall, and before those on board could realize their position the steamer drifted broadside to the fall, and in a moment went crashing over into the boiling water beneath. Before it took it's final leap, however, two of it's occupants, John and William Ovens, jumped into the water, and the latter, in an almost miraculous manner, managed to obtain a foothold on the very edge and to resist the current until he reached the shore. His brother John was not so fortunate, being carried over the faIl, but he was eventually taken out of the river some distance below in an insensible condition.

Of those who went over with the boat, eight were lost, the rest having in various ways managed to reach shore. Both of the young women were saved, one, Miss Landreth, having had an escape that was perfectly miraculous, she floated down the stream until she struck the western pier of the upper bridge, against which the water pressed her so tightly that parties were enabled to get ropes and rescue her.

The following is a complete list of the drowned:-
Jas. Montgomery (engineer and owner), Edward Wren, Andrew Jackson; John Fraser; Frederick Cane; H. J. Jaffray (of the Galt reporter); Thomas Elliott and David Scott. The body of Mr. H. J. Jaffray was taken out of the water within a short time of the accident, but the most unremitting exertions on the part of the medical men present failed to restore life. It is the general impression, that when the boat went over the fall he must have been struck and stunned.

Efforts to recovers of the bodies were made during the night but without success. This morning the boat was turned over where she lay below the falls, t being supposed that some of the bodies must be entangled in the wreck, but none were discovered. The dam is about ten or twelve feet high, with about a foot of water flowing over the fall. The depth of water above the fall is from fifteen to eighteen feet.1a


1aMeaford Monitor Friday, May 31, 1878 
Thomas Elliott
 
9648 Died, In Ayr, on Thursday, June 6th, 1889, at 1 o'clock p.m., Wilhelmina Elliott, Aged 55 Years, 3 Months & 6 Days. The Funeral Will take place on Saturday, 8th inst., at 2 o'clock p.m., from her late residence, Northumberland St., to the New Cemetery, Ayr. Friends and acquaintances are respectfully invited to attend. Ayr, June 6th, 1889.1a

1aWaterloo Historical Society Death Notices Collection - photocopies  
Wilhelmina Elliott
 
9649 William Elliott was a native of Roxburgshire, Scotland. He arrived in Galt about 1846. First working a carpenter later he became on of Galt's earliest photographers. He left Galt in 1874 for Elora.1a

1aCambridge Mosaic , Jim Quantrell, 1998, City of Cambridge [abbreviated snippet from original text in book] 
William Elliott
 
9650 William Elliott was born in North Dumfries Township. He took over the family farm in 1904 and was well known as a breeder of Clydesdale horses and Tamworth hogs.

He was educated at Stone School, S.S. No. 19, Galt Collegiate Institute, and the Ontario Agricultural College and became a Farmer's Institute lecturer, and a livestock judge at fairs throughout Canada. During 1913-14 he was a member of a Board of Adjudicators appointed to assess damage to crops caused by smelters at Sudbury.

As a member of North Dumfries Township Council and reeve in 1921 he ran for Parliament and served for South Waterloo from 1921 to 1925, representing a Farmer-Labour coalition formed in protest against the Union Government which had survived the World War I.

In an executive capacity he served the Ontario Agricultural and Experimental Union (1924), the South Waterloo Liberal Association, the Central Dumfries Farmers Club and the North Dumfries Plowmen's Association. He was also a member of the Galt Suburban Roads Commission.1a

1aThe Waterloo Region Hall of Fame 
William Elliott
 
9651 Died In Ayr, on Wednesday, June 26, 1901, At 7.30 p.m. William H. Elliott, in the 75th year of his age. The Funeral Will take place from his late residence, Piper street, on Friday, June 28, at 10 o'clock a.m., to the Ayr Cemetery. Friends and acquaintances will please accept this intimation.1a

1aWaterloo Historical Society Death Notices Collection - photocopies  
William H. Elliott
 
9652 Died, In North Dumfries, on Monday, August 1st, 1881, at 12 o'clock, noon, William S. Elliott, Aged 75 Years and 7 Months. The Funeral Will take place on Wednesday, August 3rd, at 2 o'clock P.M., from his late residence, to the Galt Cemetery. Friends and acquaintances are respectfully invited to attend. North Dumfries, August 1st, 1881.1a

1aWaterloo Historical Society Death Notices Collection - photocopies

____________________


DEATH OF MR. WM. ELLIOTT


The death of this old resident of Dumfries, after a long and painful illness, took place on Monday morning last. The deceased gentleman came to Canada in the year 1833, and settled down at once on the fine property, then a wilderness, where he died. Of the same industrious spirit as characterized the Scottish emigrants who were the pioneers of Dumfries, he soon established a comfortable home, which has since grown into the beautiful homestead where so many of the last years of his life were spent. About eleven years after settling in Dumfries, Mr. and Mrs. Elliott were severely tried by the death in one week of six of their children, through a visitation of scarlet fever. In 1869, if we recollect aright, Mr. Elliott very suddenly lost his faithful partner in life, Mrs. Elliott retiring at night in health and being found quite dead the following morning. There are now living of the family, Mr. James Elliott, merchant, Hamilton; Mr. Andrew Elliott, living on the homestead, and Mrs. Andrew Telfer, of South Dumfries. Deceased was an earnest Christian man, and long a leading member of the United Presbyterian Church.

His Funeral on Wednesday was very largely attended, his many friends taking this way of testifying their earnest respect for the deceased and sympathy with his relatives.1a

1aGalt Reporter Aug 5 1881 pg 1 
William S. Elliott
 
9653 Alfred G. Ellis

HESPELER, In his 99th year, Alfred G. Ellis of RR 1, Hespeler, died Saturday, at K-W Hospital. He was a retired farmer and lived his whole life on the farm where he was born. He was a son of the late Mr. and Mrs. David Ellis and was married, in 1893. His wife died in June, 1945. Mr. Ellis was an honorary elder of Hespeler United Church. Surviving are one son, Carl, RR 1; three daughters, Mrs. Alvin (Alena) Gingerich, both of Hespeler; Miss Lourene Ellis and Miss Ella Ellis, both of Waterloo: one brother, Thomas, Clifford: one sister, Mrs. E. J. Mott, Willowdale and two grandchildren. The body is resting at the Stager Funeral Home, where service will be conducted, Tuesday, at 3 p.m., by Rev. M. G. McFarlane. Burial will be in Wanners Cemetery, near Hespeler.

Kitchener-Waterloo Record 8 Feb 1954 pg 5
 
Alfred G. Ellis
 
9654 David Ellis Sr. was born in the parish of Kileshandra, Co. Cavan, Ireland, and emmigrated to the U. S. with an older brother, W. Ellis, in 1804. 6 years later, he moved to Waterloo Twp., U. C. He married Margaret Jones, and settled in Dumfries twp., where he died, Dec. 20, 1845, in his 58th year; survived by his wife, his brother, W. Ellis of Waterloo Twp., and another brother in Ireland. Mr. Ellis served as a local preacher.1a

1aThe Christian Guardian 8 Apr 1846 pg 97

___________________

WILLIAM ELLIS, farmer, Township of South Dumfries, is a native of Waterloo County, Ontario, and was born 14th April, 1818. His father was one of the first settlers in this section of Canada, having emigrated from his native land, Ireland, at a very early day. He died in South Dumfries Township about the year 1845, and his wife, who was from Pennsylvania, died also in South Dumfries, February, 1866. They were married in Canada, and settled in Waterloo County originally, but finally moved to South Dumfries. William Ellis, our subject, married in 1839, Hannah Howell, born in Dumfries Township, 19th June, 1821, died 12th December, 1853 ; she was a daughter of Jonah Howell. Mr. Ellis again married, taking for his second wife Jane Cushnughan, born in Ireland, 20th September, 1831, and a daughter of Edward Cushnaghan. She was only two years of age when she left Ireland for Canada with her parents ; her father died, 8th November, 1881. Mr. Ellis, and both his first and second wife were members of the Baptist Church, and he himself has acted as School Trustee for several terms. By his first wife he had a family of eight children, of whom five survive, viz., Jonah, Mary, Sarah J., Alice M. and Hannah. The deceased are Margaret, Catharine and an infant. By his second marriage were born five, all living- James H., Edward, Judson, William S. and Frank L Success has closely attended Mr. Ellis' perseverance and industrial habits, for from nothing comparatively he has become owner of 198 acres improved land, with fine buildings, and this he has acquired since coming into the County of Brant.2a

2aThe history of the county of Brant, Ontario: containing a history of the county: its township, cities, towns, schools, J. H. Beers & Co. Warner, Beers & Co. 
Rev. David Ellis
 
9655 Served in the Flank company of the 2nd York Militia Regiment under Captain Applegarth. Militia rolls names on him and petitions for compensation after the war listing their homes as being in Block 2 or Waterloo Rev. David Ellis
 
9656 Edward Ellis did not seek a political or public life but remained close to the land, farming and assisting in the construction of buildings in the community. He resided on his farm in Puslinch Township for over thirty years. On October 13th, 1873, Edward Ellis sold his pioneer farm to Mr. William Ross. Mary and Edward took up residence near the village of St. George in South Dumfries, Brant County.

Edward Ellis was known as a man of great general intelligence and of a most philanthropic disposition, ever ready to administer a good turn when he knew it to be necessary.

"We are bound to say that few men endeared themselves more to all acquaintances than did Mr. Ellis - a gentle and consistent Christian."

Throughout his adult life, Edward Ellis was always a staunch member of the Methodist Church, and a liberal in politics. For some thirty years, Edward's health was in a precarious condition. At the time of his death on Saturday, November 24th, 1883 at the age of 69 years, Edward and his wife Mary were in readiness to move to Hespeler - once again to be amid old friends and family.

An interesting observation about Edward and Thomas Ellis is that both men followed in the footsteps of their father, David Ellis. Thomas, like his father, was a magistrate. Edward leaned toward the religious calling of his preacher father. The one acre of land given freely to the Puslinch Lake community by Edward and Mary Ellis was generous in nature and representative of their Christian spirit.1a

1aEllis Church Enduring and Everlasting 1861-1987 126 years, published by The Ellis Church Board of Trustees., July 1987. 
Edward Ellis
 
9657 The Earliest Bakeries of which there is a record here were those operated by George Ellis in 1859 in the Orton Block, corner Queen and Guelph Road1a

1aLe Rue De Commerce, Other Times Other Customs Other Days Other Ways, Winfield Brewster 1954 
George Ellis
 
9658 George Ellis

Funeral service took place Friday, in Goderich for George L. Ellis. He died suddenly last Tuesday, at his Goderich home, at the age of 66. Burial was in Elmira. Mr. Ellis was at one time the editor of the Elmira Signet. His wife, the former Gene Aumann, is from Elmira. He is also survived by a daughter, Barbara (Mrs. Barry Foster) of Guelph and two grandchildren: a brother, Walter of Ponoka, Alberta and a sister, Mrs. Bryan White of Loomis, California. He was publisher of the Goderich Signal-Star from 1951 to 1968 and was a past-president of the Ontario weekly newspapers association.

The Elmira Signet Apr 19 1972 pg 8 
George Lineslu Ellis
 
9659 "Ellis, Harry P., 25 Cedar Street south, May 27, 74 years. Harry P. Ellis, age 74, died at 25 Cedar Street south, on Sat. afternoon. A s/o Edwin Ellis and Louise Oakley,deceased was born at Greenwich, England on Jan. 28, 1865. He was married to Mary Saltzberry in Kitchener, Aug. 7, 1886. Mr. Ellis was employed asa messenger at the B.F. Goodrich Company. He was a member of St. John'sAnglican church and the Sons of England. Surviving are his widow, one son, Charles of United States, sixdaughters, Mrs. Walter Eager, Mrs. John Head, Mrs. Ray Gillespie, Mrs. S.E. Rickert and Mrs. Louis Hofstetter, all of Kitchener, and Mrs. Gordon Daub of St. Agatha; three brothers, Charles, Fred and George, all of Kitchener, one sister, Miss Florence, 20 grandchildren and one great-grandchild....Mount Hope Cemetery..."

Kitchener Daily Record 29 May 1939 
Harvey Percy "Harry" Ellis
 
9660 STEEL, Irene Mae (nee Ellis)

Born September 29, 1924 in Saint John, N.B. and raised in Nova Scotia, died peacefully at Cambridge Memorial Hospital on October 15, 2010. Predeceased by her husband Gilbert. Irene served in the Canadian Army during WWII and settled in Cambridge, when the war ended. She was a 40 year member of The Royal Canadian Legion Branch 126. She also volunteered for many years at The Allen Reuter Seniors Centre. A private family interment has taken place.

Cambridge Times 21 Oct 2010 
Irene Mae Ellis
 
9661 From Death Record James Ellis
 
9662 In Waterloo, on the 12th inst., Mr. James Ellis, aged 73 years and 2 months. Deceased was a very old resident of the Township of Waterloo, having along with his father entered the Township along with the first settlers. For many years he had suffered very much from bad health. He was an upright, honorable man, and was highly respected.

Galt Reporter Dec 20 1878 pg 3 
James Ellis
 
9663 ELLIS, John Bateman

Of 246 Fountain St., Cambridge, on Wednesday, Jan. 21, 1981, at Cambridge Memorial Hospital, in his 79th year, John Ellis, beloved husband of Winifred Langrick. Dear father of Dr. Roger Ellis of Edmonton, Alta., David of Mississauga and Dr. William Ellis of Elora. Also survived by eight grandchildren. Mr. Ellis was born in England and came to Cambridge from Renfrew, Ont., in 1955. He was the retired owner/operator of Ellis's Shoe Store, Cambridge and a member of St. John's Anglican Church, Cambridge. Funeral service will be conducted on Thursday, Jan. 22, 1981, at St. John's Anglican Church, Cambridge, at 2 p.m. Cremation will follow. There will be no visitation at the funeral home.

Kitchener-Waterloo Record 21 Jan 1981 pg 33 
John Bateman Ellis
 
9664 ELLIS, John David

December 9, 1935-February 14, 2016. Passed away peacefully, at his home on Sunday, February 14, 2016, at the age of 80. Beloved husband to Melvina (nee Doucette) of 55 years and loving father to Laurie (Eimutis), Cindy (Mark), Cheryl (Renato) and Michael (Louise). Cherished papa to his nine grandchildren: Megan, Kyle, Brittany, Brent, Samantha, Emily, Michael, Nicholas, Jessica and his three great-grandchildren, Ezabella, Emmett and Emma-lee. David is survived by his brother, Roger Ellis (Marg), sister-in-law, Patricia Ellis, brothers and sisters-in-law from Prince Edward Island, nieces and nephews, He is predeceased by his youngest brother, William Ellis and his parents, John and Winifred Ellis. David found great joy in spending time with his family and friends, skiing on the hills of Mt. St Louis, golfing, playing cards and summer vacations, in PEI. As per his wishes cremation has taken place. A mass and celebration of life will take place at 11:00 a.m. on Saturday, February 27th at St. Clement's Church, 745 Duke Street, Cambridge.

Cambridge Times 25 Feb 2016 
John David "David" Ellis
 
9665 Richardson; Karen - Passed away peacefully at Hilltop Manor in Cambridge on Tuesday, January 3, 2006. Karen Beatrice May (Ellis) Richardson of Cambridge formally of Purple Valley in her 65th year. Beloved wife of the late Clifford Albert Richardson who passed away in July of 2004. Loving mother of Paul and his wife Parr, Debbie Studiman and her husband Ken, Lorrie Richardson and her spouse John Curtis all of Cambridge and Ron Ellis of Brantford. Dear grandma of nine grandchildren. Loving sister of Allan Ellis, Carolyn Perry (David), Gary Ellis (Sue). Predeceased by her brother Fred Ellis. At Karens request cremation has taken place. There will be a memorial service for Karen on Saturday, January 7, 2006 at the Henry Walser Funeral Home, 507 Frederick St. Kitchener (749-8467) at 2:00p.m. Memorial Donations to the Heart and Stroke Foundation or to the Diabetes Association would be appreciated by the family. Visit www.obit411.com/1892 for Karen's memorial.

Unidentified Newspaper Obituary 
Karen Beatrice May Ellis
 
9666 Mrs. Katherine Rickert - Mrs. Katherine Rickert, 63, of 65A Church St., died today in K-W Hospital, after a brief illness. Born Dec. 30, 1897, in Guelph, she was a daughter of the late Harry Ellis and the former Mary Salzberg. She was a member of St. Andrew's Anglican Church and was active in the Patricia Chapter, Order of the Eastern Star. Her husband, Stanley, died in 1937. He was proprietor of Rickert's Dairy for many years. Survivors include one son, Stanley of Kitchener; one daughter, Mrs. William (Bette) Hallman of Kitchener; one brother, Charles of Detroit; four sisters, Mrs. Walter (Florence) Eager and Mrs. Jack (Ethel) Head of Toronto, Mrs. Ray (Grace) Gillespie and Mrs. Louis (Della) Hofstetter of Kitchener; and six grandchildren. One sister, Mrs. Gordon (Cora) Daub, predeceased her. The body is at the Schreiter Sandrock Funeral Home where the funeral will be conducted Saturday at 2 pm by Rev. C.L. Ladds. Burial will be in Mount Hope Cemetery.

Unidentified Newspaper Obituary 
Katherine Ellis
 
9667 LEONARD G. ELLIS 1919 - 2009 Leonard Gordon Ellis passed away, suddenly, at Pinehaven Retirement Residence, Waterloo on Thursday, December 3, 2009, just two days before his 90th birthday. Leonard was a veteran of the Second World War and a Mutual Life retiree. Predeceased by his wife, Dorothy in 2009; parents, John and Mabel Ellis; sister, Pauline Bauman; brother, Ervin Ellis; and a sister in infancy. Loving father of Rosemary and Peter Cadiou of Cambridge, Charles and Ruth Ellis of Waterloo, Sharon and Norman Raycraft of Barrie and step-father of Robert and Sandy Morewood of Windsor. Dear grandfather of Robyn Cadiou, Brian and Corrine Ellis, Bradley and Erin Ellis, Sarah and Jon Bastien, Kristi Gayowsky, and five great-grand- children. Remembered by Peggy and Bob Power of Leisureworld, Elmira. Relatives and friends are invited to share memories of Leonard during visitation at the Erb & Good Family Funeral Home , 171 King St. S., Waterloo on Sunday, December 6 from 2-4 p.m. The funeral service will be held in the chapel of the funeral home on Monday, December 7, 2009 at 3:00 p.m. Cremation to follow. A reception will immediately follow the service in the funeral home's Fireside Reception Room. As expressions of sympathy, memorial donations may be made to the Heart and Stroke Foundation of Ontario or a charity of choice by contacting the funeral home at www.erbgood.com or 519-745-8445 519-745-8445. In living memory of Leonard, a donation will be made to the Trees for Learning Program by the funeral home.1a

1aThe Waterloo Region Record 3 Dec 2009 
Leonard G. Ellis
 
9668 Mrs. Martha Butler, was born in Waterloo twp., in 1816, married Patrick Butler in 1837, and died in Walsingham, March 22, 1861 [should read 1871]; predeceased by 4 sons, 3 of them in infancy, 1 at about aged 12; suvived by her husband, 1 son and 5 daughters.1a

1aChristian Guardian 10 May 1871 pg 75 
Martha Ellis
 
9669 ELLIS, Mary Lourene

March 30, 1900 to January 1,1999. Lourene was born and grew up on a farm near Hespeler. Most of her life was spent in Waterloo, where she managed the cafeteria in the head office of the Mutual Life. She moved to St. Luke's Place in Cambridge, in 1995. She is a sister to the late Carl Ellis and the late Elena Gingrich. Her younger sister, Ella, still lives in St. Luke's Place. The date and location of a memorial service will be announced later.

The Record 6 Jan 1999 pg B4 
Mary Lourene Ellis
 
9670 From Birth Record Maud Mabel Ellis
 
9671 WILLIAM ELLIS, farmer, Township of South Dumfries, is a native of Waterloo County, Ontario, and was born 14th April, 1818. His father was one of the first settlers in this section of Canada, having emigrated from his native land, Ireland, at a very early day. He died in South Dumfries Township about the year 1845, and his wife, who was from Pennsylvania, died also in South Dumfries, February, 1866. They were married in Canada, and settled in Waterloo County originally, but finally moved to South Dumfries. William Ellis, our subject, married in 1839, Hannah Howell, born in Dumfries Township, 19th June, 1821, died 12th December, 1853 ; she was a daughter of Jonah Howell. Mr. Ellis again married, taking for his second wife Jane Cushnughan, born in Ireland, 20th September, 1831, and a daughter of Edward Cushnaghan. She was only two years of age when she left Ireland for Canada with her parents ; her father died, 8th November, 1881. Mr. Ellis, and both his first and second wife were members of the Baptist Church, and he himself has acted as School Trustee for several terms. By his first wife he had a family of eight children, of whom five survive, viz., Jonah, Mary, Sarah J., Alice M. and Hannah. The deceased are Margaret, Catharine and an infant. By his second marriage were born five, all living\emdash James H., Edward, Judson, William S. and Frank L Success has closely attended Mr. Ellis' perseverance and industrial habits, for from nothing comparatively he has become owner of 198 acres improved land, with fine buildings, and this he has acquired since coming into the County of Brant.1a

1aThe history of the county of Brant, Ontario: containing a history of the county: its township, cities, towns, schools, J. H. Beers & Co. Warner, Beers & Co. 
William Ellis
 
9672 In 1810 Jacob Shantz & wife & one child and Christian Shantz with wife & 8 children (he was distinguished as River Shantz) and half brother to Jacob's late father (Isaac) and Cornelius Pannebecker & family came in one company.

In this same year 1810 came Henry Wanner with 3 sons and 6 daughters from Cumberland Co. Pa. He had two 4 horse teams and brought 6 cows along. In this came also one William Ellis (D. Feby. 28, 1848 and wife Martha D. Sept. 29, 1864) originally from Ireland, came from Pa. and settled near Hespeler of the present. Henry [Ellis] one of those sons was drafted and as he was not a member in the Mennonite church had to go in the War of 1812. On his return from battle he had all his cartridges left yet so he was asked why he did not shoot, to which he replied, why I looked & looked for a chance. He was too much of a Mennonite for a good soldier.

This William Ellis, (who became a Captain of a company in the War of 1812), and John Erb were the two first Magistrates in this Waterloo settlement. As yet no Post Office was nearer than Dundas, and all legal business, such as Recording of Deeds, reports & returns of Tax collectors, had to be made at Little York (Toronto).

Mennonite Immigration to Waterloo County, The Moyer Journal, Atributed to Samuel S. Moyer 1849-1941, Waterloo Region Branch, Ontario Genealogical Society

_______________________

His Excellency Major General Sir Peregrine Maitland Knight Commander of the Most Honorable Military Order of the Bath. Lieutenant Governor of the Province of Upper Canada.

May it please your Excellency

We the undersigned inhabitants of the Township of Waterloo and the adjacent Townships beg leave respectfully to represent - That in many instances they are put to great inconvenience in consequence of not having two resident Magistrates in this part of the District of Gore - And that it would greatly contribute to the general accommodation of the Inhabitants if in addition to the present magistrate William Ellis Esq. it would please your Excellency to name some other person to act in conjunction with him in discharge of the very important Office of Justice of the Peace.

We therefore humbly petition your Excellency that you would please appoint Mr. William Scollick of the township of Waterloo as Magistrate for the District of Gore. And we confidently assure your Excellency that from the circumstances of the person herein nominated being a native of the County of Westmorland in England and his having already purchased an Estate in the Township of Waterloo. And since his residence amongst us uniformly conducted himself as a respectable and truly loyal subject. We think no other person in this vicinity could be named to discharge the duty of the appointment with greater satisfaction to the Inhabitants.

And your petitioners are in duty bound will ever pray

--

Waterloo
April 23rd 1824

Walter B. Davis
Andrew Serares
Jacob Holt
Henry Panndeker
D. Sharp
Richard Ferguson
William Ellis, J.P.
John McCarther
John Erb
Abraham Panebaker
William Bedntetr
Jacob Gabel
John Tasinbarger
Sylvenus Cornell
Ebocham Tasenbarger
Ward Smith
Christian Swartz
John Erb Jn.
Thomas Smith
George Clemens
James Henery
Jacob C. Snyder
John Bearty
? Zingler

Upper Canada Sundries, Archives of Canada. Original, Film C4612, vol. 66, pages 3505-35007. Index, Film C9822, 1824, p. 27

___________________________

William Ellis was born in Ireland in 1776, and emigrated to the U. S. in 1804 with his younger brother. 6 years later, he moved to U. C. and settled in Waterloo Twp. where he was appointed Justice of the Peace. He died survived by his wife and 8 children.

The Christian Guardian 17 May 1848 pg 123

_____________________________

In these early times there was not much need of magisterial supervision, but, as much probably as a matter of compliment as anything else, in the fall of 1827 Dr. Dunlop, Messrs. Pryor, Brewster, Hodgert and Col. Lamprey received the Commission of the Peace, to which Mr. Strange was afterwards added. Previous to this, disputes were adjusted and petty crimes punished by the magistrates elsewhere, 'Squires Leppard and Smith being the magistrates in Woolwich, and 'Squire Ellis, of Fisher's Mills, and 'Squire Scollick, of Preston, in Waterloo. From what is stated by those settlers who were here at the time, these magistrates' courts were conducted more on the principles of equity than on the basis of law, the legal knowledge of their worships on the bench being of the most crude and limited nature, and their decisions being given as the result of their innate feelings of justice and their bard common-sense views of right and wrong; and who shall say that there was not as much even-handed justice meted out then as now, when, through the multiplicity of apparently conflicting statutes, law and justice do not always seem to go hand in hand? When the Guelph magistrates were appointed, however, a quantity of law books were procured, and being men of considerable education and ability, they at once assumed a high place in the estimation of the other justices of the peace, who were accustomed to refer unusually knotty points to them for decision.

The annals of the town of Guelph, 1827-1877 By Charles Acton Burrows pg. 60

______________________________

ELLIS FAMILY HISTORY

Mr. Alfred Ellis of Maple Grove Farm near Hespeler, who observed his 92nd birthday on September 15th, reveals some hitherto unrecorded tails of early days in the country shedding sidelights on conditions in Canada in the early days.

Mr. Ellis's grandfather, according to the former's reminiscences, Was the man who fired the first shot in the historic battle of Beaver Dams. A captain in the army, he went into active service immediately after the outbreak of the war of 1812-13-14 and when the men he was directing faced the enemy at Beaver Dams, so keen was the young officer to fight that he fired a shot before the general order to fire had been given.

Captain Ellis was better known in this vicinity as Squire Ellis. He was the country's first magistrate and in addition was employed by the government to pay the Indians the wolf-pelt bounty.

Although the times were troublous Squire Ellis lost no time in getting into action when Canada was invaded. As he bade farewell to his wife and young family before mounting his horse to ride to Niagara, he planted a staff in the ground. If it stood upright it was to be a sign that he would return unharmed from the War, he told his wife. Whether or not this superstition had any foundation is unknown. But it is known that the staff remained upright all the time its owner was away. It was still in position on the night at midnight when a noise at the door startled as she sat spinning, and without any other announcement her husband stood unharmed before her with his job of soldiering done. It is of interest that the old musket and bayonet used by Squire Ellis in 1812-14 are still valued possessions of the Ellis family.

In Squire Ellis's time Indians were much dreaded. The Squire, however, did not appear to share the general fear. Indeed he seemed to have a special influence over the red men. One night when he was returning through the Woods on horseback, a little to the west of where Preston now stands., he heard cries of distress. On turning his horse and investigating he found an Indian white men whipping him.

The Squire jumped off his horse, routed the men and untied the Indian He then gave his horse to the latter and took him home Where Mrs. Ellis cared for him until his wounds were healed.

One morning the Indian attempted by means of signs to give his benefactors a message but they failed to understand. Shortly afterwards he left the farm. A year later a b and of Indians approached the house with 2 Indian ponies. Since he did not know what they wanted the Squire put his children in the house, took out his gun and went out to meet them. The Indian he had rescued the previous was in the front rank. He came forward, three this arms about the Squire while two other Indians presented him with the span of Indian ponies.

In telling the story the Squire's grandson reported that it was a legend in the family that the ponies were kept on the farm until they died and that in the year 1885 a matched span of Indian ponies - probably offspring of the original pair - were shown by the Ellis family at Harley Fair and took first prize for being the "fastest walkers".

Interest in horses came naturally to the country's first magistrate. The chronicle of his family shows that he was a born in County Cavan, Ireland, a gentleman farmer who was educated, in good circumstances and who maintained a stable of good horses and kept his own hounds.

Squire Ellis was born in 1776 and married in 1799. When his first two children were still small tots he and his wife crossed the ocean and had the grief of having their first son die during the hazardous voyage.

At first they settled in Pennsylvania but in 1810 with other Loyalists they came north to Canada and settled on 230 acres which they bought from the Crown (George IY) near what is now Idylwild.

Their first home was built of logs on the side of a hill facing the south with an everlasting spring near by. (The Spring is now in existence). The house was a three storey structure with cellar, kitchen and fireplace, in front of which the Squire joined many hand in wedlock. As much as seven hundred pounds of maple sugar was often stored in the old attic. The house old is still standíng and is in good repair.

Mr. Ellis recalls that his grandparents had eight children, one of whom, David, was his father. The latter settled a few miles north of the original home on a farm which is the home of his nonagenarian son.

On Feb 8, 1892, Mr. Alfred Ellis married Mary Jane Clemens, daughter of Aaron Clemens of Fisher's Mills. Mr.s Ellis died June 8, 1945. The four children of this marriage are still living. Carl, who was the reeve of Waterloo Township, is now the farmer instead of his father. Elena, now Mrs. Alvin Gingrich lives in Hespeler, and Lourene and Ella are employed in Kitchener.

(Adapted in part from Pieces of Eight - New Record Sept. 18, 1940)

Waterloo Historical Society 1947 Annual Volume 
Squire William E. S. Ellis
 
9673 Served in the Flank company of the 2nd York Militia Regiment under Captain Applegarth. Militia rolls names on him and petitions for compensation after the war listing their homes as being in Block 2 or Waterloo Squire William E. S. Ellis
 
9674 Edith Mary Elmes

Edith Mary Elmes of RR 1, Drumbo passed away at Henderson Civic Hospital, Hamilton, on Tuesday, January 14th. She was in her 55th year. Born in Blenheim Township where she resided all her life, she was a daughter of the late Roy F. Elmes and Mary Jane Hutchinson. Miss Elmes was a valued member of Knox United Church, Ayr; served as church secretary until the end of 1985; a member of the United Church Women; Blenheim-Dumfries Farm Women's Club and Townline Community Club. Surviving are two brothers Rupert of RR 2. Drumbo and Spencer of RR 1, Drumbo; four nephews and one niece. Resting at Wm. Kipp Funeral Home, Paris. Funeral service Thursday, 2 p.m. at Knox United Church, Ayr.

The Ayr News 15 Jan 1986 pg 11 
Edith Mary Elmes
 
9675 Dorothy Elmes

Frances Dorothy Elmes of RR 1, Drumbo, passed away at Willett Hospital, Paris, on Monday, March 22nd, 1999. She was in her 73rd year. Born in Blenheim Township, she was a daughter of Wallace Elmes and Ina Hall. Miss Elmes resided at RR 1, Drumbo all her life. She was a member of Knox United Church, Ayr and the church Friendship Group; the Blenheim-Dumfries Farm Women's Group; Drumbo Fair Board; Ayr Horticultural Society and the Townline Community Club. Surviving is a brother Ross of RR 1, Drumbo. Resting at the Ayr Chapel of the Wm. Kipp Funeral Home where visitation will be held from 2 to 3 p.m. on Thursday, followed by funeral service at 3 p.m. Interment Ayr Cemetery.

The Ayr News 24 Mar 1999 pg 15 
Frances Dorothy "Dorothy" Elmes
 
9676 John Wallace Elmes Passes

A lifelong resident of Blenheim Township, John Wallace Elmes, passed away in Kitchener-Waterloo Hospital on Friday, December 22nd. He was in his 94th year. Mr. Elmes was born in Blenheim Township, a son of the late Joseph Elmes and Margaret Rupert. For the past 60 years he had resided on a farm on the 7th Concession, RR 1, Drumbo. He was predeceased by his wife the former Ina Hall in 1966, also a brother Roy. Surviving are a daughter Dorothy and son Ross, both at home. Funeral and committal service were conducted from the William Kipp Funeral Home, Paris, on Sunday. Rev. D. E. Willis of Ayr officiated. Interment in Ayr Cemetery.

The Ayr News Dec 28 1972 pg 10 
John Wallace "Wallace" Elmes
 
9677 17 and 19 Water [Wyatt] St. East

These twin houses were built by the well-known local mason, Charles Wilken. (Wilken did the masonry on the Great West Felt factory at the north end of Elmira; it is still in excellent shape after eighty years.) He built No. 19 for himself about 1907 and then built No 17 shortly thereafter for his wife's sister who wanted an identical house. One difference between the original buildings was in the foundation blocks; Charles' son Walter, relates that the sister-in-law and her husband spent evenings through the winter making the blocks for No. 17 by hand. The geometric latticework or treillage (a Regency feature) over the verandas is a special feature of these houses. The turned posts are also original, and the bottom railing of the upper veranda on No. 17 is probably original while that of No. 19 has been replaced. Notice also the delicate scrollwork at the top of the Italianate round-headed windows.1a

1aMarion Roes 2011 
Elmira
 
9678 17 and 19 Water [Wyatt] St. East

These twin houses were built by the well-known local mason, Charles Wilken. (Wilken did the masonry on the Great West Felt factory at the north end of Elmira; it is still in excellent shape after eighty years.) He built No. 19 for himself about 1907 and then built No 17 shortly thereafter for his wife's sister who wanted an identical house. One difference between the original buildings was in the foundation blocks; Charles' son Walter, relates that the sister-in-law and her husband spent evenings through the winter making the blocks for No. 17 by hand. The geometric latticework or treillage (a Regency feature) over the verandas is a special feature of these houses. The turned posts are also original, and the bottom railing of the upper veranda on No. 17 is probably original while that of No. 19 has been replaced. Notice also the delicate scrollwork at the top of the Italianate round-headed windows.1a

1aMarion Roes 2011 
Elmira
 
9679 Gale Presbyterian Church - Cross Street

Take a short detour down Cross St. to Gale Presbyterian Church.  Built in 1868, this church is named after Rev. Alexander Gale, a professor at Knox College, Toronto, who headed a program in the 1840s to give student ministers a chance to preach.  These students came to the church in Winterbourne, the closest Presbyterian church before this one was built.  The 1868 building was altered considerably in 1906, but care was taken to blend the additions and the old building into a pleasing whole.  The right-hand (north) portion of the building is the original structure.  The front fa?ade was very simple, with a tall gothic-arch central entrance and a small pointed-arch window above. A close look at the brick reveals where the doorway was bricked in and replaced by the round window.  Notice too the three buttresses and four gothic windows in the north wall of the original building.  In 1906, the left hand foyer, the short tower and the annex were added, while the impressive round window replaced the old doorway.  The tower with its flared eaves adds distinction to the new entrance, and its fish scale shingling is echoed in the decorative south gable end.  The gothic windows in the south side tie in with the original ones on the north side.  New memorial windows replaced the old windows in the 1940s when the church was repainted inside and out.  In 1951, a kitchen was built, and in 1970 the portable Sunday school room was added at the rear.1a

1aElmira Three Walking Tours, compiled by Susan Bryant and Bertha Thompson for the Township of Woolwich LACAC (Local Architectural Conservation Advisory Committee), December, 1985 - submitted by Marion Roes  with permission of the authors 2011 
Elmira
 
9680 Roy J. Aberle Cities Service Station

Roy J. Aberle has conducted a successful business in the Cities Service Station, on the [north west] corner of Arthur and Water [now Wyatt] Streets, for the past 14 years.  During these years he was assisted by many High School boys who earned pin-money by working part time: Leonard Rau (killed in a car accident), Merner Saddler, Buddy Hillis (killed overseas), Harold Schaub, Laverne Miller, Norman Hathaway, Donald Brox, Art Hahn, David Rowland (at present with the R.A.F., England).  Mr. Aberle's own sons, Gerald and Neil, are now giving him a helping hand.  The rainbow-coloured Studebaker shown in the picture, and used by Roy as a service car, was featured in the 1923 Old Boys Reunion as the most up-to-date car in Elmira at that time.2a

2aSouvenir of the Elmira Old Boys and Girls Reunion 1948, pg.39

Roy J. Aberle Cities Service Station

Roy J. Aberle has conducted a successful business in the Cities Service Station, on the [north west] corner of Arthur and Water [now Wyatt] Streets, for the past 14 years.  During these years he was assisted by many High School boys who earned pin-money by working part time: Leonard Rau (killed in a car accident), Merner Saddler, Buddy Hillis (killed overseas), Harold Schaub, Laverne Miller, Norman Hathaway, Donald Brox, Art Hahn, David Rowland (at present with the R.A.F., England).  Mr. Aberle's own sons, Gerald and Neil, are now giving him a helping hand.  The rainbow-coloured Studebaker shown in the picture, and used by Roy as a service car, was featured in the 1923 Old Boys Reunion as the most up-to-date car in Elmira at that time.2a

2aSouvenir of the Elmira Old Boys and Girls Reunion 1948, pg.39.

____________________

2011 note: Aberle's station was remodelled to be a Becker gas bar and convenience store some years ago, and in 2011 the building is being demolished.  A new building will be erected on the combined former Aberle and Steddick Hotel properties. 
Elmira
 
9681 St. James Evangelical Lutheran Church - 60 Arthur St. South

The Lutheran congregation was organized in 1850. The corner lot was purchased for eleven pounds and five shillings, and a log building was constructed on the site of the present church. In 1869 a yellow brick church in the Upper Canada Gothic style was built. the plot of land at the rear of this church was used as a burial ground from 1850 to 1884. ...The present church was built in 1914-1915. ...1a

1aElmira Three Walking Tours, compiled by Susan Bryant and Bertha Thompson for the Township of Woolwich LACAC (Local Architectural Conservation Advisory Committee), December, 1985 - submitted by Marion Roes  with permission of the authors 2011
 
Elmira
 
9682 Built by Jacob Dunke to came from Kitchener in 1864. Starting as a clerk in Wenger and Ruppel clothing store which was at the corner of Arthur and Church Streets. After the breakup of Wenger and Ruppel he continued with the new business Isaac Wenger store. In 1875 he opened his own store retiring at 43. Elmira
 
9683 Constructed 1860 Elmira
 
9684 Constructed by Caspar Ruppel in 1856, it is the oldest brick building in Elmira. Elmira
 
9685 Constructed by John Ratz in the 1870's Elmira
 
9686 Former home of William Behrens who was a salesman at the business Weber and Erb. The wrap around porch has been removed. Elmira
 
9687 This building, constructed in the 1860s, is one of the oldest brick buildings in Elmira.  At one time called the Ontario House or Mogk's Hotel (Casper Mogk was the proprietor), the hotel was built at a time of rapid growth as the surrounding countryside was settled and Elmira became a centre of commerce.  Early photographs show frame outbuildings, probably stables, extending across what is now Water St. [later named Wyatt St.].  The hotel has changed over the years, but one can still see clear evidence of the original Georgian style common at this period.  Characteristics of Georgian architecture are the rectangular shape, symmetrically placed windows of uniform size, and central doorways.  A close look at the south gable wall reveals the locations of the six original windows on the main storeys, topped by one smaller window in the attic.  Notice also the S shaped hardware on this wall; these are the original beam anchors. An early photograph shows, at the front of the south wing, central doorways flanked by two windows each on both storeys.  A small balcony projected from the second storey doorway and a broad platform extended nearly the length of this wing, serving as a porch.  The front of the north wing had six symmetrically placed windows - three on each storey.1a

1aElmira Three Walking Tours, compiled by Susan Bryant and Bertha Thompson for the Township of Woolwich LACAC (Local Architectural Conservation Advisory Committee), December, 1985 - submitted by Marion Roes  with permission of the authors 2011 
Elmira
 
9688 No Ghosts: History of the Wachsmuth Block / Dreisinger Building,
7 Arthur Street North, Elmira

by Marion Roes

Published in the Waterloo Historical Society Volume 91 - 2003, pp. 20-29 .

Excerpts printed with permission from the author
.

The building was sold and demolished early in 2008. Shoppers Drug Mart built a new store on the corner which opened in October 2008.

William Wachsmuth was an early Elmira entrepreneur.  He arrived in 1860, built a small frame building on the corner of Church and Arthur Streets, opened a shoe shop, then added a grocery.  Some years later, he was able to build a large, square, two-storey yellow brick "block" with a warehouse on the back.

Divided into three sections, the Wachsmuth block housed many businesses before 1906 when Christian Dreisinger moved his undertaking business into the center section of the building. Some of those businesses were: Wachsmuth Printing, the Traders Bank, Miss Edmund's millinery shop, Weichel Hardware, City Shoe Store (owned appropriately by Mr. Schumaker), Massey Harris Co. Of Toronto, Ford and Liesemer Farm Implements, Otto Wachsmuth's boot and shoe business (which advertised McPherson's Lightening Hitch Hockey Shoe). 

Dreisinger added retail furniture later in 1906 and by 1912 more space was needed.  The warehouse came down and a large two-storey addition with a second entrance on Church Street went up. So that furniture could be moved to and from the new display area on the second floor, a manual pulley elevator was installed.

When Pentland's Millinery's lease ended in 1921, C. Dreisinger Furniture and Undertaking expanded into that north section and combined the two entrances into one.  The local newspaper noted that the upstairs, previously set apart for furniture, would be the casket department of the undertaking business.  In the same year the Royal Bank, which had merged with the Traders Bank in 1912, moved across the street.

Arthur Ullyot, druggist from Toronto leased the corner section and changed the windows and entrance. Freddie Miller, owner of the electrical business across the street on Church Street, installed a motor for the manual elevator.

Funeral practises were changing.  During the early 1930s people started asking for funerals to be carried out at parlors instead of in their homes.  No longer was the deceased's body prepared at home, or visitations held there.  Except for wintertime, cars had replaced horse-drawn hearses.  A 1937 fire map shows a garage added to the rear of the building with room for hearses and cars for two complete funerals.

Then, in 1940, Ullyot's Rexall Drug Store moved down the street and that corner section became a funeral chapel, reportedly the first in the district. Renovations to the rest of the building included a properly appointed morgue, visitation rooms and casket showroom.  In the basement were a radio repair shop and the building's air conditioning and automatic heating systems.

Another use for the elevator shaft was drying the 12 x 15 foot tent which sheltered mourners at graveside services. After a rain it was a struggle, standing on the main floor to push the heavy wet canvas with a pole to the second floor so the rings on the top hooked onto the top of the elevator shaft.  It took at least 36 hours for the tent to dry, hanging three stories through the open top of the elevator stationed in the basement.

In 1977 the furniture and funeral businesses were separated.  Dreisinger Funeral Home moved to 62 Arthur Street South and with it went the pews, stained glass windows and the Hammond electric organ. Furniture displays expanded to new space opened when visitation and preparation rooms were removed.

"Are there ghosts?" people often asked.  Ghost stories are usually about how a person dies.  People had already died when they were brought here.  So no, no ghosts!1a 

1aInformation for the article was taken from personal records, newspapers and local history books.  They are listed in the Waterloo Historical Society Volume 91 - 2003 which is available in libraries.

______________________

Excerpts from Elmira: Three Walking Tours

Dreisinger Furniture Store - 7 Arthur St. North

The intersection of Church and Arthur Streets has been the core of Elmira's business district since the early days.  Some of the early commercial buildings still remain.  The Italianate building on the northeast corner that now houses the Dreisinger Furniture Store was built during Elmira's 1850 - 1860 growth period.  In 1875, Jacob Dunke, who became one of Elmira's leading businessmen, set up a general store in the corner section of the building. The Trader's Bank took over this portion of the building in 1885, and a safe presently in the basement is believed to be the bank safe.  A 1903 photo shows a Massey Harris dealership occupying the central portion of the building.  Although the ground floor storefront portion has been altered many times, the original corbelled brickwork under the eaves, and the segmented headings and brick drip moldings around the second storey windows preserve the spirit of the last century.  The old six-pane over six-pane windows remain under the shutters.  Notice too the traces of red stain evident in the yellow brick.  A turn of the century photo shows the whole building covered with a protective red stain, as yellow brick buildings often were at the time.  A close look at the south wall shows a vertical "seam" in the brickwork which suggests the last three bays were added to the original sometime late in the nineteenth century. But the seam is the only clue, since the features of the addition so precisely match those of the original.[The addition was constructed in 1912. The building was not square, to accommodate the angle of the intersection.] 2a

2aElmira Three Walking Tours, compiled by Susan Bryant and Bertha Thompson for the Township of Woolwich LACAC (Local Architectural Conservation Advisory Committee), December, 1985 - submitted by Marion Roes  with permission of the authors 2011
 
Arthur St. N. 0007 - store - 1860 - demolished 2008 Gone Elmira
 
9689 Sears Order Office and Drexler Sewing Machines - 9 Arthur St. North, Elmira

This Georgian style building also dates from the early years of the second half of the nineteenth century.  It was the place of business of James Nicol, general merchant, and then in 1882, Weber and Erb, also general merchants.  These stores were succeeded by a series of bakeries, the first run by George Weismiller.  H. Weitzel owned the bakery at the turn of the century, and the building was Feil's bakery until the 1930s.  A large brick bake oven in the present basement remains from the bakery days.

A photo from around 1900 shows a second storey veranda extending the length of the front fa?ade and a small porch with turned posts on the south side of the building.  A close look at the brickwork (the segmented headings) on the first storey shows the original placement of the windows and entrance.1a

1aElmira Three Walking Tours, compiled by Susan Bryant and Bertha Thompson for the Township of Woolwich LACAC (Local Architectural Conservation Advisory Committee), December, 1985 - submitted by Marion Roes  with permission of the authors 2011

_______________________

Simpson Sears Catalogue Sales Agent

In February 1951, Mr. Charles Drexler bought the store from Mr. Carl Sippel, formerly Sippel's Paint and Wallpaper Store. In 1970 the store was completely remodelled.  Besides Simpson Sear's Catalogue Sales Store, Mr. Drexler also operates a Singer Sewing Machine and Service business. His wife Mary, assists Mr. Drexler full time. Formerly, before coming to Elmira, Mr. Drexler worked for Singer Sewing Machines in Kitchener.2a

2aThe Elmira Old Boys & Girls Reunion 50th Anniversary 1973, p. 76


_______________________


Title of property:         Feil Drexler Building

Description:      store

Date Demolished:  2008

Construction materials:   brick

Stories:   2

Use of the property:    Bakery "N. D. Feil"  

Condition:      demolished

Details on previous owners, builders, etc:      Norman. D. Feil 
Arthur St. N. 0009 - Store - brick - demolished 2008 Gone Elmira
 
9690 52 Arthur St. South

Before crossing Arthur St., look to the left past the service station to the Steddick Hotel.  This building, constructed in the 1860s, is one of the oldest brick buildings in Elmira.  At one time called the Ontario House or Mogk's Hotel (Casper Mogk was the proprietor), the hotel was built at a time of rapid growth as the surrounding countryside was settled and Elmira became a centre of commerce.  Early photographs show frame outbuildings, probably stables, extending across what is now Water St. [later named Wyatt St.].  The hotel has changed over the years, but one can still see clear evidence of the original Georgian style common at this period.  Characteristics of Georgian architecture are the rectangular shape, symmetrically placed windows of uniform size, and central doorways.  A close look at the south gable wall reveals the locations of the six original windows on the main storeys, topped by one smaller window in the attic.  Notice also the S shaped hardware on this wall; these are the original beam anchors. An early photograph shows, at the front of the south wing, central doorways flanked by two windows each on both storeys.  A small balcony projected from the second storey doorway and a broad platform extended nearly the length of this wing, serving as a porch.  The front of the north wing had six symmetrically placed windows - three on each storey.1a

1aElmira Three Walking Tours, compiled by Susan Bryant and Bertha Thompson for the Township of Woolwich LACAC (Local Architectural Conservation Advisory Committee), December, 1985 - submitted by Marion Roes  with permission of the authors 2011

_____________________________

Steddick Hotel

The Steddick Hotel has been in business about eighty-five years.  Mr. John Steddick was the proprietor for fifty-four of those years.  After his death, his daughter, Pearl and son-in-law John Yanchus took over.  The building was remodelled in 1948.  After the Yanchus', Mr. Fredoruzo managed the hotel business until 1972.  Mr. Edwin Trautrim is the present proprietor.  He took over the hotel on May 1, 1972.  One of the first landmarks in town, the building is over one hundred years old.2a

2aThe Elmira Old Boys and Girls Reunion 50th Anniversary 1973, pg. 68

_____________________

Once a landmark and now an eyesore, the Steddick Hotel could disappear from the downtown Elmira streetscape in the next few weeks. Property owner Becker Milk Company has hired a contractor and applied for a permit to demolish the building. A long time coming \endash  Woolwich Township has been pressing the owners to tear it down for years \endash  the move is part of plans to redevelop the site to accommodate an expanded Mac's convenience store and rework the entire lot at the corner of Arthur and Wyatt streets. Admitting "it's a bit of a disaster, that building," company representative Pat Gudgeon said in an interview this week that recently completed work to the interior of the building, including the removal of asbestos, has paved the way for the demolition to proceed. As soon as the township issues a demolition permit, final preparations will get underway, with the building coming down sometime in the next three or four weeeks, he added.3a

3aObserverXtra 15 May 2009
__________________

Note that another building in Elmira had the name of "Steddick House" for a time: it was on the north west corner of Church Street West and Arthur Street North and eventually became the Royal Hotel.

The Steddick Hotel was empty for some years and demolished in June 2009. 
Arthur St. S. 0052 - Hotel - 2 storey - brick - Gone Elmira
 
9691 Aberle's Service Station

One of Elmira's older businessmen, namely Roy J. Aberle has conducted the Automotive Service Station located at the [north west] corner of Arthur and Water [now Wyatt] Streets for the past forty years.  Roy has deeply appreciated the patronage of the citizens of Elmira and surrounding area and also that of the travelling public from outlying areas.  The original Cities Service Products' building of 1933 was replaced by the present one in 1954.  In July 1965 British Petroleum products were introduced.  Mr. Aberle's sons, Gerald and Neil assisted their father during their school years.  Both have joined the teaching profession following in their mother's footsteps rather than that of their father.1a

1aThe Elmira Old Boys & Girls Reunion 50th Anniversary 1973, June 29 - July 2, pg. 68.



Roy J. Aberle Cities Service Station


Roy J. Aberle has conducted a successful business in the Cities Service Station, on the [north west] corner of Arthur and Water [now Wyatt] Streets, for the past 14 years.  During these years he was assisted by many High School boys who earned pin-money by working part time: Leonard Rau (killed in a car accident), Merner Saddler, Buddy Hillis (killed overseas), Harold Schaub, Laverne Miller, Norman Hathaway, Donald Brox, Art Hahn, David Rowland (at present with the R.A.F., England).  Mr. Aberle's own sons, Gerald and Neil, are now giving him a helping hand.  The rainbow-coloured Studebaker shown in the picture, and used by Roy as a service car, was featured in the 1923 Old Boys Reunion as the most up-to-date car in Elmira at that time.2a

2aSouvenir of the Elmira Old Boys and Girls Reunion 1948, pg.39.

____________________

2011 note: Aberle's station was remodelled to be a Becker gas bar and convenience store some years ago, and in 2011 the building is being demolished.  A new building will be erected on the combined former Aberle and Steddick Hotel properties. 
Arthur St. S. 0054 - Service Station Elmira
 
9692 St. James Evangelical Lutheran Church - 60 Arthur St. South

The Lutheran congregation was organized in 1850. The corner lot was purchased for eleven pounds and five shillings, and a log building was constructed on the site of the present church. In 1869 a yellow brick church in the Upper Canada Gothic style was built. the plot of land at the rear of this church was used as a burial ground from 1850 to 1884. In 1875 a pipe organ built by George Vogt of Elmira, an innkeeper and a noted organ builder, was installed in the church. This organ, transferred to the new building and rebuilt and enlarged in 1951, was not replaced until 1975. The present church was built in 1914-1915. Notice that the cornerstone of the former church is set in the front facade of the present church. The interior was renovated in 1954 and the new wing at the back added in 1963. Like many Ontario churches, St. James is a mixture of styles and thus hard to classify. The pointed-arch windows and doors as well as the wooden tracery on some of the windows are in the Gothic Revival style popular in church architecture. But the asymmetrical design of the two towers - the bell tower is square while the shorter tower is octagonal with a battlement top - suggests Italianate influence. The focal point of each flank wall is a broad round-headed window set under a central gable. This window shape is Italianate, while the wooden tracery in the upper portion is Gothic. Notable in the interior of the church is the ornate Gothic altarpiece and the floral motif of the stained glass.1a

1aElmira Three Walking Tours, compiled by Susan Bryant and Bertha Thompson for the Township of Woolwich LACAC (Local Architectural Conservation Advisory Committee), December, 1985 - submitted by Marion Roes  with permission of the authors 2011

__________________


History of St. James' Lutheran Congregation

pg. 5
Mr. Jacob B. Oswald, aged 97, at present a resident of Kitchener, attended the services of this congregation from the time of its organization until 1900, becoming a voting member at the time of his marriage in 1858. He vividly recalls the building of the log church and the organization of the congregation. He informed the writer that the timer for the church was donated and all members of the congregation assisted in the construction of the building. The church furniture and pews were comparatively crude: the pews were constructed in all simplicity, slabs of logs resting on blocks of wood had to answer the purpose. Mr. Henry Christman acted as the first janitor.                 

New Church Built

Rev. J. L. Raw of Sebastopol became the next pastor. He moved to this district on April 16, 1868. Ten days after his arrival he was installed by Pastor C. F. A. Kaessman.... On October 5 of the first year of his ministry here a congregational meeting was held to make initial plans for the building of a new brick church. The following constituted the Building Committee: "K. Lorch, K. Klinck, L. Simon, John Lingner, Peter Beisel, Henry Schierholtz, M. B. Oswalk, Henry Ziegler, C. Weidenhammer, John Ott and the Pastor. The dimensions of the church was situated where the present parsonage now stands, were 34 feet by 60 feet. The contracts for the edifice were let by tender: the mason work was given to H. Lein and the carpenter work to F. Kaempf. Building operations were begun early in the spring of 1869. The corner stone of the church was laid on July 1 of the same year....The church was dedicated to the Glory of God on December 19, 1869. The cost of material and labour of the new structure was $1700.

On January 9, 1879, the Rev. A. R. Schulz of Logan arrived in Elmira....In the same year of his arrival the congregation purchased the frame house on 66 Arthur Street South for the parsonage. Three years thereafter two bells, one weighing 600 pounds and the other 400 pounds, were placed in the tower of the church. These bells were dedicated on April 5, 1882 by the Rev. A. R. Schulz, assisted by Rev. U. Berner of New Dundee and the Rev. J. Brezing of Heidelberg. From the time of the organization of the congregation in 1850, the plot of land at the rear of the church was used as the burial ground. In 1884 the congregation began negotiations with Mr. C. Weidenhammer for the purchase of one-half acre of land on the Guelph Road near the town limits, for a cemetery. This land was bought at a price of $150. By 1910 more land was required and another acre was purchased from Mr. Charles Stroh.

Another Church Built

After the death of Rev. Schulz, the Rev. J. Strempfer of Toledo was called. He was installed by the Rev. A. Blunck of Milverton on Sunday, March 17, 1912..... On January 1, 1914, preliminary steps were instituted to to undertake a building program. The Building Committee consisted of: George Steffler, Charles Herman, Martin Brubacher, Karl Weber, Adam Mattusch and the members of the Church Council, namely: George Jung, John Klinck, Henry Ahrens, Henry Lackner, Albert Lorch, Christian Esch, Henry Cress, C. Klinck, Henry Beckner and Rev. J. Strempfer. Building material, sand, gravel, brick, etc., were hauled to the grounds before the breaking up of winter. On April 26 of the same year the last service was held in the white brick church. On the following day wrecking operations of the old church began. The excavating for the new church was done by the rural and urban members without remuneration. On July 12, 1914, the corner stone was laid. Pastors Hanson and Behrens assisted Rev. J. Strempfer in the ceremony: the Elmira band furnished special music. On November 29, the building was so far advanced that the Divine services could be held in the basement of the new structure, where the congregation worshipped until the spring of the following year. On May 9, 1915.2a

2a1850 - 1935 Anniversary Booklet St. James' Evangelical Lutheran Church, Elmira, Ont. 
Arthur St. S. 0060 - St. James Evangelical Lutheran Church Elmira
 
9693 John Ruppel House, 2 storey frame house was constructed by John Ruppel in 1875.  He had been a partner with Isaac Wenger in a clothing store.  The partnership ended about the same time as the construction of the house. Arthur St. S. 0070 - House - frame - 2 storey Elmira
 
9694 77 Arthur St. South, Elmira, Ontario.  Original in possession of Marion Roes of Waterloo 2010 Arthur St. S. 0077 - House - frame - 1860 Elmira
 
9695 Address 77 ARTHUR ST S, ELMIRA
Property Code Category COMMERCIAL
Survey Description
PLAN 560 PT LOT 34
Acres 0.100188
Roll Number
302901000511200
Teranet PIN 222200005

Title of property:    Wylie House

Date Constructed:   1860

Construction materials:   frame

Stories:   1  1/2

Condition:   House remodeled and resided in good condition in 2010.

Details on previous owners, builders, etc:   August Blatz -  Waterloo-96693P who operated a shoe store located on a building immediately to the right (now gone).

__________________________ 

75 Arthur St. South,  The Wylie house

Built in 1860, this house is one of the oldest structures in Elmira.  Its first owner, August Blatz, was a shoemaker who had emigrated from Germany. Like many craftsmen of his day, he had his workshop next to his home - where the front left side of the building to the south is now.  The present owners, the Wylie family [Fred and Wilma (Weber) Wylie], are relatives of August Blatz.

This one and one half storey house of Georgian proportions has changed over the years, but the clapboard exterior, two interior doors and the plank flooring remain from the original house.  The six-pane over six-pane windows, on view from the driveway side of the house, are original.  The shutters, which have been added in recent years by the Wylie family, are over 100 years old.  They were taken from Mrs. Wylie's great-grandparents' home in Floradale.

The porch is old and may be original.  Note the vaulted roof, the delicate vergeboard, and the post lifts on the turned pillars.  The rear addition, which nicely echoes the simple style of the original house, was constructed in 1938, and the dormers are likely a later addition.  An attractive and unusual feature of the house is the simple but decorative vergeboard trimming the front and sides of the house just below the eaves.1a

1aElmira Three Walking Tours, compiled by Susan Bryant and Bertha Thompson for the Township of Woolwich LACAC (Local Architectural Conservation Advisory Committee), December, 1985 - submitted by Marion Roes  with permission of the authors 2011

______________________________________________  
Arthur St. S. 0077 - House - frame - 1860 Elmira
 
9696 Reported to be the last standing log house in Elmira, it was built by Jacob Esch. Arthur St. S. 0103 - House - Log - covered by clapboard Elmira
 
9697 Constructed in the 1870's by John Ratz proprietor of the Elmira Flouring Mills.  1 1/2 storey. Centre St. 0010 - House - brick - 1 1/2 storey Elmira
 
9698 Former home of William Behrens who was a salesman at the business Weber and Erb. The wrap around porch has been removed. Centre St. 0018 - House - buff brick - 2 storey Elmira
 
9699 Procast Foundries Inc. - 19 Church Street East
[South east corner of Church Street East and King Street; in 2011 King Street is Memorial Avenue]

As you come to the foundry, look toward the rear portion of the east side.  In this incongruous setting you will see some Goth pointed-arch windows, remnants of Elmira's first brick school.  The 1862 school building was sold to be used as a foundry after a larger school was built around 1885 on the site of the present Riverside school.  It is believed that the log school building which served as the earliest school was also on the foundry site, near the intersection of Church and King Sts.  The foundry is also the site of a brick building built in 1855 which served as the Methodist church for twenty years.  And at the turn of the century, the present parking lot (west side) was the site of Mr. J. B. Lein's carriage shop.  The foundry itself has been an industry important to Elmira's history.  It was founded in 1886 by Messrs. P. Jansen of Elmira and Abs. Merner of Waterloo to manufacture and repair agricultural machinery.  In 1902 the foundry was purchased by a joint stock company and became known as the Elmira Agricultural Works Company, Limited.  Business was good, and extensive additions and improvements were made to the building in the early years of this century.  Though the business has changed hands several times since, it remains a foundry. [The building was demolished in 2004.]1a

1aElmira Three Walking Tours, compiled by Susan Bryant and Bertha Thompson for the Township of Woolwich LACAC (Local Architectural Conservation Advisory Committee), December, 1985 - submitted by Marion Roes  with permission of the authors 2011
          
___________________________

In 1977, FMC Corporation of Canada Limited decided to divest itself of certain metal-fabricating divisions, including the Elmira foundry operation.  The corporation was reluctant to see the foundry closed down completely, and looked for a buyer to continue the business.  On March 1, 1978, Russell McKee - along with his son Philip and his brother Gerald - purchased the Link-Belt Foundry, and have continued to operate it as Procast Foundries Inc.  The foundry has been a part of the local industrial community for many years.  Prior to 1886, a Methodist church and Sunday school stood at the corner of King and Church streets.  In that year, a new church was built, and the old church was used as a lumber sales depot.  Mr. P. Jansen of Elmira and Mr. A. Merner of Waterloo started the foundry in the old Sunday school.  Subsequent additions have almost surrounded the walls of the old school, but three of the original arched windows are still intact.  About 1900, Waterloo Manufacturing Company acquired the business, and manufactured threshing machines for a few years.  Then the foundry was purchased by the Laschinger family, and operated as Elmira Agricultural Works.  In 1912, a new company called Elmira Machinery and Transmission Company Limited was organized and bought the factory and business for $7,000.  Harry Vice was the manager.  Link-Belt Limited purchased the company in 1927.  FMC Canada Limited acquired the Link-Belt company in 1969 and continued to operate the foundry until it was acquired by the McKees in 1978.  Russ McKee, president of the company describes Procast as a jobbing foundry, making medium and heavy-weight castings to order, for over 40 customers.  Cast-iron centrifugal pumps, vales, gears, sprockets and flywheels are included in the miscellany of products. 

"Although most of our customers are in Ontario, a considerable number are in the United States," Russ McKee said.  Procast employs 32 men who work on two shifts.  Despite competition from large foundries, this Elmira plant continues to thrive.  The workmen have years of experience and a reputation for dependable workmanship.2a

2aExcerpts from the Elmira Independent, "Procast Foundries Inc. Now Run By McKees: Former Link-Belt foundry is Elmira's oldest industry," by Ron Howey, December 5, 1979.  Used with permission. 
Church St. E. 0019 - brick buildings - demolished 2004 Gone Elmira
 
9700 Oldest brick building in Elmira. It was built in 1856 by Caspar Ruppel. Originally it had a single storey; the second storey was added in 1910. It remained in the Ruppel family until 1958. Church St. E. 0031 - House - brick Elmira
 
9701 Gale Presbyterian Church - Cross Street

Take a short detour down Cross St. to Gale Presbyterian Church.  Built in 1868, this church is named after Rev. Alexander Gale, a professor at Knox College, Toronto, who headed a program in the 1840s to give student ministers a chance to preach.  These students came to the church in Winterbourne, the closest Presbyterian church before this one was built.  The 1868 building was altered considerably in 1906, but care was taken to blend the additions and the old building into a pleasing whole.  The right-hand (north) portion of the building is the original structure.  The front fa?ade was very simple, with a tall gothic-arch central entrance and a small pointed-arch window above. A close look at the brick reveals where the doorway was bricked in and replaced by the round window.  Notice too the three buttresses and four gothic windows in the north wall of the original building.  In 1906, the left hand foyer, the short tower and the annex were added, while the impressive round window replaced the old doorway.  The tower with its flared eaves adds distinction to the new entrance, and its fish scale shingling is echoed in the decorative south gable end.  The gothic windows in the south side tie in with the original ones on the north side.  New memorial windows replaced the old windows in the 1940s when the church was repainted inside and out.  In 1951, a kitchen was built, and in 1970 the portable Sunday school room was added at the rear.1a

1aElmira Three Walking Tours, compiled by Susan Bryant and Bertha Thompson for the Township of Woolwich LACAC (Local Architectural Conservation Advisory Committee), December, 1985 - submitted by Marion Roes  with permission of the authors 2011

__________________________

As early as 1856, student ministers from Knox College came to Elmira to preach under the guidance of The Rev. Alexander Gale.  The seed that became Gale Presbyterian Church was planted in 1864 by Robert Kenning who donated a 1/4 acre of land at 2 Cross Street.  In 1868, a builder Hiram Martin, and an architect Mr. Gingerich, were selected to build a church at a cost of $450.00.  In 1986 the portable Sunday school classroom was sold and replaced with a $250,000. addition.  The new addition was dedicated in 1987 as the Boyne Christian Education Centre.  The lower half was dedicated as the McCleary Room and the largest classroom on the upper level as the McLean Room.  In 1988 the sanctuary was turned around to accommodate the new narthex and in 1996 a pipe organ was dedicated.  In 2004 the congregation approved a process to begin relocation.2a

2awww.galepresbyterian.com 2011 
Cross St. 0002 - Church - Gale Presbyterian Elmira
 
9702 The Dominion Hotel in St. Jacob's was established in 1852 under the name "Farmer's Inn", by 1880 it was named Dominion Hotel and in 1884 was run by Jacob B. Brown. Dominion Hotel Elmira
 
9703 25 Erb Street, Elmira

The Elmira Felt Company, Limited.  Of the many standing monitors of the progress of the Village of Elmira, stands prominent the factory of the Elmira Felt Co., Limited, an engraving of which we present to our readers.  Architecturally it is a thing of beauty, and as to its adaptability for the work which is to be carried on within its walls, nothing less can be said of it.  Situated directly opposite the G. T. R. [Grand Trunk Railway] station, the factory with its lofty chimney, and many windows, impresses strangers favorably.  To the inhabitants of Elmira it is an object of pride and personal interest, since all ratepayers by virtue of their financial aid towards its erection, feel that its welfare is a matter of public moment.  This sentiment of interest and satisfaction is a source of pleasure and a great moral support to the young and ambitious managers of this splendid industry which will no doubt expand into one of the most important factories of the old substantial County of Waterloo, whose manufacturing industries bid fair to outrival its established reputation of being the banner county of the banner province of the greatest Country under British rule.  This modern, pleasing and beautiful aspect of the white brick structure, as well as the complete and economical arrangements of the interior and the perfection and adaptability of its machinery, is due to the mechanical ingenuity of Mr. Vice, whose studies of mechanical subjects and long experience as mechanical engineer and draughtsman of one of the finest felt factories in America has been turned to good account, in the design of this factory in which he has a financial as well as a professional interest.  The largest stock-holder in the Elmira Felt Co. (Limited) whose total stock amounts to $20,000, is Mr. Isaac Hilborn, a gentleman well known and highly respected, who has been a resident of Elmira and vicinity for many years.  His experience as Secretary-Treasurer of the Winger Woollen and Felt Co., has fitted him for a similar position in this company.  He is known as a careful and intelligent manager of finances and will no doubt be a valuable officer.  To Mr. A. J. Kimmel, of Berlin, who has had 15 years experience in selling and manufacturing felt goods, has been entrusted the management of the factory and the business.  His practical experience and his close connections with the shoe trade wherein he is very popular and highly respected will be of great benefit to the Elmira Felt Co., of which he is also a stockholder.  Mr. Moses, also of Berlin, a gentleman whose life-work has been the manufacture of felt, is the head of the felt making department and as upon the quality of the felt depends the utility of the shoe, his duties are amongst the most important. He is competent, careful, reliable and experienced and will prove a good acquisition to the practical workers of the company.  Mr. Chas. Wells of New York, a practical pattern maker, has been at work for weeks in designing the various lines of felt shoes, boots, etc. which are now in the process of manufacture.  Mr. Wells' ability as a designer, Mr. Kimmel's knowledge of the wants of the trade and the work of Messrs. Vice and Moses in the construction departments will produce a line of felt goods that will surpass anything yet introduced to the Canadian trade.  Financially the Company is a strong one, the principal  stockholders being men of means and business capacity.  The officers are: - President, A. H. Erb; Manager, A. J. Kimmel; Sec.-Treas., I. Hilborn; Directors, M. Weichel, J. P. Luckhardt.  The institution was sided by a bonus of $5,000, an investment which is already giving good return.  The Company will employ about 40 to 50 hands in the beginning, and these will need dwelling accommodation.  Already a number of houses are being built, by enterprising citizens and more are imperatively demanded.  As industry is the fountain head of property our village may be, and is proud of the works of the Elmira Felt Co. (Limited) and its prospects.  If good wishes have anything to do with the success of an institution, this company will surely prosper.1a

1aFrom "Pioneer Roots," Elmira Independent, December 30, 2005, taken from an article in The Elmira Signet, February 28, 1901. 
Elmira Felt Co. Elmira
 
9704 Elmira Hotel proprietor in 1864 Henry Christmann. Elmira Hotel Elmira
 
9705 In April 1886, several men from Elmira and the surrounding area gathered in Karl Klinck's Hall, which was located at the rear of a Church Street West building. They were there to discuss forming an organization which would have both social and educational benefits for the area. The men represented a variety of occupations - farmers, a wagon maker, a furniture dealer, a hardwareman, a grocer, a watchmaker, and a newspaperman. They pooled their resources, which consisted of eight books and $36. This was the beginning of a library called the Germania Society, with a membership of 20. From this modest beginning grew the facility which serves the community today. ..... In January 1913,   Emanuel Martin was awarded the contract for the library building at a cost of $6,000. Construction of the  building began in the spring of 1913. The library was officially opened on December 26, 19131a

1aThe History of Elmira Branch Library  (This text has been adapted from The Elmira Library , A History - A Heritage by Mary Anne Kirkness, January 1988, and the article "Grounds at Elmira library blossom; volunteers help make project grow" by Roddy Turpin, from the Elmira Independent, July 4, 1995

________________________

The Elmira Library - 65 Arthur St. South

The land for the Elmira library was donated in 1912 by August Kimmel, a founder of the Elmira Felt Co. and a leading Waterloo County industrialist.  A board and batten shop which served as Henry Hahn's cooperage then stood on the corner site.  He produced wooden tubs and buckets from wood soaked in the stream which is now a buried drain under the Water St. [now Wyatt St.] sidewalk.  Also on the site was the house that is now located on King St. [now Memorial Ave.] directly behind the library.  Like many small towns in North America, Elmira obtained a grant from Andrew Carnegie for the library building.  The 1912 portion of the building fulfills Mr. Carnegie's requirement of a functional rather than a pretentious building.  He favoured one storey libraries with plain ornamentation for small communities.  The only ornamental work is a Romanesque arch and semi-circular transom over the main entrance, with a small classically-styled portico consisting of a triangular pediment with dentils and Ionic columns.  During the winter of 1977-1978, an addition was added to the south and east sides of the 1912 building which doubled the area of the library.  The new addition was sympathetically designed to reinforce the original architectural features.  The addition was set back from the front fa?ade, leaving the focus on the original building, and the rounded windows echo the semi-circular arch over the original main entrance.2a

2aElmira Three Walking Tours, compiled by Susan Bryant and Bertha Thompson for the Township of Woolwich LACAC (Local Architectural Conservation Advisory Committee), December, 1985 - submitted by Marion Roes  with permission of the authors 2011

____________________________

1988 marks a number of milestones in the history of the Elmira Library.  100 years ago, on January 24, 1888, a meeting was held to organize a Mechanics' Institute in Elmira.  Membership cost $1 a year.  The first board members were: David Bean, George Klinck, A. Werner, John Ratz, A. H. Erb, A. Blatz, Wm. Behrens, Sol Laschinger, Dr. Ullyot, and M. Weber. The librarian/caretaker, C. K. Jansen was paid $30 a year.  In 1911, the board applied for a Carnegie grant, and after A. J Kimmel donated the site on Arthur Street and the Elmira Council agreed to maintain the library, the Carnegie Corporation donated $7000 for the construction.  This amount would represent over $450,000 in 1988 dollars. Construction of the building began in the spring of 1913 and the Library was officially opened 75 years ago, on December 26, 1913.  In 1946, Miss Dell O'Neill replaced Cosima Schierholtz who had been librarian for 35 years.  Miss O'Neill tendered her resignation effective December 31, 1968, and Mary Anne Kirkness was hired as the supervisor of the Elmira Library. [Mary Anne Kirkness Cressman]3a

3aExcerpts From The Elmira Library; A History - A Heritage, 1888 - 1988 compiled by Mary Anne Kirkness [Cressman] & Bruce Miller

_________________________

The November 28 issue of the (Waterloo) Chronicle-Telegraph noted that the Elmira Library Board awarded the contract for the building to Emanuel Martin at a cost of $6,500, but in January 1913, after tenders from the subcontractors were received, the same newspaper reported that the tender of Emanuel Martin was accepted after he reduced his total figure to $6,000.  The author's family lore is that her grandfather Charles Wilken, who was a mason, did the brickwork on homes, churches and other large buildings in Elmira, including the library.  He would have been one of the subcontractors hired by Emanuel Martin.4a

4aWaterloo Historical Society Volume 96 - 2008, "Emanuel G. Martin: Bridging His Work and His Family" by Marion Roes, pg.6-24 
Elmira Public Library Elmira
 
9706 25 Erb Street, Elmira

The Elmira Felt Company, Limited.  Of the many standing monitors of the progress of the Village of Elmira, stands prominent the factory of the Elmira Felt Co., Limited, an engraving of which we present to our readers.  Architecturally it is a thing of beauty, and as to its adaptability for the work which is to be carried on within its walls, nothing less can be said of it.  Situated directly opposite the G. T. R. [Grand Trunk Railway] station, the factory with its lofty chimney, and many windows, impresses strangers favorably.  To the inhabitants of Elmira it is an object of pride and personal interest, since all ratepayers by virtue of their financial aid towards its erection, feel that its welfare is a matter of public moment.  This sentiment of interest and satisfaction is a source of pleasure and a great moral support to the young and ambitious managers of this splendid industry which will no doubt expand into one of the most important factories of the old substantial County of Waterloo, whose manufacturing industries bid fair to outrival its established reputation of being the banner county of the banner province of the greatest Country under British rule.  This modern, pleasing and beautiful aspect of the white brick structure, as well as the complete and economical arrangements of the interior and the perfection and adaptability of its machinery, is due to the mechanical ingenuity of Mr. Vice, whose studies of mechanical subjects and long experience as mechanical engineer and draughtsman of one of the finest felt factories in America has been turned to good account, in the design of this factory in which he has a financial as well as a professional interest.  The largest stock-holder in the Elmira Felt Co. (Limited) whose total stock amounts to $20,000, is Mr. Isaac Hilborn, a gentleman well known and highly respected, who has been a resident of Elmira and vicinity for many years.  His experience as Secretary-Treasurer of the Winger Woollen and Felt Co., has fitted him for a similar position in this company.  He is known as a careful and intelligent manager of finances and will no doubt be a valuable officer.  To Mr. A. J. Kimmel, of Berlin, who has had 15 years experience in selling and manufacturing felt goods, has been entrusted the management of the factory and the business.  His practical experience and his close connections with the shoe trade wherein he is very popular and highly respected will be of great benefit to the Elmira Felt Co., of which he is also a stockholder.  Mr. Moses, also of Berlin, a gentleman whose life-work has been the manufacture of felt, is the head of the felt making department and as upon the quality of the felt depends the utility of the shoe, his duties are amongst the most important. He is competent, careful, reliable and experienced and will prove a good acquisition to the practical workers of the company.  Mr. Chas. Wells of New York, a practical pattern maker, has been at work for weeks in designing the various lines of felt shoes, boots, etc. which are now in the process of manufacture.  Mr. Wells' ability as a designer, Mr. Kimmel's knowledge of the wants of the trade and the work of Messrs. Vice and Moses in the construction departments will produce a line of felt goods that will surpass anything yet introduced to the Canadian trade.  Financially the Company is a strong one, the principal  stockholders being men of means and business capacity.  The officers are: - President, A. H. Erb; Manager, A. J. Kimmel; Sec.-Treas., I. Hilborn; Directors, M. Weichel, J. P. Luckhardt.  The institution was sided by a bonus of $5,000, an investment which is already giving good return.  The Company will employ about 40 to 50 hands in the beginning, and these will need dwelling accommodation.  Already a number of houses are being built, by enterprising citizens and more are imperatively demanded.  As industry is the fountain head of property our village may be, and is proud of the works of the Elmira Felt Co. (Limited) and its prospects.  If good wishes have anything to do with the success of an institution, this company will surely prosper.1a

1aFrom "Pioneer Roots," Elmira Independent, December 30, 2005, taken from an article in The Elmira Signet, February 28, 1901. 
Erb St - 0025 Elmira
 
9707 Gale Presbyterian Church - Cross Street

Take a short detour down Cross St. to Gale Presbyterian Church.  Built in 1868, this church is named after Rev. Alexander Gale, a professor at Knox College, Toronto, who headed a program in the 1840s to give student ministers a chance to preach.  These students came to the church in Winterbourne, the closest Presbyterian church before this one was built.  The 1868 building was altered considerably in 1906, but care was taken to blend the additions and the old building into a pleasing whole.  The right-hand (north) portion of the building is the original structure.  The front fa?ade was very simple, with a tall gothic-arch central entrance and a small pointed-arch window above. A close look at the brick reveals where the doorway was bricked in and replaced by the round window.  Notice too the three buttresses and four gothic windows in the north wall of the original building.  In 1906, the left hand foyer, the short tower and the annex were added, while the impressive round window replaced the old doorway.  The tower with its flared eaves adds distinction to the new entrance, and its fish scale shingling is echoed in the decorative south gable end.  The gothic windows in the south side tie in with the original ones on the north side.  New memorial windows replaced the old windows in the 1940s when the church was repainted inside and out.  In 1951, a kitchen was built, and in 1970 the portable Sunday school room was added at the rear.1a

1aElmira Three Walking Tours, compiled by Susan Bryant and Bertha Thompson for the Township of Woolwich LACAC (Local Architectural Conservation Advisory Committee), December, 1985 - submitted by Marion Roes  with permission of the authors 2011

__________________________

As early as 1856, student ministers from Knox College came to Elmira to preach under the guidance of The Rev. Alexander Gale.  The seed that became Gale Presbyterian Church was planted in 1864 by Robert Kenning who donated a 1/4 acre of land at 2 Cross Street.  In 1868, a builder Hiram Martin, and an architect Mr. Gingerich, were selected to build a church at a cost of $450.00.  In 1986 the portable Sunday school classroom was sold and replaced with a $250,000. addition.  The new addition was dedicated in 1987 as the Boyne Christian Education Centre.  The lower half was dedicated as the McCleary Room and the largest classroom on the upper level as the McLean Room.  In 1988 the sanctuary was turned around to accommodate the new narthex and in 1996 a pipe organ was dedicated.  In 2004 the congregation approved a process to begin relocation.2a

2awww.galepresbyterian.com 2011 
Gale Presbyterian Church Elmira
 
9708 The Great West Felt Co. Ltd.

The manufacture of Felt Footwear has become a very important industry and it means something when the statement that the largest factory in Canada of this class of goods is in Elmira.  The Great West Felt Co., Limited is to a large extent an Elmira owned concern and entirely owned by citizens of Waterloo County.  The president O. H. Vogt, Vice-President J. S. Weichel and Treasurer J. A. Schroder are natives of this town, as is M. L. Weber, director.  D. Ward Sutherland, born in Bothwell, Ont., has been a resident of Galt for many years, and T. F. Shurly is a native of Galt.  The Company was incorporated June 1910 and immediately commenced building the factory and the plant was ready for operation Jany. 1911.  The factory has a capacity of 1,000 pairs per day, the principal [sic] market for which is in Canada, extending from Halifax to the Yukon.  Some export trade had been developed in Siberia and Manchuria but unsettled conditions have hindered the expansion of this market though it is expected that it will be valuable in the future.  The goods manufactured by the Great West Felt Co. bear a very high reputation both for superior wearing qualities and practical cold proof in the severest climate.  The operatives in the factory are mostly skilled mechanics thus reflecting a handsome pay roll.  Steady employment is given to 100 operators who have the very material benefit of working in a shop that is thoroughly lighted, sanitary and modern in every respect and the most cordial relations exist between employer and employee.  The organization of the Great West Felt Co. is: - O.H. Vogt, President and Manager; J.S. Weichel, Vice President and Secretary; J.A. Schroder, Treasurer; M.L. Weber, D. Ward Sutherland and T. F. Shurly, Directors.1a

1aElmira Ontario Souvenir of Inauguration and Old Boys and Girls Reunion, Aug: 4-5-6-7-8, 1923, pg. 52     

______________________________


The Great West Felt Company Limited, Head Office and Factory No. 1, Elmira, Ontario
The busy home of "Great West" and "Polar King" Brands of All Wool Felt Footwear
Largest Manufacturers of All Wool Heavy Felt Footwear in the British Empire
The Great West Felt Co. Limited are manufacturers of warm, all wool Felt Shoes for every member of the family... in black, or attractively colored..."Bonspieler" Curling Boots, worn by champions...finest quality Winter Riding Boots, used by riders of distinction...Ladies' and Children's De Luxe "Snow Queens" for the utmost in feminine style and winter comfort.2a

2aAdvertisement in Souvenir of the Elmira Old Boys and Girls Reunion, 1948, pg. 13

____________________________


These twin houses were built by the well-known mason, Charles Wilken. (Wilken did the masonry on the Great West Felt factory at the north end of Elmira; it is still in excellent shape after eighty years.)3a

3aFrom Elmira Three Walking Tours, 1985, pg 18, for 17 & 19 Water St. East 
Great West Felt Co. Elmira
 
9709 Address 2 WILLIAM ST,
ELMIRA Property Code Category RESIDENTIAL Survey Description PLAN 571 LOT 21 Acres 0.54 Roll Number 302901000107800 Teranet PIN 222220246 
William St. 0002 - House - brick - 2 storey - Dunke House Elmira
 
9710 Built by Jacob Dunke to came from Kitchener in 1864. Starting as a clerk in Wenger and Ruppel clothing store which was at the corner of Arthur and Church Streets. After the breakup of Wenger and Ruppel he continued with the new business Isaac Wenger store. In 1875 he opened his own store retiring at 43. William St. 0002 - House - brick - 2 storey - Dunke House Elmira
 
9711 17 and 19 Water [Wyatt] St. East

These twin houses were built by the well-known local mason, Charles Wilken. (Wilken did the masonry on the Great West Felt factory at the north end of Elmira; it is still in excellent shape after eighty years.) He built No. 19 for himself about 1907 and then built No 17 shortly thereafter for his wife's sister who wanted an identical house. One difference between the original buildings was in the foundation blocks; Charles' son Walter, relates that the sister-in-law and her husband spent evenings through the winter making the blocks for No. 17 by hand. The geometric latticework or treillage (a Regency feature) over the verandas is a special feature of these houses. The turned posts are also original, and the bottom railing of the upper veranda on No. 17 is probably original while that of No. 19 has been replaced. Notice also the delicate scrollwork at the top of the Italianate round-headed windows.1a

1aElmira Three Walking Tours, compiled by Susan Bryant and Bertha Thompson for the Township of Woolwich LACAC (Local Architectural Conservation Advisory Committee), December, 1985 - submitted by Marion Roes  with permission of the authors 2011 
Wyatt St. E. 0017 - house - red brick - 2 storey Elmira
 
9712 Address 17 WYATT ST E,
ELMIRA Property Code Category RESIDENTIAL Survey Description PLAN 567 PT LOT 257 PT LOT 258 Acres 0.17 Roll Number 302901000507600 Teranet PIN 222200088 
Wyatt St. E. 0017 - house - red brick - 2 storey Elmira
 
9713 17 and 19 Water [Wyatt] St. East

These twin houses were built by the well-known local mason, Charles Wilken. (Wilken did the masonry on the Great West Felt factory at the north end of Elmira; it is still in excellent shape after eighty years.) He built No. 19 for himself about 1907 and then built No 17 shortly thereafter for his wife's sister who wanted an identical house. One difference between the original buildings was in the foundation blocks; Charles' son Walter, relates that the sister-in-law and her husband spent evenings through the winter making the blocks for No. 17 by hand. The geometric latticework or treillage (a Regency feature) over the verandas is a special feature of these houses. The turned posts are also original, and the bottom railing of the upper veranda on No. 17 is probably original while that of No. 19 has been replaced. Notice also the delicate scrollwork at the top of the Italianate round-headed windows.1a

1aElmira Three Walking Tours, compiled by Susan Bryant and Bertha Thompson for the Township of Woolwich LACAC (Local Architectural Conservation Advisory Committee), December, 1985 - submitted by Marion Roes  with permission of the authors 2011 
Wyatt St. E. 0019 - house - red brick - 2 storey Elmira
 
9714 Address 19 WYATT ST E,
ELMIRA Property Code Category RESIDENTIAL Survey Description PLAN 567 PT LOT 257 PT LOT 258 Acres 0.23 Roll Number 302901000507500 Teranet PIN 222200087 
Wyatt St. E. 0019 - house - red brick - 2 storey Elmira
 
9715 Lucy Orpha Elmore, daughter of Dr. Joseph and Sophia R. Elmore, was born in Elizabethtown in 1813, and instructed by her mother in the Presbyterian faith, but joined the Methodist Church in 1828. For some time, she kept house for her brother P. V. Elmore. 24 years ago, she taught school at Greenbush. For about a year, near the end of her life, she lived at Brampton. Last June, she left to reside with her sister, Mrs. A. Kilborne, and her nephew J. B. Kilborne, at West Montrose. She died, March 9, 1868, while visiting her nephew P. S. Kilborne of Winterborne1a

1aChristian Guardian 18 Mar 1868, pg 47- 8 Apr 1868 pg 60 
Lucy Orpha Elmore
 
9716 Staying with George Wallace a baker. Isabella Elms
 
9717 Elmslie, A. G., bookseller and stationer. Is a native of the County of Wellington. Has resided here since 1859.2a

2a\b\iIllustrated Atlas of the County of Waterloo\b0, H. Parsel & Co., Toronto - 1881

_______________________

Elmslie, Books and Stationery, Main Street - Among the notable business houses and mercantile landmarks of Galt, must be mentioned that of Mr. A.G. Elmslie, dealer in books, stationery, musical instruments, etc. This house was founded, in the same place now occupied, 29 years ago, and since its inception has enjoyed a large and steadily increasing patronage. The premises occupied are 13x60 feet in dimensions and three stories in height, and employment is furnished to three competent assistants. The stock carried is full and well assorted, and contains stationery of all descriptions, plain and fancy note papers and envelopes, blank books, blanks, pens, inks, mucilage, and all other articles coming under the head of stationery; also books, fancy goods of every description, beautiful in design and suitable for presents, etc.; and a large line of musical instruments is constantly kept in stock. Mr. Elmslie's well know custom of selling at the lowest possible prices has earned for him a large patronage, which extends throughout the town and surrounding country. He is a native of Canada, and has, by indomitable industry, perseverance and enterprise, joined to ability, built up his present enviable trade. He is a gentleman highly esteemed by all who know him.2a

2aIndustries of Canada, historical and commercial sketches, Hamilton and environs: its prominent places and people: representative merchants and manufacturers: its improvements, progress and enterprise (1886) 
Alexander Gardner Elmslie
 
9718 Lived with George Davidson a merchant. James Elmslie
 
9719 An outstanding lineman with the Montreal Alouettes of the Canadian Football League in their glory days of the 1960s, Cambridge native Ted Elsby was a key player for twelve years with the Alouettes when the league was amply loaded with imported American talent. He played on the line, mostly at defensive tackle and was six feet, 255 pounds.

He was nominated by his team for the CFL outstanding player award in 1964, the outstanding Canadian in 1957, 1963, and 1964 and the outstanding offensive lineman in 1964. He played in three Grey Cup games, 1954, 1955 and 1956 and was named to the CFL Eastern All-Star team in 1964.

Prior to joining the Alouettes, Elsby played and was a league All-Star with Brantford in the Ontario Rugby Football Union, playing both offence and defence.

He died in 1985 at the age of 52.1a

1aThe Waterloo Region Hall of Fame

 
Ted Elsby
 
9720 Winterbourne
Mr. George Elsley of Mosboro, well known here died at an early hour this morning. He has been suffering from that dread disease consumption for several years. His sorrowing relatives have the sympathy of the entire neighborhood in their hour of trail. Funeral to-morrow at 1 o'clock. P.M.1a

1aElmira Advertiser, November 1, 1894 
George William Elsley
 
9721 In Galt, on Thursday evening, 5th inst., at 20 minutes past eight o'clock, Mary E., widow of the late Wm. H. Willkins, aged 42 years.

Galt Reporter Jun 13 1879 pg 3 
Mary Elizabeth Elson
 
9722 At least one living individual is linked to this note - Details withheld. Philippe Elsworthy
 
9723 married to Charles Bevington. Alberta Eltherington
 
9724 Arthur W. Eitherington

PRESTON, Arthur W. Eltherington, 72, former assessor and tax collector of Preston and for many years an operator of a grocery store here, died yesterday, at St. Mary's Hospital, Kitchener. Mr. Eltherington was born in Yorkshire, England and came to Canada with his parents when he was two years old. He lived in Ingersoll, Hespeler, Calgary and Galt, before coming here in 1914 to open a grocery store ,which he operated until 1942, when he accepted the position of assessor and tax collector. He also served as alderman on the town council for six years. He was a member of the St. Paul's United Church, the Preston Cambridge Lodge IOOF and was an executive member of the South Waterloo Agriciulturgl Society. Twice married, his first wife, Annie Roos, died in 1919 and his second wife, Agnes Jane Hunter, in 1947. Surviving are two sons, William and Rae of Preston; one daughter, Mrs. David McInnis of London; three brothers, James, of Toronto, Herbert and Ernest of Hespeler and three sisters, Mrs. F. B. Davidson of Preston, Mrs. Edward Last of Brantford and Mrs. Sam Dodds of Toronto. The body is at the Stager-Pass Funeral Home, Preston, until 1 p.m., Wednesday, when removal will be made to St. Paul's United Church for services at 2:30 p.m. Burial will be in Park Lawn Cemetery.

Kitchener-Waterloo Record 11 Nov 1952 pg 5 
Arthur William Eltherington
 
9725 Arthur was born in Hull, Yorkshire, England, came to Canada with parent in 1883 first in Ingersoll. He moved to Hespeler educated at the Maple Grove School. He moved to Preston in 1914 to open a grocery store where he worked until 1942 when became the assessor and tax collector of Preston. He served on Preston council and reeve, also serving on the Preston Board of Health.1a

1aCambridge Mosaic , Jim Quantrell, 1998, City of Cambridge [abbreviated snippet from original text in book] 
Arthur William Eltherington
 
9726 A long-time resident of the Puslinch Lake community and related by marriage to the outstanding pioneer Little family (husband of Eleanor Little).1a

1aEllis Church Enduring and Everlasting 1861-1987 
Herbert Edward Eltherington
 
9727 DIED IN DEREHAM

The death of Robert Eltherington, widely known resident of this district occurred in Dereham on Monday in his 91st year. The funeral took place this afternoon at 1:30 from the residence of his grandson, Mr. George Harrison, to the Ingersoll Rural Cemetery.1a

1aIngersoll Chronicle & Canadian Dairyman Thursday, July 10, 1913 Pg: 7, Col: 4

__________________

DEATH OF ROBERT ELTHERINGTON

The death of Robert Eltherington took place at the residence of his grandson, George Harrison, lot 12, concession 3, Dereham, on June 30th in the 91st year of his age. He was a member of Ingersoll for a number of years. He was born in Yorkshire, England, and came to Canada over thirty years ago. He was highly respected by many friends who learned with regret of his death. His wife predeceased him sixteen years ago. The funeral took place on Wednesday afternoon, July 2nd to the Ingersoll Rural Cemetery. The pallbearers were sic of his grandsons: George, William, and Charles Harrison, Thomas and Robert Dales and Arthur Eltherington.2a

2aIngersoll Daily Chronicle Wednesday, July 02, 1913 Pg: 1, Col: 6 
Robert Eltherington
 
9728 EastRidge Evangelical Missionary Church Stouffville, Ontario

"Our church history began around 1903, when Rev. R. Eltherington began a series of evangelistic meetings in Stouffville. It was decided to erect a new building and a lot was purchased for this purpose. The men performed most of the labour themselves, chopping down the timber that was needed and bricks came in by train. Dedication took place in November 1903 packed with people who arrived on horse and buggy"1a

1ahttp://www.eastridge.ca/history.html 
Rev. Robert Eltherington
 
9729 Robert is reported to have been born at Catwick, the East Riding, Yorkshire, England, documentation needed. Rev. Robert Eltherington
 
9730 Clara Jane Ashton formerly of 62 Stanley St. in Cambridge (Galt), at Hilltop Manor, on Wednesday, May 10, 1978, in her 82nd year. Mrs. Ashton was an active member of Central Presbyterian Church in Cambridge and a former member of the first Galt Scout Mothers Association. Predeceased by her husband, George Ashton (1965). Survived by a daughter, Audrey (Mrs. Tom Mercer) of Cambridge; two sons, John of Cambridge; Harold of Medley, AB; a brother, Robert Elvin of Alberta; three grandchildren and three great-grandchildren. Predeceased by four brothers and three sisters. Service at the Coutts and Son Funeral Home on Saturday at 2: 30. Interment Mount View Cemetery. Clara Jane Elvin
 
9731 Clifford M. Elvin

Clifford Morley Elvin of Summit Street, Cambridge, passed away at the Cambridge Memorial Hospital on Sunday, December 30th, 1990. He was in his 66th year. Born in Springbank, he was a son of the late Robert F. Elvin and Gladys Dale. The Elvin family resided for a time on Township Road 8, RR 1, Ayr. Mr. Elvin was a retired employee of Cello Brass, Cambridge. Re had served with the Rocky Mountain Rangers during World War II. Beloved husband of Winnifred (Bruce) Elvin and dear father of Clifford Ronald of Toronto, Robert of Cambridge and Sandra. (Mrs. Robert Elliott) of Cambridge. Also survived by sisters Gladys (Mrs. Wesley Freer) of London, Anna Peters of Sarnia and grandchildren Troy and Joel Elliott and Natalie and Nathan Elvin. Predeceased by a brother Frederick. Rested at Corbett Funeral Home, Galt, where funeral service was held Wednesday. Interment Ayr Cemetery.

The Ayr News 2 Jan 1991 pg 10 
Clifford Morley Elvin
 
9732 EMBERTON, Robert

Of Puslinch township, Saturday, Oct. 4, 1986, at St. Mary's Hospital, Kitchener, in his 38th year. Dear father of Cindy and Melissa of Cambridge. Also survived by his parents, Mr. and Mrs. Kenneth Emberton of Willowdale; three brothers, James of Cornwall, Kenneth of Manchester, England and John of Brampton; one sister, Jean (Mrs. Frank Graham) of Weston. Mr. Emberton was born in Manchester, England and came to Cambridge in 1970 from Toronto. Friends will be received at the Barthel-Stager Funeral Home, 586 Queenston Rd., Cambridge, Monday (today) from 2-4 and 7.9 p.m. Funeral mass will be celebrated in St. Clement's Church, Tuesday at 10 a.m. Interment in Parklawn cemetery.

Kitchener-Waterloo Record 6 Oct 1986 pg D17 
Robert Emberton
 
9733 A WWII war hero and decorated pilot, he survived a horrific plane crash and wounds suffered during the Battle of the Bulge. Alfred Emde
 
9734 EMDE, Alfred 1921-2012 Passed away at St. Mary's Hospital on Friday, July 13, 2012, at the age of 90. Beloved husband of Elfriede Emde (nee Wienecke). Dear father of Marlis Letzel, Dirk Emde and Wolfgang Emde. Beloved grandfather of Anita Smith, Corina Koehler, Tracy Holomek, and Kimberley Billo. Beloved great-grandfather of Shayne Koehler, Kendra Seymour, Tiffany Koehler and Trevor Smith. Beloved great-great-grandfather of Bianca Bastos, Hailey Bastos and Calleigh Seymour. A WWII war hero and decorated pilot, he survived a horrific plane crash and wounds suffered during the Battle of the Bulge. He started a Tool and Die business and opened a restaurant, as well as travelling the globe. Criss-crossing North America numerous times, he also spent time in Europe, North-Africa and the Middle East. He spent several years in Las Vegas and California, where he met President Richard Nixon, worked as a personal chef for media mogul Donald Reynolds and cooked for the reclusive Howard Hughes. In his later years, he loved his cats and worked long hours on his research and his memoirs. Taking great solace and comfort in the Baha'i faith, he would discourse at length on the lives of the Bab and Baha'ullah. A private service will be held by the family at Williamsburg Cemetery. Donations to the K-W Humane Society would be appreciated by the family and may be arranged through Henry Walser Funeral Home , 507 Frederick St., Kitchener, (519) 749-8467.1a

1aWaterloo Region Record 13 Jul 2012 
Alfred Emde
 
9735 Was Amelia born in Beverly Township? Amelia Emery
 
9736 John had a son named John who lived with him in 1881 in Wilmot Township. It is uncertain whether John is the son of Nancy. Also living with them was a girl names May Emery aged 14. John Emery
 
9737 It has been reported that John was adopted by John Emery and Nancy Ann Erb. No proof has been found. John Shelley Emery
 
9738 GOETZ, Violet E.

Peacefully, with her family by her side, at St, Mary's Hospital, on Tuesday, Feb. 18, 1997, age 88 years, Lovingly remembered by her children, Doug and his wife Betty of Neustadt, Richard and his wife Pat of Kitchener, Carole Gordon and her husband Bruce of Thamesford, Audrey Bishop and her husband Fred of Kitchener and David and his wife Judy of Kitchener. Grandma will be missed by 17 grandchildren and 20 great-grandchildren. Sadly missed by her sister, Hilda Johnston of Waterloo. Survived by many nieces and nephews. Predeceased by her husband, George Goetz; her parents, Isaac Emmerson and Emma Knorr; her brothers, Albert, Harry and Ted Emmerson and her sisters, Irene Kelly and Lil Willis. Friends and relatives may call at the Ratz-Bechtel Funeral Home, 621 King St. W., Kitchener, today (Thursday) from 2-4 and 7-9 p.m. Transfer will be made to St. Matthews Lutheran Church at 12 noon on Friday followed by a funeral service at 2 p.m. Rev. Harold Brill officiating. Interment Woodland Cemetery.

The Record 20 Feb 1997 pg B4 
Violet Emma Emmerson
 
9739 Event Description: Apoplexy Josepjine Empey
 
9740 The remains of the late M. P. Empey, upon request of friends in Toronto, were shipped East on Thursday.


The Chilliwack Progress from Chilliwack, · Page 4 January 8, 1908 
Michael Pembroke Empey
 
9741 The celebrity of the village seventy-five years ago was Michael Peter Empey, general merchant, postmaster, and general counsel or adviser for the village. This pioneer merchant was so successful in acquiring a competence, that he was able to employ a colored coachman, a governess for the daughters of the family, a nursemaid for the small children, housemaids, a gardener, as well as clerks for the store and assistants in the post office. Several sons had more than ordinary artistic ability, and their budding genius was evidence in the clever cartoons of the colored folks that lived in the country, which decorated the white walls of the old village hall, long since abandoned. Under the village hall, which was mounted on posts, the vagrant sheep found shelter from the warm sun, and after fifty years the odor of sheep's wool, is a reminder of the faraway days in Hawkesville.

A grandson of Michael Peter Empey, Arthur Guy Empey, became noted for his thrilling war story, "Over The Top."

Twenty-Second Annual Reports of the Waterloo Historical Society, Hawkesville, A Pioneer Village of Waterloo County, by Orpheus Moyer Schantz, Chicago

___________________________

Michael was a prisioner in the Home District Jail in 1837 & 1838 for his role in the 1837 Rebellion of Canada. "M. P. Empey, merchant. Dec. 22, 1873, Feb 17, 1838, pet. under 1 Vict. C. 10, discharged on his own recognizances."

"The Life And Times Of Wm. Lyon Mackenzie". Google Books. N. p., 2016. Web. 25 June 2016.

________________________


Michael, P. Empty, Esq., of Newmarket.

On the 13th July, 1846, Mr. Smith called in the early part of the evening, and stated to Witness that he thought there would be disturbances, in consequence of some intention to have a procession and celebration. Did not go to Mr. Cawthra, as he thought perhaps there might be nothing in it. Later in the evening there was a procession, which was was understood to be the Orange procession. Later still in the evening, saw another procession, which he supposed was in opposition. That was all Witness saw of the matters. The collision which was likely to take place was in the latter part of the evening. When Witness went to the Post Office, in the earlier part of the evening, he saw so many of the young men of the village standing about, whom he knew, that he did not apprehend any serious danger would arise, as he supposed they would conduct whatever demonstration they intended to make in such a way as that danger would not arise, unless sonic opposing force were used.

(Signed,)M. P. EMPEY.

Journals of the Legislative Council of the Province of Canada. (2016). Google Books. Retrieved 25 June 2016, from https://books.google.ca/books?id=nRc6AQAAMAAJ&pg=PA82&lpg=PA82&dq=1837+rebellion+of+canada+empey&source=bl&ots=LJTvzj-nLw&sig=z1PS1d2x1jn5DM-XcVYo3HWl9Ks&hl=en&sa=X&ved=0ahUKEwiSyceO_8PNAhUj0oMKHSjeB6cQ6AEIPjAF#v=onepage&q=1837%20rebellion%20of%20canada%20empey&f=false
 
Michael Peter Empey
 
9742 EMRICH, Andreas

Of Frederick Street, Cambridge, on Monday, June 6, 1994, at his residence, in his 86th year. Beloved husband of Maria Stierl and dear father of Andreas and his wife Veronika of Waterloo, Katharine and her husband John Bidner of Kitchener, Rosina and her husband Arthur Pinnau of Cambridge. Also survived by one sister, Maria Csoeff of Germany and five step-sisters, Sophia, Anna. Maria, Grete and Susanna. Lovingly remembered by nine grandchildren, Andrea Emrich, Stephanie Klein, Christopher Emrich, Elke Bidner, Heide Emrich and Marli Pinnau. Also Katharina, Maria and Richard Strifler. Predeceased by his first wife, Maria and one daughter, Maria; two sisters, Katharina and Rosina and one step-brother, John. Andreas was born in Minarken, Romania and had been a resident of Cambridge, since 1953, from Austria. A retired construction worker, a member of St. Peter's Lutheran Church and the Transylvania Club of Kitchener. He was a veteran of the Second World War, serving in the Hungarian Army. Friends will be received at the Barthel Funeral Home, 566 Queenston Rd., Cambridge, today (Tuesday) from 2-4 and 7-9 p.m. The funeral will be held on Wednesday, June 8, 1994, at St. Peter's Lutheran Church, 810 King St. E., Cambridge, at 2 p.m., with Rev. Norris Heubner officiating. Interment in Park Lawn Cemetery.

The Record 7 Jun 1994 pg A11 
Andreas Emrich
 
9743 EMRICH, George

Passed away, peacefully, surrounded by the love and spirit of his family, on July 11, 2001, in his 80th year. George was a man of grace, dignity, courage and strength. He will be dearly missed by his wife, Maria; his children, Helmi and Katie, Dori and Phil; his grandchildren, Chris and Jenn, David and Andrea, Kathy and John, Kim and Ed and George's grandbabies, Michael, Katelynn, Evan, Cierra, Cameron, Josh, Brianna and Brock, who all fondly touched his heart. Mr. Emrich's family, will receive friends at the Edward R. Good Funeral Home, 171 King St. S., Waterloo on Sunday, from 2-4 and 7-9 p.m. The funeral service will be held in the chapel of the faneral home on Monday, July 16, 2001, at 1 p.m., with Rev. Heinz Plaum and Rev. Andreas Pfeiffer officiating. Interment to follow in Parklawn Cemetery, Cambridge.

The Record 12 Jul 2001 pg B7 
George Emrich
 
9744 EMRICH, John

At St. Mary's of the Lake Hospital, Kingston, on Saturday, June 3, 1995, in his 87th year, previously of 630 Duke St.. Cambridge. Beloved husband of Anna Margert of Kingston. Loving father to Dr. H. Walter and his wife Jane of Kingston; dear Oti to his granddaughter Elizabeth Anne (Annie) of Kingston. Caring father to Emma Bert (Henry) of Paris, Ont.; dear brother to George (Maria) of Cambridge and predeceased by his sister Maria Lindert and brother, Martin. A private family service was held by Pastor Heubner of St. Peter's Lutheran Church, in Cambridge, at Barthel Funeral Home, Queenston Road, Cambridge, Monday, June 5, 1995 (today). Interment was at Park Lawn Cemetery, Cambridge.

The Record 5 Jun 1995 pg A7 
John Emrich
 
9745 Mrs. Elizabeth Schweitzer - Elmira - Mrs. Elizabeth Schweitzer, 83, of Elmira, formerly of Poole, died at K-W Hospital Friday after a lengthy illness. She was a native of Poole and was a daughter of the late Mr. and Mrs. Conrad Engel. Her husband, Martin, died in 1920. She was a member of St. John's Lutheran Church, Poole. Surviving are one son, Conrad of Yatton, a daughter, Mrs. Russell (Ruby) Wilken of Elmira; three grandchildren and four great-grandchildren. Four sisters and one brother predeceased her. The family will be at the Dreisinger Funeral Parlor, Elmira, until Monday noon when removal will be made to St. John's Lutheran Church, Pole, for service at 2:30 pm. Rev. R. Reisdorf will officiate. Burial will be in Greenwood Cemetery, Milverton. The casket will be open at the church from 1 pm until the service.

Unidentified Newspaper Obituary 
Elizabeth Engel
 
9746 Living with Henry & Augusta Boedecker and family Matilda Engelhart
 
9747 Lived with Matthew Schaefer. Daniel Engelter
 
9748 Georg Wilhelm Engelter

An old settler, Georg Wilhelm Engelter, died near Heidelberg on March 14. He was born in 1829 in Koenig, Hesse-Darmstadt, came to Canada with his parents in 1833 and has lived since then in the same place near Heidelberg. In 1859, he married Catharina Schneider of Wilmot Township and from this marriage, two sons and six daughters were borne. In religion, he was a member of the Protestant fellowship, and in political matters, he always supported the Reform Party. In his entire life, he always enjoyed the respect and love of his friends and acquaintances. For three years, he was sickly, due to his increasing age and since the middle of January, he was so sickly that he was forced to remain in bed.1a

1aBerliner Journal 22 Mar 1900 pg 4 col 3. Translated by: Patricia J. Kauk for the Kitchener Public Library 
George William Engelter
 
9749 In Galt, on Nov. 26th, Lena, only daughter of Thomas and Lucy England, aged 5 years and 10 months.

Galt Reporter Dec 2 1881 pg 8 
Lena England
 
9750 At Galt, on Tuesday, 26th April, at 9:30 pm, W.A. England, aged 19 years and 10 months.

Galt Reporter Apr 29 1881 pg 8 
William A. England
 
9751 Ludwig Englehart came to work for Jacob Hespeler in 1860 and con-tinued as Carpenter, millwright and general maintenance man at the upper mill until 1882 or later. After retirement he continued to live on Queen Street, east of the Spring Hill lot. He was a high-class man.1a

1aLe Rue De Commerce, Other Times Other Customs Other Days Other Ways, Winfield Brewster 1954 
Ludwig Englehart
 
9752 Fatal Accident

Mr. Sebastian Englert, engineer in Erb's tannery here, was busy on Tuesday throwing hides into a large wash-tub resting on two vertical supports, which was turning around by means of steam-power, and which had an opening on the side. One hide became stuck in the opening and, in an attempt to push it in, Mr. Englert's arm got into the approximately 3-inch space between the wash-tub and the support-post. Nearby observers soon brought the drum to a stand-still and released the pinched arm, but in the meantime, it had been terribly mangled. The outer bone of the lower arm had been torn off at the elbow and hung right out. The arm was a terrifying sight. Dr. Lackner was called over and, after applying a temporary bandage, transported the patient to the hospital, where, with the help of Drs. Hett and Cline, the arm was amputated close to the shoulder. Although the operation was successful, and the patient was very brave (he had climbed into Dr. Lackner's automobile by himself after the accident, to drive to the hospital), the uncommonly large blood-loss and severe pain had weakened him so much, that he gave up the ghost on Tuesday evening.

The deceased had come to Canada about 18 years ago from Würzburg, Bavaria and lived for eight years near Dashwood, Huron County. He then came to Berlin, where he delighted in being a loyal father and good citizen, generally respected. The accident is a bitter blow for his family, whom he had left quite cheerfully on Tuesday morning, never to return again and to the survivors goes, generally, the deepest sympathy. The family consists of six sons and three daughters. The children are all at home except for the oldest son who is employed as a cigar-maker in Port Huron, Michigan.

The burial takes place today, Thursday, at 10 o'clock; taking part are the St. Boniface Association and the Maccabeans. The funeral service will take place in the Catholic church and burial will be in the Catholic cemetery.1a

1aBerliner Journal October 18, 1900 Page 4 - Column 5, Translated by: Patricia J. Kauk July 28, 2006 for the Kitchener Public Library 
Sebastian Englert
 
9753 ENGLERT, Sebastian A. -- At his residence 380 Wellington St. N., Kitchener, on Wednesday, Oct. 14, 1981, aged 93 years, Sebastian Englert. A member of St. Mary's RC Church; the Kitchener Knights of Columbus, Council 1504; former partner of Schell and Englert Grocery, retiring in 1954. Son of the late Sebastian Englert and Emelia Hofmann; husband of the former Mary Kroetsch, who predeceased him in October 1978; father of Sebastian P., Bertha, Marie (Mrs. Wilbert Moser), Mrs. Rose Balge and Margaret (Mrs. Ed Baskerville), all of Kitchener and Joseph of Tonawanda, N.Y.; brother of Walter of San Carlos, Calif. Also survived by 19 grandchildren and 10 great grandchildren. Predeceased by three sisters and four brothers. Visitation at the Schreiter-Sandrock Funeral Home, 51 Benton St., Kitchener, after 7 p.m. tonight. Vigil service Friday at 8 p.m., followed by the Knights of Columbus Scripture Service at 8:30 p.m. Prayers will be offered at the funeral home on Saturday, Oct. 17, at 9:30 a.m, followed by Mass of Christian Burial at St. Mary's RC Church at 10 a.m. Interment to follow in Kitchener Mount Hope cemetery.1a

1aThe Kitchener-Waterloo Record 15 Oct 1981

___________________

RETAILER SEBASTIAN ENGLERT SR. DIES AT 93

Sebastian Englert Sr., the dean of Kitchener retailers, died Wednesday at his home, 380 Wellington St. N. Kitchener he was 93. He joined the staff of Beck and Schell, a grocery store at 16 king St. E. in Kitchener in 1901 at the age of 13, In 1926, he became a partner and the store became Schell and Englert. The partnership was dissolved in 1954 and Englert planned to retire. But when his son, Sebastian Jr., purchased the property for a gift shop. his father decided to stay on as a salesman. He continued to go to the store until a few years ago and was still selling well into his 80s. When he started in the grocery business, he worked 72 hours a week and wages were $100 a year. In a 1974 interview, he recalled butter at 25 cents a pound, milk at 5 cents a quart, bread at 10 cents a loaf and potatoes at 75 cents for a 75 pound bag. Top grade beef went for 15 cents to 25 cents a pound. He had to hand mix individual tea blends and package customers' purchases in rolled up newspapers because there weren't any paper bags. Matches were made by breaking off pieces from a solid block of wood topped with sulphur King Street in those days was just mud with no cars and no driving rules for horses and buggies. Englert and his wife the former Mary Kroetsch, celebrated their 60th wedding anniversary in 1974. She predeceased him in 1978. Surviving are two sons. four daughters and one brother. The mass will be celebrated at St. Mary's Church, Kitchener, at 10 a.m. Saturday.1a

1aThe Kitchener-Waterloo Record 15 Oct 1981 
Sebastian Englert
 
9754 laborer , Hawkesville, pg 48 Brooksbank "John" English
 
9755 English, R. [Roland b. 25 Dec 1891, Ingersoll, Ont.; d. 23 Sept. 1918; poster; next-of-kin: Matlia English, mother; regimental number: 3131583]1a

1aBrook Skelton, Military Honour Rolls and Church of the Holy Saviour, Waterloo, Ontario, Waterloo Kin, Waterloo Region Branch, Ontario Genelogical Society 2007 *bracketed information from the WW1 Attestation Papers 
Roland English
 
9756 Sarah Ann (ENNIS) PASMORE, 67, of Ontario Canada, died April 1921.

Born on Friday, 2 September 1853, in Beverely Twp., Ontario Canada, she was the daughter of the late John ENNIS formerly of Ayre York County Ontario Canada and the late Catherine (MERIAM) formerly of Washington, Ontario Canada.

She is survived by her husband of 39 years, Thomas Andrew Jr PASMORE, son of the late Thomas Andrew Sr PASMORE formerly of Drumbo, Blenhiem Twp, Ontario Canada and the late Sarah Jane (VANEVERY) formerly of Gladwin, Gladwin County Michigan.

Sarah Ann is survived by three children, Florence Elise of North Bay Nipissing, Ontario, George Irving of North Bay Nipissing, Ontario, and Edith May EBY and her husband Samuel Benjamin Stauffer EBY of North Bay Nipissing, Ontario; five siblings, Clarrissa (ENNIS) WALLS of Beverely Twp., Ontario Canada, John E ENNIS and his wife Margery Ann (PASMORE) of Beverely Twp., Ontario Canada, Catherine Miriam (ENNIS) of Beverely Twp., Ontario Canada, Joseph A. ENNIS and his wife Hannah E (TOOHEY) of Beverely Twp., Ontario Canada, and Wesley Merriam ENNIS and his wife Martha Jane (PASMORE) of Beverely Twp., Ontario Canada; four grandchildren, George TAYLOR of Ontario Canada, Elise of Canada, Berenice (TAYLOR) of Ontario Canada, and Bertha of Ontario Canada.

Sarah Ann was preceded in death by one daughter, Catherine Jane of North Bay Nipissing, Ontario; six siblings, Brice Meriam ENNIS of Wentworth County Ontario Canada, John ENNIS of Beverely Twp., Ontario Canada, William ENNIS of Stratford Ontario, Mary Ann (ENNIS) CRANDALL of Beverely Twp., Ontario Canada, Elizabeth Jane (ENNIS) of Beverely Twp., Ontario Canada, and Charles Coe Irwin ENNIS of Stratford Ontario; four grandparents, Bryce (Brice) ENNIS of Beverely Twp., Ontario Canada, John MERIAM of Ontario Canada, Elizabeth Jane (LOWERY) ENNIS of Beverely Twp., Ontario Canada, and Clarissa (CORNELL) MERIAM of Ontario Canada. 
Sarah Ann Ennis
 
9757 SMITH, Elizabeth

Of Golden Years Nursing Home, Cambridge, Sunday, April 17, 1983, at Cambridge Memorial Hospital, in her 74th year, Elizabeth Enright. Beloved wife of the late Lawrence Smith; dear mother of Robert, Edward, Donald, Jean (Mrs. Edmund Kennedy) and Marlene (Mrs. Bill Milne), all of Cambridge. Also survived by two brothers, Charles and Frank and two sisters, Mrs. Margaret Neagle and Mrs. Nellie Rahman, all of Cambridge. Also survived by 12 grandchildren and one great-grandchild. Predeceased by a brother, George. Mrs. Smith was born in Oakville and came to Cambridge in 1945 from Plattsville, Ont.; a member of the Temple Baptist Church, Cambridge. Friends will be received at the Barthel-Stager Funeral Home, 566 Queenston Rd., Cambridge, Monday, 7-9 and Tuesday, 7-9. Funeral service at the funeral home on Wednesday, at 2 p.m. Interment in Parklawn cemetery.

Kitchener-Waterloo Record 18 Apr 1983 pg D11 
Elizabeth Teresa Enright
 
9758 ENRIGHT, Francis Anthony (Frank)

Of Cambridge, on Tuesday, February 24, 2004, at Cambridge Memorial Hospital, in his 78th year. Beloved husband of Lenore (Martini) Enright. Dear father of John Enright and Valerie of London, ON, James Enright of Thailand, Kathleen and Steve Stafford of Puslinch, Jeanne Enright of Toronto, Janet and Henry Meier of Mississauga, and Michael Enright and Julie of Cambridge. Sadly missed by grandchildren, Claire and Emma Stafford and Victoria and Aaron Enright. Predeceased by his parents, Charles and Gertrude Enright, three sisters, Nellie Rahmann, Elizabeth Smith and Margaret Neagle, and two brothers, George Enright and Charles A. Enright. Mr. Enright was born in Preston and had operated Enright Metal Products Limited, until he retired two years ago. He was a member of St. Clement's RC Church. The family will receive friends at the Barthel Funeral Home, 566 Queenston Road, Cambridge on Thursday, from 2-4 and 7-9 p.m. Funeral Mass will be celebrated at St. Clement's RC Church, 745 Duke Street, Cambridge on Friday, February 27, 2004, at 10 a.m. Interment in Parklawn Cemetery, Cambridge.

The Record 25 Feb 2004 pg B7 
Francis Anthony "Frank" Enright
 
9759 Dictionary of Canadian Biography Online Christian Enslin
 
9760 Berlin Chronicle 2 April 1856

At Berlin, on Saturday night, the 29th inst., Christian Enslin, Esq., Treasurer of the County of Waterloo, aged 56 years. The deceased was a native of Wuertemberg, Germany, and came to Canada about the year 1834,- a carpet-bag then constituting all his worldly goods. He first engaged as a daily laborer, but shortly followed his trade as book-binder, in many instances travelling from house to house in the prosecution of his business.

In 1840 the German Canadian was established by the late Henry Eby, and Mr. Enslin became its Editor, and conducted that paper successfully for the succeeding ten years. Mr Enslin was admirably adapted for his pursuit and his writings were well received by the public,being distinguished by a kind and conciliatory spirit, yet as firm, convincing and patriotic as amiable and just. When he retired from his charge of the Canadian, he carried with him the respect and affection of all who had become acquainted with his feelings and principles as reflected weekly in the columns of his newspaper. He subsequently carried on his trade and added to it the Bookselling business, at the same engaging assiduously in the labor of conveyancing, during which time it is believed that he wrote more public documents than any other man in Canada. By earnest attention to his business, unceasing industry, sterling honesty and wholesome frugality, he gradually won his way up to comparative independence, and when called upon to close his eyes upon all material things, he was entering more and more energetically than ever into useful public life.

As a man, Mr. Enslin will be long remembered by his many sorrowing friends for his amiability, his many virtues, and his great usefullness to the community in which he lived.

As a public servant, Mr. Enslin had few equals. His unswerving honesty and untiring energy with his kindly disposition rendered him a great favorite, and by his premature decease a blank has been left in the public life of Waterloo, which may be filled again but never with more credit to the occupant or profit to the public.
For a few weeks before his decease, Mr. Enslin had been laboring under the sufferings which usually accompany his disease-consumption. He was patient and kind to the last, and left the world in the firm hope of a blessed immortality.
His remains were followed to the Grave on Tuesday by a large concourse of friends, among whom were his brother and officers of the county and members of the County Council.

The Revd. Mr. Whitaker took advantage of the event to preach an able and affecting discourse to the Congregation of which Mr. Enslin was a member.1a

1a Berlin Chronicle 2 Apr 1856

_______________________________

Church of the Good Shepherd

The congregation began meeting in various locations as early as 1833, with Christian Enslin as leader. A small frame church was built on Frederick Street in 1842, and was called The Free Church; the congregations of four denominations held services in it. The seating space in the Free Church became insufficient for the growing Swedenborgian congregation with the result that land on the northwest corner of Church and Benton Streets was purchased in 1847 from Joseph E. Schneider. A frame church with a seating capacity of 150 was built in the same year; the church was called the New Church (Uttley 1937:64). Several decades later a larger church was again needed. Land was purchased on the northeast corner of King and Water Streets where a new stone church was built and completed in 1870. The old church was sold to the congregation of St. John's Evangelical Lutheran Church.

Serious differences resulted in a formal split in the Berlin Swedenborgian congregation on September 18, 1891. One group, the predecessor of this congregation, whose pastor was Rev. F.W. Tuerk (June 1857-July 3, 1901), continued to worship in the stone church. The other group, eventually to be known as the Carmel Church of the New Jerusalem, built their church in 1892 at 820 King Street West; their pastor was Rev. F.E. Waelchli. In 1935 the congregation purchased land on the corner of Queen Street North and Margaret Avenue as the site for a new church. The Church of the Good Shepherd is a Convention Church of the New Jerusalem. 2a

2aWaterloo County Churches A Research Guide To Churches Established Before 1900 By Rosemary Ambrose

____________________________

ENSLIN, CHRISTIAN (Emanuel Christian Gottlieb), bookbinder, newspaperman, notary, and office holder; b. 4 Feb. 1800 in Württemberg (Federal Republic of Germany); m. Julia -, and they had one child; d. 29 March 1856 in Berlin (Kitchener), Upper Canada.

Christian Enslin came from Württemberg to North America about 1830. One of the early German immigrants to the Waterloo area, he arrived in Berlin some time before 1833 with all his possessions in a carpet-bag. He first supported himself as a daily labourer, but soon began to practise his trade as a bookbinder, travelling from house to house until he could establish a small bindery. There he bound books for customers such as Bishop Benjamin Eby and Heinrich Wilhelm Peterson. Some time later Enslin expanded his business to include a bookstore, where he sold not only books but also patent medicines, eyeglasses, school supplies, and other specialized articles.

In December 1837 Enslin began an active role in journalism, working for almost a year as the associate editor of Peterson's Canada Museum, und Allgemeine Zeitung. When Peterson decided to stop publishing it, Enslin and Heinrich Eby, a son of Bishop Eby and a former apprentice at the Canada Museum, purchased the newspaper plant from him in December 1840. A month later Peterson's two former employees founded Der Deutsche Canadier und Neuigkeitsbote. Following the demise in September 1841 of Der Morgenstern, a short-lived German weekly published in Waterloo, Enslin and Eby acquired a subscription list and perhaps also some equipment from its publisher Benjamin Burkholder. The sole German-language newspaper published in British North America from 1841 to 1848, the Deutsche Canadier was more successful than its first rival, the Morgenstern, and it continued in print until January 1865.

Enslin, editor of the Deutsche Canadier from its first issue until he was succeeded by Johann Jakob Ernst in January 1850, proudly boasted that his reform journal was "a staunch advocate of Responsible and Constitutional Government." The paper did not publish much local news, but it did support instruction in German in county schools. Enslin concentrated instead on reports of political unrest in Europe and reprinted literary extracts from various continental journals. Despite its popularity the Deutsche Canadier was never free from the threat of bankruptcy. With tongue in cheek Enslin warned his readers early in 1844 that, "inasmuch as the end of the world is to come on the 22nd of March, according to Miller's prophecy, we respectfully request all our readers who are in arrears with their subscriptions to call and settle at once, otherwise it will go hard with them on Judgment Day."

Enslin, a convert to the religious views of Emanuel Swedenborg, was instrumental in the formation of a Swedenborgian congregation in Berlin, later known as the Church of the New Jerusalem or the New Church. For some time before the cooperative Free Church, which was used by a number of denominations, was opened on 25 Dec. 1842, Enslin's group met for services in his orchard in the summer and in his bindery in the winter. A circulating library of religious books, most of which were Swedenborgian, operated out of his bookstore under the auspices of the New Church Society of Berlin. Enslin was also one of the organizers of the second Mennonite Sunday school in the county, established in April 1841.
During his career Enslin held a number of civic offices. As a bilingual notary he assisted many German farmers in their land transactions and, according to an obituary in the Berlin Chronicle and Provincial Reformers' Gazette, "he wrote more public documents than any other man in Canada." He was appointed commissioner to the Court of Queen's Bench, responsible for taking affidavits for use in local court sessions, and from 1853 to 1855 he served as the first clerk of the Surrogate Court in Waterloo County. He became the second treasurer of the county a few months before his death from consumption on 29 March 1856.

Tom Eadie

AO, RG 1, A-I-6: 23046-48; RG 22, ser.155, will of Christian Enslin. PAC, RG 31, A1, 1851, Waterloo Township, pt.4: 180-81. New Jerusalem Magazine (Boston), 28 (1856): 623-24. Berlin Chronicle and Provincial Reformers' Gazette (Berlin [Kitchener, Ont.]), 2 April 1856. Canada Museum, und Allgemeine Zeitung (Berlin). Der Deutsche Canadier und Neuigkeitsbote (Berlin), 1 Jan. 1841-December 1849. Der Morgenstern (Waterloo, [Ont.]), 8 June 1839-16 Sept. 1841. M. B. Block, The New Church in the new world: a study of Swedenborgianism in America (New York, 1932; repr. 1968). A. E. Byerly, The beginning of things in Wellington and Waterloo counties . . . (Guelph, Ont., 1935). H. K. Kalbfleisch, The history of the pioneer German language press of Ontario, Canada, 1835-1918 (London, Ont., and Münster, German Federal Republic, 1968). Gottlieb Leibbrant, Little paradise: the saga of the German Canadians of Waterloo County, Ontario, 1800-1975 (Kitchener, 1980). W. V. Uttley, A history of Kitchener, Ontario (Kitchener, 1937; repr. [Waterloo, 1975]).
The Waterloo Hist. Soc. (Waterloo) has published a number of articles relating to Christian Enslin's life in its Annual report, including: Salome Bauman, "First Mennonite Church, 1813-1963," 1963: 19-26; Michael Bird, "The Swedenborgian community in Waterloo County: two religious approaches to culture," 1975: 69-74; W. H. Breithaupt, "[Address at the dedication of the Waterloo County Pioneers' Memorial Tower, 28 Aug. 1926]," 1926: 220-25, "Some German settlers of Waterloo County," 1913: 11-15, and "Waterloo County newspapers," 1921: 152-60; A. E. Byerly, "Henry William Peterson," 1931: 250-62; D. Johnson, "The Church of the Good Shepherd," 1943: 39-43; D. N. Panabaker, "President's report," 1932: 298-308; and Jacob Stroh, "Reminiscences of Berlin (now Kitchener)," 1930: 175-207; 1931: 274-84.
A brief account of Enslin's life was published a few years after his death in "Minutes of the meeting of the Association of the New Church in Canada," New Jerusalem Magazine, 36 (1864): 210-11.3a

3aDictionary of Canadian Biography Online www.biographi.ca

___________________________________

A-1-106 Christian Enslin, Probate of the will of Christian Enslin, late of the town of Berlin, on petition of Julia Enslin, widow of the said Christian Enslin, the Executrix named in said will. (Charles Hendry and Henry Rothaermel, the Executors, having renounced.)

I Christian Enslin, of the Town of Berlin, Notary Public…First I will and devise unto my beloved wife Julia, and my hereinafter named Executors in trust, all my real and personal property…I authorize to pay all my just debts and collect all my outstanding dues, it is my will that Lot number twelve, on the north side of King Street, in Berlin, now occupied by the Widow Harbin, be appropriated to and for the use and benefit of the society called the New Jerusalem Church, that is if my beloved wife and my Executors deem it proper, but should the residue of my estate not be sufficient comfortably to support my wife and child or children, should my wife be blessed with my hereafter, then the proceeds of said property to be appropriated to and for the support of my said wife and child or children. And I hereby nominate, constitute and appoint my beloved wife Julia Enslin, Executrix, and my friends Charles Hendry of Conestogo, in the Township of Woolwich, Merchant, and Henry Rothaemel of Berlin, Carpenter, Executors of this my last will and testament…And I also nominate and appoint my said Executors Charles Henry and Henry Rothaermel, Guardians for my child (or children in the event of my said wife being blessed with any hereafter.)

Witnessed by A.J. Peterson and Charles Hendry
Will Dated 10 March 1856
Granted and Registered 8th Septembher 1856
Died 29 March 1856
Inventory £825/1/9.4a

4aSurrogate Court Records Copybook Register A 1853-1871 transcript to 1863. Frances Hoffman transcriber 
Christian Enslin
 
9761 http://www.biographi.ca/EN/ShowBio.asp?BioId=38021&query=berlin

ENSLIN,
CHRISTIAN (Emanuel Christian Gottlieb), bookbinder, newspaperman, notary, and office holder; b. 4 Feb. 1800 in Württemberg (Federal Republic of Germany); m. Julia \emdash , and they had one child; d. 29 March 1856 in Berlin (Kitchener), Upper Canada.
Christian Enslin came from Württemberg to North America about 1830. One of the early German immigrants to the Waterloo area, he arrived in Berlin some time before 1833 with all his possessions in a carpet-bag. He first supported himself as a daily labourer, but soon began to practise his trade as a bookbinder, travelling from house to house until he could establish a small bindery. There he bound books for customers such as Bishop Benjamin Eby and Heinrich Wilhelm Peterson. Some time later Enslin expanded his business to include a bookstore, where he sold not only books but also patent medicines, eyeglasses, school supplies, and other specialized articles.
In December 1837 Enslin began an active role in journalism, working for almost a year as the associate editor of Peterson's Canada Museum, und Allgemeine Zeitung. When Peterson decided to stop publishing it, Enslin and Heinrich Eby, a son of Bishop Eby and a former apprentice at the Canada Museum, purchased the newspaper plant from him in December 1840. A month later Peterson's two former employees founded Der Deutsche Canadier und Neuigkeitsbote. Following the demise in September 1841 of Der Morgenstern, a short-lived German weekly published in Waterloo, Enslin and Eby acquired a subscription list and perhaps also some equipment from its publisher Benjamin Burkholder. The sole German-language newspaper published in British North America from 1841 to 1848, the Deutsche Canadier was more successful than its first rival, the Morgenstern, and it continued in print until January 1865.
Enslin, editor of the Deutsche Canadier from its first issue until he was succeeded by Johann Jakob Ernst in January 1850, proudly boasted that his reform journal was "a staunch advocate of Responsible and Constitutional Government." The paper did not publish much local news, but it did support instruction in German in county schools. Enslin concentrated instead on reports of political unrest in Europe and reprinted literary extracts from various continental journals. Despite its popularity the Deutsche Canadier was never free from the threat of bankruptcy. With tongue in cheek Enslin warned his readers early in 1844 that, "inasmuch as the end of the world is to come on the 22nd of March, according to Miller's prophecy, we respectfully request all our readers who are in arrears with their subscriptions to call and settle at once, otherwise it will go hard with them on Judgment Day."
Enslin, a convert to the religious views of Emanuel Swedenborg, was instrumental in the formation of a Swedenborgian congregation in Berlin, later known as the Church of the New Jerusalem or the New Church. For some time before the cooperative Free Church, which was used by a number of denominations, was opened on 25 Dec. 1842, Enslin's group met for services in his orchard in the summer and in his bindery in the winter. A circulating library of religious books, most of which were Swedenborgian, operated out of his bookstore under the auspices of the New Church Society of Berlin. Enslin was also one of the organizers of the second Mennonite Sunday school in the county, established in April 1841.
During his career Enslin held a number of civic offices. As a bilingual notary he assisted many German farmers in their land transactions and, according to an obituary in the Berlin Chronicle and Provincial Reformers' Gazette, "he wrote more public documents than any other man in Canada." He was appointed commissioner to the Court of Queen's Bench, responsible for taking affidavits for use in local court sessions, and from 1853 to 1855 he served as the first clerk of the Surrogate Court in Waterloo County. He became the second treasurer of the county a few months before his death from consumption on 29 March 1856.


AO, RG 1, A-I-6: 23046\endash 48; RG 22, ser.155, will of Christian Enslin. PAC, RG 31, A1, 1851, Waterloo Township, pt.4: 180\endash 81. New Jerusalem Magazine (Boston), 28 (1856): 623\endash 24. Berlin Chronicle and Provincial Reformers' Gazette (Berlin [Kitchener, Ont.]), 2 April 1856. Canada Museum, und Allgemeine Zeitung (Berlin). Der Deutsche Canadier und Neuigkeitsbote (Berlin), 1 Jan. 1841\endash December 1849. Der Morgenstern (Waterloo, [Ont.]), 8 June 1839\endash 16 Sept. 1841. M. B. Block, The New Church in the new world: a study of Swedenborgianism in America (New York, 1932; repr. 1968). A. E. Byerly, The beginning of things in Wellington and Waterloo counties . . . (Guelph, Ont., 1935). H. K. Kalbfleisch, The history of the pioneer German language press of Ontario, Canada, 1835\endash 1918 (London, Ont., and Münster, German Federal Republic, 1968). Gottlieb Leibbrant, Little paradise: the saga of the German Canadians of Waterloo County, Ontario, 1800\endash 1975 (Kitchener, 1980). W. V. Uttley, A history of Kitchener, Ontario (Kitchener, 1937; repr. [Waterloo, 1975]).
The Waterloo Hist. Soc. (Waterloo) has published a number of articles relating to Christian Enslin's life in its Annual report, including: Salome Bauman, "First Mennonite Church, 1813-1963," 1963: 19-26; Michael Bird, "The Swedenborgian community in Waterloo County: two religious approaches to culture," 1975: 69-74; W. H. Breithaupt, "[Address at the dedication of the Waterloo County Pioneers' Memorial Tower, 28 Aug. 1926]," 1926: 220-25, "Some German settlers of Waterloo County," 1913: 11-15, and "Waterloo County newspapers," 1921: 152-60; A. E. Byerly, "Henry William Peterson," 1931: 250-62; D. Johnson, "The Church of the Good Shepherd," 1943: 39-43; D. N. Panabaker, "President's report," 1932: 298-308; and Jacob Stroh, "Reminiscences of Berlin (now Kitchener)," 1930: 175-207; 1931: 274-84.
A brief account of Enslin's life was published a few years after his death in "Minutes of the meeting of the Association of the New Church in Canada," New Jerusalem Magazine, 36 (1864): 210-11 
Christian Enslin
 
9762 Ship "Bavarian"

Jas. Entwistle age 45, Anna J. age 38, Marjorie age 8, Jas W. age 8, Winn? J aged 6, Stanley L. aged 3 
James Entwistle
 
9763 Ship "Bavarian"

Jas. Entwistle age 45, Anna J. age 38, Marjorie age 8, Jas W. age 8, Winn? J aged 6, Stanley L. aged 3 
James Entwistle
 
9764 Ship "Bavarian"

Jas. Entwistle age 45, Anna J. age 38, Marjorie age 8, Jas W. age 8, Winn? J aged 6, Stanley L. aged 3 
Marjorie Entwistle
 
9765 Ship "Bavarian"

Jas. Entwistle age 45, Anna J. age 38, Marjorie age 8, Jas W. age 8, Winn? J aged 6, Stanley L. aged 3 
Stanley Entwistle
 
9766 Former Waterloo mayor Herb Epp dies

WATERLOO \emdash Flags are flying at half staff at Waterloo city buildings Tuesday after the death of former mayor and member of provincial parliament Herb Epp. He was 78.

"He loved his community. He loved Waterloo," Waterloo Mayor Brenda Halloran said. "He dedicated his whole life to public service. He really helped build Waterloo."....1a

1aWaterloo Region Record 25 Feb 2013
Statement by Ontario Premier Kathleen Wynne

______________________________


I am saddened to hear of the passing of Herb Epp. He was a proud and passionate voice for the people of Kitchener-Waterloo and his service as an elected representative did much to improve his community and his province.

As a teacher and guidance counsellor, a member of the Ontario legislature and a three-term mayor of Waterloo, he dedicated himself to the betterment of people's lives. He was an important advocate for young people and contributed greatly to the development of his community.

My thoughts are with his family and his community. He will be deeply missed, both within Kitchener-Waterloo and across Ontario.

__________________________ 
Mayor Herbert Arnold Epp
 
9767 Accident at Mannheim: Mr Erb, a farmer living near Mannheim, Ont., was engaged in making maple sugar on Friday when his little ten-year-old son fell headforemost into a pot of boiling molasses. The little fellow was quickly removed, but he died about an hour afterwards.

Signet 14 Sep 1893, pg 6, col 4 
Erb
 
9768 Aaron Erb, "was born January 7th, 1849. He is married to Julia Ann Unger. They reside in the town of Berlin where he is engaged as traveling salesman for Messrs. Brown & Erb of Berlin. His family consists of two children".1a

1a\bThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby

_______________


Oct. 29, 1916: "To Shanley St. to see the ceremony of the laying of the cornerstone of the New Catholic Church; then to funeral of Aaron Erb who was brought home dead from Brandon."1a

1aDiary of Susannah Cressman 
Aaron Erb
 
9769 Aaron B. Erb, "was born about 1840. He is married to Hannah Green. They reside near Niagara Falls, Ontario, where he is engaged in farming."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Aaron B. Erb
 
9770 Abraham Erb, "eldest son of Jacob G. and Catharine (Wenger) Erb, was born January 10th, 1825. In 1846 he was married to Fannie Frick. They reside in Clarence, Erie County, New York, where they had a family of three sons, namely: Henry, a farmer; Albert, a doctor; and Hiram, a farmer."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Abraham Erb
 
9771 Abraham Erb, "the fourth son of Christian and Maria (Scherch) Erb, was born July 12th, 1772. He was married to Magdalena, daughter of John and Anna Erb, in May, 1804. She was born March 3rd, 1780, and died July 25th, 1858. In 1806 they, in company with Jacob Schneider and family, Christian Schneider and family, Jacob Erb and family, Simon Cress and family, Widow Brech and family, and others, forty-eight persons in all, moved to Canada and arrived in safety at Preston where John Erb had settled the year previously.

Old Abraham Erb pushed his way northward on the west side of the Grand River to where now the beautiful town of Waterloo is situated. His first clearing was a little to the south where now the Union Mills are situated. He soon became the possessor of 900 acres of land and in a few years after his arrival he erected a saw mill, as his brother John had done several years previously. In 1816 he erected a grist mill; this and his brother's at Preston proved to be the only mills in the township.

Abraham Erb had but one child, a son named Benjamin who was born January 3rd, 1807, and died in Waterloo, September 29th, 1814. He died September 6th, 1830. After Mr. Erb's death, his widow was married to Bishop Benjamin Eby. Abraham Erb and his wife had adopted two children whom they raised; one was the late Barnabas Devitt (see Barnabas Devitt's family) of Waterloo, and the other was Rachel Winson, born May 23rd, 1827. She was married to Jacob Bomberger. They resided on a beautiful farm near Strasburg, Waterloo County, Ontario, but not living happy together, they separated, he went to the Middle States and she was again married and resided between New Hamburg and Shakespeare where she raised a numerous family."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby

___________________________

ERB, ABRAHAM, miller; b. 12 July 1772 in Warwick Township, Pa, fourth son of Christian Erb and Maria Scherch; m. May 1804 Magdalena Erb in Lancaster County, Pa; d. 6 Sept. 1830 in Waterloo, Upper Canada.

The history of Waterloo County, Ontario, is much indebted to two Mennonite brothers, Abraham and John Erb, who in the early 19th century decided to leave Pennsylvania in search of new opportunity in the wilderness of Upper Canada. Both Abraham and John, as well as two other Erbs (a brother Jacob and a cousin Daniel), were founding members of the German Company, established in Lancaster County in 1803 to purchase a 60,000-acre tract of land in that part of Upper Canada later known as Waterloo County [see Samuel D. Betzner*]. In 1806 Abraham and a group of 48 other Mennonites left Pennsylvania for the German Company tract. Stopping briefly at the home of his elder brother John, who had immigrated a year earlier and founded the settlement of Preston (Cambridge), Abraham journeyed a dozen miles farther north.

The later emergence of the village of Waterloo was to occur within the confines of land held by Abraham Erb. He had acquired his land prior to his departure, having purchased a large tract from Jacob and Daniel Erb on 20 July 1805. His holdings of 900 acres included several watercourses, which provided waterpower for mills. As early as 1808 he is recorded as having constructed a saw-mill. In 1816 he expanded his operation to include a grist-mill. It is reported that this mill and his brother John's in Preston were the only two in the region north of Dundas.
Abraham's role in the founding of Waterloo appears to have been important in two areas - early industry and pioneer education. With respect to industry, he was personally responsible for giving accommodation, training, or employment to a considerable number of Pennsylvania immigrants who found their way to his doorstep in the early part of the century. Among the prominent people who engaged themselves to work in some capacity in his enterprises were cooper Joseph Bauman and millers Jacob S. Shoemaker and Andrew Groff. That the grist-mill was a busy social gathering-place is shown by one account, according to which Erb had erected a large fireplace and installed a wooden floor and some rough furniture in the basement of the mill to accommodate farmers who would stay overnight (there were as yet no hotels in the area) while awaiting the conversion of their grain to grist.

The earliest program of education in this pioneer region received an impetus from Abraham Erb, who played a prominent role in the building of the first school in 1820. In his will, dated 3 Sept. 1829, he left a fund for the use of certain schools, to be administered by trustees appointed by the Mennonite Society of Waterloo Township, the interest to be used "for the benefit and education of the poor and needy children, and such as the trustees shall think proper."

The early growth of the village of Waterloo was slow, undoubtedly impeded by the fact that Abraham Erb did not wish to sell his property, preferring to keep it for his heirs. A major portion of the land and of his business enterprise went out of the family when, on 1 Sept. 1829, Erb sold his sawmill and flour-mill to Jacob C. Snider. A comparatively short but energetic career ended with Erb's death on 6 Sept. 1830. He and his wife Magdalena had had one child, who died at the age of seven; they also adopted two others, one of whom, Barnabas Devitt, became a successful miller in nearby Bridgeport (Kitchener). After Abraham's death Magdalena married Mennonite bishop Benjamin Eby*.

Michael S. Bird

AO, Hist. plaque descriptions, "John Erb, 1764-1832, founder of Preston," 20 June 1960. Waterloo Hist. Soc. (Kitchener, Ont.), Abraham Erb, day-book, 1822-26. Valley of Six Nations (Johnston). E. E. Eby, A biographical history of Waterloo Township . . . (2v., Berlin [Kitchener], Ont., 1895-96); repub. as E. E. Eby and J. B. Snyder, A biographical history of early settlers and their descendants in Waterloo Township, with Supplement, ed. E. D. Weber (Kitchener, 1971). L. J. Burkholder, A brief history of the Mennonites in Ontario (n.p., 1935). F. H. Epp, Mennonites in Canada, 1786-1920: the history of a separate people (Toronto, 1974). G. E. Reaman, The trail of the black walnut (Toronto, 1957). W. V. Uttley, A history of Kitchener, Ontario (Kitchener, 1937; repr. [Waterloo, Ont., 1975]). W. H. Breithaupt, "Waterloo County history," "The settlement of Waterloo County," and "First settlements of Pennsylvania Mennonites in Upper Canada," OH, 17 (1919): 43-47; 22 (1925): 14-17; and 23 (1926): 8-14; "Museum report," "Waterloo County millers," and "Historical notes on the Grand River," Waterloo Hist. Soc., Annual report (Waterloo), 1927: 381-84; 1928: 78-80; 1930: 219-29. I. C. Bricker, "The first settlement in central western Ontario," OH, 30 (1934): 58-65. Mabel Dunham, "A short history of the new city of Waterloo," Waterloo Hist. Soc., Annual report (Kitchener), 1947: 34-38. M. A. Johnston, "A brief history of elementary education in the city of Waterloo," Waterloo Hist. Soc., Annual report, 1965: 56-68. A. B. Sherk, "The Pennsylvania Germans in Waterloo County," OH, 7 (1906): 98-109. E. W. B. Snider, "Waterloo County forests and primitive economics," Waterloo Hist. Soc., Annual report, 1918: 14-36. C. W. Wells, "A historical sketch of the town of Waterloo, Ontario," Waterloo Hist. Soc., Annual report, 1928: 22-67.2a

2aDictionary of Canadian Biography Online 2000 University of Toronto/Université Laval

______________________


Abraham Erb was the first settler in what is now the Town of Waterloo, coming from Lancaster County, Pennsylvania, in 1806.
He purchased 900 acres of land that was not considered valuable, as much of it was low-lying cedar swamp, marshy and uninviting. However, notwithstanding that his brother John advised him to the contrary, Abraham Erb located on this property, and this beginning later developed into the present Town of Waterloo.

The County Registry Office records show that Richard Beasley sold a block of land to Daniel and Jacob Erb in 1805 as agents of the German Company. This was the bulk of Waterloo Township, 60,000 acres, for which 10,000 Pounds were paid, or at the rate of 81 1/10 cents per acre, and they, in turn, sold Abraham Erb 448 acres on July 20th. 1805, this being part of the site of the Town of Waterloo.

Those of us, who have spent many years in the town, are familiar with the fact that the land is low-lying for the residents have been moving the hills into the swamps for over one hundred years, in order to bring the lots up to a level where they could be sufficiently drained for residential or other purposes, and many a building has its foundations on oak planks, resting on quicksand or black swamp muck.

Not so many years ago, in excavating for a sewer on King Street, a block south of the original Abraham Erb mill, an old corduroy road made of elm logs was encountered, eight to ten feet below the present street level; also in October, this year, (1928), on lower King Street, cedar stumps, large pieces of elm wood, and good samples of peat were brought up from a depth of nine to ten feet below the present surface.

Abraham Erb erected a saw mill, and later, in 1816, a grist mill , propelled by water with the old-fashioned overshot wheel. The power was secured by making a dam on Laurel Creek, and for many years known as the Waterloo dam, and more recently as Silver Lake since it was acquired and is now a part of the Waterloo Park System.

When he erected his mill in 1816, Abraham Erb built a large fireplace in the basement and added a wooden floor and some rough furniture, making this part of the mill comfortable and inviting, especially on cold wintry days when a log was burning on the hearth. The fireplace was made of brick and massive field stone, and was built into the foundation, with an opening five feet wide and proportionately deep and high.

Such fireplaces were common in those days, as stoves had not been invented, and all cooking and heating of houses was done by means of fireplaces. It was not strange that Abraham Erb should have built a fireplace in his mill, for it proved to be a necessity.

As this mill was one of the first in this section of the country, farmers had to bring their grain long distances to be ground into flour. Even if the distance was not great, a trip over poor trails, and over corduroy roads through swamps was a difficult one and slow as well, for oxen were used for teaming. Consequently, a trip to the mill was often a matter of two or three days, instead of that number of hours in the present age of good roads and rapid transit.

While waiting for his grist the farmer lounged about the basement where it was warm and comfortable, and where he met his friends, the other farmers, so that it became a social centre, and a business mart as well, for many business trades were made there and many things discussed. They warmed their victuals and made coffee at the fireplace, and at night wrapped themselves in their blankets and slept on the floor, or on the bags of bran, or anywhere so long as they received the warmth of the fire place.

They had to camp in the mill for there were no hotels then; during their stay in the mill settlement, the farmers' oxen were comfortably stabled in a building which stood on the site now occupied by the block of stores on the south side of Erb Street and East side of King Street, directly opposite the Bank of Montreal .

Dundas wharf was the nearest shipping point in the old days, and all produce had to be teamed by oxen to that point, while salt and other supplies were brought back.

Until mills were established in Waterloo County, all wheat had to be taken to the mill at Dundas to be ground, and many a trip was made on horseback with part of a bag of grain carried on the horse's back, in order to relieve more quickly the shortage in the forest home away back in the Waterloo Settlement.

When Abraham Erb's mill was taken down and removed in 1927, after being in continuous use for 111 years, most of the foundations were blasted and the stone hauled away. I believe, however, that part of the foundation and the old fireplace was left in place and covered over with mother earth, an invisible monument to the courage, energy and enterprise of the first settler and founder of Waterloo, Abraham Erb.

After the building of the mill, others were anxious to join the settlement to carry on various enterprises, but Abraham Erb was reluctant to parcel out his land in small lots, and settlement was therefore retarded.

The Waterloo Historical Society is in possession of Abraham Erb's daybook, from 1822 to 1826. Most of the entries are in English, but some are in German. Values are denoted in pounds, shillings and pence, and a few in dollars and cents. This book was found about 1875 when tearing down a very old building. The workmen had discarded it amongst a heap of rubbish, and my father, the late Walter Wells, rescued it and thus preserved a valuable record.

On September 1st, 1829, Abraham Erb transferred 240 acres of land including his saw-mill and flour-mill to Jacob C. Snider, who had moved from Pennsylvania to a farm a little west of the present town, and Mr. Snider, great-grandfather of Frederick W. Snider, who is now, with his partner, the owner of the same flour mill, carried on business here for many years.

As the waterpower was not sufficient for his purposes, he installed a steam plant. As he then had more power than he required, he added a distillery to his other lines, and this branch of the business was carried on actively for a long time.

His son Elias then rented the mill, and, as he objected to having the still, his father removed it to his own farm. Jacob C Snider transferred 320 acres to his son Elias in 1853, (see County Records), including the mill property and much of what is now the central part of town. A landmark for many years was a tall poplar tree which stood near the mill. It was said that early in the century a poplar switch was used to drive a team of horses from Pennsylvania, and, on his arrival, the driver planted the switch near the mill. It grew to be a very large tree, five feet or more in diameter, and for many years a heavy cable circled it several times as an anchor for a tall iron smokestack, the bark finally growing over the cable. The tree was cut down in the 90's to make way for street improvements, the tree having been planted before there was a street.

The community had a very slow growth for three decades or more after Abraham Erb first located in the cedar swamp, for Jacob C. Snider, like his predecessor, was not anxious to sell his land in small lots to intending settlers. He had a large family and preferred holding his lands as an inheritance.3a

3aSixteenth Annual Report of the Waterloo Historical Society, 1928, A Historical Sketch of the Town of Waterloo, Ontario, Clayton W. Wells, L.D.S., D. D. S. 
Abraham Erb
 
9772 Abraham Erb, "third son of Jacob and Salome (Graybill) Erb, was born at Berlin, Ontario, March 6th, 1815. On November 10th, 1835, he was married to Willey, daughter of George and Esther (Stauffer) Clemens. She was born near Preston, Ontario, October 17th, 1817, and died in Bosanquet Township, Lambton County, Ontario, January 8th, 1881. He is still living and enjoying good health, and resides in Thedford, Ontario, where he is a member in good standing of the Methodist Church. He is a class leader and has in the past acted as Sunday School superintendent, local preacher, and filled various important positions in the church. To them was born a family of eleven children"1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby

_______________________


A Former Inhabitant

A former inhabitant of Waterloo County, Abraham Erb, died in Sarnia on February 25th He was born in 1814 on Gibson's farm near Berlin, at that time the property of Jakob Erb. Jakob Erb came to Canada from Pennsylvania 100 years ago. Of his 13 children, only 80-year old Mrs. Reitzel still lives near St. Jacobs. Several children attained a great age. The mother-in-law of Mr. Phil Breiding, who lives here, was 84 years old at her death 14 years ago. The body of the late Abraham Erb was brought to Blair by his four sons living in Grand Rapids and buried beside his wife, whose maiden name was Clemens.2a

2aBerliner Journal 14 Mar 1901 pg 4 col 3, Translated by: Patricia J. Kauk for the Kitchener Public Library 
Abraham Erb
 
9773 Commonly referred to as the "old mill", Abraham Erb's original Union Mills was built in 1816 at 13 King Street South and had been in the Snider family since 1861. The building was demolished in 1927. The Snider Mill continued at 45 Erb Street West, until its 1958 demolition.

Photograph Waterloo Pubic Library Digital Collection 
Abraham Erb
 
9774 The original portion of the Erb-Kumpf House was built around 1812 by Abraham Erb, the founder of Waterloo, making it one of Waterloo's oldest homes. It was a three-bay structure facing a mill situated near the south-west corner of King and Erb Streets.
Abraham Erb came from Lancaster County, Pennsylvania, in 1806 and settled on Lots 14 and 15 of the German Company Tract, land which now comprises the central business district of Waterloo. He established a sawmill on Beaver (Laurel) Creek in 1808 and a grist mill in 1816. In 1828, he sold his mills and a considerable quantity of land to Jacob C. Snider.
Magdalene Erb sold the home to Barnabas Devitt, her adopted son, in 1835. His son Benjamin served as Mayor of Waterloo from 1881 to 1883.
An addition to the house was probably built by Devitt in 1849. A slight hump in the roof on the north side indicates the location at which it joins the original structure. The application of a vertical board and clapboard which does not align is further evidence that it was added at a later date. The second addition, probably built by Hoffman around 1855, included the two-storey verandah at the front.

Elias Snider acquired the home and later sold it to Christian Kumpf in 1869. Kumpf was a newspaper owner, Mayor of Waterloo from 1879-1880, as well as Postmaster for 42 years. He was instrumental in the establishment of the Dominion Life Assurance Company in 1889. His son Ford, who became affectionately known as "Mr. Waterloo", was born in the home in 1877 and assumed ownership in 1899. One of the community's most public-spirited citizens, he served as Treasurer of Waterloo and Clerk/Manager of the Water and Light Commission. He was President of the Waterloo Red Cross Society and The Dominion Life Assurance Company.
At present, the house demonstrates a mixture of architectural styles. Among its Georgian characteristics is the six-over-six window pane arrangement. The facade, with its two wings, treillage, Gothic barge board and Doric columns, reflects the Regency influence.
In 1979, the home was sold to a law firm which has maintained the integrity of the exterior. A third addition in keeping with the style of the building has since been constructed.1a

1aDesignated Properties www. waterloo.ca 
Abraham Erb
 
9775 1 story stone house. In 1978: listed in good condition used by the Public Utilities Commission. Abraham Albert "Abram" Erb
 
9776 Abram Erb, "the eldest in family, was born March 8th, 1829. He is married to Margaret Wallace. They reside in Preston. Some years ago the Dominion Government had him appointed customs and revenue officer which appointment he still holds. To them was born a family of eight children".1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Abraham Albert "Abram" Erb
 
9777 Abraham L. Erb, "was born May 11th, 1824. He is married to Mariah Quickfall. They reside at Otterville, Ontario, where he is engaged in farming. They have one child named Hannah, married to Philip House. They also reside in Otterville, Ontario."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Abraham L. Erb
 
9778 Absalom Erb, "the eldest, disappeared many years ago and not known whether he is alive yet or not."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Absalom Erb
 
9779 Acey Erb, "died an infant while the family resided in New Hamburg, Ontario."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Acey Erb
 
9780 Erb, Addison Schmidt, son of the late Jacob C. and Susanna (Schmidt) Erb, was born March 6, 1891, near Waterloo, Ont.; died on Jan. 14, 1956; aged 64 y. 10 m. 8 d. In 1916 he was married to Hilda B. Weber, who died in 1929. In 1944, he was married to Emma Bauman, who survives. Also surviving are a son (Bishop J. Frederick Erb, Sterling, Ill.), 2 daughters (Helen-Mrs. Clayton Burkholder, Breslau; Ruth-Mrs. Paul Martin, Hawkesville, Ont.), 4 sisters (Mary-Mrs. Joseph H. Weber, Elmina-Mrs. Ira Snyder, and Loretta-Mrs. Deldon Snider, all of Waterloo; Mae-Mrs. Addis Cressman, New Hamburg), and 7 grandchildren. A brother (Anson) and Melinda and Clara-Mrs. Wm. Knarr, preceded him in death. He was a member of the Erb Street Mennonite Church. Funeral services were held Jan. 17 at the church in charge of J. B. Martin, assisted by C. F. Derstine and O. Burkholder. Interment in the Erb Street Cemetery.1a

1aGospel Herald - Volume XLIX , Number 9 - February 28, 1956-page 214, 21 
Addison H. Erb
 
9781 Adelaide Erb, "is also at home and unmarried."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Adelaide Erb
 
9782 Mrs. Agnes Hanning

PRESTON — Funeral service was conducted at St. John's Anglican Church, Preston, this afternoon at 2 o'clock for Mrs. Agnes Hanning, 90, widow of Judge Clement Hanning. Mrs. Hanning died at her home, 32 Binscarth Rd., Toronto, on Thursday. Born in Preston in 1864, daughter of Abraam and Margaret Erb, at the old Erb home which is now Braeside Lodge, she was the seventh of eight children, all born there. She was a descendant of the late John Erb, one of the pioneers of Preston. Mrs. Hanning was an active member of St. John's Anglican Church here, was a member of the first Women's Auxiliary to the Freeport Sanatorium and was particularly active in war work during the First World War. Some years after the death of her husband she and her younger daughter moved to Oshawa and later to Toronto. Surviving is a son, James R., of Toronto and two daughters, Mrs. R. R. Insole (Margaret) of Weston, and Marian L. Hanning, Toronto. Burial was in Preston cemetery,

Kitchener-Waterloo Record 8 May 1954 pg 5 
Agnes Lind Erb
 
9783 Albert Edward Erb, "was born April 17th, 1852. He resided in Oshawa, Ontario, where he was engaged in the mercantile business. He was married but name of wife was not received, and died September 4th, 1880, leaving one child named Annie."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Albert Edward Erb
 
9784 After a long and full life that was lived with kindness and a gentle spirit, Albert died suddenly, but peacefully, at his home in Wellesley, on Tuesday, May 21, 2013. He was 91.

Family was everything to Albert. He is survived by his dear wife and constant companion, Irene (Lebold), with whom he shared 68 years of marriage that demonstrated mutual support and love for each other. He was a loving and supportive father to Mary Jane and Wayne Schwartz of Wellesley, Mark and Shelley Erb of Elmira and Jim and Marianne Erb of Waterloo. Grandpa was extremely proud of his seven grandchildren whom he showered with his unconditional love and bags of cheesies; Matthew and Trevor Schwartz, Kim and her husband Shawn Green, Stephanie and her husband Ben Gunn, David Erb and his wife Leanne Baer, Michael and his wife Diana Erb and Rudy Vincent and his wife Brandi Barens. His life was blessed with 11 great-grandchildren whom he adored; Blake, Aleenah, Evan, Addison, Kenzie, Cecilia, Oliver, Elliott, Katie, Jacquie and James. He will be fondly remembered by Irene's brother and sisters, Irv and his wife Grace Lebold of Brantford, Doris Jantzi of Exeter, Betty Mitchell of Waterloo, and nine nieces and nephews and their families. He was predeceased by his parents Salome Boshart and Menno O. Erb, a sister in infancy and brothers-in-law Orval Jantzi and Ernie Mitchell.

Albert was a man of impeccable integrity \endash a living example to his family, friends and community. His strong faith in God was at the core of his life and evident in how he lived each day and treated others. During his life, Albert gave years of volunteer time to his beloved and supportive community of Wellesley, where he owned and operated Erb Farm Supply. He was Mayor of Wellesley Township for 11 years, a member Waterloo Regional Council and a dedicated volunteer with many community and church related organizations. Albert was a faithful member of Erb Street Mennonite Church. With Irene's assistance, he took great delight in his lawns and flower beds at the community pond in Wellesley, at Chesley Lake and Erb & Good Family Funeral Home.

Friends and relatives are invited to share their memories of Albert with his family at the Futher-Franklin Funeral Home in Wellesley on Friday, May 24 from 2 to 4 and 7 to 9 pm. Visitation will continue at the Erb & Good Family Funeral Home, 171 King Street South, Waterloo on Sunday, May 26 from 2 to 4 and 7 to 9 pm. A service to give thanks for his life and faith will be held at Erb Street Mennonite Church, 131 Erb Street West, Waterloo on Monday, May 27 at 11 am, with Rev. Eleanor Epp-Stobbe officiating. Interment will follow in Erb Street Mennonite Cemetery. Following the committal service at the cemetery, friends and relatives are invited to return to the church for refreshments and a time to visit with the family.

Irene and Albert were original and active participants in the annual Mennonite Relief Sale for many years and would want their friends to support the work of Mennonite Central Committee through the annual sale. Therefore, there will be no funeral home visitation on Saturday.

Condolences for the family and donations to Aldaview Residential Services, New Hamburg, where Albert and Irene's oldest grandson Matthew lives, would be appreciated as expressions of sympathy and may be arranged through either funeral home, Futher-Franklin Funeral Home at 519.656.2880 or Erb & Good Family Funeral Home www.erbgood.com or 519.745.8445.

"People who garden see life differently" 
Albert Peter Erb
 
9785 Alice Erb (2806) Annie Dunkee, Maggie Dunkee, Hannah Erb (2302) Alice Erb
 
9786 ERB, Allan \endash Peacefully at Stratford General Hospital, with family by his side, on Friday, January 22, 2016 in his 95th year.

Beloved husband of the late Norma (Zehr) who predeceased him in 2013.

Loving father of David and Eva of RR2 Wellesley, Darlene and Louis Byler of RR2 Milverton, John and Shelley of RR2 Blyth, Mary Ellen and James Ropp of RR1 Monkton, Allan P. and Linda of RR2 Wellesley, son in-law Raymond Paul Gerber of RR1 Brunner and predeceased by his daughter Deborah Gerber (2010).

Will be sadly missed by 32 grandchildren and 43 great-grandchildren. Fondly remembered by many nieces and nephews.

Predeceased by his parents Daniel S. and Nancy (Gerber) Erb and his grandson Nathaniel Erb (1981) in infancy. He was the last surviving member of his family being predeceased by his siblings Elmer (Vera), John (Frieda), Cornelius (Emma) (Katie), Laura (Harvey) Nafziger, Norman (Amanda), Dan (Doris) and brother in-law Mervin Kropf. Also predeceased by sisters in-law Mary Zehr in infancy and Laurene (Norman) Jantzi.

Friends may call at the Futher-Franklin funeral home, Wellesley, on Saturday (tonight) from 7-9 p.m. and Sunday from 2-4 & 7-9 p.m. Funeral Service will be held at Cedar Grove Amish Mennonite Church, 4831 Deborah-Glaister Line, Wellesley, on Monday January 25, 2016 at 2:00 p.m. Interment to follow in the church cemetery. Bishop John Gerber officiating.

In lieu of flowers, donations to Masters International or Christian Aid Ministries would be appreciated 
Allan Erb
 
9787 Erb, Allen, 79, Sarasota, Fla. Born: April 10, 1912, Ontario. Died: Aug. 22, 1991, Corfu, N.Y. Survivors-wife: Laurane Kipfer; children: Mahlon, Larry; 5 grandchildren; brothers and sisters: Barbara Schrock, Ruth Albrecht, Edna Slabaugh, Ezra, Joseph. Funeral: Aug. 25, Bahia Vista Mennonite Church, by A. Don Augsburger, Gerald Mininger, and John H. Shenk. Burial: Palms Memorial Park.1a

1aGospel Herald - Volume 84, Number 39 - October 1, 1991 - page 14 
Allen B. Erb
 
9788 Elonzo Erb, "was born March 8th, 1857. His nature prompted him to make exertions to have his life directed in the mercantile channel. With a fair education he entered upon the life of his choice when a young man, and when arriving at the years of maturity he entered into partnership with Mr. David Betzner and opened a large general store in the village of St. Jacobs in 1878. After the term of agreement of partnership had expired they sold their business to the late J. B. Snyder. Mr. Erb then went to Elmira and entered again into the mercantile business with Mr. Menno Weber where they have since built up one of the largest trades in North Waterloo. Some years ago he was elected reeve for Elmira, a position which he still holds. He is in his sentiments entire liberal and charitable and has never been known to attempt to dictate to men under his control for whom they shall vote. He always permits men to exercise their own judgement. As a man he is honest and upright and has ever maintained an irreproachable reputation. On June 6th, 1883, he was married to Isabella G., daughter of Andrew and Christina (Clark) Scott. She was born March 11th, 1859. To them was born a family of three children"1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby

___________________


…This week we are called upon to report the demise of a prominent and useful citizen, who has lived and laboured amongst us a score of years and who was called away in the prime of life. Mr. .H. Erb, respected by all and loved by all who had the pleasure of a closer acquaintance, a kind father and husband, a holder of positions of trust and a prominent figure in society, passed away at his home last Tuesday evening, at the age of 47 years 1 month and 11 days. Although not of robust health deceased was able to attend constantly to his duties. Several weeks ago, he contracted a bad cold but had recovered sufficiently to attend to his duties until several days before his death when he was attacked by pleuro-pneumonia. His disease was apparently relinquishing when paralysis of the brain set in which was the immediate cause of death, everything that medical skill and attentive nursing could do, proving of no avail. Alonzo H. Erb, was born in the town of Waterloo, in 1857. Then he removed to Berlin where he obtained his education in the public school. He entered first on his mercantile career at Waterloo in 1875 and commenced business on his own account at St. Jacobs in 1878. In 1882 he sold his interest there and entered into partnership with Mr. M.L. Weber, of Elmira. The year after Elmira became incorporated, Mr. Erb was elected a member of the Village Council. He served three years in this capacity. Then he was elected Reeve and held the position for six years. When the new law of municipal representation was introduced, Mr. Erb was elected County Councillor for the district of Woolwich and Elmira. He was Warden of the County of Waterloo in 1897 and held the position of County Councillor three years longer, at the end of which time he retired from public life…member of Gale Presbyterian Church….[leaves a wife and family]…. [Article contains a photograph of A.H. Erb.]2a

2aElmira Signet Newspaper 21 Apr. 1904 p. 1, col. 3-4

_______________________

Mr. A. H. Erb, was born in the town of Waterloo, in 1857. Then he removed to Berlin where he obtained his education in the public school. He entered first on his mercantile career at Waterloo in 1875 and commenced business on his own account at St. Jacobs in 1878. In 1882 he sold his interest there and entered into partnership with Mr. Menno L. Weber, of Elmira. The year after Elmira became incorporated, Mr. Erb was elected a member of the Village Council. He served three years in this capacity. Then he was elected Reeve and held the position for six years. When the new law of municipal representation was introduced, Mr. Erb was elected County Councillor for the district of Woolwich and Elmira. He was Warden of the County of Waterloo in 1897, and held the position of County Councillor three years longer at the end of which he retired from public life3a

3aEnterprising Elmira Souvenir, An historical, descriptive, and illustrated Book of the Village of Elmira, Waterloo County, Ontario, Canada, published by George Klinck, 1903.

____________________

HIS WAS A USEFUL AND HONORABLE CAREER.

One of the prominent personages in North Waterloo answered the summons of the Grim Reaper on Tuesday evening. It was Mr. Alonzo H. Erb of the firm of Weber & Co.. He contracted pneumonia, which proved fatal, despite the most skilful of medical attendance.

A Biographical Sketch.

The late Alonzo Erb was born on March 8th, 1857. He was the son of the late Samuel L. Erb, who resided for years in Waterloo and carried on a store business with John Shuh. Alonzo received a fair education and when a young man he entered into partnership with D. Betzner and opened a large general store in St. Jacobs in 1878. After the term of partnership had expired they sold the business to the late J. B. Snyder. Mr. Erb went to Elmira and entered into partnership with Mr. Menno. Weber, and the two had built up one of the largest businesses in North Waterloo. He was a member of the firm until his death. He was reeve of Elmira for several years, and was a valued and respected member of the Waterloo county council in the years of 1891, 1896, 1897 and 1900. In 1897 he ably filled the warden's chair. He always viewed county projects in a broad and liberal light. He was opposed to the debenture principle, and at that time Elmira had no debenture debts.

He was an honest, upright man and enjoyed an irreproachable reputation. On June 6th, 1883, he was married to Isabella G. Daughter of Mr. Andrew Scott. A family of three children survive.4a

4aPaper unknown 
Alonzo H. Erb
 
9789 On January 24, 1888, a meeting was held to organize a Mechanics' Institute in Elmira. Membership cost $1 a year. The first board members were: David Bean, George Klinck, A. Werner, John Ratz, A. H. Erb, A. Blatz, Wm. Behrens, Sol Laschinger, Dr. Ullyot, and M. Weber. The librarian/caretaker, C. K. Jansen was paid $30 a year. Alonzo H. Erb
 
9790 Amos Erb, "was born June 2nd, 1843. He is married to Mary Ann Burkholder. They reside near Caledonia, Michigan, where he is engaged in farming. Their family consists of five children".1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Amos Erb
 
9791 Angeline Erb, "the eleventh and youngest child of Abraham Erb, was born March 13th, 1858. On April 10th, 1877, she was married to Michael M. Dawning who died August 15th, 1890. They resided in Thedford, Ontario. To them were born six children"1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Angeline Erb
 
9792 Angeline Erb, "was born November 16th, 1864. She was married to Abraham H. Wambold, February 19th, 1884. They reside on the old 'Isaac Shantz Farm' about a mile south-east of Berlin where he is engaged in farming. Their family consists of five children1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby

_______________________________________________


Wambold. - Angeline, beloved wife of Deacon Abram H. Wambold, died at her home 11 miles northeast of High River, Alta., Oct. 10, 1912; aged 47 y. 10 m. 24 d. Two weeks before her death Sister Wambold, while in a conversation over the telephone, was stricken with heart failure and later suffered a stroke of paralysis, and last of all pneumonia set in which resulted in her ultimate death. Funeral services took place Oct. 12, at the Mount View Mennonite Church, eight miles northeast of High River, Alta., conducted by I. Miller, N. R. Weber and N. B. Stauffer. Text, Prov. 31:28-31. In her death the family suffers the loss of a kind and faithful mother, the community a good neighbor and the church a consistent member. 2a

2aGospel Herald - Volume V, Number 30 - October 24, 1912 - page 479, 480  
Angeline Erb
 
9793 Anna Erb, "was born November 6th, 1826. She is married to Emanuel Thoman. They reside in Grand Rapids, Michigan, and have had a family of nine children".1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Anna Erb
 
9794 Martin, Annie Peacefully went home to be with her Lord on Saturday, December 21, 2013 at Knollcrest Lodge, Milverton, at the age of 98 years. Much loved wife of the late Sylvester S. Martin (2003). Dear mother of Wayne and Shirley of Limehouse, Ontario, and Dorothy Ann and Joe Leis of RR 4, Listowel. Fondly remembered by seven grandchildren and 17 great-grandchildren. Will be missed by sisters Mary Zehr, and Amy and Norman Zehr. Sister-in-law to Seleda Martin, Lovina Brubacher, Henry and Eileen Martin, Ada and Stan Valenta. She was predeceased by her son David F. Martin (2007), father Christian Erb, mother Nancy (Wagler) Nafziger, stepfather John Nafziger, siblings Esther and Amos Steckley, Daniel and Christina Erb, Katy and Chris Gerber, and brother-in-law John Zehr. Also predeceased by Sylvester's siblings Edwin and Almeda Martin, Ivan and Alvina Martin, Howard Martin, Elizabeth and Enos Gingrich, Aden and Alice Martin, and Norman Brubacher. The family will receive their relatives and friends from 2-4 and 6-8 p.m. on Thursday, December 26, 2013 at Crystal View Mennonite Church, Floradale, where a funeral service will be held on Friday, December 27, 2013 at 10:30 a.m. Interment to follow in Crystal View Mennonite Cemetery. As expressions of sympathy, donations may be made to Christian Aid Ministries or Knollcrest Lodge, Milverton. Arrangements entrusted to the Dreisinger Funeral Home, Elmira. Annie Erb
 
9795 Barbara Erb, "the fifth in family, was born October 28th, 1818. She was married to Joseph Hunsicker who died in Hamilton, Ontario. She died in Cincinnati, Ohio, U.S., in August, 1888. They had four children"1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Barbara Erb
 
9796 Barbara Erb, "was born December 27th, 1837. She was married to John Roos. At present she resides in Berlin. Her family consists of five children".1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Barbara Erb
 
9797 Barbara Erb, "was born May 4th, 1825. She was married to John Bock who was born September 24th, 1816, and died October 17th, 1892. They resided on a farm near New Dundee, Ontario, where she died March 26th, 1864. To them were born twelve children, namely:...All are dead except Moses and Lydia."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Barbara Erb
 
9798 Gascho, -- Barbara Erb was born in Wilmot Twp., Waterloo Co., Ont., April 23, 1866; died at her home in Zurich, Ont., Oct. 10, 1949; aged 83 y. 5 m. 18 d. On Oct. 20, 1885, she was united in marriage to Joseph Gascho who predeceased her Jan. 23, 1949. To this union were born 5 sons and 3 daughters, who survive. She was a faithful member of the Zurich Mennonite Church from the time of its organization in 1909. Funeral services were held at the Zurich Church, conducted by H.E. Roppel and Oscar Burkholder. Interment was made in the church cemetery.

Gospel Herald - Volume XLIII, Number 1 - January 3, 1950 - page 22 
Barbara Erb
 
9799 Gascho.- Barbara Erb, widow of the late Bishop John Gascho, was born near Baden, Ont., Feb. 2, 1835; died at the home of one of her step-grandchildren (Mrs. Jacob B. Iutzi. in Baden), March 23, 1931; aged 96 y. 1 m. 21 d. She was the second wife of the late Bishop John Gascho who proceeded her in death a little over 21 years ago. No children were born to this union. In her early years she accepted Christ as her personal Savior and united with the Amish Mennonite Church in Wilmot, of which she was a faithful member until death. She was the last member of a family of 11 children and died of infirmities from of old age. She leaves the following children : Mrs. John Steinman, Christian, Jacob, Mrs. D.H. Steinman, David, Menno, Daniel, and many other friends and relatives. Funeral services were conducted at the house by Bro. Peter Boshart and at the Steinman Church by Dan Lebold and Jacob R. Bender. Burial in the adjoining cemetery.1a

1aThe Gospel Herald Newspaper 14 May 1931 
Barbara Erb
 
9800 LICHTY. - BARBARA (ERB) Lichty was born in Waterloo Co., Ont., July 6, 1861; died on Dec. 13, 1932; aged 71 y. 5 m. 7 d. Death occurred rather suddenly. She was on a visit to her daughter (Mrs. Cyranius Kipfer at Waterloo) and while there but a few hours was stricken with paralysis. After an illness of three days, she fell asleep in Jesus to awake in the great resurrection morning. At an early age she accepted Christ as her Savior and united with the Amish Mennonite Church, of which she was a faithful member till God saw fit to call her home. On March 30, 1879, she was united in holy marriage to Bro. Joseph F. Lichty. She was always concerned about her children, and tried to bring them up in the nurture and admonition of the Lord. She leaves a sorrowing husband, 2 sons (Joseph E. and John E.), 6 daughters (Mrs. J. S. Wagler, Mrs. N. S. Roth, Mrs. Amos Kipfer, Mrs. J. S. Roth, Mrs. Cyranius Kipfer, and Mrs. Ezra Kropf), 1 brother (John Sterie), 1 sister (Mrs. Charles Alexandra), 59 grandchildren, and a host of other relatives and friends. Funeral was held Dec. 16 from her late home near Wellesley, Ont., with services at the St. Agatha A. M. Church and cemetery, conducted by the brethren, Christian Gascho and Peter Boshart, of the same church.

"The call was short, the shock severe,
To part with her we loved so dear;
Our hope's in heaven that we may meet,
And then our joy will be complete."1a

1aGOSPEL HERALD - Volume XXV, Number 42 - January 19, 1933 - page 894, 895
 
Barbara Erb
 
9801 Leona PADINGTON - Mrs. Leona Padington, 83, of the Queensway Retirement Home, Hensall, passed away, peacefully, at her residence, on Monday, Dec. 9, 2002.She was born on the family farm near Wellesley, October 7, 1919, a daughter of the late Moses and Mary (Steinman) Erb. Mrs. Padington has worked as a nursing assistant and later in the Wardrobe Department at the Festival Theatre for many years until her retirement. She was an active member for many years with St. John's Ambulance and was active with her church in Stratford, Shakespeare and Tobermory. She was a member of the Knox Church Mary and Martha, was a youth advisor for the Presbyterian Young Peoples Society and was active at the Presbytery Level with the Women's Missionary Society. Beloved wife of the late Earl Padington who predeceased her November 3, 1988. Loving mother of Myrann and husband Neal Nickles, Goderich; grandmother of Derek Nickles and wife Charlene, Ottawa, Jana and husband Marc Cousineau, Aylmer, Quebec, Andrea Nickles, Goderich; great-grandmother of Marieve and Timothy Cousineau; dear sister of Harold Erb and wife Violet, Wellesley, Milt Erb and wife Marjorie, Wellesley, Eva and husband Milt Kuepfer, Crosshill, Wilma and husband Norm Kuepfer, Linwood. Also survived by a sister-in-law, Annie Erb, Hampstead and many nieces and nephews and their families. Besides her parents and husband, she was predeceased by a brother, Alvin Erb. Family will receive friends at the W.G. Young Funeral Home, 430 Huron St., Stratford, on Wednesday, Dec. 11, 2002 (today) from 2-4 and 7-9 p.m. and on Thursday from 10 a.m. until the time of the funeral service at 11 a.m., Rev. James Perrie will officiate. Reception will follow. Private family burial in Woodlawn Cemetery, Guelph. As expressions of sympathy, memorial donations may be made to Knox Presbyterian Church, Goderich - Parish Nursing Program through the funeral home.1a

1aThe Record 11 Dec 2002
 
Barbara Leona Erb
 
9802 Benjamin Erb, "the youngest son in the family of John (Jacob) and Salome (Graybill) Erb, was born in 1820. When a young man he was married to Miss Hannah Master and resided in New Hamburg where he was engaged in the mercantile business. Some forty years ago he moved to one of the Western States where he died in 1856, leaving a family of six children"1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Benjamin Erb
 
9803 Of of Ohio. Benjamin Erb
 
9804 Benjamin Erb, "the eighth and youngest son of Joseph and Mary (Kolb) Erb, was born May 24th, 1852. After he was of age he entered the mercantile business in Preston until the year 1893 when he sold out and on March 15th of the same year he moved to Arnaud, Manitoba, where he is engaged in farming. He is married to Lizzie Roos and has a family of three children"1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Benjamin Franklin Erb
 
9805 Bert Erb, "born May 12th, 1877."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Bert Erb
 
9806 Erb, Betty, 65, Cambridge, Ont., Born: Feb. 6, 1930, Mornington Twp., Ont., to Chris and Mattie Gerber Erb. Died: March 17, 1995, Cambridge, Ont., of cancer. Survivors - brothers and sisters: Vema Leis, Earl, Clara Meyers, Wilma Good, Raymond, Erma Shantz, Grace Buehler, Doris Vantright, Eleanor Mast, Lloyd, Helen Ewing. Funeral and burial: March 21, Riverdale Mennonite Church, by Glenn Zehr.1a

1aGospel Herald - Volume 88, Number 17 - April 25, 1995 
Betty Ann Erb
 
9807 Caroline Erb, "third child of Abraham Erb, was born February 14th, 1840. She died in infancy."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Caroline Erb
 
9808 Catharine Erb, "the eighth in the family, was born January 28th, 1825. She is married to John Martin, a farmer. They reside in Columbia, Kansas. Their family consisted of seven children, two of whom joined the army during the late civil war and both lost their lives. The other five are very much scattered through the western and south-western states. Their names were not received"1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Catharine Erb
 
9809 Catharine B. Erb, "was born April 20th, 1810. She was married to Jonathan Bowman and died September 8th, 1828, leaving one son named Isaac who was born September 8th, 1828, and died December 25th, 1833."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Catharine B. Erb
 
9810 In Memory of Catherine Erb Beloved wife of David L. Wagler Date of Birth August 5th, 1876 Date of Death March 25th, 1967 Aged 88 years, 7 months and 20 days The Service The late Mrs. Wagler is resting at her home, R.R. 2, Wellesley, where a short service will be held on Saturday, March 27th, 1965 at 1:15 p.m. This will be followed by a memorial service at the Cedar Grove Amish Mennonite Church at 2:00 o'clock p.m. Clergyman Bishop Samuel Roth Interment in the Church Cemetery

Little Step Away

To close the eye, to fall asleep
To draw a labored breath
To find release from daily cares
In what we know as death...

Is this the crowning of a life,
The aim or end thereof?
The totaled sum of consciousness,
The ripened fruit of love?

It cannot be, for works of God
Are wrought for nobler ends,
And those away continue on
In the hearts of kin and friends.

It cannot be, for they live on
A little step away.
The soul, the everlasting life,
Has found a better day....

-O. J. Hanson1a

1aFuneral Card of Catherine Erb 
Catharine G. Erb
 
9811 Brenneman, Catherine, daughter of Joel and Catherine (Gingerich) Erb, was born in East Zorra on July 18, 1888; died at the home of her daughter at Baden, Ont., on Sept. 14, 1960; aged 72 y. 1 m. 27 d. On Jan. 7, 1909, she was married to Aaron Brenneman, who died in 1950. One son, 4 grandchildren, and one sister also preceded her in death. Surviving are 2 sons (Lorne, East Zorra; and Floyd, South Easthope), one daughter (Ahleda-Mrs. Emerson Jutzi, Baden), one brother (Jacob Erb, Tavistock), 3 sisters (Mrs. Clara Zehr, Tavistock; Mrs. Lydia Albrecht, Baden; and Fannie-Mrs. Christian Bender, East Zorra, 14 grandchildren, and 2 great-grandchildren. She was a member of the 16th Line A.M. Church. Memorial services were held Sept. 16 at the A.M. East Zorra Church. Officiating in the services were Elmer Schwartzentruber, Daniel Wagler, and Henry Yantzi.1a

1aGospel Herald - Vol. LIII, Number 50 - Dec. 27, 1960, Page 1105, 1106 
Catherine Erb
 
9812 Mrs. Louis Gies

Following a lengthy illness, Mrs. Louis Gies, R.R. 3, Waterloo, died at the K-W Hospital yesterday. The former Catherine Erb she was the daughter of the late Mr. and Mrs. John Erb and was born in Blake, Ont., Aug, 1, 1875. Her marriage to Louis Gies who survives took place in Baden Oct. 3, 1897. She was a member of the St. Agatha Lutheran, Church. Surviving are three sons, Herbert, Dundas; Gordon at home and Kenneth, Kitchener; and two daughters, Mrs. Ezra (Madeline) Brown, Waterloo and Mrs. Howard (Clara) Huehn, St. Catharines and seven grandchildren. One brother, Iasiah Erb, of Kitchener and one sister, Mrs. Madeline Erb, Waterloo also survive. The remains are resting at the Ratz-Bechtel Funeral Borne where a private funeral service will be held at two o'clock Friday followed by a public service at the St. Agatha Lutheran Church at three o'clock. Interment will be made in the St. Agatha Lutheran Cemetery. Rev: S. F. M. Freidricksen will officiate.1a

1anewspaper unknown 
Catherine Erb
 
9813 Kennell.- Catherine, daughter of Joel and Barbara (Lichti) Erb, was born in Ellis Twp., Ont., July 9, 1885; died at Tavistock, Ont., Oct. 15, 1982; aged 97 y. On Feb. 25, 1906, she was married to Albert Kennel, who died on Mar. 6, 1960. Surviving are 3 sons (Reuben, Edgar, and Anson), 4 daughters (Adeline-Mrs. Joe Brenneman, Fanny-Mrs. Reuben Gingerich, Eileene-Mrs. Edward Calvert, and Lillian), 27 grandchildren, 39 great-grandchildren, and one great-great-grandchild. She was preceded in death by one daughter (Mabel). She was a member of Steinman Mennonite Church, where funeral services were held on Oct. 18, in charge of Vernon Zehr and Fred Lichti; interment in the church cemetery.1a

1aGospel Herald - Volume 75, Number 46 - November 16, 1982, page 790. 
Catherine Erb
 
9814 Steinman, Katie, daughter of the late John L. and Barbara (Oesch) Erb; born in Wellesley Twp., Ont., July 9, 1895; died at St. Mary's Hospital, Kitchener, Ont., after a short illness; aged 63 y. 7 m. 24 d. On Jan. 4, 1921, she was married to Daniel Steinman, Baden, Ont., who survives. Also surviving are 6 sons and 2 daughters (Olin, Mahlon, and Wallace, Tavistock, Ont.; Alvin and Orval, Bade, Ont.; Laverne, Gagetown, N. B.; Lauretta-Mrs. Elroy Lichty, New Hamburg, Ont., and Violet-Mrs. Elroy Brenneman, Baden), 10 grandchildren, 5 brothers (Moses, Christian, and Norman, Wellesley; Daniel, Kitchener; and David, Petersburg, Ont.), and one sister (Mattie-Mrs. Allan Gingerich, St. Agatha, Ont.). One grandchild and one brother preceded her in death. She was a member of Steinman's Church, where memorial services were conducted by Peter Nafziger and Orland Gingerich; interment in adjoining cemetery.1a

1aGospel Herald - Volume LII, Number 21 - May 26, 1959--- page 502, 503 
Catherine Erb
 
9815 GERBER, Mrs. Chris (Katy)

Peacefully, at her home, on Thursday, June 12, 1986, Catherine Gerber, of 15 Doering St., Wellesley. Mrs. Gerber was born in North Easthope township 66 years ago. She was a daughter of the late Christian R. Erb and the late Nancy Wagler. She was a member of the Mapleview Mennonite Church. Beloved wife of Chris Gerber of Wellesley; dear mother of Harold and his wife Maureen Gerber of RR 1, Wellesley, Doris and her husband Stanley Erb of Wellesley; dear sister of Dan W. Erb of Poole and Annie (Mrs. Sylvester Martin) of Linwood, Mary (Mrs. John Zehr) of RR 1, Wellesley, Amy (Mrs. Norman Zehr) of Stratford. Lovingly remembered by her grandchildren, Melanie, Philip and Timothy Gerber and Pam, Kevin, Jeff, Rosalynn and Christopher Erb; step-daughter of John and Nancy Nafziger of Wellesley. She was predeceased by one sister, Esther, (Mrs. Amos Steckley). Visitation at the Futher Bros. Funeral Home, 40 Henry St., Wellesley, where the family will receive friends this evening from 7-9 and Friday from 2-4 and 7-9 p.m. At noon Saturday, June 14, removal will be made to the Mapleview Mennonite Church, for the funeral service at 2 p.m., Rev. Alvin Leis and Rev. Allan Nafzinger will officiate. Interment will follow in the church cemetery.

Kitchener-Waterloo Record 12 Jun 1986 pg E11 
Catherine "Katy" Erb
 
9816 Charles C. Erb, "born October 10th, 1872."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Charles C. Erb
 
9817 "Christian and Maria Erb resided in Warwick Township, Lancaster County, Pennsylvania, near his father's homestead. Their family consisted of four children".1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Christian Erb
 
9818 Christian Erb, "the fifth and youngest son of John and Magdalena (Schrantz) Erb, was born May 15th, 1815. He was married to Elizabeth, daughter of Henry and Elizabeth (Maris) Brower. She was born June 20th, 1815, and died some years ago. Mr. and Mrs. Erb resided on a farm a little below Preston where he was accidentally killed, June 28th, 1849, while raising the frame-work of their new house. They had a family of two children"1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Christian Erb
 
9819 Christian Erb, "was born in Warwick Township, in October, 1734. He was married, in 1756, to Maria Scherch. She was born in 1737. They resided in Warwich [Warwick] Township, Lancaster County, Pennsylvania. When well advanced in years they came to Canada, and made their home with their daughter, Elizabeth (Mrs. Christian Schneider), who resided at Doon where they both died. He died July 7th, 1810, and she died August 17th, 1814. Both lie buried in the Blair cemetery. They had a family of twelve children, namely:...Of the twelve children of the family, seven, namely Abraham, Jacob, John, Magdalena, Anna, Mary, and Elizabeth, resided in Canada, and two of the children of Susannah, Mary and John."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Christian Erb
 
9820 It is reported by Christian Erb was born in Walle, Strasburg, Germany, not yet proven. Christian Erb
 
9821 Erb, Christian L., son of Joel and Barbara (Lichti) Erb, was born in Wilmot Twp., Ont., Aug. 10, 1877; died at Avon Crest Hospital, Stratford, Ont., Dec. 2, 1965; aged 88 y. 3 m. 22 d. He was predeceased by three wives: Leah Moyer in 1922; Mary Moyer in 1937; and Barbara Bender in 1947. Surviving are 4 sons (Clarence, Curtis, Elton, and Floyd) and 3 daughters (Lavina-Mrs. Peter Z. Bender, Sarah-Mrs. Norman Baechler, and Violet-Mrs. Elgin Roth). He was a member of the Tavistock W.O. Mennonite Church. Ministers officiating at the funeral services were David Schwartzentruber, Henry Yantzi, and Dan Wagler.1a

1aGospel Herald - Volume LIX, Number 3 - January 18, 1966, page 62  
Christian L. Erb
 
9822 Erb, Christian O., son of John L. and Barbara (Oesch) Erb, was born near Wellesley, Ont., Oct. 5, 1900; died at the Stratford General Hospital, following surgery and heart complications, June 2, 1971; aged 70 y. 7 m. 28 d. On Oct. 28, 1925, he was married to Emma Gingerich, who survives. Also surviving are 4 brothers (Moses, Daniel, David, and Norman), and one sister (Mattie - Mrs. Allan Gingerich). He was a member of the Maple View Church, Wellesley, Ont., where he was ordained as deacon on Apr. 27, 1952; as minister on Apr. 24, 1960, and as bishop on Aug. 27, 1967. Funeral services were held at the Maple View Church June 5, in charge of Alvin Leis, Jacob Roes, Willard Mayer, Elmer Schwartzentruber, and Vernon Zehr; interment in the Adjoining cemetery.1a

1aGOSPEL HERALD - Volume LXIV, Number 30 - August 3, 1971 - pp 659, 660

__________________________

BISHOP ERB, Wellesley, dies at 70


Wellesley - Bishop Christian O. Erb, of 19 David St., Wellesley, of the Maple View Mennonite Church here, died today at Stratford Hospital after a brief illness. He was 70. He was ordained bishop of the church Aug. 27, 1967, after being deacon from April 27, 1952, to April 24, 1960, when he was ordained a minister. Born in Wellesley Township, Oct. 5, 1900, he was a son of the late Mr. and Mrs. John L. Erb. Besides his church work, he farmed on the Third line of the township until retiring in April 1963. One brother and one sister predeceased him. Surviving are his wife, the former Emma Gingerich whom he married Oct. 28, 1925, in Wilmot Township; four brothers, Moses of Wellesley, Daniel of Kitchener, David of RR 2, Petersburg, and Norman of RR 2, Wellesley, and one sister, Mrs. Allen (Mattie) Gingerich of Baden. The body will be at the Erb home from 2 p.m. Thursday until Saturday at 11 a.m. when removal will be made to the church for a service at 2 p.m. Rev. Alvin Leis and Rev. Jacob Rose will officiate. Burial will be in the Maple View Mennonite cemetery. Contributions to the Western Ontario Mennonite Mission Board will be accepted as expressions of sympathy.2a

2aThe Kitchener-Waterloo Record 3 Jun 1971 
Bishop Christian O. Erb
 
9823 Erb, Christian, son of Peter and Mary (Ropp) Erb, was born March 30, 1899, died at the St. Mary's Hospital, Kitchener, Ont., Dec. 6, 1960; aged 61 y. 8 m. 6 d. On Dec. 2, 1920, he was married to Madelaine Gerber. Surviving are his wife, 12 children (Verna-Mrs. Lorne Leis, Milverton; Clara-Mrs. Earl Meyers, Markstay; Betty, at home; Wilma-Mrs. Floyd Good, Plattsville; Erma-Mrs. Milo Good, Bridgeport; Grace-Mrs. Willard Beuhler, Wannapatti; Eleanor-Mrs. Freeman Mast, Kansas City, Mo.; Doris, Kitchener, Ont.; Helen, at home: Earl, Milverton; Raymond, Elora; and Lloyd, at home), one sister (Emma-Mrs. Samuel Nafziger, Brunner), and 15 grandchildren. One son and one sister preceded him in death. He was a member of the Riverdale Church, where services were held Dec. 9, in charge of Menno Zehr and David Jantzi.1a

1aGospel Herald - 24 Jan 1961

____________________________

CHRISTIAN R. ERB


Christian R. Erb, 61, of Millbank, died at St. Mary's Hospital, Kitchener, on Tuesday morning, December 6th. In failing health for some time he had been hospitalized for almost two weeks. A son of the late Peter Erb and Mary Ropp he was born at Kingswood on March 30th, 1899, On December 2nd , 1920, he married Madaline Gerber at West Branch, Michigan. Following their marriage he farmed at Millbank and also had a contracting business. He was a member of Riverdale Mennonite Church, a superintendent of the Sunday School for some time and a Sunday School teacher until his illness. Surviving besides his wife are three sons, Earl of Milverton; Rev. Raymond of Elora; and Lloyd, at home; nine daughters, Mrs. Lorne (Verna) Leis of Milverton; Mrs. Earl (Clara) Meyers of Markstay; Mrs. Floyd (Wilma) Good of Plattsville; Mrs. Milo (Erma) Good of Bridgeport; Mrs. Willard (Grace) Buehler of Wannapatti; Mrs. Freeman (Eleanor) Mast of Kansas City, Missouri; Miss Grace, Kitchener; Helen and Betty, at home; one sister, Mrs. Samuel (Emma) Nafziger of Brunner, and fifteen grandchildren. One son, Joseph, and one sister, Mrs. Enos (Elizabeth) Nafziger, predeceased him. The body is resting at the home in Millbank until Friday when removal will be made to Riverdale Mennonite Church for service at 2:30 p.m. Rev. Menno Zehr and Rev. David Jantzi will officiate. Burial will be made in the adjoining cemetery.2a

2aThe Kitchener-Waterloo Record 7 Dec 1960 
Christian R. Erb
 
9824 Cicero invented along with Walter J. Briant of Centralia, Washington a Railway-Tie and Fastener (Patent 1349949) 17 Aug 1920 Cicero Joseph LeRoy Erb
 
9825 Erb, Clara, daughter of Christian and Mary (Lichti) Erb, was born in Wilmot Twp., Ont., Feb. 19, 1894; died at K-W Hospital, Kitchener, Ont., Jan. 23, 1967; aged 72 y. 11 m. 4 d. Surviving are one brother (Irvin) and 3 sisters (Amelia--Mrs. Solomon Roth, Mrs. Lucinda Roth, and Lydia--Mrs. Aaron Weltz). She was a member of the St. Agatha Church, where funeral services were held Jan. 25, with Elmer Schwartzentruber and Gerald Schwartzentruber officiating.1a

1aGospel Herald - Volume LX, Number 16 - April 25, 1967--Pages 374-75 
Clara Erb
 
9826 Knarr. Clara, daughter of the late Jacob C. and Elizabeth (Karcher) Erb, and beloved wife of William Knarr, passed away suddenly as a result of a heart attack, at her late residence in Kitchener, Ont., early Wednesday morning, March 9, 1938; aged 62 y. 7 d. She was born in Waterloo Co., Ont., March 2, 1876. She is survived by her husband, 4 sons (Alvin of Kitchener, Clayton of Waterloo, Wilfred and Oren at home) and 3 daughters (Eva, Mrs. John Davenport; Vera, Mrs. Earl Becker; and Mary, Mrs. Arno Miller), all of Kitchener. She is also survived by 6 grandchildren, 2 brothers (Anson Erb of Carstairs, Alta.; Addison Erb of Waterloo) and 5 sisters (Miss Malinda Erb, Mrs. Ira Snyder, and Mrs. Delton Snider also of Waterloo, Mrs. Addis Cressman of New Hamburg, and Mrs. Joseph Weber of Waterloo). She has been a faithful member of the Mennonite Church since her youth. She will be missed by the Church, family, and community. Funeral services at the First Mennonite Church, Kitchener, interment at Waterloo. Services in charge of Bro. C. F. Derstine, and Jonas Snider. Theme: "The Contributions of a Christian Mother."1a

1aGospel Herald - Vol. XXX, No. 52 - March 24, 1938 page(s) 1102, 1103 
Clara Erb
 
9827 ERB, Clarance Armstrong - At his residence, on Wednesday, Jan. 22, 1997, Clarance Erb, of Trinity Village Nursing Home, Kitchener, in his 92nd year. Beloved husband of the late Jean (Murray) Erb (1992). He is lovingly survived by his nieces and nephews. Predeceased by his brothers, William and Louis and sisters, Clara, Eva and Hattie. Friends will be received at the Schreiter-Sandrock Funeral Home and Chapel, 51 Benton at Church St., Kitchener, on Friday after 1 p.m., where funeral services will be held in the chapel at 2 p.m., with Pastor James Reese of Benton Street Baptist Church officiating. Interment in Parklawn Cemetery. Cambridge (P).

The Record 23 Jan 1997 pg B4 
Clarance Armstrong "Buff" Erb
 
9828 Erb, Clarence, son of Mr. and Mrs. Christian L. Erb, was born at Cassel, Ont., Nov. 1, 1905; died at Stratford, Ont., Apr. 26, 1971; aged 65 y. 5 m. 25 d. On Sept. 29, 1931, he was married to Leah Luella Boshart, who survives. Also surviving are one son (James), 3 daughters (Shirley - Mrs. Russell Marlow, Norma - Mrs. Keith Cardiff, and Diane - Mrs. Allan Fuller), 9 grandchildren, 3 brothers (Curtis, Elton, and Lloyd), and 2 sisters (Lavina - Mrs. Peter Bender, and Violet - Mrs. Elgin Roth). He was preceded in death by two sisters. He was a member of the Tavistock Mennonite Church, where funeral services were held Apr. 29, in charge of Wilmer Martin and Henry Yantzi. Interment in East Zorra Mennonite Cemetery.1a

1aGOSPEL HERALD - Volume LXIV, Number 20 - May 18, 1971 - pp 459, 560

_________________________


CLARENCE ERB

Clarence Erb, 118 Avondale Ave., Stratford died Monday in Stratford Hospital. He was 65. Born in East Zorra Township, he was the son of the late Mr. and Mrs. Christian Erb, he had lived in South Easthope Township and Sebringville before coming here six years ago. He was a member of Tavistock Mennonite Church and had been a carpenter by trade. Mr. Erb was predeceased by two sisters. Surviving besides his wife, the former Leah Luella Boshart, are one son, James of Stratford; three daughters, Mrs. Russell (Shirley) Marlow of Stratford, Mrs. Keith (Norma) Cardiff of Tavistock and Mrs. Alan (Diane) Fuller of St. Thomas; three brothers, Curtis of Stratford, Elton and Lloyd both of Tavistock; two sisters, Mrs. Peter (Lavina) Bender of Tavistock, Mrs. Elgin (Violet) Roth of Milverton and nine grandchildren. Funeral services were held Thursday from Tavistock Mennonite Church with Rev. Wilmer Martin and Bishop Henry Yantzi officiating. Burial is in the East Zorra Mennonite cemetery on the 16th line. Donations to the Tavistock Mennonite Church building fund will be accepted as expressions of sympathy.2a

2aThe Kitchener-Waterloo Record 27 Apr 1971 
Clarence Erb
 
9829 Claude Erb, "born June 28th, 1875."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Claude Erb
 
9830 Clayton Blake Erb, "was born June 30th, 1885."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Clayton Blake Erb
 
9831 ERB, CURTIS L.

At his residence, 60 Cawston St., Stratford, on Thursday, Jan, 19, 1984, Curtis L. Erb, in his 73rd year. Husband of the late Emma Brenneman (1955); dear father of Mrs. Harry (Patricia) McLeod of Owen Sound, Mrs. Stan (Connie) Miller of Baden and Roger of Stratford; grandfather of six grandchildren and one great-grandchild. Predeceased by brothers , Clarence, Elton and Lloyd and sisters, Lavina, Sally and Violet. Friends will be received in the Francis Funeral Home, 77 Woodstock St. N., Tavistock, today (Friday) 2-4 and 7-9 p.m., where the funeral service will be held on Saturday, January 21, 1984 at 2 p.m., the Rev. Gordon Bauman of Tavistock Mennonite Church will officiate. Interment in East Zorra Mennonite cemetery , 16th line.1a

1aThe Kitchener-Waterloo Record 20 Jan 1984 
Curtis Leander Erb
 
9832 Cyrus Erb, "the second son, was born March 1st, 1831. He was engaged in business and farming for many years, but now lives retired from all business. He is married to Sarah, daughter of Jesse and Magdalena (Bricker) Schwartz. They reside in Preston. Their family consists of four children"1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Cyrus Erb
 
9833 Daniel C. Erb, "the fifth child, was born in Preston, Ontario, December 23rd, 1843. On May 16th, 1866, he was married to Sarah P. Fletcher of Lowell, Michigan. In 1871 they moved to Grand Rapids, Michigan, where he is engaged as a machinist. No report of family received."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Daniel C. Erb
 
9834 Erb.- Daniel G., son of Daniel S. and Nancy (Gerber) Erb, was born near Kingwood, Ont, Sept. 30, 1918; died at the Princess Margaret Hospital, Toronto, Ont., June 16, 1972; aged 53 y. 8 m. 17 d. On Sept. 29, 1948, he was married to Doris Roi, who survives. Also surviving are 3 sons (Daniel, Murray, and Keith), 3 daughters (Barbara, Caroline, and Grace), his mother, 5 brothers (Elmer, John, Cornelius, Norman, and Allan), and one sister (Laura-Mrs. Harvey Nafziger). He was preceded in death by his father in 1948. He was a member of the Maple View Mennonite Church, where funeral services were held June 19, in charge of Jacob Roes and Alvin Leis; interment in adjoining cemetery.1a 1aGospel Herald - Volume LXV, Number 28 - July 18, 1972, pages 587, 588.

______________________

DANIEL ERB


Daniel Erb, 53, of Kingswood died Friday June 16 at the Princess Margaret Hospital in Toronto. Born in Wellesley Township, he was the son of Mrs. Daniel Erb of Wellesley and the late Mr. Erb. He was a member of the Maple View Mennonite Church and was employed by Lishman Coach Lines. He owned and operated his own gravel business. He is also survived by his wife, the former Doris Roi, and by sons, Daniel, Murray and Keith, all at home; daughters, Carolyn, Grace and Barbara, also all at home; brothers, Elmer of Wellesley, John and Allan, both of RR 2, Wellesley, Cornelius of RR 1, Milverton, Norman of Brunner; a sister Mrs. Harvey (Laura) Nafziger of Brunner. The body rested at the Futher Brothers funeral home in Wellesley until Sunday when removal was made to Maple View Mennonite Church for funeral service at 2:30 p.m. Burial followed in the church cemetery.2a

2aThe Kitchener-Waterloo Record 17 Jun 1972 
Daniel G. Erb
 
9835 Erb.- Daniel B., son of Daniel S. and Catherine (Reschly) Erb, was born in Wellesley Twp., Ont., Nov. 25, 1893; died at his home in Millbank, Ont., Feb. 17, 1977; aged 83 y. On Sept. 7, 1924, he was married to Nancy Albrecht, who survives. Also surviving are one son (Delmar), one daughter (Norma-Mrs. David Rudy), 6 grandchildren, one great-grandchild, and one sister (Lavina-Mrs. Dan Steinman). He was preceded in death by 3 brothers, one sister, and one grandchild. He was a member of Maple View Mennonite Church, where funeral services were held on Feb. 20, in charge of Jacob Roes, Amsey Martin, and Alvin Leis; interment in adjoining cemetery.1a

1aGospel Herald - Volume 70, Number 12 - March 22, 1977, pages 253, 254.

_____________________

ERB, DANIEL R.


Of Route 1, Millbank, passed away Feb. 17 at his home. Born in Wellesley Township 83 years ago. The son of the late Daniel S. Erb and the late Catherine Reschley. A member of Maple View Mennonite Church . He farmed in Wellesley Township, retiring 28 years ago. He was also a well-known vendor at the Kitchener Farmer's Market. Beloved husband of the former Nancy Albrecht; dear father of Delmer, of Route 1, Millbank, and Norma (Mrs. David Rudy) of Kitchener; brother of Vina (Mrs. Daniel Steinman), of Port Huron, Michigan; also survived by six grandchildren and one great-grandchild. Predeceased by three brothers, Joseph, Christian and Noah, and one sister, Bena.

Friends may call at the Futher Brothers Funeral Home, Wellesley, where family will receive friends Friday from 7 to 9, Saturday from 2 to 4 and 7 to 9. At noon Sunday, Feb. 29, the remains will be moved to the Maple View Mennonite Church for service at 2:30. Rev. Alvin Leis, Rev. Jacob Roes will officiate. Interment will follow in the church cemetery. Expressions may be shown by contributions to the Western Ontario Mennonite Mission Board.1a

1aThe Kitchener-Waterloo Record 18 Feb 1977 
Daniel R. Erb
 
9836 Constructed about 1807 Daniel S. Erb
 
9837 Daniel Erb, "the eldest son of Peter and Anna (Schãeffer) Erb, was born in Lancaster County, Pennsylvania, January 11th, 1784. He, in company with his brother Peter, Benjamin Eby, Joseph Schneider, and others, came to Canada in 1807 and settled a little north of Bridgeport, Ontario, on the plantation now owned by Dilman G. Moyer and Levi P. Snyder. He was married to Barbara, daughter of John and Anna (Schowalter) Cressman. She was born May 22nd, 1786, and died October 20th, 1831. He died June 21st, 1845. To them was born a family of nine children"1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
Daniel S. Erb
 
9838 David Erb, "the eldest of the family, was born in Pennsylvania, February 21st, 1797. He was nine years of age when his parents moved to Canada and settled in this County. He was married to Nancy, eldest daughter of George and Barbara (Wenger) Eby. She was born in Lancaster County, Pennsylvania, October 13th, 1801, and died March 4th, 1887. Soon after their marriage they moved a little north-east of the town of Waterloo, on the farm now possessed by Jacob Groff. Here they resided many years, but after their family was raised they sold the farm and moved to Bridgeport, Ontario, where they resided until his death which took place August 25th, 1883. After his death she had her home with her daughter, Susan, who resides in Thedford, Huron County, where she died a few years afterwards. They had a family of ten children"1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby

______________________________

Bridgeport United Church

The early Evangelical Association congregations in Berlin and Waterloo date back to August 1839 when a Camp Meeting was held over a number of days at David Erb's farm (Lot 7, German Company Tract) at Lexington. Classes (or congregations) in Berlin and in Waterloo were organized at that meeting by Bishop John Seybert - on August 29th. Twenty-six charter members were divided into the two classes. Class leader for Waterloo and vicinity was Jacob Hoffman. His brother, John, was class leader for Berlin.

The Waterloo class, along with classes at Lexington and Breslau, was connected to the Berlin Mission until the organization of the Canada Conference of the Evangelical Association in 1864. The Waterloo Mission was formed at that time. In 1866 the Breslau class was merged with the Lexington class and in 1876 the Lexington class, with 31 members, was referred to as the Bridgeport class for the first time.

An old log schoolhouse was purchased in 1879 for $500.00 on condition that it be used only for Sunday School services, not for preaching. The exterior walls were covered with lumber and the building was dedicated on November 9, 1879. A new white brick church was built ten years later, in 1889, when the old schoolhouse became inadequate for the growing congregation. This church was in use until 1934 when the present building was completed. A decision had been made at a congregational meeting in July 1933 to proceed with construction of a new church. The ground-breaking service was held on August 28, 1933 and on October 1 of that year the cornerstone was laid by Rev. W.J. Zimmerman. Dedication services were held in the new red brick church on Sunday March 18, 1934. In 1942 the old brick church was sold to Mr. Minnacker for $100. An addition which was built on to the west side of the church in 1958 provided additional space for the Sunday School, as well as offices and a kitchen. The new complex was dedicated on November 30, 1958 with Professor John F. Schaefer of Naperville, Illinois preaching the dedication sermon.

Bridgeport and Waterloo were a joint parish from 1876 until 1910, when Bridgeport was joined with Strasburg. This association lasted until 1914 when Bridgeport called its own full-time pastor. The Evangelical Church joined with the United Brethren in Christ Church on November 16, 1946 to form the Evangelical United Brethren Church. On January 1, 1968 when the Evangelical United Brethren joined with the United Church, Emmanuel's name was changed once again - to Emmanuel United Church. In February 1987 the congregation voted to change the name of the church to Bridgeport United Church.

Rev. J. Kaechele (1864-1865) was pastor in 1864 when the Waterloo Mission was formed; Solomon Kraft was the Bridgeport class leader when the schoolhouse was bought in 1879 and Rev. S.R. Knechtel (1888-1891) was pastor in 1889 when the new white brick church was built.2a

2aWaterloo County Churches A Research Guide To Churches Established Before 1900 By Rosemary Ambrose

____________________________

Zion United Church

A Sunday School was established in Berlin in 1837, meeting in Jacob Hailer's carpenter shop which was located at the southeast corner of what is now King and Scott Streets. A mission was begun by Rev. Christian Holl shortly after his arrival in Berlin on May 9, 1839, and a class (or congregation) was organized several months later on August 29, 1839 by Bishop John Seybert of the Evangelical Association during a camp meeting held at David Erb's farm near Lexington. John Hoffman was the Berlin class leader; his brother, Jacob, was class leader for the Waterloo-Lexington congregation. The Berlin congregation met in the old Town Hall until their first church was built in 1841 on Queen Street South across from Church Street on land purchased as of August 24, 1841 from Mr. and Mrs. Joseph Schneider. The church was dedicated on September 25th of that year, with Rev. Christian Hummel of Buffalo, New York, officiating. Rev. Joseph Harlacher was pastor from 1840-1842. In 1842 the Waterloo Mission became a Circuit of the East Pennsylvania Conference. Two years later it was part of the New York Conference.

The second church building was built of brick on the same site in 1866, and dedicated in 1867; Rev. C.A. Spies was pastor at the time. The old frame church was sold and moved to Elgin Street where it was used as a dwelling. In the same year Berlin became a station.

The present church building was built in 1893 on Weber Street; dedication services were held on June 15, 16 and 17, 1894. This building was heavily damaged by fires in 1942 and 1965 but was renovated and restored each time.

The union of the Evangelical Church and the United Brethren in Christ Church on November 16, 1946 created the Evangelical United Brethren Church. The name of the church was to change again, to Zion United Church when the Evangelical United Brethren Church joined the United Church of Canada on January 1, 1968. Of interest: some maps of early Berlin show this church as a German Methodist church.3a

3aWaterloo County Churches A Research Guide To Churches Established Before 1900 By Rosemary Ambrose

_______________________________


Emmanuel United Church

The first Evangelical missionaries arrived in the Waterloo area in 1837. The first Waterloo class (congregation) was formed on August 29, 1839 by Bishop John Seybert during a camp meeting at David Erb's farm near Lexington. Jacob Hoffman was the Waterloo-Lexington class leader; his brother, John, was class leader in Berlin. A brick building which was erected by Samuel Burkholder in 1849 on Church Street, near King, was offered to the congregation for their use as a church, rent free, provided that they agreed to finish and furnish the building. Dedication of the new church was in 1851. The house, known as Burkholder House, is still standing, but Church Street in Waterloo is now known as Central Street.

In the early 1890s Waterloo was in the North District of the Canada Conference of the Evangelical Association, and was ministered to jointly with Bridgeport. Pastors in those years were Revs. C.R. Knechtel (1890-1891), F. Meyer (1892), D. Kreh (1893), and W.J. Yaeger (1894).

A new church, which was built in 1871 at the corner of Cedar and Water Streets (now Bridgeport Road and Dorset Street), was replaced in 1905 by the present structure. Dedication was in May, 1906. Emmanuel Hall was built in 1938. Changes made in 1963 included an addition, a new front entrance and renovation of the former Christian Education area.

On November 16, 1946 the Evangelical Church joined with congregations of the United Brethren in Christ Church to form the Evangelical United Brethren Church. When the Evangelical United Brethren Church joined the United Church of Canada as of January 1, 1968, Emmanuel became a United Church..4a

4aWaterloo County Churches A Research Guide To Churches Established Before 1900 By Rosemary Ambrose 
David Erb
 
9839 David E. Erb, "was born January 19th, 1833. He was first married to Catharine Berghold and after her decease to Cordillia Vincent. They reside in East Saginaw, Michigan. They have no family."1a

1aThe Biographical History of Waterloo Township, by Ezra Eby 
David E. Erb
 
9840 Erb, David L., son of Jacob S. and Barbara (Lichty) Erb, was born in Wellesley Twp., Ont., May 21, 1901; died of heart complications at St. Mary's Hospital, Kitchener, Ont., June 12, 1973; aged 72 y. 22 d. On Nov. 29, 1928, he was married to Nancy Lebold, who survives. Also surviving are 3 daughters (Dorothy - Mrs. Hubert Yantzi, Lorene - Mrs. David Hallman, and Ellen - Mrs. Donald Cober), 12 grandchildren, one brother (John), and one sister (Mary). He was preceded in death by one brother and 3 sisters. He was a member of the Maple View Mennonite Church, where funeral services were held on June 15, in charge of Alvin Leis and Jacob Roes; interment in the adjoining cemetery.1a

1aGospel Herald - Volume 66, Number 29 - July 24, 1973 - page 582

________________________

ERB, DAVID L.

Of 25 Lawrence St. E., Wellesley, passed away Tuesday, June 12, 1973 at the K-W Hospital. Born in Wellesley Township 72 years ago, the son of the late Mr. and Mrs. Jacob Erb; dear husband of Nancy Lebold; also survived by three daughters, Dorothy (Mrs. Hubert Yantzi) of Route 2, Wellesley, Laureen (Mrs. David Hallman) of Baden and and Ellen (Mrs. Donald Cober) of Route 1, Wellesley; brother of John of Route 2, Wellesley and Mary Erb also of Route 2, Wellesley; also survived by 12 grandchildren; predeceased by one brother and three sisters. Friends may call at the Futher Brothers Funeral Home in Wellesley until noon Friday when removal will be made to the Maple View Mennonite Church for the service at 2:30 p.m. Burial will follow in the church cemetery. Expressions of sympathy may be shown by contributing to the Northern Light Gospel Mission.2a

2aThe Kitchener-Waterloo Record 13 Jun 1973 
David L. Erb
 
9841 Main farm was purchased in 1869 by Leonhard Striecher, later owners were Christian Streicher (1878), Daniel Lebold (1907), David L. Erb (1929), Hubert Yantzi (1957) David L. Erb
 
9842 Erb, David O., son of John L. and Barbra (Oesch) Erb, was born in Wellesley Twp., Ont., Dec. 8, 1904; died of a heart problem at Petersburg, Ont., May 10, 1976; aged 71 y. On Nov. 7, 1929, he was married to Annie Gerber, who survives. Also surviving are one son (Carl), 5 daughters (Florence - Mrs. Arthur Steinman, June - Mrs. Vernon Schwartzentruber, Hilda Mrs. Elroy Gingerich, Marjorie - Mrs. Laverne Schwartzentruber, and Darlene - Mrs. Harold Culp), 26 grandchildren, 2 brothers (Daniel O. and Norman O. Erb), and one sister (Mattie - Mrs. Allan Gingerich). He was preceded in death by 3 brothers, one sister, and 2 grandchildren. He was a member of the St. Agatha Mennonite Church, where funeral services were held on May 13, in charge of Elmer Schwartzentruber and Nelson Martin; interment in the St. Agatha Mennonite Church Cemetery.1a

1aGospel Herald - Volume 69, Number 24 - June 15, 1976 - page 506

________________________________

ERB, DAVID O.


Of Route 2, Petersburg, passed away at his residence, May 10, 1976, age 71 years. He was born December 8, 1904 in Wellesley Township, and had resided most of his life in Wilmot Township area. He was a member of St. Agatha Mennonite Church; a son of the late John L. Erb and Barbra Oesch. Surviving is his wife the former Annie Gerber; one son, Carl of Route 2, Petersburg; five daughters, Mrs. Arthur (Florence) Steinman of Route 2, New Hamburg, Mrs.Vernon (June) Schwartzentruber of Route 2, Baden, Mrs. Elroy (Hilda) Gingerich of Route 2, Petersburg, Mrs. Laverne (Marjorie) Schwartzentruber of Baden, Mrs. Harold (Darlene) Culp of Route 1, Atwood; two brothers, Daniel O. Erb of Kitchener, Norman O. Erb of Wellesley; one sister, Mrs. Allan (Mattie) Gingerich of Baden; 26 grandchildren, two great-grandchildren. Predeceased by three brothers, one sister and two grandchildren. Will rest at the Bruce J. Omand Funeral Home, New Hamburg, after 7 p.m. this evening, where friends will be received from 7-9 p.m. and on Wednesday from 2-4 and 7-9 p.m. Funeral service will be held at St. Agatha Mennonite Church on Thursday at 2:30 p.m. Interment in the church cemetery. Expressions of sympathy may be made to the Mennonite Central Committee.2a

2aThe Kitchener-Waterloo Record - 11 May 1976
 
David O. Erb
 
9843 GERBER, Deborah Elizabeth Passed away peacefully surrounded by her family on Thursday, November 18, 2010 at her home R.R. # 1 Brunner. Deborah was born 58 years ago in Kitchener and was the loving daughter of Allan and Norma (Zehr) Erb of R.R. # 2 Wellesley. Beloved wife of Raymond Paul Gerber whom she married June 1, 1974. Dear mother of Kathryn Gerber of Brunner, Rachel Gerber at home, Joseph and Anita Gerber of Brunner, Jonathan and Joanne Gerber of R.R. # 5 Lucknow, Peter Gerber, Samuel Gerber and Rebecca Gerber all at home. Loving grandmother of Kristalynn, Jalissalynn, Kimberlynn. Remembered by her brothers and sisters David and Eva Erb of R.R. # 2 Wellesley, Darlene and Louis Byler of R.R. # 2 Milverton, John and Shelley Erb, Mary Ellen and James Ropp all of R.R. # 1 Monkton, Allan and Linda Erb of R.R. #2 Wellesley and also the Gerber family. Family and friends may call at the Mark Jutzi Funeral Home, 7 Spencer Street, Milverton tonight (Friday) from 7-9 p.m. and again Saturday 2-4 and 7-9 p.m. The funeral service will take place on Sunday, November 21, 2010 at 2:00 p.m. at Faith Mennonite Church, Kingwood with Bishop Melvin Roes officiating. Interment to follow in Mornington Amish Mennonite Cemetery. As expressions of sympathy donations may be made to Christian Aid Ministries. Deborah Elizabeth Erb
 
9844 ERB, Delbert J. -- Peacefully, on Monday, Aug. 27, 1990, at Freeport Hospital Health Care Village, Delbert John Erb, of Hamilton, formerly of Kitchener. Delbert was born in North Easthope township, 62 years ago, a son of the late Daniel O. Erb and Emma Margaret Neeb. Mr. Erb was a member of St. Paul's Lutheran Church, Kitchener and was employed at Leigh Instruments, Waterloo, retiring in 1981. Beloved brother of Margaret and her husband Karl Koehler of RR 1, New Hamburg; lovingly remembered by many aunts, uncles and cousins. Visitation at the Futher Bros. Funeral Home, 40 Henry St., Wellesley, where the family will receive friends today (Tuesday) from 2-4 and 7-9 p.m. At noon Wednesday, Aug. 29, removal will be made to First St. Paul's Lutheran Church, Wellesley, for the service at 2 p.m., Rev. Roger Winger will officiate. Interment will follow in First St. Paul's Lutheran cemetery, Wellesley.1a

1aThe Kitchener-Waterloo Record 28 Aug 1990 
Delbert J. Erb
 
9845 ERB, Delton Jacob Delton Jacob Erb of Ste. Agathe, MB, formerly of Wellesley, ON., passed away peacefully at St. Boniface Hospital in Winnipeg on Sunday, May 29, 2011. He was born February 17, 1941. He will be forever cherished by his beloved wife of 45 years, LeEtta (nee Yantzi) whom he married on May 21, 1966. Together they had five sons: Rodrick (Lisa), Rolond (Janice), Royce (Dana), Russell (Joyelle) and Roger. He is also survived by seven grandchildren; sister Doris (Enos) Kipfer, brother Larry (Carol) Erb and step-mother-in-law Pearl Yantzi. Visitation will be held at Glenlea Mennonite Church on Friday, June 3, 2011 from 4:00 to 8:00 p.m. Burial will take place at the church cemetery on Saturday, June 4 at 10:00 a.m. followed by a Memorial Service at 11:00 a.m. at the Glenlea Mennonite Church. " In all thy ways acknowledge Him and He shall direct thy paths ." Proverbs 3:6 Condolences may be sent to roerb@mts.net Arrangements by BIRCHWOOD FUNERAL CHAPEL 1-204-346-1030 or 1-888-454-1030